Linux system programming by
Write software that draws directly on services offered by the Linux kernel and core system libraries. With this comprehensive book, Linux kernel contributor Robert Love provides you with a tutorial on Linux system programming, a reference manual on Linux system calls, and an insider's guide to writing smarter, faster code.
Love clearly distinguishes between POSIX standard functions and special services offered only by Linux. With a new chapter on multithreading, this updated and expanded edition provides an in-depth look at Linux from both a theoretical and applied perspective over a wide range of programming topics, including:
A Linux kernel, C library, and C compiler overview
Basic I/O operations, such as reading from and writing to files
Advanced I/O interfaces, memory mappings, and optimization techniques
The family of system calls for basic process management
Advanced process management, including real-time processes
Thread concepts, multithreaded programming, and Pthreads
File and directory management
Interfaces for allocating memory and optimizing memory access
Basic and advanced signal interfaces, and their role on the system
Clock management, including POSIX clocks and high-resolution timers
Principles of programming languages by
By introducing the principles of programming languages, using the Java language as a support, Gilles Dowek provides the necessary fundamentals of this language as a first objective.
It is important to realise that knowledge of a single programming language is not really enough. To be a good programmer, you should be familiar with several languages and be able to learn new ones. In order to do this, you'll need to understand universal concepts, such as functions or cells, which exist in one form or another in all programming languages. The most effective way to understand these universal concepts is to compare two or more languages. In this book, the author has chosen Caml and C.
To understand the principles of programming languages, it is also important to learn how to precisely define the meaning of a program, and tools for doing so are discussed. Finally, there is coverage of basic algorithms for lists and trees.
Written for students, this book presents what all scientists and engineers should know about programming languages.
An introduction to programming with C++ by
Discover the importance of learning C++ with Diane Zak's popular AN INTRODUCTION TO PROGRAMMING WITH C++, 8E. This book's distinctive emphasis clarifies how mastering C++ programming skills will benefit you now and throughout your career. This unique text incorporates a student-focused approach that continually highlights the importance and relevance of the programming concepts you are learning. Memorable new examples portray concepts in action, while abundant new hands-on exercises, including mini-quizzes, Labs, and "Try This" features, guide you in absorbing, practicing, and applying concepts as you progress. Trust AN INTRODUCTION TO PROGRAMMING WITH C++, 8E to keep you enthusiastic about learning as you master the skills of C++.
Mobile phone programming and its application to wireless networking by
This book provides a solid overview of mobile phone programming for readers in both academia and industry. Coverage includes all commercial realizations of the Symbian, Windows Mobile and Linux platforms. The text introduces each programming language (JAVA, Python, C/C++) and offers a set of development environments "step by step," to help familiarize developers with limitations, pitfalls, and challenges.
C++ how to program : introducing the new C++14 Standard by
For courses in C++ Programming
The best-selling C++ How to Program is accessible to readers with little or no programming experience, yet comprehensive enough for the professional programmer. The Deitels' signature live-code approach presents the concepts in the context of full working programs followed by sample executions. The early objects approach gets readers thinking about objects immediately-allowing them to more thoroughly master the concepts. Emphasis is placed on achieving program clarity and building well-engineered software. Interesting, entertaining, and challenging exercises encourage students to make a difference and use computers and the Internet to work on problems. To keep readers up-to-date with leading-edge computing technologies, the Tenth Edition conforms to the C++11 standard and the new C++14 standard.
Java : how to program : late objects version by
Intended for use in the Java programming course
The Deitels' groundbreaking How to Program series offers unparalleled breadth and depth of object-oriented programming concepts and intermediate-level topics for further study. Java How to Program (Late Objects), 10th Edition, teaches programming by presenting the concepts in the context of full working programs.
The Late Objects Version delays coverage of class development until Chapter 8, first presenting control structures, methods and arrays material in a non-object-oriented, procedural programming context.
This program presents a better teaching and learning experience--for you and your students.
Teach Programming with the Deitels' Signature Live Code Approach: Java language features are introduced with thousands of lines of code in hundreds of complete working programs.
Use a Late Objects Approach: The Late Objects Version begins with a rich treatment of procedural programming, including two full chapters on control statements and 200+ exercises.
Keep Your Course Current: This edition can be used with Java SE 7 or Java SE 8, and is up-to-date with the latest technologies and advancements.
Facilitate Learning with Outstanding Applied Pedagogy: Making a Difference exercise sets, projects, and hundreds of valuable programming tips help students apply concepts.
Visual basic 2012 : how to program by
Appropriate for all basic-to-intermediate level courses in Visual Basic 2012 programming. Visual Basic 2012 How to Program, Sixth Edition is also appropriate for anyone interested in learning programming with Visual Basic 2012.
Created by world-renowned programming instructors Paul and Harvey Deitel, Visual Basic 2012 How to Program, Sixth¿Edition introduces all facets of the Visual Basic 2012 language through a hands-on approach with hundreds of working programs. This book has been thoroughly updated to reflect the major innovations Microsoft has incorporated in Visual Basic 2012; all discussions and sample code have been carefully audited against the newest Visual Basic language specification. The Sixth Edition is updated to Visual Studio 2012 and includes new chapters on Windows 8 UI app development, Windows 8 graphics/multimedia, Windows Phone 8 app development and Windows Azure.
Readers begin by getting comfortable with the free Visual Basic Express 2012 IDE and basic VB syntax. Next, they build their skills one step at a time, mastering control structures, classes, objects, methods, variables, arrays, and the core techniques of object-oriented programming. With this strong foundation in place, the Deitels introduce more sophisticated techniques, including inheritance, polymorphism, exception handling, strings, GUI's, data structures, generics, and collections. Throughout, the authors show developers how to make the most of Microsoft's Visual Studio tools. A series of appendices provide essential programming reference material on various topics.
packetC Programming by
This book introduces the tools you'll need to program with the packetC language.
packetC speeds the development of applications that live within computer networks, the kind of programs that provide network functionality for connecting "clients" and "servers" and "clouds." The simplest examples provide packet switching and routing while more complex examples implement cyber security, broadband policies or cloud-based network infrastructure.
Network applications, such as those processing digital voice and video, must be highly scalable, secure and maintainable. Such application requirements translate to requirements for a network programming language that leverages massively-parallel systems and ensures a high level of security, while representing networking protocols and transactions in the simplest way possible.
packetC meets these requirements with an intuitive approach to coarse-grained parallelism, with strong-typing and controlled memory access for security and with new data types and operators that express the classic operations of the network-oriented world in familiar programming terms.
No other language has addressed the full breadth of requirements for tractable parallelism, secure processing and usable constructs. The packetC language is growing in adoption and has been used to develop solutions operating in some of the world's largest networks.
This important new language, packetC, has now been successfully documented in this book, in which the language's authors provide the materials and tools you'll need in a readable and accessible form.
Beginning programming by
Programming allows developers to create a sequence of instructions that enable computers to perform certain functions and tasks Offering the basic best practices and skills for novice programmers, this book helps readers gain new skills for writing programs and developing applications Teaches programming using C++ and explores scripting with JavaScript and VBScript, which are all free and don't require the reader to purchase any software Includes programming projects and real-world code examples that can be modified and expanded upon
Unix & Shell Programming by 
Python Programming Fundamentals by
Computer programming is a skill that can bring great enjoyment from the creativity involved in designing and implementing a solution to a problem. This classroom-tested and easy-to-follow textbook teaches the reader how to program using Python, an accessible language which can be learned incrementally. Through an extensive use of examples and practical exercises, students will learn to recognize and apply abstract patterns in programming, as well as how to inspect the state of a program using a debugger tool. Features: contains numerous examples and solved practice exercises designed for an interactive classroom environment; highlights several patterns which commonly appear in programs, and presents exercises that reinforce recognition and application of these patterns; introduces the use of a debugger, and includes supporting material that reveals how programs work; presents the Tkinter framework for building graphical user interface applications and event-driven programs; provides helpful additional resources for instructors at the associated website: http://cs.luther.edu/~leekent/CS1. This hands-on textbook for active learning in the classroom will enable undergraduates in computer science to develop the necessary skills to begin developing their own programs. It employs Python as the introductory language due to the wealth of support available for programmers.
Beginning Arduino Programming by
Beginning Arduino Programming allows you to quickly and intuitively develop your programming skills through sketching in code. This clear introduction provides you with an understanding of the basic framework for developing Arduino code, including the structure, syntax, functions, and libraries needed to create future projects. You will also learn how to program your Arduino interface board to sense the physical world, to control light, movement, and sound, and to create objects with interesting behavior.
With Beginning Arduino Programming, you'll get the knowledge you need to master the fundamental aspects of writing code on the Arduino platform, even if you have never before written code. It will have you ready to take the next step: to explore new project ideas, new kinds of hardware, contribute back to the open source community, and even take on more programming languages.
Game Graphics Programming by 
Beginning game programming by 
Pro Java Programming by
*Exploits the finer points of core and standard editions of Java 2
*Updated to include the final Java 2SE 5.0 (Tiger) release *
*Ideal for experienced non-Java and Java programmers who need intermediate level book
The Linux programming interface a Linux and UNIX system programming handbook by
The Linux Programming Interface describes the Linux API (application programming interface)—the system calls, library functions, and other low-level interfaces that are used, directly or indirectly, by every program that runs on Linux. Programs that explicitly use these interfaces are commonly called system programs, and include applications such as shells, editors, windowing systems, terminal emulators, file managers, compilers, database management systems, virtual machines, network servers, and much of the other software that is employed on a daily basis on Linux systems. Extensively indexed and heavily cross-referenced, The Linux Programming Interface is both an introductory guide for readers new to the topic of system programming, and a comprehensive reference for experienced system programmers. Although this book goes into detail on a wealth of Linux-specific features, it gives careful attention to contemporary Unix programming standards and to portability issues.