Abnormal Psychology by
This new edition retains the book's engaging and innovative systems approach, integrating the biological, psychological, and social perspectives in one concurrent story. Scientific methods are presented in a clear and non-threatening manner, and are based on the most current research. Chapter topics include personality disorders, eating disorders, substance use disorders, sexual and gender identity disorders, schizophrenic disorders, mood disorders and suicide, treatment of psychological disorders, and more.For psychologists, psychiatrists, and professionals in the mental health field.
Abnormal Psychology by
This undergraduates textbook covers applied psychology, abnormal behaviour or psychology for medical students, and anxiety and phobias.
Abnormal Psychology by
Abnormal Psychology is considered the most authoritative and comprehensive text in its field; it set the standard for the course. The author team includes the most preeminent and respected researchers in abnormal psychology today. Now, the exciting revision of this classic introduces new topics and fresh insights, as well as a streamlined writing style and a sharper focus on research in psychopathology. The esteemed author team of Butcher, Mineka, and Hooley offers students the most thoroughly researched and up-to-date explanation of psychopathology, creating a learning experience that invokes thought, increases awareness, and takes students to levels of understanding that other books do not offer.
Abnormal Psychology by
An organized discussion of the factors involved in the causes and treatments of abnormal behaviour, this text also includes current physiological research and theory. The third edition offers new information on the impact of gender and culture on abnormal behaviour, as well as a new chapter on eating, sleeping, and psychophysiological disorders.
Essentials of Abnormal Psychology by
Revised to reflect DSM-5, this briefer version of Durand and Barlow's widely used book fully describes abnormal psychology through the authors' standard-setting integrative approach--the most modern, scientifically valid method for studying the subject. Through this approach, readers learn that psychological disorders are rarely caused by a single influence, but rooted in the interaction among multiple factors: biological, psychological, cultural, social, familial, and even political. A conversational writing style, consistent pedagogy, and real case profiles--95 percent from the authors' own case files--provide a realistic context for the scientific findings of the book. In addition, these features ensure that readers never lose sight of the fact that real people are behind the DSM-5 criteria, the theories, and the research.
Understanding Abnormal Child Psychology by
Beautifully written for a first course in child psychopathology, Vicky Phares' Understanding Abnormal Child Psychology emphasizes developmental psychopathology as a means for understanding and treating abnormal behavior in children. The text emphasizes strengths and healthy outcomes as a means for designing effective therapies to help children and families, as well as focusing on prevention as a cornerstone of managing child behavior. Throughout this book, special attention is given to issues of diversity, inclusion, and understanding. The text also examines the relationships between children and their fathers as well as with other primary figures within families (i.e., siblings, step-parents, care-taking grandparents, foster parents, etc.). Abnormal Child Psychology is unique in providing for students a chapter on applying the material they have learned and helping children and families who experience problems.
Abnormal Illness Behaviour by
This book addresses the problem of the widespread misunderstanding and confusion in the medical profession about patients with abnormal illness behavior. It provides a general introduction to the early recognition and management of abnormal illness behavior and offers medical, nursing, and mental health care professionals the skills to identity abnormal illness behavior in their patients, provide appropriate psychological care and recognize when to recommend specialist psychiatric help.
Abnormal and Clinical Psychology by
"This book provided an invaluable orientation to the grounding theoretical principles of clinical health psychology, how this knowledge can be applied by psychologists in healthcare settings, particular assessment and intervention approaches and issues associated with working with patients in healthcare settings ... I would highly recommend this as a key text for clinical psychology trainees and postgraduates working or researching in medical settings across the lifespan, both as a general orientation tool and a resource to refer to with reference to specific presenting issues. Fleur-Michelle Coiffait, Doctoral student, University of Edinburgh, UK "The tone of this volume is well pitched; it is written in clear English yet without being over-simplified. New vocabulary is collated into 'key terms' boxes for easy reference at the end of the chapter - a useful device for the new student. Also proffered at chapter end are 'For Discussion' boxes, encouraging the reader to critically assess and compare the contents of the chapter, along with useful suggestions for further reading. With a good level of detail without swamping the reader, this volume is an excellent introduction to students of abnormal psychology." Hayley Burgess, Psychology Graduate Extensively updated, this popular textbook includes the latest research and therapeutic approaches, including third wave cognitive behavioural therapies, as well as developments in clinical practice. The book introduces and evaluates the conceptual models of mental health problems and their treatment, and provides valuable analyses of various disorders, such as schizophrenia and paedophilia. Each disorder is considered from a psychological, social and biological perspective and different intervention types are thoroughly investigated. The new edition also features NEW case formulations to illustrate discussion of clinical work NEW chapter on recent developments in cognitive behaviour therapy NEW Key Terms boxes at the end of chapters Updated Stop and Think boxes Further reading extended with web links Abnormal and Clinical Psychology 3rd edition is an indispensable guide for undergraduate students in psychology and health allied professions.
Encyclopedia of Abnormal Psychology (Online) by
This book presents current research in the field of abnormal psychology. Topics discussed include self-harm in adolescence and young adulthood; depression and a parenting intervention; a hermeneutic approach to culture and psychotherapy; psychotic symptoms in children and adolescents; treatment approaches to aggressive behavior in schizophrenia; fetal origins of antisocial personality disorder; neurobiology of borderline personality disorder; patterns of interpersonal behaviors and borderline personality characteristics; the psychology of body image and borderline personality and sexual impulsivity.
Concise Encyclopedia of Psychology by
The new paperback edition--now even more concise and user-friendly! Critical Praise for the Second Edition of Concise Encyclopedia of Psychology "Intended for general readers [and] professionals, this source is easy to use, very informative, and authoritative....Highly recommended."--Choice "Concise Encyclopedia of Psychology is an impressive achievement.... [It] covers an incredible breadth of subjects in a clear, authoritative manner suitable for all levels from high school students to practicing psychologists, both academic and clinical."--American Reference Books Annual "[The] contributing authors [include] some of the most influential scholars and practitioners in the field....[The] text reads fast as well as informatively, serving as a ready reference to a wide array of subjects....[It is] a resource to be savored over and over again as the need arises....a reference text without equal."--Child and Family Behavior Therapy. "Authoritative, clear, and concisely written."--Doody's Health Sciences Book Review
