Fundamentals of Biostatistics by
FUNDAMENTALS OF BIOSTATISTICS leads you through the methods, techniques, and computations of statistics necessary for success in the medical field. Every new concept is developed systematically through completely worked out examples from current medical research problems.
An introduction to biostatistics and research methods by 
Applied Biopharmaceutics and Pharmacokinetics, Seventh Edition by 
Biostatistics Decoded by
Study design and statistical methodology are two important concerns for the clinical researcher. This book sets out to address both issues in a clear and concise manner. The presentation of statistical theory starts from basic concepts, such as the properties of means and variances, the properties of the Normal distribution and the Central Limit Theorem and leads to more advanced topics such as maximum likelihood estimation, inverse variance and stepwise regression as well as, time-to-event, and event-count methods. Furthermore, this book explores sampling methods, study design and statistical methods and is organized according to the areas of application of each of the statistical methods and the corresponding study designs. Illustrations, working examples, computer simulations and geometrical approaches, rather than mathematical expressions and formulae, are used throughout the book to explain every statistical method. Biostatisticians and researchers in the medical and pharmaceutical industry who need guidance on the design and analyis of medical research will find this book useful as well as graduate students of statistics and mathematics with an interest in biostatistics. Biostatistics Decoded: Provides clear explanations of key statistical concepts with a firm emphasis on practical aspects of design and analysis of medical research. Features worked examples to illustrate each statistical method using computer simulations and geometrical approaches, rather than mathematical expressions and formulae. Explores the main types of clinical research studies, such as, descriptive, analytical and experimental studies. Addresses advanced modeling techniques such as interaction analysis and encoding by reference and polynomial regression.
Biostatistics by
This new edition of Biostatistics: The Bare Essentials continues the tradition of translating biostatistics in the health sciences literature with clarity and irreverence. Students and practitioners alike applaud Biostatistics as a practical guide that exposes them to every statistical test they are likely to encounter, with careful conceptual explanations and a minimum of algebra. What's New? The previous edition of Bare Essentials presented hierarchical linear modeling, which first appeared in psychology journals and has only recently been described in the medical literature. The 3rd edition also introduced a chapter on testing for equivalence and non-inferiority as well as a chapter with information for getting started with the computer statistics program SPSS. A very positive review of the 3rd edition of the book by Dr. Naomi Vaisrub appeared in JAMA which praised the book but recommended covering topics in epidemiology, so in the 4th edition the authors took her up on it. They've also included an entirely new chapter, called "Measures of Impact," in which they discuss measures of incidence and prevalence, risk, morbidity and fatality rates, and the number needed to treat. They also delve into the Poisson distribution for doing regressions on count data. Likewise, the reader will find new sections on robust estimators of the mean, the problems of multiple hypothesis testing, bootstrapping and resampling, as well as an expanded section on nonparametric stats. Free of calculations and jargon, Bare Essentials speaks so plainly that you won't need a technical dictionary. The focus is on the concepts, not the math. The objective is to enable you to determine whether the research results are applicable to your own patients. Throughout, you'll find highlights of areas in which researchers misuse or misinterpret statistical tests.
Biostatistics for Oral Healthcare by
Biostatistics for Oral Healthcare offers students, practitioners and instructors alike a comprehensive guide to mastering biostatistics and their application to oral healthcare. Drawing on situations and methods from dentistry and oral healthcare, this book provides a thorough treatment of statistical concepts in order to promote in-depth and correct comprehension, supported throughout by technical discussion and a multitude of practical examples.
Applied Epidemiology and Biostatistics by
In the era of evidence-based medicine, health professionals are required to fully understand design, analysis, and interpretation of the results of research. Furthermore, they should be able to assess the needs of their communities and respond accordingly. To achieve these goals, clinicians need to be familiar with the basic concepts of epidemiology and biostatistics. Epidemiology is more than the study of"its application and practice are essential to address public health issues. That is why this book provides not only the theory, but also the opportunity of applying it in practice. In fact, each chapter presents one or more specific examples on how to perform an epidemiological or statistical data analysis and includes download access to the software and databases, giving the reader the possibility of replicating the analyses described. The final purpose is, therefore, to introduce epidemiologic and biostatistical methods as applied to clinical research, and to develop proficiency with computer software for performing the analysis of clinical datasets.
Biostatistics for Epidemiology and Public Health Using R by
' P]rovides a comprehensive explanation for data analysis and graphics using R language, including how R language handles classic problems in case-control, cohort studies and its use in survival analysis... The content and quality of this book is excellent. It is a great tool for understanding the use of R language for biostatistical analysis. Score: 91 - 4 Stars ' ' Bhavesh Barad, MD, East Tennessee State University Quillen College of Medicine, Doody's Reviews Since it first appeared in 1996, the open-source programming language R has become increasingly popular as an environment for statistical analysis and graphical output. In addition to being freely available, R offers several advantages for biostatistics, including strong graphics capabilities, the ability to write customized functions, and its extensibility. This is the first textbook to present classical biostatistical analysis for epidemiology and related public health sciences to students using the R language. Based on the assumption that readers have minimal familiarity with statistical concepts, the author uses a step-bystep approach to building skills. The text encompasses biostatistics from basic descriptive and quantitative statistics to survival analysis and missing data analysis in epidemiology. Illustrative examples, including real-life research problems and exercises drawn from such areas as nutrition, environmental health, and behavioral health, engage students and reinforce the understanding of R. These examples illustrate the replication of R for biostatistical calculations and graphical display of results. The text covers both essential and advanced techniques and applications in biostatistics that are relevant to epidemiology. This text is supplemented with teaching resources, including an online guide for students in solving exercises and an instructor's manual. KEY FEATURES: First overview biostatistics textbook for epidemiology and public health that uses the open-source R program Covers essential and advanced techniques and applications in biostatistics as relevant to epidemiology Features abundant examples and exercises to illustrate the application of R language for biostatistical calculations and graphical displays of results Includes online student solutions guide and instructor's manual
Encyclopedia of Biostatistics by
The first edition of the Encyclopedia of Biostatistics proved anoutstanding achievement in scientific publishing. A trulyinternational work, its coverage ranges through statistical issuespertinent to life scientists, healthcare professionals andpractising statisticians. Wiley is now pleased to announce the Second Edition of thislandmark reference work publishing in February 2005. Drawingon the expertise of the original editorial team the new editionwill be revised and expanded to provide, in particular, up-to-datematerial on bio-informatics and statistical genetics. This major publication is easily accessible for all thoseinvolved in statistical activities in medicine and health sciences,from health professionals who are not highly trained in statistics,through to fully qualified and experienced statisticians. For further information on this new edition please visit: www.wileyeurope.com/go/eob Reviews of the First Edition ??a resource beyond compare...the author index readslike a contemporary Who's Who...nothing in biostatistics is leftuncovered...unsurpassed in quality and quantity" ?British Medical Journal "An unsurpassed addition to the statistical literature?The present scope of statistics in medical research isnowhere more manifest ?the coverage is breathtaking" ?International Journal of Epidemiology
Principles of Biostatistics by
Prepare for exams and succeed in your biostatistics course with this comprehensive solutions manual! Featuring worked out-solutions to the problems in PRINCIPLES OF BIOSTATISTICS, 2nd Edition, this manual shows you how to approach and solve problems using the same step-by-step explanations found in your textbook examples.
Handbook of Epidemiology by
This 5-volume reference covers the entire field of epidemiology, from statistical methods and study design, to specialized areas such as molecular epidemiology, and applications in clinical medicine and health services research. This updated edition of the Handbook of Epidemiology adds20 new chapters on: History of Epidemiological Methods and Concepts, Cluster Randomized Trials, Internet-Based Epidemiology, Misclassification, Sensitivity Analysis and Bias Analysis, Emergency and Disaster Health Surveillance, Statistical Inference, Data Management in Epidemiology, Bayesian Methods in Epidemiology, Generalized Estimating Equations, Directed Acyclic Graphs, Life Course Epidemiology, Physical Activity Epidemiology, Radiation Epidemiology, Epidemiology of Obesity, Epidemiology of Respiratory Allergies and Asthma, Epidemiology of Dental Diseases, Epidemiology of Digestive Diseases, Epidemiology of Psychiatric Disorders, Epidemiology of Diabetes. All other chapters are extensively revised from the 1st edition. This is a reference for epidemiological researchers and graduate students in public health. "
Encyclopedia of Epidemiology by
The Encyclopedia of Epidemiology presents state-of-the-art information from the field of epidemiology in a less technical and accessible style and format. With more than 600 entries, no single reference provides as comprehensive a resource in as focused and appropriate manner. The entries cover every major facet of epidemiology, from risk ratios to case-control studies to mediating and moderating variables, and much more. Relevant topics from related fields such as biostatistics and health economics are also included.
A Dictionary of Epidemiology by
This sixth edition of A Dictionary of Epidemiology -- the most updated since its inception - reflects the profound substantive and methodological changes that have come to characterize epidemiology and its associated disciplines. Sponsored by the International Epidemiological Association, thisbook remains the essential reference for anyone studying or working in epidemiology, biostatistics, public health, medicine, or the growing number health sciences in which epidemiologic competency is now required.More than just a dictionary, this text is an essential guidebook to the state of the science. It offers the most current, authoritative definitions of terms central to biomedical and public health literature - everything from confounding and incidence rate to epigenetic inheritance and Number Neededto Treat. As epidemiology continues to change and grow, A Dictionary of Epidemiology will remain its book of record.