Environmental Sciences: Books

Living in the environment by Miller, George Tyler Learn how to make a difference in our environment! Using sustainability as the central theme, this current and thought-provoking book provides you with basic scientific tools for understanding and thinking critically about the environment and the environmental problems we face. Updated with new information, art, and "Good News" examples, this engaging book offers vivid case studies and hands-on quantitative exercises. The concept-centered approach transforms complex environmental topics and issues into key concepts that you will be able to understand and remember. Overall, by framing the concepts with goals for more sustainable lifestyles and human communities, authors G. Tyler Miller and Scott Spoolman enable you to learn and implement useful environmental solutions and see how promising the future can be.

Environmental politics : stakeholders, interests, and policymaking by Miller, Norman The second edition of Environmental Politics: Stakeholders, Interests, and Policymaking shows students that environmental politics is fundamentally a clash of competing stakeholders' interests, and environmental policy the result of their reconciliation. But developments in environmental policymaking over the past several years have been little short of earthshaking. The text not only marks changes in the formal lawmaking process itself, but covers recent elements reshaping environmental politics, such as: the new environmentally activist posture of business the dramatic shift of policymaking influence from the federal to state and local levels the participation of new actors on the environmental policy stage, most notably the faith community the U-turn of organized labor, from opponent of environmentalists to their collaborator the consolidation of the varying missions of environmental advocacy groups to fight global warming the emergence of science from its historic political neutrality to open advocacy the increasing role of both the media and the judiciary Written by an expert with more than 25 years of "smoke-filled room" experience in environmental policymaking, Environmental Politics: Stakeholders, Interests, and Policymaking gives students an insider's view of how policies are forged. By examining current environmental issues through a stakeholder lens, this book not only provides a unique perspective into how policies are adopted, but also illuminates the transformative power of global warming as a political force.

Living in the environment : principles, connections, and solutions [accompanied by CD-ROM] by Miller, G Tyler Comprehensive and up-to-date environmental science text. Balanced approach to environmental science instruction, with bias-free comparative diagrams throughout and a focus on prevention of and solutions to environmental problems.

Environmental science : toward a sustainable future by Wright, Richard T. For introductory courses in Environmental Science, Environmental Studies, and Environmental Biology. As the field of environmental science continues to evolve, this highly readable guide presents a full spectrum of views and information for students to evaluate issues and make informed decisions. An extensive resource package integrates text and digital media in an easy-to-use format designed to assist instructors in classroom preparation.

Introduction to environmental science : earth and man by Cresser, Malcolm S. Introduction to Environmental Science: Earth and Man provides a comprehensive and fully integrated interdisciplinary introduction to our planet, covering the complex interactions between chemistry, physics, biology, geology, hydrology, climatology, social science and environmental policy. Written in a lively and engaging style, it aims to stimulate interest in this dynamic and important area, and facilitate new ways of thinking about how environmental problems should be critically evaluated and solved.

Student projects in environmental science by Harrad, Stuart Research projects are among the core components of many undergraduate and Masters degrees within environmental science and physical geography, and students increasingly undertake courses in quantitative research methodology before starting on their own assignment. This one-stop-shop text guides students through their research project from the initial stages of choosing a suitable topic, of conducting the relevant experiments and interpreting the data, through to effective presentation of the results. Takes a case-study approach to illustrate the range of environmental science topics, with cases supplied by specialists in the field. Practical worked examples and self-assessment tasks illustrate key statistical and mathematical points so as to keep heavy theory to a minimum Covers software such as Excel, SPSS and mathematical modelling, and includes statistical tables

Environmental science : working with the earth by Miller, George Tyler ENVIRONMENTAL SCIENCE, 11th Edition, boasts an unparalleled coverage of sustainability, basic science, and bias-free comparisons, within a flexible chapter organization and supported by the strongest media tools and illustration program available. New media to this edition includes: "How Would You Vote?" found at http://biology.brookscole.com/miller11. This is an application of 68 provocative environmental issues covered in the text. Students investigate the issues in a structured manner, and then cast their votes on the Web where the results are tallied; Environmental ScienceNow, a learning tool that helps students assess their study needs through pretests, post-test, personalized learning plans and "How Do I Prepare," which aides students in basic math, chemistry and graphing review; and InfoTrac College Edition, a library of full text articles; PowerLecture for Miller's Environmental Science, 11th Edition. This one-stop PowerPoint Tool contains robust, preloaded PowerPoint lecture images organized by every chapter. PowerLecture contains: animations that bring key topics and concepts to life; a slide-sorting view for each chapter that lets you select, copy and paste slides into your PowerPoint lecture; the ability to select a piece of a figure and enlarge it; labels in text boxes that you can edit, remove, or present one label at a time; quick access to animations and videos--if a PowerPoint slide contains a green button, just click on it to show a related animation; Instructor's Manual and associated chapter outlines; and Test Bank--a complete electronic file of test items.

Environmental science : a global concern by Cunningham, William P. This book is intended for use in a one- or two-semester course in environmental science, human ecology, or environmental studies at the college or advanced placement high school level. Because most students who will use this book are freshman or sophomore nonscience majors, the authors have tried to make the text readable and accessible without technical jargon or a presumption of prior science background. At the same time, enough data and depth are presented to make this book suitable for many upper-division classes and a valuable resource for students who will keep it in their personal libraries after their formal studies are completed. The goal of this book is to provide an up-to-date, introductory view of essential themes in environmental science along with emphasis on details and case studies that will help students process and retain the general principles.

Environmental science : Earth as a living planet by Botkin, Daniel B Just read the headlines. Whether it's global warming, arctic drilling, or expanding industrial nations, the news is filled with stories about environmental issues. To understand the news, you have to understand the science. With Botkin and Keller's Fifth Edition of Environmental Science, you'll have the opportunity to develop a firm foundation of scientific knowledge, so you can think through environmental issues and make your own decisions regarding the environment.

Critical political ecology : the politics of environmental science by Forsyth, Tim Critical Political Ecology brings political debate to the science of ecology. As political controversies multiply over the science underlying environmental debates, there is an increasing need to understand the relationship between environmental science and politics. In this timely and wide-ranging volume, Tim Forsyth uses an innovative approach to apply political analysis to ecology, and demonstrates how more politicised approaches to science can be used in environmental decision-making. Critical Political Ecology examines: *how social and political factors frame environmental science, and how science in turn shapes politics *how new thinking in philosophy and sociology of science can provide fresh insights into the biophysical causes and impacts of environmental problems *how policy and decision-makers can acknowledge the political influences on science and achieve more effective public participation and governance.

Environmental and natural resource economics by Tietenberg, Tom With a strong focus on public policy grounded in economic theory, this text introduces students to the field with its accessible style and integrated examples that provide crucial context for students. A new feature highlights debates on hot topics within the environmental community.

International law and the environment by Birnie, Patricia "This book is an attempt to assess the present state of international law concerning the protection of the world's natural environment. It does not seek to examine in detail all aspects of contemporary environmental problems, nor is it a work of policy analysis, but rather it aims to explore the basic principles, structure, and effectiveness of the international legal system as it relates to these issues. It is hoped that what emerges will provide the reader with a clearer and more coherent picture of the remarkable developments in international law which contemporary concern for the state of the global environment has brought about. This is the most comprehensive major treatment of the subject in English, by two authors with many years experience of teaching and writing in this field."--BOOK JACKET.Title Summary field provided by Blackwell North America, Inc. All Rights Reserved

Environmental Science by Y.K. Singh Environmental Science is one of the most important areas of research and study in present time and its application in every aspect of life has also increased . Keeping this in view, almost all Indian Universities have introduced it as a compulsory course. This book is intended to suit the needs of graduate and postgraduate students pursuing environmental studies. To save the natural environment, a good and effective understanding of environmental science is needed. Environmental science is a term that has been widely used in recent years and its manifestations can range from environmental awareness learning through complex and expensive environmental study to operational research studies of environmental educations systems. This book is intended for teacher trainees of L.T., B.T.C., and B.Ed. classes and teacher educators. It is designed to cover the courses of environmental science of L.T., and B. Ed. classes

Environmental Science and Engineering by D.P Kothari, K. C. Singal, and Rakesh Ranjan ENVIRONMENTAL SCIENCE has been designed in such a way, that it will develop interst among students and will sensitize them about environment, natural resources and conservation of nature. This book is as per UGC guideline with inputs from various Government and non-government environmental institutes.

Basics of Environmental Science by Michael Allaby The new edition of this popular student text offers an engaging introduction to environmental study. It covers the entire breadth of the environmental sciences, providing concise, non-technical explanations of physical processes and systems and the effects of human activities. In this second edition the scientific background to major environmental issues is clearly explained. These include: * global warming * genetically modified foods * desertification * acid rain * deforestation * human population growth * depleting resources * nuclear power generation * descriptions of the 10 major biomes. Special student text features include illustrations and explanatory diagrams, boxed case studies, concepts and definitions.

Environmental Science : Principles and Practices by Frank R. Spellman and Melissa L. Stoudt Environmental Science: Principles and Practices provides the scientific principles, concepts, applications, and methodologies required to understand the interrelationships of the natural world, identify and analyze environmental problems both natural and manmade, evaluate the relative risks associated with these problems, and examine alternative solutions (such as renewable energy sources) for resolving and even preventing them. Frank R. Spellman and Melissa Stoudt introduce the science of the environmental mediums of air, water, soil, and biota to undergraduate students. Interdisciplinary by nature, environmental science embraces a wide array of topics. Environmental Science: Principles and Practices brings these topics together under several major themes, including How energy conversions underlie all ecological processes How the earth’s environment functions as an integrated system How human activities alter natural systems How the role of culture, social, and economic factors is vital to the development of solutions How human survival depends on practical ideas of stewardship and sustainability Environmental Science: Principles and Practices is an ideal resource for students of science in the classroom and at home, in the library and the lab.

The Environmental Science of Drinking Water by Franklin J. Agardy, James J. J. Clark, and Patrick Sullivan In today's chemically dependent society, environmental studies demonstrate that drinking water in developed countries contains numerous industrial chemicals, pesticides, pharmaceuticals and chemicals from water treatment processes. This poses a real threat. As a result of the ever-expanding list of chemical and biochemical products industry, current drinking water standards that serve to preserve our drinking water quality are grossly out of date. Environmental Science of Drinking Water demonstrates why we need to make a fundamental change in our approach toward protecting our drinking water. Factual and circumstantial evidence showing the failure of current drinking water standards to adequately protect human health is presented along with analysis of the extent of pollution in our water resources and drinking water. The authors also present detail of the currently available state-of-the-art technologies which, if fully employed, can move us toward a healthier future. * Addresses the international problems of outdated standards and the overwhelming onslaught of new contaminants. * Includes new monitoring data on non-regulated chemicals in water sources and drinking water. * Includes a summary of different bottled waters as well as consumer water purification technologies.

Principles of Environmental Science and Technology by K. Saravanan, S. Ramachandran, and R. Baskar This book is meant to be an introductory text on the Fundamentals of Environmental Science and Engineering. Today, knowledge of Environmental Science is essential for students as well as practicing engineers and scientists of all disciplines. Here an attempt has been made to provide precise and upto date information on the fundamental aspects of Environmental Science and Engineering without going much in-depth in to specific areas, so as to be useful for a cross section of fields of study. Indian technical universities are making the study of Environmental Science and Engineering mandatory for all course and hence a comprehensive textbook covering all domains of this field is the need of the hour.

Field Sampling for Environmental Science and Management by Richard Webster and Murray Lark Scientists and consultants need to estimate and map properties of the terrestrial environment. These include plant nutrients and parasites in soil, gaseous emissions from soil, pollutant metals and xenobiotics in waste and contaminated land, salt in groundwater and species abundances above ground. The scale varies from small experimental plots to catchments, and the land may be enclosed in fields or be open grassland, forest or desert. Those who sample the variables to obtain the necessary data need guidance on the design and analysis of sampling methods for their conclusions and recommendations to be valid. This book provides that guidance, backed by sound rationale and statistical theory. It concentrates on design-based sampling for estimates of mean values of environmental properties, emphasizing replication and randomization. It starts with simple random sampling and then progresses to more efficient designs, such as spatially stratified random sampling, stratification by classes and cluster sampling. It includes a section on purposive sampling in classical soil survey, which is relevant to other environmental properties such as vegetation. It also describes the effects of bulking on errors and the use of ancillary information and regression to improve estimates. The authors draw the important distinction between design-based sampling for estimating means and model-based methods (geostatistics) for local spatial prediction and mapping, and focus on the latter. They describe designs suitable for computing variograms and prediction by kriging, as well as a staged approach, so that sampling is neither inadequate nor excessive, and designs adapt as knowledge is accumulated. Including numerous worked case studies of sampling in agriculture, ecology and environmental science, the book will be of immediate practical value.

Data Analysis and Statistics for Geography, Environmental Science, and Engineering by Miguel F. Acevedo Providing a solid foundation for twenty-first-century scientists and engineers, Data Analysis and Statistics for Geography, Environmental Science, and Engineering guides readers in learning quantitative methodology, including how to implement data analysis methods using open-source software.

Critical Political Ecology : The Politics of Environmental Science by Timothy Forsyth Critical Political Ecology brings political debate to the science of ecology. As political controversies multiply over the science underlying environmental debates, there is an increasing need to understand the relationship between environmental science and politics. In this timely and wide-ranging volume, Tim Forsyth uses an innovative approach to apply political analysis to ecology, and demonstrates how more politicised approaches to science can be used in environmental decision-making. Critical Political Ecology examines: *how social and political factors frame environmental science, and how science in turn shapes politics *how new thinking in philosophy and sociology of science can provide fresh insights into the biophysical causes and impacts of environmental problems *how policy and decision-makers can acknowledge the political influences on science and achieve more effective public participation and governance.

Fields and Streams : Stream Restoration, Neoliberalism, and the Future of Environmental Science by Rebecca Lave, Deborah Cowen, Nik Heynen, and Melissa Wright Examining the science of stream restoration, Rebecca Lave argues that the neoliberal emphasis on the privatization and commercialization of knowledge has fundamentally changed the way that science is funded, organized, and viewed in the United States. Stream restoration science and practice is in a startling state. The most widely respected expert in the field, Dave Rosgen, is a private consultant with relatively little formal scientific training. Since the mid-1990s, many academic and federal agency-based scientists have denounced Rosgen as a charlatan and a hack. Despite this, Rosgen's Natural Channel Design approach, classification system, and short-course series are not only accepted but are viewed as more legitimate than academically produced knowledge and training. Rosgen's methods are now promoted by federal agencies including the Environmental Protection Agency, the U.S. Forest Service, the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service, and the Natural Resources Conservation Service, as well as by resource agencies in dozens of states. Drawing on the work of Pierre Bourdieu, Lave demonstrates that the primary cause of Rosgen's success is neither the method nor the man but is instead the assignment of a new legitimacy to scientific claims developed outside the academy, concurrent with academic scientists' decreasing ability to defend their turf. What is at stake in the Rosgen wars, argues Lave, is not just the ecological health of our rivers and streams but the very future of environmental science.

Dictionary of environmental science and technology by Porteous, Andrew. This superb and highly-acclaimed dictionary includes over 4000 in-depth entries on scientific and technical terminology associated with environmental protection and resource management. In addition, it contains numerous illustrations, a wide range of international case studies and extensive cross-references to guide the reader. The new edition will be a major update with 30% new material, additional illustrations and a greatly expanded list of relevant web resources.

Routledge handbook of environment and communication by Hansen, Anders This Handbook provides a comprehensive statement and reference point for theory, research and practice with regard to environment and communication, and it does this from a perspective which is both international and multi-disciplinary in scope. Offering comprehensive critical reviews of the history and state of the art of research into the key dimensions of environmental communication, the chapters of this handbook together demonstrate the strengths of multi-disciplinary and cross-disciplinary approaches to understanding the centrality of communication to how the environment is constructed, and indeed contested, socially, politically and culturally. Organised in five thematic sections, The Routledge Handbook of Environment and Communication includes contributions from internationally recognised leaders in the field. The first section looks at the history and development of the discipline from a range of theoretical perspectives. Section two considers the sources, communicators and media professionals involved in producing environmental communication. Section three examines research on news, entertainment media and cultural representations of the environment. The fourth section looks at the social and political implications of environmental communication, with the final section discussing likely future trajectories for the field. The first reference Handbook to offer a state of the art comprehensive overview of the emerging field of environmental communication research, this authoritative text is a must for scholars of environmental communication across a range of disciplines, including environmental studies, media and communication studies, cultural studies and related disciplines.

The encyclopedia of the environment by Eblen, Ruth A This unique reference book explores regional, national, and international environmental concerns with a broad social and cultural view. Edited by the director and president of the René Dubos Center for Human Environments, this book provides comprehensive information for understanding our complex, ever-changing world.

Dictionary of environment and development : people, places, ideas, and organizations by Crump, Andy This concise reference offers readers a guide to a host of new terms that are being spawned as environment and development issues move to the forefront of international concerns. It covers ecological processes, tropical diseases, acronyms, and much more. Andy Crump is currently in the TDR Communications Unit of the World Health Organization in Geneva.

Comprehensive Laboratory Manual for Environmental Science and Engineering by P.R. Sreemahadevan Pillai