Computer networking : a top-down approach by
For courses in Networking/Communications.
Motivate your students with a top-down, layered approach to computer networking
Unique among computer networking texts, the 7th Edition of the popular Computer Networking: A Top Down Approach builds on the author's long tradition of teaching this complex subject through a layered approach in a "top-down manner." The text works its way from the application layer down toward the physical layer, motivating students by exposing them to important concepts early in their study of networking. Focusing on the Internet and the fundamentally important issues of networking, this text provides an excellent foundation for students in computer science and electrical engineering, without requiring extensive knowledge of programming or mathematics.
Cloud and virtual data storage networking : your journey to efficient and effective information services by
The amount of data being generated, processed, and stored has reached unprecedented levels. Even during the recent economic crisis, there has been no slow down or information recession. Instead, the need to process, move, and store data has only increased. Consequently, IT organizations are looking to do more with what they have while supporting growth along with new services without compromising on cost and service delivery.
Cloud and Virtual Data Storage Networking, by savvy IT industry veteran Greg Schulz, looks at converging IT resources and management technologies for facilitating efficient and effective delivery of information services, including enabling of Information Factories. Regardless of your experience level, Schulz guides you through the various technologies and techniques available for achieving efficient information services delivery. Coverage includes:
Information services delivery model options and best practices
Metrics for efficient E2E IT management
Server, storage, I/O networking, and data center virtualization
Converged and cloud storage services (IaaS, PaaS, SaaS)
Data protection for virtual, cloud, and physical environments
Data footprint reduction and data protection modernization
High availability, business continuance, and disaster recovery
This much-needed reference brings together technology themes and topics that are converging in IT and data center environments for enabling effective information services, in a practical and hype-free manner. When it comes to IT clouds and virtualization, you must look before you leap. This book will help you address the questions of when, where, with what, and how to leverage cloud, virtual, and data storage networking as part of your IT infrastructure.
A video of Greg Schulz discussing his new book is featured on the CRC Press YouTube channel.
Visit Slideshare to view a slide presentation based on the book.
Computer networks by
Computer Networks, 5/e is appropriate for Computer Networking or Introduction to Networking courses at both the undergraduate and graduate level in Computer Science, Electrical Engineering, CIS, MIS, and Business Departments.
Tanenbaum takes a structured approach to explaining how networks work from the inside out. He starts with an explanation of the physical layer of networking, computer hardware and transmission systems; then works his way up to network applications. Tanenbaum's in-depth application coverage includes email; the domain name system; the World Wide Web (both client- and server-side); and multimedia (including voice over IP, Internet radio video on demand, video conferencing, and streaming media. Each chapter follows a consistent approach: Tanenbaum presents key principles, then illustrates them utilizing real-world example networks that run through the entire book--the Internet, and wireless networks, including Wireless LANs, broadband wireless and Bluetooth. The Fifth Edition includes a chapter devoted exclusively to network security. The textbook is supplemented by a Solutions Manual, as well as a Website containing PowerPoint slides, art in various forms, and other tools for instruction, including a protocol simulator whereby students can develop and test their own network protocols.
Network security essentials : applications and standards by
Intended for college courses and professional readers where the interest is primarily in the application of network security, without the need to delve deeply into cryptographic theory and principles (system engineer, programmer, system manager, network manager, product marketing personnel, system support specialist).
A practical survey of network security applications and standards, with unmatched support for instructors and students.
In this age of universal electronic connectivity, viruses and hackers, electronic eavesdropping, and electronic fraud, security is paramount. Network Security: Applications and Standards , Fifth Edition provides a practical survey of network security applications and standards, with an emphasis on applications that are widely used on the Internet and for corporate networks. An unparalleled support package for instructors and students ensures a successful teaching and learning experience.
Adapted from Cryptography and Network Security, Sixth Edition, this text covers the same topics but with a much more concise treatment of cryptography.
Network defense and countermeasures : principles and practices by
Rethinking the Roots of Terrorism seeks to explain why terrorism occurs. This study provides a comprehensive interdisciplinary survey that investigates the motivations, reasons and causes of terrorism at all levels in society, and more specifically in the context of the Middle East.
Data and computer communications by
For a one/two-semester courses in Computer Networks, Data Communications, and Communications Networks in CS, CIS, and Electrical Engineering departments. With a focus on the most current technology and a convenient modular format, this best-selling text offers a clear and comprehensive survey of the entire data and computer communications field. Emphasising both the fundamental principles as well as the critical role of performance in driving protocol and network design, it explores in detail all the critical technical areas in data communications, wide-area networking, local area networking, and protocol design.
Cryptography and network security : principles and practice by
For one-semester, undergraduate- or graduate-level courses in Cryptography, Computer Security, and Network Security A practical survey of cryptography and network security with unmatched support for instructors and students In this age of universal electronic connectivity, viruses and hackers, electronic eavesdropping, and electronic fraud, security is paramount. This text provides a practical survey of both the principles and practice of cryptography and network security. First, the basic issues to be addressed by a network security capability are explored through a tutorial and survey of cryptography and network security technology. Then, the practice of network security is explored via practical applications that have been implemented and are in use today. An unparalleled support package for instructors and students ensures a successful teaching and learning experience. Teaching and Learning Experience To provide a better teaching and learning experience, for both instructors and students, this program will: *Support Instructors and Students: An unparalleled support package for instructors and students ensures a successful teaching and learning experience.*Apply Theory and/or the Most Updated Research: A practical survey of both the principles and practice of cryptography and network security. *Engage Students with Hands-on Projects: Relevant projects demonstrate the importance of the subject, offer a real-world perspective, and keep students interested.
Information security : principles and practices by
Information Security: Principles and Practices, Second Edition
Everything You Need to Know About Modern Computer Security, in One Book
Clearly explains all facets of information security in all 10 domains of the latest Information Security Common Body of Knowledge [(ISC)² CBK].
Thoroughly updated for today's challenges, technologies, procedures, and best practices.
The perfect resource for anyone pursuing an IT security career.
Fully updated for the newest technologies and best practices, Information Security: Principles and Practices, Second Edition thoroughly covers all 10 domains of today's Information Security Common Body of Knowledge.
Two highly experienced security practitioners have brought together all the foundational knowledge you need to succeed in today's IT and business environments. They offer easy-to-understand, practical coverage of topics ranging from security management and physical security to cryptography and application development security.
This edition fully addresses new trends that are transforming security, from cloud services to mobile applications, "Bring Your Own Device" (BYOD) strategies to today's increasingly rigorous compliance requirements. Throughout, you'll find updated case studies, review questions, and exercises-all designed to reveal today's real-world IT security challenges and help you overcome them.
Learn how to
-- Recognize the evolving role of IT security
-- Identify the best new opportunities in the field
-- Discover today's core information security principles of success
-- Understand certification programs and the CBK
-- Master today's best practices for governance and risk management
-- Architect and design systems to maximize security
-- Plan for business continuity
-- Understand the legal, investigatory, and ethical requirements associated with IT security
-- Improve physical and operational security
-- Implement effective access control systems
-- Effectively utilize cryptography
-- Improve network and Internet security
-- Build more secure software
-- Define more effective security policies and standards
-- Preview the future of information security
Computer Networking Course by 
Distributed Computing and Networking 15th International Conference, ICDCN 2014, Coimbatore, India, January 4-7, 2014. Proceedings by 
VMware VSphere Performance : Designing CPU, Memory, Storage, and Networking for Performance-Intensive Workloads by
Covering the latest VMware vSphere software, an essential book aimed at solving vSphere performance problems before they happen VMware vSphere is the industry's most widely deployed virtualization solution. However, if you improperly deploy vSphere, performance problems occur. Aimed at VMware administrators and engineers and written by a team of VMware experts, this resource provides guidance on common CPU, memory, storage, and network-related problems. Plus, step-by-step instructions walk you through techniques for solving problems and shed light on possible causes behind the problems. Divulges troubleshooting methodologies, performance monitoring tools, and techniques and tools for isolating performance problems Details the necessary steps for handling CPU, memory, storage, and network-related problems Offers understanding on the interactions between VMware vSphere and CPU, memory, storage, and network VMware vSphere Performance is the resource you need to diagnose and handle VMware vSphere performance problems, and avoid them in the future.
Cabling : The Complete Guide to Copper and Fiber-Optic Networking by
Develop the skills you need to design and build a reliable, cost-effective cabling infrastructure Fully updated for the growing demand of fiber optics for large-scale communications networks and telecommunication standards, this new edition is organized into two parts. Part I covers LAN Networks and Cabling Systems offers comprehensive coverage on current cabling methodologies and is updated to the latest industry standards. Part II addresses Fiber-Optic Cabling and Components probes deeper into fiber optics, and can be used to prepare for the Fiber Optics Installer (FOI) and/or Fiber Optics Technician (FOT) certifications, two of the Electronic Technician's Association's leading certifications. Explains why cutting corners is a bad idea Walks you through the obstacles to high-speed data transfer Encourages you to follow the golden rules of cabling This new edition is the only book you need for current cabling methodologies and standards.
Data Storage Networking : Real World Skills for the CompTIA Storage+ Certification and Beyond by
Learn efficient ways to harness and manage your data storage networks Whether you're preparing for the CompTIA Storage+ exam or simply seeking a deeper understanding of data storage networks, this Sybex guide will help you get there. This book covers data storage from the basics to advanced topics, and provides practical examples to show you ways to deliver world-class solutions. In addition, it covers all the objectives of the CompTIA Storage+ exam (SG0-001), including storage components, connectivity, storage management, data protection, and storage performance. Focuses on designing, implementing, and administering storage for today's evolving organizations, getting under the hood of the technologies that enable performance, resiliency, availability, recoverability, and simplicity Covers virtualization, big data, cloud storage, security, and scalability as well as how storage fits in to the wider technology environments prevalent in today's cloud era Provides advice and real-world examples that storage administrators in the trenches can actually use An excellent study aid for the CompTIA Storage+ exam (SG0-001), covering all the exam objectives Data Storage Networking: Real World Skills for the CompTIA Storage+ Certification and Beyond provides a solid foundation for data storage administrators and a reference that can be consulted again and again.
Advanced Network Programming – Principles and Techniques Network Application Programming with Java by
Answering the need for an accessible overview of the field, this text/reference presents a manageable introduction to both the theoretical and practical aspects of computer networks and network programming. Clearly structured and easy to follow, the book describes cutting-edge developments in network architectures, communication protocols, and programming techniques and models, supported by code examples for hands-on practice with creating network-based applications. Features: presents detailed coverage of network architectures; gently introduces the reader to the basic ideas underpinning computer networking, before gradually building up to more advanced concepts; provides numerous step-by-step descriptions of practical examples; examines a range of network programming techniques; reviews network-based data storage and multimedia transfer; includes an extensive set of practical code examples, together with detailed comments and explanations.
Guide to Voice and Video over IP For Fixed and Mobile Networks by
This book presents a review of the latest advances in speech and video compression, computer networking protocols, the assessment and monitoring of VoIP quality, and next generation network architectures for multimedia services. The book also concludes with three case studies, each presenting easy-to-follow step-by-step instructions together with challenging hands-on exercises. Features: provides illustrative worked examples and end-of-chapter problems; examines speech and video compression techniques, together with speech and video compression standards; describes the media transport protocols RTP and RTCP, as well as the VoIP signalling protocols SIP and SDP; discusses the concepts of VoIP quality of service and quality of experience; reviews next-generation networks based on the IP multimedia subsystem and mobile VoIP; presents case studies on building a VoIP system based on Asterisk, setting up a mobile VoIP system based on Open IMS and Android mobile, and analysing VoIP protocols and quality.
Cooperative Networking in a Heterogeneous Wireless Medium by
This brief focuses on radio resource allocation in a heterogeneous wireless medium. It presents radio resource allocation algorithms with decentralized implementation, which support both single-network and multi-homing services. The brief provides a set of cooperative networking algorithms, which rely on the concepts of short-term call traffic load prediction, network cooperation, convex optimization, and decomposition theory. In the proposed solutions, mobile terminals play an active role in the resource allocation operation, instead of their traditional role as passive service recipients in the networking environment.
The Internet for dummies : quick reference by
Don't miss the 12th edition of this bestseller, fully updated and now covering social networking!
Sixteen years since the publication of the first edition, this smash hit book has outsold and outlasted all the competition. See what all the excitement is about with the newest edition, The Internet For Dummies, 12th Edition. You'll not only find a lot of the basics presented in an easy-to-follow and friendly style, you'll also get the latest on social networking, security, and much more-stuff barely on the horizon a couple of years ago that now dominates the online landscape.
Introduces you to what's online, how to deal with annoyances like spam and spyware, and how to control what your kids see and do online
Walks you through picking a provider, getting hooked up to the Internet, and sharing a connection in your home or with other devices
Gives you a guided a tour through popular Web browsers, getting good search results; finding music and video; shopping; banking; and sharing files
Also covers e-mail, connecting with friends, online chats, and more
Helps you find the hot social networking sites and see how to handle photo and video sharing
Using the Internet? Get thoroughly up to speed with this popular guide.
The Internet roadmap by
Falk assumes that you've taken a spin or two on the digital highway, only to return for a good map. In spite of labels indicating that this book is for Internet novices, Falk takes the fast lane right from the start. He begins by assuming that his readers are already connected to Internet in one way or another; for those who are not, there's Appendix C, entitled ``logging in''--though Falk presumptuously judges that you're working in Unix. Like many other Internet tour guides, Falk desperately wants to take you on a drive on the Internet before you've even earned a learner's permit. His examples and descriptions are fine--if you've picked up a chauffeur's license for the Internet elsewhere. Enter here (c) Copyright 2010. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.
(c) Copyright Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.