Computer Networking: Associations, Tools & Standards

Association for Computing Machinery ACM, the world's largest educational and scientific computing society, delivers resources that advance computing as a science and a profession. ACM provides the computing field's premier Digital Library and serves its members and the computing profession with leading-edge publications, conferences, and career resources.

Association of Information Technology Professionals AITP or Association of Information Technology Professionals is a leading world wide society of IT professionals. At VCU AITP, we educate, prepare, and network to help prepare our members for a career in IT. We accept students of all majors and disciplines, graduates and undergraduates, students interested in technology, and those who make a career out of it.

Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers IEEE and its members inspire a global community to innovate for a better tomorrow through highly cited publications, conferences, technology standards, and professional and educational activities. IEEE is the trusted “voice” for engineering, computing, and technology information around the globe.

Computer Professionals for Social Responsibility CPSR is a global organization promoting the responsible use of computer technology. Founded in 1981, CPSR educates policymakers and the public on a wide range of issues. CPSR has incubated numerous projects such as Privaterra, the Public Sphere Project, EPIC (the Electronic Privacy Information Center), the 21st Century Project, the Civil Society Project, and the CFP (Computers, Freedom & Privacy) Conference. Originally founded by U.S. computer scientists, CPSR now has members in 26 countries on six continents.

Society for Technical Communication STC is an individual membership organization dedicated to advancing the arts and sciences of technical communication. It is the largest organization of its type in the world.

CompTIA CompTIA, the world's leading tech association, is a thought leader and an action leader. From our IT professional association to our leading certification programs, from our original research to our member communities and councils, our unparalleled programs set industry standards, foster skills development and generate knowledge and insight every day. With our members, we’re building the foundation for technology’s future.

Information Systems Security Association ISSA is the community of choice for international cybersecurity professionals dedicated to advancing individual growth, managing technology risk and protecting critical information and infrastructure. The Information Systems Security Association (ISSA)® is a not-for-profit, international organization of information security professionals and practitioners. It provides educational forums, publications, and peer interaction opportunities that enhance the knowledge, skill, and professional growth of its members.

Network Professional Association The Network Professional Association® (NPA) a Global Organization for IT professionals. Established 1993, the non-profit Network Professional Association is the leading organization for network computing professionals. To be identified as true professionals, the NPA's international membership adheres to a code-of-ethics, continual demonstrated professional development, adherence and knowledge of the latest best practice standards, and strives for continual growth. The NPA also founded the widely acknowledged and the industry’s only international Awards for Professionalism which honors individuals for their outstanding achievements in network computing and meeting the values of professionalism. The impartial strength of the NPA is a result of vendor neutrality and self-regulation.

Computer Networking course from Coursera Build skills with courses, certificates, and degrees online from world-class universities and companies

CompTIA Certifications This is the official website of CompTIA, (The Computing Technology Industry Association). CompTIA is a provider of professional certifications for the information technology (IT) industry, such as A+, Network+, Security+, and many others. On this site you can find information on the latest exams, research, connect with peers, and more.

Microsoft Certifications Provides information on all the certifications given by Microsoft.

JSTOR Open Access More than 5,000 Open Access ebooks are now available at no cost to libraries or users. These titles reflect JSTOR’s high standards for quality content and are freely available for anyone in the world to use

Networking for beginners Our friendly community of IT experts are full of knowledge for any of your Network and Networking questions, from WAN to LAN to security settings, file sharing and setting up a home network. Seek advice, share your knowledge, brainstorm and shoot the breeze.

Free Online Dictionary of Computing (FOLDOC) FOLDOC is a computing dictionary. It includes definitions of acronyms, jargon, programming languages, tools, architecture, operating systems, networking, theory, standards, mathematics, telecoms, electronics, institutions and companies, projects, history, in fact any of the vocabulary you might expect to find in a computer dictionary.

Linux Distro Watch This website provides news, popularity rankings, and other general information about various Linux distributions as well as other free software/open source Unix-like operating systems such as OpenSolaris, MINIX and BSD. It now contains information on several hundred distributions.

VMware This is the website of VMware, Inc., a US software company that provides cloud and virtualization software and services, and claims to be the first to commercially successfully virtualize the x86 architecture. Founded in 1998, VMware is based in Palo Alto, California.

Oracle Virtual Box VirtualBox is a powerful x86 and AMD64/Intel64 virtualization product for enterprise as well as home use. Not only is VirtualBox an extremely feature rich, high performance product for enterprise customers, it is also the only professional solution that is freely available as Open Source Software under the terms of the GNU General Public License (GPL) version 2.

Microsoft Virtual PC Microsoft website for downloading their virtual PC 2007.

Tight VNC TightVNC is a free remote control software package. With TightVNC, you can see the desktop of a remote machine and control it with your local mouse and keyboard, just like you would do it sitting in the front of that computer.