Techniques of Grief Therapy by
Techniques of Grief Therapy: Assessment and Intervention continues where the acclaimed Techniques of Grief Therapy: Creative Practices for Counseling the Bereaved left off, offering a whole new set of innovative approaches to grief therapy to address the needs of the bereaved. This new volume includes a variety of specific and practical therapeutic techniques, each conveyed in concrete detail and anchored in an illustrative case study. Techniques of Grief Therapy: Assessment and Intervention also features an entire new section on assessment of　various challenges in coping with loss, with inclusion of the actual scales and scoring keys to facilitate their use by practitioners and researchers. Providing both an orientation to bereavement work and an indispensable toolkit for counseling survivors of losses of many kinds, this book belongs on the shelf of both experienced clinicians and those just beginning to delve into the field of grief therapy.
Counselling for Grief and Bereavement by
`The authors have done their homework in reading and consulting with the prominent literature, especially regarding children. All this effort gives the book a solid background foundation and makes it readable, and well-usable, for both lay counsellors and professional providers, and for all of us who are engaged in the delicate and rewarding endeavor of Grief Therapy′ - Naji Abi-Hashem, Clinical & Cultural Psychologist, Berkeley, California Praise for the First Edition: `The book provides an absorbing and challenging journey through the possible process involved in bereavement work, and encourages one to think broadly about how one can approach a bereaved person... this was a book I enjoyed reading very much, and which I found both theoretically sound and practically helpful′ - Bereavement Care (Cruse) Counselling for Grief and Bereavement, Second Edition is a bestselling, introductory guide for professionals who work with people experiencing bereavement through death and other forms of loss. Focusing on practical assessment and intervention strategies, Geraldine Humphrey and David Zimpfer guide readers through the essential theory and skills needed to work with clients in a way which sensitively facilitates the process of grief, initiates healing and promotes a sense of growth. Setting out the broad principles for practice, the authors go on to show how these can be applied in working with individuals, families and groups and in relation to specific issues including chronic and life-threatening illnesses, palliative care and complicated grief. Carefully chosen case examples illustrate the counselling process, while specific attention is paid throughout to ethical considerations and the possible need for referral. This fully revised and updated Second Edition features a new chapter on working with children and adolescents: both from the perspective of young people who are grieving losses and those who are receiving palliative care as patients. While focusing on the practical, the book provides a firm theoretical base by explaining key concepts such as attachment, grief and resilience. Geraldine M. Humphrey is Counsellor in the Department of Psychology at the North Canton Medical Foundation, specializing in death, illnesses, and non-death and grief. David G. Zimpfer is former Director of the Cancer Center of Ohio.
Dying, Death and Grief by
"This book′s strengths are [Brenda Mallon′s] clinical wisdom, experience and insights, and the practical, constructive, down-to-earth way in which she conveys these to her readers. This will appeal to many who are searching for guidance in the difficult task of providing support for the bereaved" - Bereavement Care, Spring 2010 ′This is a well written book that makes a very useful addition to the field" - Therapy Today, February 2009 ′A refreshing, down-to-earth text that examines theory and research without becoming an academic tome. It is comprehensive, focused on practice and contains important insights for developing the essential skills required to provide effective bereavement care′ - Dr John Costello, Head of Primary Care, University of Manchester ′Brenda Mallon gives the term "grief counselling" definition in a way no one has done before. If you are new to counselling the bereaved, this book is the best introduction I have seen. If you are an experienced grief counsellor, this should be the next book you read′ - Professor Dennis Klass, Webster University, Dying, Death and Grief is written for anyone who provides support to adults following bereavement. Whether in a professional or voluntary capacity, bereavement care requires empathy, judgement and skill to ensure your response matches the needs of the person you are helping. Recognizing that we all experience bereavement differently, this book introduces theory and skills which can be used in any context to address a wide range of needs. The author explains the theoretical background to attachment and loss and the core skills needed to support people who have been bereaved. Case studies and personal accounts illustrate key points and exercises help you examine your own experiences and attitudes in relation to loss. The book also takes into account topics frequently overlooked in other texts, such as sexuality, spiritual responses to loss, cultural influences and diversity, as well as the nature of chronic and disenfranchised grief. Dying, Death and Grief is designed for use on a wide range of training and academic courses that prepare practitioners to work with the bereaved. Professionals in a range of settings including hospitals and in the community as well as volunteers and be-frienders in hospices and nursing homes will find this a useful source of guidance. Brenda Mallon is a counsellor, trainer and author who specialises in bereavement care. She is vice chair of The Grief Centre, Manchester Area Bereavement Forum.
Bereavement and Grief by
Provides advice and support for professional bereavement counsellors, outlining the areas and issues which could be addressed when counselling older people. It suggests ways in which certain matters could be handled and covers all types of bereavement.
Aging, the Individual, and Society by
No field of study more completely integrates the mature person over the life course than does gerontology. Understanding senior citizens-who represent a continually growing population-is becoming increasingly important. AGING, THE INDIVIDUAL, AND SOCIETY introduces readers to gerontology in a compassionate way that helps them understand older people and know how to work with them. The book balances academic research and practical discussions, integrating social and cultural perspectives with the story of the individual aging process. Activities and enhance reader's understanding and skills by providing many opportunities for experiential learning.
Counseling Widowers by
Working with widowers can be one of the most challenging parts of a therapist's career. Despite the need for better research and professional guidance, therapists have often been left alone to confront a group struggling with high rates of suicide, mortality, physical health problems, and depression. Counseling Widowers builds from the latest developments in grief research and men's studies to bridge the gap between counseling practice and the needs of bereaved men. In these pages, therapists will find tools for adjusting their clinical strategies to work more effectively with these men. Through a more empathic understanding of widowers, therapists can help them build from their strengths as they face the loss of their partner.　
Understanding Grief by 
Making Sense of Death, Dying and Bereavement by
This anthology offers a unique collection of personal accounts of death, dying and bereavement. It examines representations of death, dying and bereavement in fiction, poetry, the media and the Internet, as well as exploring visual representations of death and dying. Included are: - visual representations of the changing meaning of death within societies - examples of the ways in which the Web is being used to give and receive support when people are dying or when they have been bereaved - the moral, ethical and emotional issues involved in caring for people at the end-of-life - lay and professional personal accounts of miscarriage and the death of family members including children, siblings and parents; suicide and assisted suicide, the role of humour after someone dies, intimacy at the end-of-life and the impact of autopsy - reflections from survivors and people who have been bereaved following traumatic and mass death and disaster. This highly distinctive book will be key reading for professionals, students and those involved in the care of dying and bereaved people.
Death and Dying by
Practical and inspiring, this best-selling book helps you learn to cope with encounters with death, dying, and bereavement. The authors integrate classical and contemporary material, present task-based approaches for individual and family coping, and include four substantial chapters devoted to death-related issues faced by children, adolescents, adults, and the elderly. The text discusses a variety of cultural and religious perspectives that affect people's understandings and practices associated with such encounters. The book also offers practical guidelines for constructive communication designed to encourage productive living in the face of death.
Loss and Grief Workbook by
The feelings and thoughts connected with loss, grief, dying and death have always concerned people. The author Bob is a specialist in crisis intervention. He has developed his experience in counselling and a workshop facilitator over a number of years. This updated self-directed study workbook will appeal to everyone with a health and social care interest. It can be used as a stand-alone module or at your workplace as part of an assessment programme, or as part of a more formal training programme at a college or other institution. You can read it in parts, if this is more convenient for you, or you can interrupt your reading to do some of the exercises. There is space for you to keep notes. The workbook can be used in a very flexible way and covers a variety of issues from divorce, losing a limb to bereavement.
Counseling Hispanics Through Loss, Grief, and Bereavement by
Counseling Hispanics through Loss, Grief, and Bereavement is an extremely timely and welcome addition to the literature in thanatology. Counselors will find in it the tools, knowledge, and insights to respond to a growing and diverse Hispanic community as individuals cope with loss and grief. From the Foreword by Kenneth J. Doka, PhD Professor, The College of New Rochelle Senior Consultant, The Hospice Foundation of America Hispanics, the fastest growing minority population in the United States, are increasingly willing to seek mental health counseling, creating a critical need for counselors to understand the values and traditions of Hispanic culture. This book examines these values and traditions and their impact on the ways in which this population copes with loss, grief, and bereavement across the life span. The book addresses the unique losses that may be faced by Hispanics, particularly newcomers who must adapt to a different language and unfamiliar customs. It focuses on such important cultural considerations as styles of verbal and nonverbal communication, personal space, social organization, environmental control factors, and the significance of gender. Competency-based models and Latino-specific counseling frameworks are integrated into the text, along with the historical and political context from which they arise. Numerous practical recommendations for improving quality of care are provided, with specific attention given to the great diversity of cultures within the Hispanic population, and the need for counselors to take these variations into consideration. Key Features: Facilitates understanding of Hispanic values and traditions to promote more sensitive and effective treatment Provides exercises to help therapists evaluate their own knowledge and awareness of particular Hispanic cultures Addresses factors that may impede a successful therapeutic relationship Presents specific techniques for building trust with Hispanic clients Includes illustrative case studies throughout the text
Grief Demystified by
Being able to offer support to the bereaved is an important part of many frontline professions, such as nurses, teachers, funeral directors and anything in between. Yet very little theoretical information about grief has filtered down into mainstream knowledge, and what has is often misinterpreted. Giving an accessible introduction to modern day grief theory, this book is the perfect guide to grief for counsellors, anyone wishing to support the bereaved, or the griever curious to how their grief works. Debunking commonly believed myths with information on how grief can vary from person to person, advice on communicating with the bereaved and details on the different kinds of grief, this book is an essential read for anyone working with the bereaved.
Grief and Loss Across the Lifespan by
This unique text for undergraduate and master's-level social work and counseling courses on loss, grief, and bereavement is distinguished by its biopsychosocial perspective and developmental framework. The book addresses grieving patterns and intervention strategies according to the life trajectory and provides clinical intervention tools and strategies for coping according to the developmental stage of an individual. It incorporates losses beyond death loss, with special focus on losses related to maturational development. The second edition reflects new research that has clarified and underscored the value of theories examined in the first edition√>=particularly in the areas of continued bonds, disenfranchised grief, and ambiguous grief. It describes how grieving is influenced by biological responses to stress, psychological responses to loss, and social norms and support networks. The second edition includes significant new information on trauma and resilience and addresses the use of mindfulness practices with grief and loss. It focuses on the changing role of technology including expressions of grief and loss in social media and public forums. Updated information is provided regarding hospice and palliative care as well as housing issues in aging. A completely new chapter examines grief and loss counseling with emerging adults, and updates regarding changes in the DSM-5 are included. Additional new features include chapter objectives, discussion questions, and updated resources, and an Instructor's Manual and PowerPoint slides are available for download. New to the Second Edition: New information on trauma and resilience Using mindfulness practices with grief and loss Updated theory and empirical findings The changing role of technology in grief Expressions of grief and loss in social media and public forums Transitions due to economic and health changes Changes in the DSM-5 New chapter on emerging adults (ages 18√ 25) New information on hospice, palliative care, and aging Housing issues in aging and disability New information on issues facing young and older U.S. veterans and families Updated resources Chapter objectives and discussion questions Instructor's Manual and PowerPoint slides Key Features: Uses a developmental framework for grief and loss Incorporates notions of loss beyond death, including unique maturational losses Integrates new grief theories with empirical findings and intervention techniques Utilizes neurobiological and biological information within a counseling text Focuses on nonpathologizing approaches to sadness, loss, and grief
Responding to Loss and Bereavement in Schools by
This practical resource provides everything you need to enable your school to provide the best possible support for pupils and staff who have suffered a loss or bereavement. The book includes a school 'audit' to allow full assessment and evaluation of your school's current bereavement provision, and a full set of photocopiable training exercises for in-school staff bereavement training. It considers the important and unique role the school can play in supporting bereaved pupils and staff, and provides valuable guidance on how to create a school bereavement policy. A unique and accessible resource that is applicable to all levels of schooling, the book will be a valuable addition to the shelves of pastoral care teams, school counsellors, head teachers and school management, other school staff, bereavement counsellors and trainers, as well as psychologists.
Overcoming Loss by
Overcoming Loss is a photocopiable resource that addresses childrens' feeling of loss, which can arise from changing communities, schools, moving house, divorce or the death of a parent or grandparent. Children are limited to a vocabulary of broad emotions like 'happy', 'sad' and 'angry', and are often unable to articulate their grief in words. This can impair their long-term emotional development. The activities in Overcoming Loss use the power of play and creative arts to give the grieving child the language to identify subtle feelings, such as shame, despair and jealousy. Designed to encourage social and emotional learning, these exercises employ play, art and story-telling to access the ways in which children naturally express their feelings, and offers opportunities for parents and professionals to direct the child towards understanding their emotions. Parents, teachers, counsellors and anyone working with children between the ages of 4 and 8 who are dealing with a loss will find this resource a practical and effective tool.
Companionship of Grief by
An insightful analysis of how five prominent writers coped with the death of a beloved spouse.
Principles and Practice of Grief Counseling by
This core, introductory textbook for undergraduate and graduate-level courses is the first to combine the knowledge and skills of counseling psychology with current theory and research in grief and bereavement. The second edition has been updated to reflect important new research and changes in the field, including insights on complicated grief, resilience after adverse life experiences, and compassion-based approaches to death, loss, and grief. It discusses the implications of the DSM-5's omission of the bereavement exclusion for the diagnosis of a major depressive disorder. A completely new chapter on the social context of loss addresses social messages, grieving rules, workplace policies, and the disenfranchisement of many aspects of normal, healthy grief. The text also touches upon three new therapies for complicated grief that have been developed by major researchers in the field. New case scenarios further enrich the second edition.
Healing after Parent Loss in Childhood and Adolescence by
In Healing after Parent Loss in Childhood and Adolescence: Therapeutic Interventions and Theoretical Considerations, experts explore the varied, often complex, and always tragic circumstances under which young people face losing a parent. Profound grief and feelings of powerlessness may accompany loss of a parent at any age, but distinctly so when such loss is experienced during formative years. Whenever these individuals seek help, therapists must be psychically prepared to enter into arenas of trauma, bereavement, and mourning. The children, teens, and adults presented are diverse in age, culture/ethnicity, and socioeconomic status. A diverse group of contributors showcase a wide range of effective approaches--from traditionally structured short- and long-term psychotherapies and psychoanalysis, to psycho-educational, supportive, and preventive interventions. The writers in this volume do not shy away from tough matters such as urban violence, AIDS, and war; they address concerns practicing clinicians face, such as when to work with children, adolescents, and adults individually, and when and how to involve their surviving parents and families. Included in this book are issues related to the self-care and professional development needs of therapists who take on this difficult but essential work, including peer support and supervision. This volume is likely to spark important re-examinations across all fields of mental health practice. It will equip and empower clinicians of all kinds who undertake work with those who are grieving. Healing after Parent Loss in Childhood and Adolescence promises to be a vital and stimulating read for supervisors, teachers, and trainers of child, adolescent, and family clinicians.
Grief Healing Techniques by
Grief Healing Techniques Helps You Recover in Your Own Way, at Your Own Pace After losing a loved one, grief can be overwhelming and seem impossible to conquer. Grief Healing Techniques gives you manageable, effective steps you can take to work through your grief on a daily basis, so you can start to find your new "normal." Grief Healing Techniques speaks to anyone who has ever suffered a major loss. With Grief Healing Techniques, you will be able examine your emotions and learn basic strategies for self-care to help you through this difficult time. Grief Healing Techniques helps you rebuild your daily routine, with tips for planning your meals and activities, finding a support network, and healing through journaling and meditation. Grief Healing Techniques gives you practical support for working through grief, with: Useful insights on the physical effects and emotional range of grief Practical approaches for rebuilding your daily routine Advice on whether to pursue professional help Ideas for strengthening your relationships and involving others in your recovery Tips for dealing with birthdays, holidays, and other celebrations Perspectives on support groups, meditation, journaling, and religion With straightforward and supportive advice, Grief Healing Techniques will show you how to make your grief manageable and restore balance to your daily life."
The SAGE Handbook of Counselling and Psychotherapy by
Electronic Inspection Copy available for instructors here′At about 700 pages and with contributions from more than 100 authors the editors have shown considerable skill, not to mention application, in sculpting a text that is economically delivered and lucid in its writing′ - Dave Mearns, Professor Emeritus, University of Strathclyde, Glasgow ′The field of counselling and psychotherapy moves on but The Sage Handbook of Counselling and Psychotherapy keeps up!′ - Professor Sue Wheeler, Director of the Doctoral Programme, Institute of Lifelong Learning, University of Leicester ′This book is the definitive text on the theory and practice of counselling and psychotherapy. The editors are to be commended!′ - Professor Robert Bor CPsychol FBPsS CSci UKCP Reg FRAeS, Lead Consultant Clinical, Counselling & Health Psychologist, Royal Free Hospital and Co-Director, Dynamic Change Consultants www.dccclinical.com ′The what′s what from the who′s who in counselling in psychotherapy′ - Professor Del Loewenthal, RCTE, University of Roehampton This long-awaited third edition brings together the fundamentals of counselling and psychotherapy theory, research, skills and practice. It addresses what every successful trainee or practitioner needs to know, do, think, feel, and use in a way that is entirely comprehensive, accessible and jargon-free. Including new material on interpersonal psychotherapy, cognitive analytic therapy, pluralistic therapy and mindfulness, as well as body psychotherapy, hypnotherapy, Asperger Syndrome, ADHD, and low self-esteem, this book continues to be essential reading for trainees or experienced practitioners alike. Colin Feltham is Emeritus Professor of Critical Counselling Studies, Sheffield Hallam University, Fellow of the British Association for Counselling and Psychotherapy, BACP Senior Registered Practitioner and former co- editor of the British Journal for Guidance and Counselling. Ian Horton is now retired and was Principal Lecturer in Counselling and Psychotherapy at University of East London, Chair of the UKRC Executive, a BACP accredited counsellor and UKRC registered independent counsellor. He is a fellow of the BACP.
Encyclopedia of Trauma by
Trauma is defined as a sudden, potentially deadly experience, often leaving lasting, troubling memories. Traumatology (the study of trauma, its effects, and methods to modify effects) is exploding in terms of published works and expanding in terms of scope. Originally a narrow specialty within emergency medicine, the field now extends to trauma psychology, military psychiatry and behavioral health, post-traumatic stress and stress disorders, trauma social work, disaster mental health, and, most recently, the subfield of history and trauma, with sociohistorical examination of long-term effects and meanings of major traumas experienced by whole communities and nations, both natural (Pompeii, Hurricane Katrina) and man-made (the Holocaust, 9/11). One reason for this expansion involves important scientific breakthroughs in detecting the neurobiology of trauma that is connecting biology with human behavior, which in turn, is applicable to all fields involving human thought and response, including but not limited to psychiatry, medicine and the health sciences, the social and behavioral sciences, the humanities, and law. Researchers within these fields and more can contribute to a universal understanding of immediate and long-term consequences-both good and bad-of trauma, both for individuals and for broader communities and institutions. Trauma encyclopedias published to date all center around psychological trauma and its emotional effects on the individual as a disabling or mental disorder requiring mental health services. This element is vital and has benefited from scientific and professional breakthroughs in theory, research, and applications. Our encyclopedia certainly will cover this central element, but our expanded conceptualization will include the other disciplines and will move beyond the individual.
Encyclopedia of Trauma by
Trauma is defined as a sudden, potentially deadly experience, often leaving lasting, troubling memories. Traumatology (the study of trauma, its effects, and methods to modify effects) is exploding in terms of published works and expanding in terms of scope. Originally a narrow specialty within emergency medicine, the field now extends to trauma psychology, military psychiatry and behavioral health, post-traumatic stress and stress disorders, trauma social work, disaster mental health, and, most recently, the subfield of history and trauma, with sociohistorical examination of long-term effects and meanings of major traumas experienced by whole communities and nations, both natural (Pompeii, Hurricane Katrina) and man-made (the Holocaust, 9/11). One reason for this expansion involves important scientific breakthroughs in detecting the neurobiology of trauma that is connecting biology with human behavior, which in turn, is applicable to all fields involving human thought and response, including but not limited to psychiatry, medicine and the health sciences, the social and behavioral sciences, the humanities, and law. Researchers within these fields and more can contribute to a universal understanding of immediate and long-term consequences-both good and bad-of trauma, both for individuals and for broader communities and institutions. Trauma encyclopedias published to date all center around psychological trauma and its emotional effects on the individual as a disabling or mental disorder requiring mental health services. This element is vital and has benefited from scientific and professional breakthroughs in theory, research, and applications. Our encyclopedia certainly will cover this central element, but our expanded conceptualization will include the other disciplines and will move beyond the individual.