Infectious Diseases
by
The second edition of this concise and practical guide describes infections in geographical areas and provides information on disease risk, concomitant infections (such as co-prevalence of HIV and tuberculosis) and emerging bacterial, viral and parasitic infections in a given geographical area of the world. Geographic approach means that itÂs the only book to guide the health care worker towards a diagnosis based on the location of symptoms and travel history by encouraging the question Âwhere have you been? New content covering MERS, Ebola, Zika, and infections transmitted during air and maritime travel Covers the major infectious disease outbreaks framed in their geographic setting such as H7N9 Âbird flu influenza, H1N1, Ebola, and Zika Outstanding international editor team with vast experience on various international infectious disease and as journal editors and key leaders in infection surveillance
Principles and Practice of Infectious Diseases
by
After thirty five years, Mandell, Douglas, and Bennett's Principles and Practice of Infectious Diseases, 8th Edition is still the reference of choice for comprehensive, global guidance on diagnosing and treating the most challenging infectious diseases. Drs. John E. Bennett and Raphael Dolin along with new editorial team member Dr. Martin Blaser have meticulously updated this latest edition to save you time and to ensure you have the latest clinical and scientific knowledge at your fingertips. With new chapters, expanded and updated coverage, increased worldwide perspectives, and many new contributors, Mandell, Douglas, and Bennett's Principles and Practice of Infectious Diseases, 8th Edition helps you identify and treat whatever infectious disease you see. "I highly recommend Mandell, Douglas, and Bennett's Principles and Practice of Infectious Diseases, together with the included ExpertConsult, the on-line version of the book that is a searchable source and is available to a variety of platforms. It is updated twice each year and is an excellent solution for health-care professionals to keep informed of the latest knowledge" Reviewed by Graefes Arch Clin Exp Ophthalmol, March 2015 "..what an in depth textbook should be, a superb and vast, yet highly readable review of its topic." Reviewed by glycosmedia.com, Mar 2015 "Principles and Practice of Infectious Diseases has many features and formats that make it a comprehensive, current, and clear source of information" Reviewed by Graefes Arch Clin Exp Ophthalmol, Feb 2015 Get the answers to questions you have with more in-depth coverage of epidemiology, etiology, pathology, microbiology, immunology, and treatment of infectious agents than you'll find in any other infectious disease resource. Find the latest diagnoses and treatments for currently recognized and newly emerging infectious diseases, such as those caused by avian and swine influenza viruses. Put the latest knowledge to work in your practice with new or completely revised chapters on influenza (new pandemic strains); new Middle East respiratory syndrome (MERS) virus; probiotics; antibiotics for resistant bacteria; antifungal drugs; new antivirals for hepatitis B and C; Clostridium difficile treatment; sepsis; advances in HIV prevention and treatment; viral gastroenteritis; Lyme disease; Helicobacter pylori; malaria; infections in immunocompromised hosts; immunization (new vaccines and new recommendations); and microbiome. Benefit from fresh perspectives and global insights from an expanded team of international contributors. Find and grasp the information you need easily and rapidly with newly added chapter summaries. These bulleted templates include diagnosis, therapy, and prevention and are designed as a quick summary of the chapter and to enhance relevancy in search and retrieval on Expert Consult. Stay current on Expert Consult with a thorough and regularly scheduled update program that ensures access to new developments in the field, advances in therapy, and timely information. Access the information you need easily and rapidly with new succinct chapter summaries that include diagnosis, therapy, and prevention. Experience clinical scenarios with vivid clarity through a richly illustrated, full-color format that includes 1500 photographs for enhanced visual guidance.
Guide to Chemotherapy and Chemoprophylaxis in Bacterial Infections
by
A comprehensive guide to the rational and safe prescribing of antimicrobials in the treatment and prevention of bacterial infections. Now in its second revised edition. the book gives particular attention to the management of infections commonly found in Eastern Mediterranean countries. Addressed to physicians, the guide responds to the urgent need to prevent the misuse of antibiotics, protect against the emergence of resistant bacterial strains and reduce the waste of resources spent on useless treatments. The manual has five chapters. The first explains the general principles of safe and effective antimicrobial therapy, emphasizing the many factors that need to be considered when selecting drugs, doses and modes of administration. The second chapter, which constitutes the core of the manual, provides precise prescribing guidelines for the management of 77 bacterial infections. For each infection, information includes relevant diagnostic advice, the most likely causative organisms listed in the order of frequency, the first-choice drug or combination, followed by alternatives and advice on dosage, mode of administration and duration of therapy. The third chapter outlines essential information about the properties, advantages and limitations of topical preparations for use as disinfectants, antiseptics, cleaning agents and antibiotics. Chemoprophylaxis is covered in the fourth chapter, which describes indications for chemoprophylaxis to prevent wound infection and sepsis in surgery, to prevent selected infections and to prevent bacterial endocarditis. The concluding chapter sets out dosage ranges for 27 commonly used antimicrobials.
Microbiology
by
As with the successful first edition, the new edition of Microbiology: A Clinical Approach is written specifically for pre-nursing and allied health students. It is clinically-relevant throughout and uses the theme of infection as its foundation. Microbiology is student-friendly: its text, figures, and electronic resources have been carefully designed to help students understand difficult concepts and keep them interested in the material. The Second Edition includes a robust instructor ancillary package that allows professors to easily incorporate the book's unique approach into their lectures. In addition to the many free resources for students--including the E-Tutor, Bug Parade, Flashcards, and MicroMovies--the new edition is supported by Garland Science Learning System. The Garland Science Learning System is a homework platform designed to evaluate and improve student performance and allows instructors to select assignments on specific topics and review the performance of the entire class, as well as individual students, via the instructor dashboard. Students receive immediate feedback on their mastery of the topics, and will be better prepared for lectures and classroom discussions. The user-friendly system provides a convenient way to engage students while assessing progress. Performance data can be used to tailor classroom discussion, activities, and lectures to address students' needs precisely and efficiently. For more information and sample material, visit http://garlandscience.rocketmix.com/.
Principles and Practice of Infectious Diseases
by
After thirty five years, Mandell, Douglas, and Bennett's Principles and Practice of Infectious Diseases, 8th Edition is still the reference of choice for comprehensive, global guidance on diagnosing and treating the most challenging infectious diseases. Drs. John E. Bennett and Raphael Dolin along with new editorial team member Dr. Martin Blaser have meticulously updated this latest edition to save you time and to ensure you have the latest clinical and scientific knowledge at your fingertips. With new chapters, expanded and updated coverage, increased worldwide perspectives, and many new contributors, Mandell, Douglas, and Bennett's Principles and Practice of Infectious Diseases, 8th Edition helps you identify and treat whatever infectious disease you see. "I highly recommend Mandell, Douglas, and Bennett's Principles and Practice of Infectious Diseases, together with the included ExpertConsult, the on-line version of the book that is a searchable source and is available to a variety of platforms. It is updated twice each year and is an excellent solution for health-care professionals to keep informed of the latest knowledge" Reviewed by Graefes Arch Clin Exp Ophthalmol, March 2015 "..what an in depth textbook should be, a superb and vast, yet highly readable review of its topic." Reviewed by glycosmedia.com, Mar 2015 "Principles and Practice of Infectious Diseases has many features and formats that make it a comprehensive, current, and clear source of information" Reviewed by Graefes Arch Clin Exp Ophthalmol, Feb 2015 Get the answers to questions you have with more in-depth coverage of epidemiology, etiology, pathology, microbiology, immunology, and treatment of infectious agents than you'll find in any other infectious disease resource. Find the latest diagnoses and treatments for currently recognized and newly emerging infectious diseases, such as those caused by avian and swine influenza viruses. Put the latest knowledge to work in your practice with new or completely revised chapters on influenza (new pandemic strains); new Middle East respiratory syndrome (MERS) virus; probiotics; antibiotics for resistant bacteria; antifungal drugs; new antivirals for hepatitis B and C; Clostridium difficile treatment; sepsis; advances in HIV prevention and treatment; viral gastroenteritis; Lyme disease; Helicobacter pylori; malaria; infections in immunocompromised hosts; immunization (new vaccines and new recommendations); and microbiome. Benefit from fresh perspectives and global insights from an expanded team of international contributors. Find and grasp the information you need easily and rapidly with newly added chapter summaries. These bulleted templates include diagnosis, therapy, and prevention and are designed as a quick summary of the chapter and to enhance relevancy in search and retrieval on Expert Consult. Stay current on Expert Consult with a thorough and regularly scheduled update program that ensures access to new developments in the field, advances in therapy, and timely information. Access the information you need easily and rapidly with new succinct chapter summaries that include diagnosis, therapy, and prevention. Experience clinical scenarios with vivid clarity through a richly illustrated, full-color format that includes 1500 photographs for enhanced visual guidance.
Infectious Diseases
by
The second edition of this concise and practical guide describes infections in geographical areas and provides information on disease risk, concomitant infections (such as co-prevalence of HIV and tuberculosis) and emerging bacterial, viral and parasitic infections in a given geographical area of the world. Geographic approach means that itÂs the only book to guide the health care worker towards a diagnosis based on the location of symptoms and travel history by encouraging the question Âwhere have you been? New content covering MERS, Ebola, Zika, and infections transmitted during air and maritime travel Covers the major infectious disease outbreaks framed in their geographic setting such as H7N9 Âbird flu influenza, H1N1, Ebola, and Zika Outstanding international editor team with vast experience on various international infectious disease and as journal editors and key leaders in infection surveillance
Red Book 2015
by
2015 Red Book is the American Academy of Pediatrics' authoritative guide to manifestations, etiology, epidemiology, diagnosis, and treatment of more than 200 childhood conditions. It provides evidence-based guidance to practicing clinicians on pediatric infections and vaccinations based on the recommendations of the committee as well as the combined expertise of the CDC, the FDA and hundreds of physician contributors. The Red Book is an essential reference for pediatric infectious diseases specialists and general pediatricians, and is useful for family medicine and emergency medicine physicians as well. Public health and school health providers, medical residents and students also will find it a high-yield source of pediatric infectious disease and vaccine information. The book is divided into sections that cover Active and passive immunization Disease summaries Antimicrobial therapy for treatment and prophylaxis Care of children in special situations Updated information and recommendations you cannot afford to be without... Standardized approach to disease prevention through immunizations, antimicrobial prophylaxis, and infection control practices New chapter on Hemorrhagic Fevers Caused by Filoviruses has been added New chapter on human parechovirus infections has been added Updated information on hypersensitivity reactions after immunizations The latest on sexually transmitted infections (STIs) in adolescents and children Updated coverage of actinomycosis, amebiases, arbovirus, bacterial vaginosis, blastocystis, candidiasis, Clostridium difficle, coronaviruses, dengue, enteroviruses, Escherichia coli, Giardia intestinalis, gonococcal infections, Helicobacter pylori infections, lyme disease, meningococcal infections, pediculosis capitis, pertussis, pneumococcal infections, rotavirus, and more Managing Injection Pain has been significantly expanded Updated information on hepatitis C Updated information on group B streptococcal infections Updated section on drugs for parasitic infections Significantly revised chapter on Respiratory Syncytial Virus Recommendations for using MMR or MMRV vaccines have been updated The Antimicrobial Resistance and Antimicrobial Stewardship chapter has been significantly broaded and updated Updated information on HIV And much more!
The Infectious Disease Manual
by
This comprehensive and pragmatic manual on emergency care for doctors working in the emergency department is also a suitable reference for allied health professionals working in this area.
Atlas of Human Infectious Diseases
by
The Atlas of Human Infectious Diseases provides a much needed practical and visual overview of the current distribution and determinants of major infectious diseases of humans. The comprehensive full-color maps show at a glance the areas with reported infections and outbreaks, and are accompanied by a concise summary of key information on the infectious agent and its clinical and epidemiological characteristics. Since infectious diseases are dynamic, the maps are presented in the context of a changing world, and how these changes are influencing the geographical distribution on human infections. This unique atlas: Contains more than 145 high quality full-color maps covering all major human infectious diseases Provides key information on the illustrated infectious diseases Has been compiled and reviewed by an editorial board of infectious disease experts from around the world The result is a concise atlas with a consistent format throughout, where material essential for understanding the global spatial distribution of infectious diseases has been thoughtfully assembled by international experts. Atlas of Human Infectious Diseases is an essential tool for infectious disease specialists, medical microbiologists, virologists, travel medicine specialists, and public health professionals. The Atlas of Human Infectious Diseases is accompanied by a FREE enhanced Wiley Desktop Edition - an interactive digital version of the book with downloadable images and text, highlighting and note-taking facilities, book-marking, cross-referencing, in-text searching, and linking to references and glossary terms.
Molecular Diagnostics of Infectious Diseases
by
The prevalence of infectious diseases is worldwide increasing. Therefore, detection methods for infectious pathogens change quickly. In the new edition of Kessler´s Molecular Diagnostics of Infectious Diseases laboratory professionalists get valueable information about the current diagnostic methods, tipps and tricks in terms of sample processing, quality control, and interpretation of the results. For clinicians the book is a valuable aid for decision-making in ordering appropriate tests as well as in assuring the necessary quality of the sample material.
Reese and Betts' A Practical Approach to Infectious Diseases
by
Drug Interactions in Infectious Diseases
by
The revised and up-to-date third edition of Drug Interactions in Infectious Diseases delivers a text that will enhance your clinical knowledge of the complex mechanisms, risks, and consequences of drug interactions associated with antimicrobials, infection, and inflammation. The third edition features five new chapters that cover material not addressed in previous editions. These new chapters describe interactions with a number of drug classes such as non-HIV antiviral, antimalarial, antiparasitic, antihelmintic, macrolide, azalide and ketolide agents. A novel chapter on probe cocktail studies has been included to highlight an important research tool for drug development. These chapters address material that cannot be retrieved easily in the medical literature. The highly acclaimed food-drug interactions as well as the study design and analysis chapters remain definitive references. The newly written drug-cytokine interaction highlights the need for our improved understanding of the complex interrelationship of acute infection, inflammation, and the risk of drug interactions. Informative tables on specific drug-drug interactions are provided throughout the chapters as a quick clinical resource. The Third Edition of Drug Interactions in Infectious Diseases is a distillation of relevant drug interactions associated with antimicrobials, infection, and inflammation. This concise review of the mechanisms and strategies to manage drug interactions should be valuable to all health care practitioners. Features * Definitive reference source of up-to-date information on antimicrobial drug interactions * Informative tables on the degree of interaction for specific antimicrobial agents * In-depth discussion of mechanisms and potential mechanistic pathways of interaction * New chapters on non-HIV antiviral, antimalarial, antiparasitic, and macrolide, azalide and ketolide agents * New chapter on probe-cocktail studies as a research tool to study drug-drug interactions * Inclusion of new antimicrobial agents and their associated drug interactions * First rate chapters on study design and analysis, and drug-food interactions * A fresh perspective on drug-cytokine interactions * Authoritative chapter on regulatory considerations of drug interactions during drug development
Medico-Legal Issues in Infectious Diseases
by
The aim of this book is not to encourage defensive medical practice, but to help provide better, optimum care to patients and to be forth right and honest to our dear customers about our inevitable mistakes. This book will focus on clinical issues facing physicians in different settings (which can lead to malpractice), and the best approach to use to avoid litigations, and practice good medicine.
British Pharmacopoeia 2015 [complete Edition - Print + USB + Online Access]
by
The British Pharmacopoeia (BP) 2015 marks the 150th Anniversary of setting quality standards for medicines and medicinal products in the UK. To celebrate this sesquicentenary year, each copy of the BP 2015 includes a complimentary, commemorative digital facsimile of the BP 1864 - the first edition (on USB stick). This edition also sees the introduction of a USB download format which replaces the CD-ROM. Updated annually, the BP is the official, authoritative collection of standards for UK medicinal substances for human and veterinary use. The BP 2015 includes almost 3,500 monographs. All monographs and requirements of the European Pharmacopoeia are also reproduced in the BP, making it an essential reference for students, lecturers and researchers
The AST Handbook of Transplant Infections
by
Whether you need to manage a post-transplant infection or reduce the possibility of infection, you will find effective guidance in this handbook. The work of the American Society of Transplantation Infectious Diseases Community of Practice, this reference exclusively uses tables and flowcharts to speed up decision making. This distinguished group of investigators and teachers provide point of care information on optimum management of infection in adult and pediatric organ and stem cell transplant patients. The unique tables and flowcharts are devised by the authors, backed up with extensive references, making the book a fully researched yet easy to use guide. The fast growing specialty of transplantation will be well served by this book as increasing numbers of successful procedures mean transplant teams have to be ever more alert to the possibility of and need for action in the event of ensuing infection.
Handbook of Diseases
by
Now in its Third Edition, this best-selling handbook is a practical, authoritative guide to more than 600 diseases. Pocket-sized, alphabetically organized, and filled with tips, alerts, and checklists, it targets the key information busy clinicians need at the bedside—signs and symptoms, diagnostic tests, treatments, and patient concerns. This edition includes new entries on infectious diseases caused by biological agents and antibiotic-resistant organisms, complex regional pain syndrome, rhabdomyolysis, and the new Creutzfeldt-Jakob disease variant. Also new to this edition are Age Alerts, citing pediatric and geriatric considerations, and Gender Issue icons, highlighting gender-related variations in a disease’s incidence, course, and treatment.
Handbook of Epidemiology
by
This 5-volume reference covers the entire field of epidemiology, from statistical methods and study design, to specialized areas such as molecular epidemiology, and applications in clinical medicine and health services research. This updated edition of the Handbook of Epidemiology adds 20 new chapters on: History of Epidemiological Methods and Concepts, Cluster Randomized Trials, Internet-Based Epidemiology, Misclassification, Sensitivity Analysis and Bias Analysis, Emergency and Disaster Health Surveillance, Statistical Inference, Data Management in Epidemiology, Bayesian Methods in Epidemiology, Generalized Estimating Equations, Directed Acyclic Graphs, Life Course Epidemiology, Physical Activity Epidemiology, Radiation Epidemiology, Epidemiology of Obesity, Epidemiology of Respiratory Allergies and Asthma, Epidemiology of Dental Diseases, Epidemiology of Digestive Diseases, Epidemiology of Psychiatric Disorders, Epidemiology of Diabetes. All other chapters are extensively revised from the 1st edition. This is a reference for epidemiological researchers and graduate students in public health.
Manual of Clinical Microbiology
by
A new ninth edition of the internationally-recognized reference book that sets the standard in the fast-changing field of clinical microbiology. Compiling the latest microbiology and clinical information, this landmark edition will be an invaluable reference.