Clinical Pharmacy and Therapeutics by
Now in its sixth edition, this best-selling, multi-disciplinary textbook continues to draw on the skills of pharmacists, clinicians and nurses to present optimal drug regimens. The authors integrate an understanding of the disease processes with an appreciation of the pathophysiological processes, clinical pharmacy and the evidence base. Each chapter is co-written by a pharmacist and a clinician, and each chapter begins with key points and ends with cases to test understanding. The sixth edition is now on StudentConsult for the first time, giving online access to the full text. Key points boxes at the beginning of each chapter Case-study boxes throughout the chapters Each chapter co-written by a pharmacist and a clinician In-depth treatment of therapeutics to support pharmaceutical prescribing Logical order and format: key points, epidemiology, aetiology, disease, clinical manifestations, investigations and treatment, drugs used in treatment. Dosage reference sources given where appropriate, along with useful websites and further reading for each chapter. New co-editor, Karen Hodson Over 10 new authors Now in 4-colour On StudentConsult for the first time New chapter on Dementia Many new and revised illustrations Chapters revised to include advances in therapeutics and changes to dose regimens and licensed indications Updated case studies.
MCQs in Clinical Pharmacy by
This is an invaluable revision aid for those preparing for multiple choice questions in clinical pharmacy. Questions in this textbook are practice-oriented and are intended to assess students' knowledge of clinical issues, evaluative and analytical skills, and ability to apply their knowledge in clinical practice. The MCQs will be presented as four practice tests and each test should take c3 hours. Each test will consist of 80 MCQs presented in a variety of formats. Main topics include: therapeutics and rational drug use; aetiology of disease states; presentation of conditions; investigations and diagnostic testing; drug therapy including adverse drug reactions; drug interactions; and contra-indications.
Professionalism, Work, and Clinical Responsiblility in Pharmacy by
Professionalism, Work, and Clinical Responsibility in Pharmacy is an excellent guide to introduce pharmacy students and residents to the areas of work, professionalism, and clinical responsibility they will encounter in their pharmacy career. It deals with the human aspects of being a successful practitioner and explores how self-awareness, self-management, social awareness, and relationship management (the four skill areas of emotional intelligence) are blended to accomplish personal, professional, and organizational goals. Students will benefit from the experience and advice provided by a panel of experts including practitioners, clinicians, and pharmacy directors. These case studies and perspectives will provide students with an insight into the real-world of pharmacy practice. Professionalism, Work, and Clinical Responsibility in Pharmacy will prepare students with the skills, attitudes, and behaviors that make for a successful career and future.
Basic and Clinical Pharmacology by
Gain a full understanding of the basic science and clinical use of drugs with the most up-to-date and comprehensive pharmacology text in the health sciences 400 ILLUSTRATIONS--MANY IN FULL COLOR A Doody's Core Title for 2017! Coverage that spans every aspect of medical pharmacology: Encompasses every aspect of medical pharmacology including botanicals and over-the-counter drugs New chapter on pharmacogenomics with important examples Emphasis is placed on discussion of drug groups and prototypes Clinically relevant, the book includes sections that specifically address the clinical choice and use of drugs in patients and the monitoring of their effects Full-color presentation with more than 400 illustrations Case studies introduce clinical problems in most chapters Summary tables and diagrams encapsulate important information Includes many new drugs A Generic Name/Trade Name Table appears at the end of most chapters for easy reference when writing a chart order or prescription Organized to reflect the course sequence in many pharmacology courses and in integrated curricula, Basic & Clinical Pharmacology covers the important concepts students need to know about the science of pharmacology and its application to clinical practice. Selection of the subject matter and order of its presentation are based on the authors' many years of experience in teaching this material to thousands of medical, pharmacy, dental, podiatry, nursing, and other health science students.
An Introduction to Clinical Research by
This practical book is written specifically for junior doctors by a team of highly experienced authors, as an introductory guide to clinical research. It covers all areas that a junior doctor needs to consider, including funding, study design, ethics, data analysis, disseminating findings, andfurthering one's research career. It presents a balance view of clinical research and is written by authors actively involved in clinical research both at the 'coal-face' and at a more supervisory level.Research can be a difficult process and it is essential to make sure that the project is set up in the correct way in order to get verifiable results. This easy-to-read guide is available to help junior doctors develop a good study design and present evidence of a sound academic practice, which willmake obtaining funding more likely and be time-efficient. Getting started early in research and developing a solid, gradual understanding of clinical research through using this approachable book will be of huge benefit to junior doctors and their discipline.
Case Studies in Pharmacy Ethics by
Pharmacists face ethical choices constantly - sometimes dramatic life-and-death decisions, but more often subtle, less conspicuous choices that are nonetheless important. Among the topics confronted are assisted suicide, conscientious refusal, pain management, equitable distribution of drug resources within institutions and managed care plans, confidentiality, and alternative and non-traditional therapies. Veatch and Haddad's book, first published in 1999, was the first collection of case studies based on the real experiences of practicing pharmacists, for use as a teaching tool for pharmacy students. The second edition accounts for the many changes in pharmacy since 1999, including assisted suicide in Oregon, the purchasing of less expensive drugs from Canada, and the influence of managed care on prescriptions. The presentation of some cases is shortened, most are revised and updated, and two new chapters have been added. The first new chapter presents a new model for analyzing cases, while the second focuses on the ethics of new drug distribution systems, for example hospitals where pharmacists are forced to choose drugs based on cost-effectiveness, and internet based pharmacies.
Medicine Management Skills for Nurses by
Anxious about managing medicines? Worried you?ll make amistake? This handy book is an essential guide for all nursingstudents, enabling you to understand the theory and practice ofdrug administration and facilitate your confidence andcompetence. This essential guide explores the theory and practice of drugadministration briefly and coherently, with ?test yourknowledge? exercises and questions throughout to assess yourlearning. It also includes ?words of wisdom?- tips fromreal life students from their own experiences. Ideal for carryingto clinical placements, Medicine Management Skills forNurses is an essential guide to drugs andmedicine administration. Special features: - Pocket sized for portability - Clear, straightforward, and jargon-free - Takes away the fear of drugs and medicines management, makingit approachable, easy and fun - Features tips and advice from real life nursing students - Ties in with the NMC standards for pre-registration education andthe Essential Skills Clusters - Examples and questions based on real life nursing andhealthcare examples
Manual of Basic and Clinical Pharmacy and Pharmacology (For B. D. S. Students) by
In India, Dental Pharmacology and Therapeutics is a subject that has been neglected by teachers of dental college, who have been assign the responsibility to teach the subject in addition to their own, without any financial commitment from the organization. Hence, it is taught by the teachers in their own style, without much emphasis being laid on individual topics, which are relevant to the curriculum.
Introduction to Acute and Ambulatory Care Pharmacy Practice by
With the second edition of Introduction to Acute and Ambulatory Care Pharmacy Practice, pharmacy students and technicians can gain a professional head start by learning essential vocabulary, legal and regulatory issues, and the core clinical and administrative pharmacy operations in various practice settings.
Pharmacy Clinical Coordinator's Handbook by
As a pharmacy clinical coordinator or clinical manager, ensuring optimal patient outcomes is only part of your job. You must also manage your staff and be an expert in human resources, operations, logistics, finance, safety, and risk management. Whether you're a new clinical coordinator or have been on the job for some time and want to enhance your skills, you'll find tools, tips, and practical guidance to the all the technical, management, and leadership challenges of your position in ASHP's new Pharmacy Clinical Coordinator's Handbook. Edited by Lynn Eschenbacher, with contributions from 18 experts in the field, this unique handbook provides practical operational and career advice for all levels of experience. Inside you'll get real-life examples, sample forms, policies, procedures, checklists, and more for every aspect of your practice, including formulary management, communications, strategic planning, and staff development. Plus, tables and figures for everything from delegation flow and budget schedules to nonformulary drug requests and the SAFE Tool Scoring System. Get the advice, support, and tools you need to answer essential questions facing any clinical coordinator or manager: What are the key organizational relationships I need to develop to be successful? How can I best demonstrate the value that pharmacy provides to the healthcare team? How can I build and inspire a team to achieve high-quality patient outcomes? With multiple responsibilities and multiple priorities, how do I get started? What can I do to advance clinical pharmacy practice? As a clinical coordinator or clinical manager you are in a position to positively impact the lives of both your staff and the patients you serve every day.With the Pharmacy Clinical Coordinators Handbook you can now develop the vision and strategy you need to succeed in this essential and demanding position.
Clinical Pharmacy Pocket Companion by
This is an essential pocket companion for clinical pharmacists providing concise practical information to answer common and less frequent queries quickly and competently. This pocket guide brings together useful facts and information not easily found in other reference sources and currently not available in one text. It complements existing texts used regularly by pharmacists on the wards, in the dispensary and on-call. "The Clinical Pharmacy Pocket Companion" contains over 130 A-Z entries of varying length, from the management of alcohol withdrawal to zinc deficiency. It includes guidance on therapeutic drug monitoring, managing electrolyte disturbances, disease states, per-operative drug management and much more. Numerous tables are included for quick reference and space is provided to record miscellaneous local information or personal comments. Each alphabetical section begins with useful website addresses.
Oxford American Handbook of Clinical Pharmacy by
The overall goal of clinical pharmacy is to promote the correct and appropriate use of prescription and non-prescription medicinal products and devises and to minimize adverse effects. The Oxford American Handbook of Clinical Pharmacy provides an accessible and easily navigable quick-referenceguide for practicing and student pharmacists. It is not just another drug book, but a complete, portable coverage of the pharmacy profession, from high-value scientific and clinical information, such as adverse drug reactions, interactions, and pharmaceutical calculations to professional issues suchas ethics, practice management, evidence-based medicine, and research. It covers the main body systems and provides a wealth of practical information required by pharmacists on a day-to-day basis, including many topics not traditionally found in handbooks.
Encyclopedia of Clinical Pharmacy by
he Encyclopedia of Clinical Pharmacy is a valuable resource for today's clinical pharmacist and pharmacotherapist. Over 200 researchers and practitioners provide ready access to more than 5,000 primary literature citations and hard-to-find research on: Gene therapy Health service delivery models Best practices documents Pharmaceutical software development Legal controversies, ethical issues, and court rulings Drug dosing and electronic prescription Post-marketing surveillance Generic equivalency and more