Advances in Clinical Child Psychology by
The second volume of Advances in Clinical Child Psychology continues the high standards set by the contributing authors of Volume 1. The series has been most fortunate in attracting authors who lead the field of applied child and developmental psychology in theory, research, and practice. Their chapters bring together advances from a wide variety of sub fields in essays that can legitimately be called "major statements." Often these integrative chapters prove to be more than the sum of their parts, not only bringing together information on the most current topics in the field but pointing to new directions as well. Donald Meichenbaum summarized current evidence and theory in his chapter on self-control in children. The cognitive and behavioral and convenient strategies he outlines offer the promise of effective treatment methods, but as he points out, much remains to be learned about these methods. Robert Wahler and his associates outline a new model for the study of generalization of child treatment effects. The model views the family as a system that either supports or inhibits generalization. Suggestions for planning treatments within this framework are provided, as well as an outline for extending this analysis to other levels of systems.
Mastering Competencies in Family Therapy by
MASTERING COMPETENCIES IN FAMILY THERAPY: A PRACTICAL APPROACH TO THEORY AND CLINICAL CASE DOCUMENTATION, 3rd Edition provides a competency-based approach that introduces couple and family therapy theories while simultaneously teaching you how to complete clinical documentation. Using a light and inviting tone, Diane R. Gehart provides detailed instructions and examples that enable you to complete real-world clinical forms, which are incorporated into the text. Diversity and research considerations are integrated into theoretical discussions and practical applications to facilitate a more holistic and nuanced understanding of couple and family therapy.
Interpersonal Psychotherapy 2E a Clinician's Guide by
'This book provides a very useful and thought-provoking account of a developing form of interpersonal psychotherapy and gives a clear guide for practising clinicians." Psychological Medicine First published in 2003, this groundbreaking text firmly established itself as a touchstone for all therapists using interpersonal psychotherapy (IPT). Key features and benefits: * A wealth of clinically-based descriptions and vignettes help bring the theory to life * Numerous case studies highlight the key issues in IPT * Reproducible diagrams and flowcharts for use by therapists and their patients * Comprehensive coverage of key theoretical issues and an up-to-date critical appraisal of IPT research New for the second edition: * Extended coverage of the clinical adaptation of IPT to post-traumatic mental health and other new applications of IPT * More on depression and common problems encountered in IPT * Coverage of training and dissemination * How to manage joint sessions and integrate techniques from other approaches and models Interpersonal Psychotherapy: a clinician's guide is the international standard for the clinical trainee seeking an introduction to IPT as well as for instructors of psychiatry residents, psychology interns and graduate students, as well as social work students. It is an accessible reference for other mental health providers and primary care practitioners.
A Guide to Psychotherapy and Aging by
A Guide to Psychotherapy and Aging: Effective Clinical Interventions in a Life Stage Context provides a comprehensive overview of clinical interventions with older adults. Despite stereotypes that older people respond poorly to treatment, both research and clinical experience confirm that older people respond well to appropriate interventions. Written by experienced clinicians, the chapters in this edited volume describe the major psychotherapeutic approaches that have been used with older people, including behavioural, cognitive-behavioural, interpersonal, psychoanalytic, and family therapy. These chapters combine theory and research with case examples but emphasise the practical decisions that clinicians working with older people face in both individual and institutional settings. Filling out these therapeutic techniques are chapters devoted to special issues that are critical to effective practice with older adults, including assessment, the interface of medical and psychological treatment, interventions in nursing homes, and ethical considerations.
The Clinician's Handbook by
A classic reference for mental health clinicians, revised (third edition, 1993) to reflect recent changes in the most widely used diagnostic categories and psychological tests. Changes in DSM-IV and MMPI-2 are covered in depth. The chapter on psychopharmacology provides clinicians especially non-med
Clinical Perspectives on Psychotherapy Supervision by
Clinical Perspectives on Psychotherapy Supervision is the first book to examine the role of the supervisor -- one of the most important teaching tools in psychotherapy -- from multiple perspectives. Written by experts from virtually every major aspect of supervision, this book gives a clear picture of the many challenges involved in supervising, and how these challenges are best met. Richly illustrated with clinical vignettes, Clinical Perspectives on Psychotherapy Supervision explores theories of supervision, reviews the recent literature, and offers guidelines for practice. Clinical Perspectives on PsychotherapySupervision examines supervision from a variety of perspectives, including * the type of therapy (group, family, behavioral, psychodynamic)* the type of patient (psychotic, crisis)* the context (legal, ethical, cultural, gender)* the vantage of the supervisee* the vantage of the development of the supervisor* the perspective of failed supervision
Brief Psychotherapy by
Contextual Modular Therapy (CMT) is an intensive engagement in therapy. Clients' problems are discussed with regard to the context of their occurrence and the resources which might be relevant to them. The psychotherapy is in six-session modules, each one drawing the client into a different engagement. This approach offers clients a clear indication of their plan of therapy and they may wish to participate in monitoring and evaluating directions taken and progress made.
Clinical Case Formulation by
Case formulation is a key skill for mental health practitioners, and this book provides examples of ten case formulations representing the most common mental health problems in a variety of populations and contexts, offering commentary on contrasting formulations of the same case. Provides an overview of the general features of case formulation and how it can drive treatment Features clinical cases from a variety of populations, focusing on a range of different problems Covers all the major theoretical perspectives in clinical practice - behavioural, cognitive behavioural, psychodynamic, medical , and eclectic Offers commentary on contrasting formulations of the same case for five different clinical problems
Diversity Discipline and Devotion in Psyc by
This book is a selection of papers written over 25 years of practising psychoanalytic psychotherapy, of training and supervising psychotherapists, psychodynamic counsellors and supervisors. It reflects a preoccupation with the growth and diversification of counselling and psychotherapy, with the imperatives of training, supervision and regulation, and with the significant changes in the profession due to the invention of brief, time-limited, intermittent and recurrent psychotherapy.An overall theme is the conviction that what patients and therapists share is vulnerability, and that the therapist is a 'wounded healer', whose reparative tendency informs his professional choice, his therapeutic empathy and his capacity to bear the rigours of therapeutic work. Thus an unconscious connection between the helper and the helped is the driving force of every therapeutic relationship, for better and for worse. Its responsible management requires thorough training, ongoing supervision and a firm frame in order to contain the powerful forces operating when two strangers meet for the purpose of therapy.The range of subjects reflects two decades of professional experience and embraces many distinctive themes, some of which have since been taken further by other writers, like sibling rivalry, frequency of meetings, the methodology of brief therapy, problems of fatherhood, methods of child rearing, identity and abuse. The selection of topics represents the author's thinking as a dedicated clinician who persistently assessed and reassessed in her daily work the techniques and the theoretical assumptions of her clinical and training practice.
Systems-Centred Therapy by
Systems-centered therapy (SCT) brings an innovative approach to clinical practice. Developed by Yvonne Agazarian, SCT introduces a theory and set of methods that put systems ideas into practice. The collection of articles in this book illustrates the array of clinical applications in which SCT is now used. Each chapter introduces particular applications of SCT theory or methods with specific examples from practice that help the theory and methods come alive for the reader across a variety of clinical contexts. This book will be especially useful for therapists and clinical practitioners interested in sampling SCT, for those who learn best with clinical examples, and for anyone with a serious interest in learning the systems-centered approach.
Happy Ever After? by
Much relationship counselling today is conducted by generalist psychologists, social workers, and counsellors. Yet there is a strong case for a greater role for clinical psychologists. Accurate assessment during couples therapy is essential, the dynamics between people are complex, and the process is potentially very demanding of clinical skills. This book provides an opportunity to make the argument for greater involvement in relationship counselling by the clinical psychology profession and to guide both clinical students and practitioners toward an informed and integrated approach to relationship counselling, drawing on the best evidence-based treatments.
Anxiety and Mood Disorders Following Traumatic Brain Injury by
While there are many excellent texts addressing cognitive impairment and behavioural difficulties and on rehabilitation associated with traumatic brain injury, few textbooks specifically address the most common emotional problems that can have such an adverse effect on rehabilitation and outcome. Uniquely this book deals exclusively with the identification and psychotherapeutic management of mood and anxiety disorders after traumatic brain injury. Furthermore, a systematic approach to identifying and diagnosing anxiety and mood disorders is followed throughout the text.As well as providing an introduction to anxiety and mood disorders after traumatic brain injury, it provides a psychological perspective on their evolution and management. It is aimed at a range of professionals in training (or those responsible for providing training in psychopathology, neuropsychology and psychotherapy), as well as those who may have an interest in working with the type of patients with anxiety or depression, commonly seen in post-acute brain injury rehabilitation settings. Case studies, summaries and suggested references for further reading are used throughout to facilitate understanding and teaching where relevant.
Get Out of Your Mind and into Your Life by
Get ready to take a different perspective on your problems and your life--and the way you live it. Acceptance and commitment therapy (ACT) is a new, scientifically based psychotherapy that takes a fresh look at why we suffer and even what it means to be mentally healthy. What if pain were a normal, unavoidable part of the human condition, but avoiding or trying to control painful experience were the cause of suffering and long-term problems that can devastate your quality of life? The ACT process hinges on this distinction between pain and suffering. As you work through this book, you'll learn to let go of your struggle against pain, assess your values, and then commit to acting in ways that further those values. ACT is not about fighting your pain; it's about developing a willingness to embrace every experience life has to offer. It's not about resisting your emotions; it's about feeling them completely and yet not turning your choices over to them. ACT offers you a path out of suffering by helping you choose to live your life based on what matters to you most. If you're struggling with anxiety, depression, or problem anger, this book can help--clinical trials suggest that ACT is very effective for a whole range of psychological problems. But this is more than a self-help book for a specific complaint--it is a revolutionary approach to living a richer and more rewarding life. Learn why the very nature of human language can cause suffering Escape the trap of avoidance Foster willingness to accept painful experience Practice mindfulness skills to achieve presence in the moment Discover the things you really value most Commit to living a vital, meaningful life This book has been awarded The Association for Behavioral and Cognitive Therapies Self-Help Seal of Merit -- an award bestowed on outstanding self-help books that are consistent with cognitive behavioral therapy (CBT) principles and that incorporate scientifically tested strategies for overcoming mental health difficulties. Used alone or in conjunction with therapy, our books offer powerful tools readers can use to jump-start changes in their lives.
Acceptance and Commitment Therapy for Anxiety Disorders by
Acceptance and commitment therapy, or ACT (pronounced as a word rather than letters), is an emerging psychotherapeutic technique first developed into a complete system in the book Acceptance and Commitment Therapy by Steven Hayes, Kirk Strosahl, and Kelly Wilson. ACT marks what some call a third wave in behavior therapy. To understand what this means, it helps to know that the first wave refers to traditional behavior therapy, which works to replace harmful behaviors with constructive ones through a learning principle called conditioning. Cognitive therapy, the second wave of behavior therapy, seeks to change problem behaviors by changing the thoughts that cause and perpetuate them. In the third wave, behavior therapists have begun to explore traditionally nonclinical treatment techniques like acceptance, mindfulness, cognitive defusion, dialectics, values, spirituality, and relationship development. These therapies reexamine the causes and diagnoses of psychological problems, the treatment goals of psychotherapy, and even the definition of mental illness itself. ACT earns its place in the third wave by reevaluating the traditional assumptions and goals of psychotherapy. The theoretical literature on which ACT is based questions our basic understanding of mental illness. It argues that the static condition of even mentally healthy individuals is one of suffering and struggle, so our grounds for calling one behavior 'normal' and another 'disordered' are murky at best. Instead of focusing on diagnosis and symptom etiology as a foundation for treatment-a traditional approach that implies, at least on some level, that there is something 'wrong' with the client-ACT therapists begin treatment by encouraging the client to accept without judgment the circumstances of his or her life as they are. Then therapists guide clients through a process of identifying a set of core values. The focus of therapy thereafter is making short and long term commitments to act in ways that affirm and further this set of values. Generally, the issue of diagnosing and treating a specific mental illness is set aside; in therapy, healing comes as a result of living a value-driven life rather than controlling or eradicating a particular set of symptoms. Emerging therapies like ACT are absolutely the most current clinical techniques available to therapists. They are quickly becoming the focus of major clinical conferences, publications, and research. More importantly, these therapies represent an exciting advance in the treatment of mental illness and, therefore, a real opportunity to alleviate suffering and improve people's lives. Not surprisingly, many therapists are eager to include ACT in their practices. ACT is well supported by theoretical publications and clinical research; what it has lacked, until the publication of this book, is a practical guide showing therapists exactly how to put these powerful new techniques to work for their own clients. Acceptance and Commitment Therapy for Anxiety Disorders adapts the principles of ACT into practical, step-by-step clinical methods that therapists can easily integrate into their practices. The book focuses on the broad class of anxiety disorders, the most common group of mental illnesses, which includes general anxiety, panic disorder, phobias, obsessive-compulsive disorder, and post-traumatic stress disorder. Written with therapists in mind, this book is easy to navigate, allowing busy professionals to find the information they need when they need it. It includes detailed examples of individual therapy sessions as well as many worksheets and exercises, the very important 'homework' clients do at home to reinforce work they do in the office.
Act in Practice by
Acceptance and commitment therapy (ACT) is more than just a set of techniques for structuring psychotherapeutic treatment; it also offers a new, insightful, transdiagnostic approach to case conceptualization and to mental health in general. Learn to put this popular new psychotherapeutic model to work in your practice with this book, the first guide that explains how to do case conceptualization within an ACT framework. ACT in Practice offers an introduction to ACT, an overview of its impact, and a brief introduction to the six core processes of ACT treatment--the six points of the hexaflex model and its pathological alter ego, the so-called inflexahex. It describes how to accomplish case conceptualizations in general and offers précis of the literature that establish the importance and value of case conceptualization. This guide also offers possible alternative case conceptualization for cases from different therapeutic traditions, a great help to therapists who come from a more traditional CBT background. Exercises throughout help you to evaluate the information you have just learned so that you may effectively integrate ACT into your practice.
Clinical Handbook of Couple Therapy by
Regarded as the authoritative reference and text, this handbook presents the most effective, widely studied approaches to couple therapy. The distinguished coeditors bring together other leading experts, most of whom developed the approaches they describe. Adhering closely to a uniform structure to facilitate study and comparison, chapters cover the history, theoretical and empirical underpinnings, and techniques of each model. The volume also describes cutting-edge applications for particular relationship contexts (such as blended families, LGBT couples, and separated couples) and clinical problems (such as partner aggression, psychological disorders, and medical issues). New to This Edition *Chapters on interpersonal neurobiology and intercultural relationships. *Chapters on couple therapy for PTSD, functional analytic couple therapy, and the integrative problem-centered metaframeworks approach. *Many new authors. *Extensively revised with the latest theory and research. See also Clinical Casebook of Couple Therapy, edited by Alan S. Gurman, which presents in-depth illustrations of treatment.
Handbook of Clinical Family Therapy by
The latest theory, research, and practice information for familytherapy The last twenty years have seen an explosion of new, innovative,and empirically supported therapeutic approaches for treatingfamilies. Mental health professionals working with families todayapply a wide range of approaches to a variety of situations andclients using techniques based on their clinically and empiricallyproven effectiveness, their focus on specific individual andrelational disorders, their applicability in various contexts, andtheir prominence in the field. In this accessible and comprehensive text, each chapter coversspecific problems, the theoretical and practical elements of thetreatment approach, recommended intervention strategies, specialconsiderations, supporting research, and clinical examples. Thecontributors provide step-by-step guidelines for implementing theapproaches described and discuss particular issues that arise indifferent couple, family, and cultural contexts. Handbook of Clinical Family Therapy covers treatment strategiesfor the most common problems encountered in family therapy,including: Domestic violence Adolescent defiance, anxiety, and depression Trauma-induced problems Stepfamily conflicts ADHD disruption Substance abuse in adults and adolescents Couple conflict and divorce Chronic illness A detailed reference for today's best treatment strategies, theHandbook of Clinical Family Therapy brings together the toppractitioners and scholars to produce an innovative anduser-friendly guide for clinicians and students alike.
Handbook of the Clinical Psychology of Ageing by
This handbook focuses on the key areas in the psychology of ageing: Problems associated with later life development and change Emotional problems and depression associated with loss of physical health and with losses and changes in the areas of social relationship and personal identity The important clinical context of service delivery, including community care, family care-giving and institutional aspects A broad range of therapeutic orientations, including cognitive-behavioural, psychodynamic, and family therapy approaches. "It is hard to do justice to the breadth of material in this book...I have found the reading of it both stimulating and enlightening, despite believing that I was familiar with most of the topics, and have no doubt that I will be using it for reaching and reference purposes into the next millennium... if there is one book a Clinical Psychologist working with older people needs...this is it!" Steve Boddington, International Journal of Social Psychiatry
Clinical Manual of Supportive Psychotherapy by
This is comprehensive guide to the specific modality of supportive psychotherapy by three experienced clinicians. It documents the wide applicability of supportive psychotherapy, beyond its usual confines of patients in crisis or with chronic mental or physical illness. It presents in a clear and concise fashion the background and techniques of supportive psychotherapy, and illustrates this information with useful case examples. The authors also present the various modifications that must be made to meet individual needs.
Handbook of Evidence-Based Practice in Clinical Psychology, Child and Adolescent Disorders by
Handbook of Evidence-Based Practice in Clinical Psychology, Volume 1 covers the evidence-based practices now identified for treating children and adolescents with a wide range of DSM disorders. Topics include fundamental issues, developmental disorders, behavior and habit disorders, anxiety and mood disorders, and eating disorders. Each chapter provides a comprehensive review of the evidence-based practice literature for each disorder and then covers several different treatment types for clinical implementation. Edited by the renowned Peter Sturmey and Michel Hersen and featuring contributions from experts in the field, this reference is ideal for academics, researchers, and libraries.
Handbook of Evidence-Based Practice in Clinical Psychology, Adult Disorders by
Handbook of Evidence-Based Practice in Clinical Psychology, Volume 2 covers the evidence-based practices now identified for treating adults with a wide range of DSM disorders. Topics include fundamental issues, adult cognitive disorders, substance-related disorders, psychotic, mood, and anxiety disorders, and sexual disorders. Each chapter provides a comprehensive review of the evidence-based practice literature for each disorder and then covers several different treatment types for clinical implementation. Edited by the renowned Peter Sturmey and Michel Hersen and featuring contributions from experts in the field, this reference is ideal for academics, researchers, and libraries.
The Encyclopedia of Clinical Psychology, 5 Volume Set by
"Recommended. Undergraduates through faculty/researchers; professionals/practitioners;general readers." - Choice Includes well over 500 A-Z entries of between 500 and 7,500 words in length covering the main topics, key concepts, and influential figures in the field of clinical psychology Serves as a comprehensive reference with emphasis on philosophical and historical issues, cultural considerations, and conflicts Offers a historiographical overview of the ways in which research influences practice Cites the best and most up-to-date scientific evidence for each topic, encouraging readers to think critically 5 Volumes www.encyclopediaclinicalpsychology.com