Introduction to mass communication : media literacy and culture by 
Introduction to Mass Communication by
This text is designed to instruct students on how to formulate, plan and implement a new venture. Students are exposed to descriptions of how to embark on a new venture in a logical manner, with actual case studies and entrepreneur profiles. The material is also supported by Internet resources.
The Media of Mass Communication by
Designed for courses in introduction to mass communication, introduction to mass media, and media and society. In this updated online edition, John Vivian provides a cost-effective and accessible version of the original text, taking the phrase using the media to teach the media literally, with an extensive PIN-coded web site. While the printed book is the core content, the web site provides the energy and excitement of the media. There is up-to-date coverage of industries and issues, along with a thoughtful recounting of key events in media history to give students the insight they need to understand the complexity and impact of the media in the 21st century.
McQuail's Mass Communication Theory by
Denis McQuail is Emeritus Professor of Mass Communication at the University of Amsterdam. He is the author of a number of seminal works in the field, including Media Performance, (1992), and Audience Analysis, (1997). Some reviews of the previous editions `This book is the most comprehensive to date in its description and evaluation of the proliferating philosophies of how the mass media do or should function in open and closed, developed and developing societies′ - Media Development `An excellent, comprehensive survey of the whole range of thinking on mass media, including definitions, approaches, functions in society, production organizations and analyses of media content′ - Intermedia `... Let′s stress that for people who want to read a single intelligent work on mass communication... this is the work. Of course there must be many criticisms but the answer ′ where would you find so much, so well done, so clearly done and still at an affordable price in any other single work′ will be the proper one in most cases. The first work to look at as text and general survey′ - Media Information Australia The Fourth Edition of this best-selling textbook provides a comprehensive, non-technical introduction to the range of approaches to understanding mass communication. Now fully revised McQuail′s Mass Communication Theory: Offers an integrated treatment of the major components of mass communication: the sender, the message, and the audience; encompasses the diverse forms of mass communication in contemporary societies: television, radio, newspapers, film, music, the internet and other forms of new media; demonstrates how theories of mass communication relate to the broader understanding of society and culture; provides a glossary of nearly a hundred key terms in media and communication. Now thoroughly updated, this new edition of has been rewritten to take account of recent theory and research particularly as it relates to new media, globalisation, and topics in respect of cultural production, such as advertising, marketing, fashion, and merchandising. Retaining all the strengths of the previous editions, McQuail′s Mass Communication Theory remains the most integrated and comprehensive introduction to the field.
International Communication by
This bestselling text is a unique introduction to the complex political, economic and technological context in which multinational media and culture operates and will be compulsory reading for all media and communication studies students. It deals coherently with the complex global political, economic and technological context in which media and culture operate. This edition has been updated to include developments since the turn of the new millennium. It also features brand new case studies throughout, including the 'Murdochisation' of media, the al-Jazeera phenomenon, mobile communication and China and global media. There are also discussion questions, further reading and notes on key terms. This is an excellent publication...What Daya Thussu has succeeded in doing is combining, in one well-written tome, a rich overview of the world's contemporary media and communications environment.' Learning, Media and Technology
Readings in Mass Communications by
This reader is designed to supplement any core textbook in Introduction to Mass Communication. The goal of the reader is to help students think more critically about the media. By drawing from a wide variety of sources and political and cultural viewpoints, this collection is predicated on the fact that students learn about the media mainly through the media–by reading or hearing about media in media publications or broadcasts. These articles are drawn mostly from popular and alternative media and take a hard and critical look at the political and social forces that drive media decision making.
Living in the Information Age by
Understand the impact of new technologies on the media landscape with LIVING IN THE INFORMATION AGE with InfoTrac®! Examining the conceptual and practical aspects of life in an information society, this communication text encourages you to consider how the media industries are being transformed through digital convergence and corporate concentration. Each reading is prefaced by a short introduction and three questions for critical thinking and discussion to help you master the material. Each article is followed by suggestions for taking research online using InfoTrac College Edition so that you can enhance your understanding of the material.
Women in Mass Communication by
The Third Edition of Women in Mass Communication provides a new generation of students with an insightful examination of women in the journalism and mass communication professions. In this seminal volume, editors Pamela Creedon and Judith Cramer offer ideas and directions for improving the status of women--and men-- working in the field. Intended Audience This is an excellent text for undergraduate students in mass mommunication taking courses such as Women in Mass Media, Women in Journalism, or Issues in Mass Communication. It can also be used in a variety of courses in women's studies, gender studies, and cultural studies departments.
Beginners' Guide to Journalism and Mass Communication by
Most books on journalism today are either too complex to comprehend or too superficial. Barun Roy has really done a remarkably good job to fill a long-felt vacuum. This guide introduces basic tools of the applied journalism in simple language. It provides step-by-step instructions to develop skills in the field. Any person interested in journalism, mass communication and in public relations will find this book very interesting, informative and useful. It could even motivate you to contribute articles and features to newspapers and magazines as a freelance writer. Some salient features of the book: *What is journalism? *News Gathering. *News Lead. *Putting the Story together. *Writing in Newspaper Style. *Colourful News Feature. *Headline Story. *Journalism as a Career. #v&spublishers
Seeking Equity for Women in Journalism and Mass Communication Education by
This volume concentrates on the study and efforts of women and minority men to gain respect and parity in journalism and mass communication, and focuses on trends over the past three decades. Contributions to the volume provide a history of the equity efforts and offer updates on equity in the academy and in the professions. Theoretical and international perspectives on equity are also included, as are the concerns about equity from the new generations now coming into the profession. This anthology serves as a benchmark of women's current status in journalism and mass communication and provides a call to action for the future. As such, it is required reading for all concerned with establishing equity throughout the discipline.
Mass Communication and Journalism : Principles and Concepts by
https://usiu.ent.sirsidynix.net.uk/client/en_GB/default/search/results?qu=mass+communication&if=el%09edsSelectFacet%09FT1&if=ee%09edsExpanderFacet%09fulltext&if=ef%09SourceType%09eBooks&ir=Eds&isd=true
Modern Mass Media by
This text offers an all-inclusive assessment of the rapidly changing world of mass communications. Including coverage of global communication and ethics; a meaningful study of evolving media economics in the individual media chapters; and a stronger focus on media history.
The Battle of the Mind by
A wide-ranging survey of the role of mass media in warfare since the late nineteenth century.
Beyond New Media by
Beyond New Media: Discourse and Critique in a Polymediated Age examines a host of differing positions on media in order to explore how those positions can inform one another and build a basis for future engagements with media theory, research, and practice. Herbig, Herrmann, and Tyma have brought together a number of media scholars with differing paradigmatic backgrounds to debate the relative applicability of existing theories and in doing so develop a new approach: polymediation. Each contributor's disciplinary background is diverse, spanning interpersonal communication, media studies, organizational communication, instructional design, rhetoric, mass communication, gender studies, popular culture studies, informatics, and persuasion. Although each of these scholars brings with them a unique perspective on media's role in people's lives, what binds them together is the belief that meaningful discourse about media must be an ongoing conversation that is open to critique and revision in a rapidly changing mediated culture. By studying media in a polymediated way, Beyond New Media addresses more completely our complex relationship to media(tion) in our everyday lives.
Encyclopedia of Science and Technology Communication by
For a free 30-day online trial to this title, visit www.sagepub.com/freetrial In the academic world, the term "science communication" refers both to a set of professions (such as science journalism and public information work) and to an interdisciplinary scholarly research specialization. Much of this research is aimed at improving our understanding of the best ways to communicate complex information, especially to people who are not scientists. Science communication specialists are concerned with giving people useful information about health, environment, and technology - as well as science itself. In order to do this, we also need to improve our understanding of how people think, form opinions, and process information. Additionally, professional practitioners in science communication are engaged in strategic and ethical decisions every day, such as: How should reporters cover the issue of climate change? Should the views of scientists who do not believe that climate change has been caused by human activity be included alongside the views of those who do, in order to give a "balanced" story, or does this mislead the public into thinking that both of these positions are equally accepted within the scientific community? The Encyclopedia of Science and Technology Communication provides information on the entire range of interrelated issues in this interdisciplinary field in one place, along with clear suggestions on where to begin the search for more. Geared towards undergraduate and graduate students in journalism, communication, mass communication, and media studies, as well as towards working journalists, public information officers, and public relations specialists, this encyclopedia introduces this vast, fascinating field while challenging the reader to question assumptions inherent in communication across disciplinary boundaries. Key Themes
The Handbook of Communication Science by
This revision of a classic volume presents state-of-the-art reviews of established and emerging areas of communication science and provides an intellectual compass that points the way to future theorizing about communication processes. In this Second Edition of The Handbook of Communication Science, editors Charles R. Berger, Michael E. Roloff, and David Roskos-Ewoldsen bring together an impressive array of communication scholars to explore and synthesize the varying perspectives and approaches within the dynamic field of communication science. After first addressing the methods of research and the history of the field, the Handbook then examines the levels of analysis in communication (individual to macro-social), the functions of communication (such as socialization and persuasion), and the contexts in which communication occurs (such as couples, families, organizations, and mass media). Key Features: Draws on the scholarship and expertise of leading communication scholars who explore different aspects of the field Covers all facets of communication science, from the historical and theoretical to the practical and applied Covers the latest theoretical developments in the field, as well as alternative methodologies and levels of analysis Explores key communication contexts of the 21st century, including interpersonal dimensions of health communication, the scientific investigation of marital and family communication, and computer-mediated communication Includes incisive analyses, literature reviews, bibliographies, and suggestions for future research The Handbook of Communication Science, Second Edition, is an essential reference resource for scholars, practitioners, and students. It is appropriate for upper-level undergraduate or graduate courses in Communication and Media Studies and Mass Communication.
The Handbook of Global Media Research by
Bringing together the perspectives of more than 40 internationally acclaimed authors, The Handbook of Global Media Research explores competing methodologies in the dynamic field of transnational media and communications, providing valuable insight into research practice in a globalized media landscape. Provides a framework for the critical debate of comparative media research Posits transnational media research as reflective of advanced globalization processes, and explores its roles and responsibilities Articulates the key themes and competing methodological approaches in a dynamic and developing field Showcases the perspectives and ideas of 30 leading internationally acclaimed scholars Offers a platform for the discussion of crucial issues from a variety of theoretical, methodical and practical viewpoints
The Handbook of Communication and Corporate Reputation by
With the latest insights from the world of communication studiesinto the nature of corporate reputation, this new addition toWiley-Blackwell?s series of handbooks on communication andmedia reflects the growing visibility of large businesses?ethical profiles, and tracks the benefits that positive publicattitudes can bring. Serves as the definitive research collection for a fast-growingfield featuring contributions by key international scholars Brings together state-of-the-art communication studies insightson corporate reputation Identifies and addresses the lacunae in the researchliterature Applies new theoretical frameworks to corporate reputation
Media Writer's Handbook: a Guide to Common Writing and Editing Problems by
Appropriate for media writing courses as either a primary or a supplemental text, Media Writer's Handbook is a primer for anyone who really wants to understand the grammatical and stylistic elements of good writing. Useful as a teaching tool in the classroom, this book also becomes a trusted reference resource for students and professionals. The sixth edition continues to identify and offer simple solutions for the most common language errors committed every day by mass media writers and broadcasters.