Social Psychology: attitudes, cognition and social behavior by
Written principally for students at the intermediate level, this text provides a broad critical review of the various empirical and theoretical traditions from which contemporary social psychology derives and, as the subtitle implies, offers balanced (though necessarily selective) insights into the perspectives that different researchers have adopted. It derives from J. Richard Eiser's previous textbook, Cognitive social psychology, which has been thoroughly revised and reorganized, incorporating fresh material that reflects the changes that have been taking place in the field since the beginning of the decade. The approach is broadly cognitive, though by no means narrowly so, the three main parts - 'Attitudes', 'Judgement and Interference' and 'Identity and Interaction' - indicating the principal emphases. Although it is North American research that has made the greatest contribution to our understanding of social behaviour, significant European work is not neglected in Richard Eiser's exposition. It is this awareness of the dynamism of the field and of the cross-fertilization taking place between different disciplines that gives this text its distinctive flavour and attraction for students and professionals alike.
Social Psychology by
Distinguished by its current-events emphasis, strong diversity coverage, and engaging connections drawn between social psychology and students' everyday lives, Social Psychology, Eighth Edition, remains one of the most scholarly and well-written texts in its field. Integrating classic and contemporary research, the text also includes comprehensive coverage of social cognition and evolutionary psychology, and features authoritative material on social psychology and the law. For this edition, Saul Kassin and Steven Fein welcome Hazel Rose Markus to the author team. In addition, coverage of culture and diversity are integrated into every chapter by Hazel Rose Markus, a leader and respected researcher in the study of cultural psychology.
Social Psychology by
Updated with the latest research findings and revised chapter-opening vignettes, this renowned book maintains its infamous story-telling approach to convey the science of social psychology in a fascinating, memorable, and entertaining manner.Complete with a video CD-ROM, the authors bring the material life through real-world examples that capture readers' attention and motivate further exploration. New research findings, integrated coverage of culture and gender, and a chapter on methodology are included.For professionals with a career or interest in social psychology and/or social work.
Social Psychology and Health by
The second edition of this textbook has been extensively revised. Much new material has been added based on research which has been done in the last five years, in particular drawing on the author's own research into obesity and sexual risk behaviour. Many of the epidemiological examples and more than a third of the references have been updated. It is essentially a new book which make an important contribution to the literature.
Emotions in Social Psychology by
This reader presents a collection of influential articles on the nature of emotions and ther role in social psychological phenomena, along with recent work that reflects the current state of the art.
Contemporary Social Psychological Theories by
This text presents the most important and influential social psychological theories and research programs in contemporary sociology. Original chapters by the scholars who initiated and developed these theoretical perspectives provide full descriptions of each theory, its background, development, and future. The first four chapters cover general approaches, organized around fundamental principles and issues--symbolic interaction, social exchange, distributive justice, and rational choice. The following chapters focus on specific research programs and theories, examining identity, affect, comparison processes, power and dependence, social exchange, status construction, and legitimacy. A concluding chapter provides an analysis of and commentary on the state of the theoretical programs in sociological social psychology. Contributors: Peter J. Burke, Joseph Berger, Coye Cheshire, Karen S. Cook, Pamela Emanuelson, Alexandra Gerbasi, Karen A. Hegtvedt, Michael A. Hogg, Guillermina Jasso, Edward J. Lawler, Michael W. Macy, George J. McCall, Linda D. Molm, Cecilia L. Ridgeway, Dawn T. Robinson, Lynn Smith-Lovin, Jan E. Stets, Jonathan H. Turner, Murray Webster Jr., David Willer, and Morris Zelditch, Jr.
Social Psychology by
This second edition presents the core fundamentals of the subject in 11 manageable chapters while maintaining the book's scientific integrity. The research methods students need to understand, interpret, and analyze social psychological research are emphasized throughout. The streamlined approach provides an economical textbook for students and a flexible format that allows instructors to cover the entire book in a single semester. A book specific Web site contains a free online study guide and a variety of teaching tools. An Instructor's Manual/Test Bank and a Computerized Test Bank are also available.
Social Psychology by
"This is an excellent textbook that should be compulsory reading for any undergraduate student of Social Psychology. Wendy Stainton Rogers has done a remarkable job of synthesising theories within these broad approaches. She has used her vast experience in distance learning to write a book that draws students in and has them reading, simply because the material is so very interesting. Although Stainton Rogers outlines the British Psychological Society's requirements for an undergraduate course in Social Psychology at the beginning of the book, this textbook is relevant far beyond the context of the United Kingdom." Catriona Macleod, Professor of Psychology, Rhodes University, South Africa In the brave new world of Facebook and Twitter, our social, political and personal worlds are all profoundly changing. To be relevant to our lives today, Social Psychology needs to be transformed. This popular book has been radically revised to do just that. Extensively updated and expanded, this new edition contains a broad grounding in traditional experimental work and a thorough treatment of the different 'logics of inquiry' adopted for empirical research. The book also: Introduces two completely new chapters, one on relationships and another on prejudice Updates and reformulates all the other material, introducing chapters on quantitative and qualitative methods, critical psychology and values Includes a wide array of critical approaches - community, feminist, postcolonial, psychoanalytic social psychologies Addresses social psychology from an international perspective, drawing on work from Africa, Australia, Europe, North and South America, New Zealand, Asia Includes section summaries, further reading, online resources and questions Showcases the work of a new and vibrant generation of social psychologists Covers the BPS recommendations for the social psychology syllabus The book breaks new ground in the topics it covers and in the innovative approach it takes to assessing them. For students and their teachers alike, the book brings a 'breath of fresh air', making it not just a valuable resource, but an intriguing and enjoyable read.
Social Psychology by
This volume presents the latest thinking in social psychology which is the science that studies individual beliefs, attitudes, and behaviours in settings where other people are present (or merely implied or imagined--which makes the definition pretty broad). Notice the focus is quite different from sociology, where groups of people are studied, but closer to psychology, where individuals are studied. The focus of social psychology is the individual within the group. As such, it is an ideal venue for studying those forces that change humans-- their beliefs, their attitudes, and their behaviours.
Social Psychology by
This second edition presents the core fundamentals of the subject in 11 manageable chapters while maintaining the book's scientific integrity. The research methods students need to understand, interpret, and analyze social psychological research are emphasized throughout. The streamlined approach provides an economical textbook for students and a flexible format that allows instructors to cover the entire book in a single semester. A book specific Web site contains a free online study guide and a variety of teaching tools. An Instructor's Manual/Test Bank and a Computerized Test Bank are also available.
Blackwell Handbook of Social Psychology by
This volume on intraindividual processes is one of a set of four handbooks in the social psychology field and covers social cognition, attitudes, and attribution theory. Includes contributions by academics and other experts from around the world to ensure a truly international perspective. Provides a comprehensive overview of classic and current research and likely future trends. Fully referenced chapters and bibliographies allow easy access to further study. Now available in full text online via xreferplus, the award-winning reference library on the web from xrefer. For more information, visit www.xreferplus.com
Access more Social Psychology subscription eBooks (over 235, 000) from the Library's EBSCO collection, here.
Other Key eBooks Sources
ProQuest eBook Central
Online digital library providing access to scholarly e-books covering a wide range of subject areas.
Note: You need to have VPN installed and enabled for Off-campus access to above links.
Directory of Open Access Books - The primary aim of DOAB is to increase discoverability of Open Access books.
Open Text Book Library - Textbooks that have been funded, published, and licensed to be freely used, adapted, and distributed. These books have been reviewed by faculty from a variety of colleges and universities to assess their quality.
