Tourism Management by
One of the leading texts in the field, Tourism Management is the ideal introduction to the fundamentals of tourism as you study for a degree, diploma or single module in the subject. It is written in an engaging style that assumes no prior knowledge of tourism and builds up your understanding as you progress through this wide ranging global review of the principles of managing tourism. It traces the evolution and future development of tourism and the challenges facing tourism managers in this fast growing sector of the world economy. This book is highly illustrated with diagrams and colour images, and contains short case studies of contemporary themes of interest, as well as new data and statistics. This fifth edition has been revised and updated to include: new content on: sports, festivals and event tourism, social media impacts on tourism and the effects of the global economic downturn on tourism, as well as emerging themes in tourism such as slow travel, dark tourism, volunteer tourism and medical tourism updated case studies on BRIC markets and new case studies from the Middle East and Asia enhanced tourism and sustainable development coverage, which runs throughout the book as a major theme, highlighting the challenge of climate change and future tourism growth transport section with more international perspectives from China and South America an updated companion website with: additional case studies, quizzes, PPTs, further reading, web reading and video links, and longer reflective case study per chapter to aid both teaching and learning.
Tourism Enterprise by
The environmental quality and popularity of any tourist destination is the outcome of sustained development, shaped by the socio-economic and physical dimensions of the local environment. Protecting the 'living landscape' requires recognizing, promoting and developing the links between economic, social and environmental objectives. This book therefore examines the tourism business in terms of 'greening' the local economy, people and environment, establishing the green agenda and investigating its application to the tourism sector.
Facilities Management and Development for Tourism, Hospitality and Events by
Facilities planning for tourism, hospitality and events (THE) is an important subject from both theoretical and applied perspectives, as land, property and resources represent major components of the foundation of the industry. As future managers, it is imperative that students have a sound basic knowledge of property and the various resources, systems and services associated with it. Covering important contemporary subjects such as sustainable planning and environmental management, this book considers the planning, development and management of facilities operations from several key perspectives, drawing upon the expertise of complementary experts in the design, management and development of THE facilities.
Cultural Tourism by
With contributions from international experts this book provides a broad discussion of cultural tourism as a concept and the way it is implemented in diverse regions around the world. Addressing the notion of cultural tourism and what it means to tourism as an industry, and also types of cultural tourism offered to tourists and experienced by them. Many international case studies will be included on specific instances of cultural tourism, and current topics such as cultural tourism's relationship to sustainability are discussed.
Planning and Control for Food and Beverage Operations by
The eighth edition of Planning and Control for Food and Beverage Operations continues an emphasis on practical activities that managers in food service operations of all sizes can use to plan and control their operations. The primary topics of this book-food and beverage products, labor, and revenue-are carefully analyzed, and the best strategies for their management in commercial and noncommercial food service operations are provided. This book is meant to be read and used. Students in formal educational programs and trainees in hospitality operations may read the book from cover to cover as part of formal or informal professional development and career training activities. Others, such as managers and supervisors on the front lines, can turn to this book for "how-to-do-it" help with problem-solving tasks on the job.
The Routledge Handbook of Tourism and the Environment by
The Routledge Handbook of Tourism and the Environment explores and critically evaluates the debates and controversies inherent to tourism's relationship with nature, especially pertinent at a time of major re-evaluation of our relationship with the environment as a consequence of the environmental problems we now face. It brings together leading specialists from range of disciplinary backgrounds and geographical regions, to provide state-of-the-art theoretical reflection and empirical research on this complex relationship and future direction. The book is divided in to five interrelated sections. Section one evaluates the philosophical basis, rationale and complexity of what is meant by the term 'environment' considering the major influences in the construction of how we understand our surroundings and the types of values we place upon them. Section two evaluates the types of eco-systems that are used as natural resources for tourism and the negative and positive impacts upon them. Section three evaluates relevant environmental policy and management mechanisms for the impacts of tourism on the natural environment. Section four focuses on the changing tourism-environment relationship, and the types of tourism that have become established in the tourism industry, market and policy. Section five, analyzes contemporary and future issues of the tourism-environment relationship, based upon themes of environmental and social welfare. This timely book will provide an invaluable resource for all those with an interest in tourism's relationship with the natural environment, encouraging dialogue across disciplinary boundaries and areas of study. The book is international in its focus, emphasizing that issues of tourism and the natural environment are not only localized but transcend national boundaries that sometimes require both international and global responses. This is essential reading for student, researchers and academics of Tourism as well as those of Geography, Environmental Studies and Development Studies.
Marketing and Designing the Tourist Experience by
The originality of this text lies in its combination of a wide range of knowledge, theory and best practice that has so far been widely distributed across a range of sources. Drawing all this together allows the authors to offer a much needed multifaceted but carefully integrated overview of managing and promoting the tourist experience.For students and practitioners alike it will make clear both in theory and in practice:* What really lies at the heart of the customer experience;* How to manage and improve service provision;* How to influence the customer experience;* Key examples illustrating real world success. The topic of 'experience' is becoming central to a proper and full understanding of consumer behaviour and the book covers the key sectors where it is a critical factor- from resort management and tourist information to destination marketing. International in scope and applicability it backs up the theory throughout with relevant case materials, questions and exercises.Written by experienced educators it is ideal for upper level students in tourism marketing and tourism management, and important for all practitioners and managers who also need to understand the principles and practice of experiential and tourism marketing, tourist behaviour, service quality and customer experience.
Global Hospitality and Tourism Management Technologies by
"This book is a comprehensive source of information for those interested in tourism and hospitality management, approaches, and trends, and, covers the emerging research topics that will define the future of IT and cultural development in the 21st century"--Provided by publisher.
Hospitality Security by
A security director must have knowledge of criminal and civil law, risk and personnel management, budgeting and finance, and a host of other areas in order to be effective. Hospitality Security: Managing Security in Today's Hotel, Lodging, Entertainment, and Tourism Environment provides experience-based, proven methods for preventing and resolving the challenges faced by today's hospitality practitioner. Designed for both novice security professionals and industry veterans in need of a reference, the book covers: Risk assessment, where threats and vulnerabilities are calculated with probabilities to determine risk The security plan, where you decide how to apply various layers of control to mitigate the risks Budgeting: the amount of money available to implement the plan determines the next step Policies: how to document policies into a security manual, training manual, emergency procedures manual, and incident action plan Staffing: scheduling, wages, deployment, and contract security Training, including specialized topics such as use of force and bike patrol Physical security and patrol procedures Alarm and camera systems and various software programs Emergency procedures and response Investigations, interviews, and crime analysis Executive skills: learning from proven leadership styles Ideal for novices and veterans alike, this accessible, reader-friendly primer enables security directors to evaluate what risks are inherent to hospitality environments, analyze those risks through threat and vulnerability assessments, and develop methods to mitigate or eliminate them--all the while keeping customers and personnel safe and improving the bottom line.
Tourism by
This text introduces the fundamental principles of tourism and provides a framework that effectively integrates theory and practice. A global and diverse spread of examples shows the impacts and influences of this fast-changing industry on its environment and vice versa.
Welcome to Hospitality by
Welcome to Hospitality: An Introduction provides a detailed description of the many facets of the Hospitality and Tourism sector, including tours and travel, hotels, restaurants, culinary, casino operations, cruises, and the recreation and leisure industries. Personal profiles of industry leaders highlight the wide range of career opportunities available in the field. The authors discuss the Hospitality and Tourism industry's evolution toward increased internationalization and integration. Industry Insight vignettes offer a behind-the-scenes view of real-life job tasks and career success stories. Each chapter features practical case study scenarios, including business and social attitude comparatives, advertising and marketing messaging, financial modeling, and competitive analysis formulation. New To This Edition: Expanded coverage of industry career opportunities, a comprehensive new chapter on the Gaming Industry, and expanded coverage of Events Management.
Tourism and Hospitality Management by
The book aims to address topics such as tourism education and its development in the latter part of the twentieth century, taking "tourism" to be a broader field than "hospitality." The term "hospitality" refers to all operations or services encompassing accommodation and food/beverage facilities at the micro level, whereas "tourism" stands for the other elements at the macro level, including business, destination, and transportation operations. Moving from the generic to the specific, this book is divided into three main parts. Part I starts from a more generic perspective, and is entitled "Tourism Management." It comprises seven chapters by 13 scholars. Part 2 has a more moderate focus, and is entitled "Hospitality Management". It includes seven chapters contributed by 15 scholars from across the world. Part 3 is entitled "Education and Training in Tourism and Hospitality", and covers a range of topics from both tourism and hospitality. This last part consists of six chapters contributed by 13 scholars from four continents.
Hospitality Strategic Management by
Updated to include the current models, theories, and hospitality practices, Hospitality Strategic Management: Concept and Cases, Second Edition is a comprehensive guide to strategic management in the international hospitality industry. Author Cathy A. Enz uses the case study approach to cover current topics such as innovation, entrepreneurship, leadership, ethics, and franchising. Eight full case studies with exhibits and documents address the areas of lodging, food service, tourism e-commerce, gaming, cruise lines, and airlines, making this book ideal for executive level training courses or hospitality industry executives interested in developing their strategic management skills.
Hospitality Marketing Management by
Completely revised and updated to include more information on Internet marketing, tourism marketing, marketing technology, and international business, Hospitality Marketing Management, Fifth Edition is a comprehensive, core marketing text. This popular textbook explores marketing and themes unique to hospitality and tourism, with a focus on the practical applications of marketing rather than marketing theory. It provides readers with the tools they need to successfully execute marketing campaigns for a hospitality business, no matter what their specialty.
New Perspectives in Hospitality Management by
New Perspectives in Hospitality Management is a unique collection of articles that represent the highest level of scholarship in hospitality research. The articles identify themes that have established themselves as key trends among academics. These include:- Human resource management challenges - new research on labour turnover in luxury hotels and how classic hospitality paradigms have developed - Hospitality marketing - how the tourism distribution channel has been transformed, perceptions on guests' perceptions of customer loyalty and transforming customer satisfaction into 'customer delight' - Experiences and behaviours - understanding quality aspects of restaurant image, hedonic and utilitarian values and how they influence restaurant image, and a customer-based approach to hotel experience and brand equity. The collection provides exemplary analysis of recent research trends concerning marketing and HRM research topics and methodology, while also looking to the future in terms of how information and communication technologies will shape the development of the hospitality sector. It will enable readers to access the most important 'thinkers' active in this arena today.
Hospitality and Tourism Management by
Tourism is an activity that can have a truly major impact on sustainable development. In this book, similarities and differences between international tourists from China, France and the USA are investigated. Moreover, the significant role that culture holds in affecting travellers' buying behaviour has led growing number of researchers to study differences, particularly between Western and Asian countries. This book undertakes a critical review of these and relevant issues affecting the reliability and validity of cross-cultural research (CCR). In addition, small countries' exceptional natural beauty and unique cultural resources often look towards tourism development as an economic growth strategy. However, communities often disagree on the nature of development strategies. The authors of this book propose a standard methodology on sustainable tourism for application in tourism destinations and enterprises in all the business cycle of tourism activity. Furthermore, due to the affect of globalisation and the rapid changes that occur in global higher education during the past decade, the concept of internationalisation in higher education institutions has been widely discussed. This book reviews various aspects of internationalisation and discusses its applications/implications in relation to the hospitality higher education. Other chapters provide an exploratory analysis of gender differences in perceptions of managerial work, investigate destination benchmarking in the context of measuring customer satisfaction as an output of performance improvement, and provides a theoretical framework that investigates the fundamentals of discounting and empirically assesses the efficacy of the discounting process in the lodging industry.
Hotel Life by
What is a hotel? As Caroline Field Levander and Matthew Pratt Guterl show us in this thought-provoking book, even though hotels are everywhere around us, we rarely consider their essential role in our modern existence and how they help frame our sense of who and what we are. They are, in fact, as centrally important as other powerful places like prisons, hospitals, or universities. More than simply structures made of steel, concrete, and glass, hotels are social and political institutions that we invest with overlapping and contradictory meaning. These alluring places uniquely capture the realities of our world, where the lines between public and private, labor and leisure, fortune and failure, desire and despair are regularly blurred. Guiding readers through the story of hotels as places of troublesome possibility, as mazelike physical buildings, as inspirational touchstones for art and literature, and as unsettling, even disturbing, backdrops for the drama of everyday life, Levander and Guterl ensure that we will never think about this seemingly ordinary place in the same way again.
Advances in Hospitality and Leisure by
Advances in Hospitality and Leisure, a peer-review journal, delivers refreshing insights from a host of scientific studies in the domains of hospitality, leisure and tourism. It provides a platform to galvanize thoughts on contemporary issues and merging trends essential to theory advancement as well as professional practices from a global perspective. The main focus of this journal is to transcend the innovative methods of inquiry so as to inspire new research topics that are vital and have been in large neglected. This journal is keen to address the needs of the populace having interests in disseminating ideas, concepts and theories derived from scholarly investigations. Potential readers may retrieve useful texts to outline new research agendas, suggest viable topics for a dissertation work, and augment the knowledge of the subjects of interest.
Knowledge Management in Tourism by
Sixty years after its birth, contemporary tourism is at crossroads. It has grown to become a key element of economic well-being, but it is threatened and threatening. Its enemies are congestion, destruction of natural and cultural environments, and social unrest. However, it also contributes its fair share to these evils. How can tourism really become a fulcrum for development and sustainability in the 21st century? This is a matter of crucial importance for entrepreneurs, governments, and civil society stakeholders, and Knowledge Management in Tourism: Policy and Governance Applications provides these key players with answers and queries, and above all with the strategic tools to understand and act. Knowledge Management in Tourism: Policy and Governance Applications is an indispensable instrument for everyone interested in the theory and practice of this very important human pursuit: the quest for effectiveness, efficiency, and equity of tourism activities in helping build the future of mankind.
Tourism and Trails by
Trails and routes have been indispensable to travel and tourism over the centuries, helping to form the basis of mobility patterns of the past and the present. This book is the first to comprehensively examine these tourism trails from a tourism and recreation perspective. This cutting-edge volume is global in scope and discusses a wide range of natural, cultural and developed linear resources for tourism and recreation. The book is suitable for both researchers and students who are interested in cultural heritage-based tourism, recreation and leisure studies, landscape and change, human mobility, geography, environmental management, and broader interests in destination planning, development and management.
Sustainable Hospitality and Tourism Management by
Sustainable Hospitality and Tourism Management examines various aspects of environmental issues that are encountered bythe two most emerging industry in the world, i.e. Hospitalityand tourism industry. It includes basic concepts of sustainablehospitality and tourism management along with the meaningof sustainable travel and importance of food security. Providesthe reader with the insights into the consumer behavior and theresponsibility of the staff working under the hospitality and tourism business. This is tomake readers understand various dimensions of achieving customer loyalty by adoptingsustainable practices.
Ecotourism and Sustainable Tourism by
Ecotourism, an emergent aspect of tourism, is considered one of the fastest growing industries in the world. According to the Economic Commission for Africa (2011), ecotourism is a panacea for promoting environmental conservation, socio-economic development and improving the living conditions of local people as well as sustaining their culture and traditions. This book discusses new research on the management, opportunities and challenges of ecotourism and sustainable tourism.
Tourism Management of Russian Behavioral Intention Toward Thailand by
Tourism is identified as one of the major potential industries of Thai economy. Tourism is considered to be a top priority for the following reasons: Firstly, it is an industry requiring much labor, thus it provides many jobs for city residents, by which it helps to solve unemployment for society. Secondly, it is an industry which brings with it many important benefits, improving the social-economic situation, and enhancing income for people. Thirdly, it can promote peace, enhancing common understanding and building a unified and sustainable country. In the last years, Thailand's tourism industry has made significant progress and contributed significantly to the economic development and social progress of the nation. In the context of international integration, the Thailand government has focused on developing the tourism industry even further, enhancing service quality, and expanding operations scale. As a result, the number of tourists coming to Thailand has increased significantly between 2009 and 2015. This study investigates the perceived value, satisfaction and revisit of Russian tourists who visit Thailand on the basis of selected tourism destinations in Bangkok, Thailand.
Handbook of LGBT Tourism and Hospitality by
To research this book, the authors traveled to six continents, interviewed nearly a hundred industry experts, and analyzed multiple emerging trends among LGBT travelers. The Handbook of LGBT Tourism and Hospitality is an easy-to-read, practical, and relevant guidebook with a simple goal: to help marketing professionals, business owners, and allied professionals compete in the increasingly competitive global LGBT travel and hospitality industry.
Tourism in Russia by
Russia, the largest country in the world, has untapped tourism potential. Historic and cultural resources, natural attractions, and business opportunities attract a growing number of visitors to this fast-growing country. The book will appeal to a broad base of students, professors, and practitioners. It addresses tourism as a system, provides essentials of management and marketing, discusses tourism planning and impact management, and proposes strategies and recommendations to improve Russia as an international destination. It is also unique in its approach: it has been written by a group of collaborating authors as part of an EU-funded project that created links between tourism academics from Russia and the European Union. Each chapter was co-written by an international mix of contributors who have worked together on tourism and Russia for two years. This project has been funded with support from the European Commission. It reflects the views only of the authors, and the Commission cannot be held responsible for any use which may be made of the information contained therein.
Encyclopaedia of Hospitality Management by
Focusing on the making of African American society from the 1896 "separate but equal" ruling of Plessy v. Ferguson up to the contemporary period, this encyclopedia traces the transition from the Reconstruction Era to the age of Jim Crow, the Harlem Renaissance, the Great Migration, the Brown ruling that overturned Plessy, the Civil Rights Movement, and the ascendant influence of African American culture on the American cultural landscape. Covering African American history in all areas of U.S. history and culture from 1896 to the present, the Encyclopedia contains approximately 1,200 fully cross-referenced entries that are all signed by leading scholars and experts, making this five-volume set the most reliable and extensive treatment to be found on African American history in the twentieth century. The set also contains 500 images and roughly 640 biographies, as well as an entry on each of the fifty states. In addition to its comprehensive coverage of African Americans, the Encyclopedia also contains entries about key figures who affected the lives of African Americans in particular and Americans in general. Unrivalled in breadth and scope, this is the preeminent source of information on this topic and is destined to become a trusted reference source for years to come.
Handbook of Hospitality Marketing Management by
This handbook consists of 19 chapters that critically review mainstream hospitality marketing research topics and set directions for future research efforts. Internationally recognized leading researchers provide thorough reviews and discussions, reviewing hospitality marketing research by topic, as well as illustrating how theories and concepts can be applied in the hospitality industry. The depth and coverage of each topic is unprecedented. A must-read for hospitality researchers and educators, students and industry practitioners.
International Encyclopedia of Hospitality Management by
Covers relevant issues in the field of hospitality management from both a sectoral level including lodging, restaurants, clubs, time-share, and conventions, as well as a functional one including accounting and finance, marketing, human resources, information technology, and facilities management.
The Routledge Handbook of Tourism and the Environment by
The Routledge Handbook of Tourism and the Environment explores and critically evaluates the debates and controversies inherent to tourism's relationship with nature, especially pertinent at a time of major re-evaluation of our relationship with the environment as a consequence of the environmental problems we now face. It brings together leading specialists from range of disciplinary backgrounds and geographical regions, to provide state-of-the-art theoretical reflection and empirical research on this complex relationship and future direction. The book is divided in to five interrelated sections. Section one evaluates the philosophical basis, rationale and complexity of what is meant by the term 'environment' considering the major influences in the construction of how we understand our surroundings and the types of values we place upon them. Section two evaluates the types of eco-systems that are used as natural resources for tourism and the negative and positive impacts upon them. Section three evaluates relevant environmental policy and management mechanisms for the impacts of tourism on the natural environment. Section four focuses on the changing tourism-environment relationship, and the types of tourism that have become established in the tourism industry, market and policy. Section five, analyzes contemporary and future issues of the tourism-environment relationship, based upon themes of environmental and social welfare. This timely book will provide an invaluable resource for all those with an interest in tourism's relationship with the natural environment, encouraging dialogue across disciplinary boundaries and areas of study. The book is international in its focus, emphasizing that issues of tourism and the natural environment are not only localized but transcend national boundaries that sometimes require both international and global responses. This is essential reading for student, researchers and academics of Tourism as well as those of Geography, Environmental Studies and Development Studies.