Global Hospitality and Tourism Management Technologies
by
"This book is a comprehensive source of information for those interested in tourism and hospitality management, approaches, and trends, and, covers the emerging research topics that will define the future of IT and cultural development in the 21st century"--Provided by publisher.
Hospitality Management Accounting
by
As the hospitality industry continues to grow and the business environment become ever more competitive, it must become increasingly profit and cost-conscious in order to maximize revenue and minimize costs, all while maintaining the level of service necessary for a successful operation. There is no other hospitality management accounting book on the market that combines essential information, illustrative examples, and useful problems and exercises.
Hotel lodging, restaurant and resort management
by
Hotel Law
by
Hotel Law is a comprehensive textbook specially designed to meet the needs of students of under graduate and post graduate hotel management programmes. The book covers the various laws related to the hotel industry and illustrates them through various examples and cases.The book begins with an introduction to the Indian hospitality industry and hospitality laws. The coverage includes discussion on various laws, such as labour laws, law of torts, Prevention of Food Adulteration Act 1954 (PFA), the Food Safety and Standards Act of India 2006 (FSSAI), and liquorlicensing. The impact of the environment on hotel operations is also discussed with a special focus on waste management in the different departments of a hotel. Important operational aspects such as doing business in India, business contracts, hotel licenses and permission as well as insurance areillustrated with numerous industry examples and cases.Students will find this book useful for its coverage and simple, easy-to-understand, and jargon-free language. The abundance of global and Indian industry-specific cases and examples make this book highly useful for practitioners, as well.
Hotel Engineering
by
Hotel Engineering is a comprehensive textbook, in the Indian context for Hotel Management students. The book covers fundamentals of engineering in the hotel context, description of working of engineering systems, provision of rules and regulations in a concise way but covering all the relevanttopics of hotel engineering. Written in a student-friendly style, it focuses on concepts reinforced with suitable examples, exhibits, illustrations and case studies.The book begins with an introduction to the engineering systems in a hotel. It goes on to discuss the fundamental concepts of work, power, energy and basic electrical systems in a hotel, and wiring and safety precautions in dealing with electrical appliances with reference to hotel industry. Itelaborates the science of illumination, lighting devices and lighting requirements for different functional areas in a hotel. The book discusses thermal science and different types of fuels used in catering industry and ovens and cook-tops. Topics such as fire and extinguishers, water hardness andtreatment, cold and hot water distribution systems, refrigeration and heating, ventilation and air conditioning and elucidated. The book highlights maintenance procedure requirements. It explicates concerns with maintenance of buildings and swimming pool, utility systems and safety and securityaspects of a hotel. The book has maintenance and troubleshooting guides of engineering systems in hotel industry that would be a handy reference for students.
Hotel, Restaurant, and Travel Law
by
For students and practicing professionals in hospitality, travel and tourism as well as specialized paralegal work, Hotel, Restaurant and Travel Law: A Preventative Approach, 7th Edition, addresses legal issues confronted by managers in the hotel, restaurant, travel and casino industries. The emphasis is on prevention of legal violations. By reading the book, managers can appreciate and identify what actions and precautions are necessary to avoid, or at least minimize, the number of lawsuits. The book uses the case method, long recognized as a helpful approach to learning the often-complicated discipline of law. Readers will study decisions from actual cases in which hospitality establishments were sued, as well as what legal precedents were cited.
Managing front office operations
by
Timeshare Management
by
Vacation ownership is becoming a mainstream travel product. Continued growth based on number of units sold and an increasing number of international brands has placed this segment in a very strong position. As the market continues to grow, there is an increasing demand for clear and engaging sources of information on the key issues and components of vacation ownership, from both hospitality management students and the public. This book updates hospitality students in this vacation sector, provides the key background information, explanation of the growth, the components to vacation ownership management and an overview of opportunities in vacation ownership management. Timeshare Management provides the understanding of the financing, marketing, sales, management, and human resource issues surrounding the subject ¿ vital to any hospitality and tourism student.
Planning and Managing Public Relations Campaigns
by
Getting a public relations campaign or programme off the ground can seem overwhelming. Planning and Managing Public Relations Campaigns provides a blueprint for all practitioners. Practical and easy to read, the book presents a 12-point plan for ensuring success of campaigns of all sizes, covering many vital areas including the role of public relations in organizations, the importance of context, research and analysis, setting objectives, strategy and tactics, timescales and resources, evaluation and review. Supported by online resources, including best practice case studies, Planning and Managing Public Relations Campaigns is widely regarded as one of the best 'how-to' guides for students and practitioners. This fully updated fourth edition features new developments in public relations, including social media, along with new case studies including WRAP's Love Food, Hate Waste campaign; The Sleep Pod Hotel Media Tour; McArthur River Mining; AkzoNobel's Corporate Revolution; the UK Department of Culture, Media & Sport's First World War Centenary Commemorations; and Lanson's campaign for unbiased.co.uk. About the PR in Practice series: Published in collaboration with the Chartered Institute of Public Relations (CIPR), the PR in Practice series consists of accessible, practical introductions to day-to-day public relations practice and management issues. The series' action-oriented approach keeps practitioners' knowledge and skills up to date.
Welcome to Hospitality
by
Welcome to Hospitality: An Introduction provides a detailed description of the many facets of the Hospitality and Tourism sector, including tours and travel, hotels, restaurants, culinary, casino operations, cruises, and the recreation and leisure industries. Personal profiles of industry leaders highlight the wide range of career opportunities available in the field. The authors discuss the Hospitality and Tourism industry's evolution toward increased internationalization and integration. Industry Insight vignettes offer a behind-the-scenes view of real-life job tasks and career success stories. Each chapter features practical case study scenarios, including business and social attitude comparatives, advertising and marketing messaging, financial modeling, and competitive analysis formulation. New To This Edition: Expanded coverage of industry career opportunities, a comprehensive new chapter on the Gaming Industry, and expanded coverage of Events Management.
Tourism and Hospitality Management
by
The book aims to address topics such as tourism education and its development in the latter part of the twentieth century, taking "tourism" to be a broader field than "hospitality." The term "hospitality" refers to all operations or services encompassing accommodation and food/beverage facilities at the micro level, whereas "tourism" stands for the other elements at the macro level, including business, destination, and transportation operations. Moving from the generic to the specific, this book is divided into three main parts. Part I starts from a more generic perspective, and is entitled "Tourism Management." It comprises seven chapters by 13 scholars. Part 2 has a more moderate focus, and is entitled "Hospitality Management". It includes seven chapters contributed by 15 scholars from across the world. Part 3 is entitled "Education and Training in Tourism and Hospitality", and covers a range of topics from both tourism and hospitality. This last part consists of six chapters contributed by 13 scholars from four continents.
Hospitality Strategic Management
by
Updated to include the current models, theories, and hospitality practices, Hospitality Strategic Management: Concept and Cases, Second Edition is a comprehensive guide to strategic management in the international hospitality industry. Author Cathy A. Enz uses the case study approach to cover current topics such as innovation, entrepreneurship, leadership, ethics, and franchising. Eight full case studies with exhibits and documents address the areas of lodging, food service, tourism e-commerce, gaming, cruise lines, and airlines, making this book ideal for executive level training courses or hospitality industry executives interested in developing their strategic management skills.
Hospitality Marketing Management
by
Completely revised and updated to include more information on Internet marketing, tourism marketing, marketing technology, and international business, Hospitality Marketing Management, Fifth Edition is a comprehensive, core marketing text. This popular textbook explores marketing and themes unique to hospitality and tourism, with a focus on the practical applications of marketing rather than marketing theory. It provides readers with the tools they need to successfully execute marketing campaigns for a hospitality business, no matter what their specialty.
New Perspectives in Hospitality Management
by
New Perspectives in Hospitality Management is a unique collection of articles that represent the highest level of scholarship in hospitality research. The articles identify themes that have established themselves as key trends among academics. These include:- Human resource management challenges - new research on labour turnover in luxury hotels and how classic hospitality paradigms have developed - Hospitality marketing - how the tourism distribution channel has been transformed, perceptions on guests' perceptions of customer loyalty and transforming customer satisfaction into 'customer delight' - Experiences and behaviours - understanding quality aspects of restaurant image, hedonic and utilitarian values and how they influence restaurant image, and a customer-based approach to hotel experience and brand equity. The collection provides exemplary analysis of recent research trends concerning marketing and HRM research topics and methodology, while also looking to the future in terms of how information and communication technologies will shape the development of the hospitality sector. It will enable readers to access the most important 'thinkers' active in this arena today.
Hospitality and Tourism Management
by
Tourism is an activity that can have a truly major impact on sustainable development. In this book, similarities and differences between international tourists from China, France and the USA are investigated. Moreover, the significant role that culture holds in affecting travellers' buying behaviour has led growing number of researchers to study differences, particularly between Western and Asian countries. This book undertakes a critical review of these and relevant issues affecting the reliability and validity of cross-cultural research (CCR). In addition, small countries' exceptional natural beauty and unique cultural resources often look towards tourism development as an economic growth strategy. However, communities often disagree on the nature of development strategies. The authors of this book propose a standard methodology on sustainable tourism for application in tourism destinations and enterprises in all the business cycle of tourism activity. Furthermore, due to the affect of globalisation and the rapid changes that occur in global higher education during the past decade, the concept of internationalisation in higher education institutions has been widely discussed. This book reviews various aspects of internationalisation and discusses its applications/implications in relation to the hospitality higher education. Other chapters provide an exploratory analysis of gender differences in perceptions of managerial work, investigate destination benchmarking in the context of measuring customer satisfaction as an output of performance improvement, and provides a theoretical framework that investigates the fundamentals of discounting and empirically assesses the efficacy of the discounting process in the lodging industry.
Hotel Life
by
What is a hotel? As Caroline Field Levander and Matthew Pratt Guterl show us in this thought-provoking book, even though hotels are everywhere around us, we rarely consider their essential role in our modern existence and how they help frame our sense of who and what we are. They are, in fact, as centrally important as other powerful places like prisons, hospitals, or universities. More than simply structures made of steel, concrete, and glass, hotels are social and political institutions that we invest with overlapping and contradictory meaning. These alluring places uniquely capture the realities of our world, where the lines between public and private, labor and leisure, fortune and failure, desire and despair are regularly blurred. Guiding readers through the story of hotels as places of troublesome possibility, as mazelike physical buildings, as inspirational touchstones for art and literature, and as unsettling, even disturbing, backdrops for the drama of everyday life, Levander and Guterl ensure that we will never think about this seemingly ordinary place in the same way again.
Advances in Hospitality and Leisure
by
Advances in Hospitality and Leisure, a peer-review journal, delivers refreshing insights from a host of scientific studies in the domains of hospitality, leisure and tourism. It provides a platform to galvanize thoughts on contemporary issues and merging trends essential to theory advancement as well as professional practices from a global perspective. The main focus of this journal is to transcend the innovative methods of inquiry so as to inspire new research topics that are vital and have been in large neglected. This journal is keen to address the needs of the populace having interests in disseminating ideas, concepts and theories derived from scholarly investigations. Potential readers may retrieve useful texts to outline new research agendas, suggest viable topics for a dissertation work, and augment the knowledge of the subjects of interest.
International Encyclopedia of Hospitality Management
by
The International Encyclopedia of Hospitality Management is the definitive reference work for any individual studying or working in the hospitality industry. There are 185 Hospitality Management degrees in the UK alone. This new edition updates and significantly revises twenty five per cent of the entries and has an additional twenty new entries. New online material makes it the most up-to-date and accessible hospitality management encyclopedia on the market. It covers all of the relevant issues in the field of hospitality management from a sectoral level (lodging, restaurants/food service, time-share, clubs and events) as well as a functional one (accounting and finance, marketing, strategic management, human resources, information technology and facilities management). Its unique, user-friendly structure enables readers to find exactly the information they require at a glance; whether they require broad detail that takes a more cross-sectional view across each subject field or more focused information that looks closely at specific topics and issues within the hospitality industry today.
Encyclopedia of Ageism
by
Learn more about age discrimination and how it affects us all The Encyclopedia of Ageism is a comprehensive review of over 125 aspects of ageism, alphabetically arranged for easy access. Written by 60 experts, the book examines topics such as anti-aging, stereotypes, and the media--with numerous references for further information. You'll find an alphabetical list of the entries, a detailed index, and a list of the entries categorized by subject, to help you find what you need fast. This resource will increase your awareness about the many facets of ageism and provide you with a wealth of concepts, theories, and facts about ageism. This important resource exposes the many faces of dehumanization through the elder neglect and prejudice that results from today's worldwide youth-oriented culture. The Encyclopedia of Ageism will help you recognize ageism when you encounter it and avoid it in your own thinking and actions. The book is a valuable guide for anyone working with older people and for older people themselves. With the Encyclopedia of Ageism, you will be able to identify personal, cultural, and institutional sources of ageism, such as: age denial age inequality/stratification sexuality scapegoating abuse the disengagement theory and so much more! This eye-opening reference shows how discrimination against elders can have consequences to the aged, the youth, the economy, and society as a whole. The Encyclopedia of Ageism promotes a future where the human rights of older persons are preserved and aging is considered a positive stage in the cycle of life. With this book, you will find strategies for reducing ageism, changing perceptions, and enhancing the quality of life for senior citizens and--someday--yourself.
Encyclopaedia of Hospitality Management
by
Focusing on the making of African American society from the 1896 "separate but equal" ruling of Plessy v. Ferguson up to the contemporary period, this encyclopedia traces the transition from the Reconstruction Era to the age of Jim Crow, the Harlem Renaissance, the Great Migration, the Brown ruling that overturned Plessy, the Civil Rights Movement, and the ascendant influence of African American culture on the American cultural landscape. Covering African American history in all areas of U.S. history and culture from 1896 to the present, the Encyclopedia contains approximately 1,200 fully cross-referenced entries that are all signed by leading scholars and experts, making this five-volume set the most reliable and extensive treatment to be found on African American history in the twentieth century. The set also contains 500 images and roughly 640 biographies, as well as an entry on each of the fifty states. In addition to its comprehensive coverage of African Americans, the Encyclopedia also contains entries about key figures who affected the lives of African Americans in particular and Americans in general. Unrivalled in breadth and scope, this is the preeminent source of information on this topic and is destined to become a trusted reference source for years to come.
Encyclopaedia of Hospitality Management
by
"He's successfully managed to combine expert start-up and management information--at least 10 books' worth--in a single volume. An amazing feat!" --Jerome Goldstein, Publisher, In Business "... an incredible storehouse of knowledge critical for success in almost every business." --Dr. Marshall E. Reddick, Director of the Institute of Entrepreneurship and Professor of Marketing, California State University, Los Angeles "The most striking feature of the book is the very scope of its coverage: I can't think of many business subjects which are not covered here in such detail as to live up to the title of Problem Solver.... I can also see a problem for Bill Cohen: After this, what can he do for an encore?" --Herman Holtz, Author, How to Succeed as an Independent Consultant "This skilled and comprehensive management guide leads the entrepreneur safely through the numerous phases of successful business operations." --Bert Fregly, Management Assistance Officer, U.S. Small Business Administration
International Encyclopedia of Hospitality Management
by
Covers relevant issues in the field of hospitality management from both a sectoral level including lodging, restaurants, clubs, time-share, and conventions, as well as a functional one including accounting and finance, marketing, human resources, information technology, and facilities management.