Public Health Nutrition
by
In this second edition of the bestselling title from the acclaimed Nutrition Society Textbook series, Public Health Nutrition has been extensively revised to ensure that it reflects the latest evidence-based knowledge and research& Ground-breaking and comprehensive in both its scope and approach. Divided into five key sections, Public Health Nutrition contains a wealth of information, including: Public health nutrition concepts and assessment tools, and their application in light of the latest evidence. Case studies to illustrate how best to apply the theory and evidence to policy and practice. An examination of nutrition throughout the lifecycle, and the relationship between diet and disease, including in relation to obesity, diabetes, cancer, as well as mental health. The impact of environmental factors on public health. Public health strategies, policies and approaches. With a clear and concise structure, Public Health Nutrition is an essential purchase for students of nutrition, dietetics and other healthcare areas, as well as an invaluable practical guide for health professionals working within public health.
Public Health Research Methods
by
Providing a comprehensive foundation for planning, executing, and monitoring public health research of all types, this book goes beyond traditional epidemiologic research designs to cover state-of-the-art, technology-based approaches emerging in the new public health landscape. Written by experts in the field, each chapter includes a description of the research method covered, examples of its application in public health, clear instructions on how to execute the method, and a discussion of emerging issues and future directions.
Essentials of Public Health Communication
by
The field of communications is increasingly recognized as a powerful tool in addressing the world's most imperative public health challenges. Effective communication in health campaigns can inform, empower, or persuade individuals to adopt healthier lifestyles as well as foster public debate and policy change. Featuring a full chapter on informatics, this book is devoted to the competencies in health communication and informatics recommended by the Association of Schools of Public Health. With chapter contributions from some of the leading experts in public health informatics and epidemiology, health communication and evaluation, Essentials of Public Health Communications introduces concepts and examples that will prepare students to enter a local health department, community organization or government agency, and contribute to health communication research, patient counseling, materials design, program management and media relations.
Theory and Research in Promoting Public Health
by
What, exactly, is promoting public health activity? How should we promote public health? Whose values are most important? Which theories can help inform health promoting practice? Theory and Research in Promoting Public Health is an important text that addresses these questions, exploring the key concepts, debates and issues involved in multi-disciplinary public health.
Introduction to Public Health in Pharmacy
by
Pharmacists are on the frontlines of public health. Their public-facing roles uniquely position them to identify and address emerging disease challenges, discrepancies in health literacy, and barriers to treatment in the communities they serve. In today's interconnected world, the clients consulting a neighborhood pharmacist are just as likely to hail from across an ocean as they are from around the corner. Fittingly, Introduction to Public Health in Pharmacy, Second Edition takes an approach that is both global and local. Macro-level examinations of health care systems and funding mechanisms around the world and advice for culturally competent, client-centered communication regarding nutrition and proper self-administration of medications encapsulate pharmacists' dual roles as guardians of global public health and providers of personalized care.Written in accordance with the latest guidelines from the Center for the Advancement of Pharmacy Education, Introduction to Public Health in Pharmacy, Second Edition offers an accessible introduction for pharmacy students and a comprehensive refresher for pharmacists already in practice.
Encyclopedia of Public Health
by
Providing context to today's public health practices and broad coverage of topics, this book demonstrates how cross-disciplinary studies are critical to addressing current health issues. * Presents complex health issues in ways that encourage readers to pursue the many different opportunities in the field of public health * Supplies insights from contributors that include experts on diseases such as hepatitis, substance abuse prevention, the history of medicine, and neurology * Provides a functional foundation for those working to improve the health of communities or individuals * Identifies relevant connections between physical, social, and emotional health and well-being to everyday life * Serves as a gateway to additional research and study by providing suggested further readings with each entry
Encyclopedia of Health Services Research
by
At the very heart of modern healthcare is a critical paradox. Today, as never before, healthcare has the ability to enhance the quality and duration of life. At the same time, healthcare has become so enormously costly that it can easily bankrupt governments and impoverish individuals and families. According to federal forecasters, by the year 2015 one in every five U.S. dollars will be spent on healthcare, for total annual healthcare spending of more than $4 trillion. While the cost of healthcare is going up, the number of individuals and families without health insurance coverage is increasing. For many, the miracles of modern medicine may be unaffordable. Health services research investigates the relationship between the factors of cost, quality, and access to healthcare and their impact upon medical outcomes (i.e., death, disease, disability, discomfort, and dissatisfaction with care). Health services research addresses such key questions as, Why is the cost of healthcare always increasing? How can healthcare costs be successfully contained without jeopardizing quality? How can medical errors be eliminated? What is the medical impact of not having health insurance coverage? The proposed encyclopedia addresses these and other important questions and issues.
Encyclopedia of Health Communication
by
From the dynamics of interpersonal communication between health professionals and clients to global command-and-control during public health emergencies that cross international borders, the field of health communication bridges many disciplines and involves efforts from the micro to the macro. It involves navigating personal, cultural, and political complexities and an ability to distill complex technical science into quickly and easily understood terms for ready distribution by the mass media--or to an individual patient or to the parent of an ailing child. Despite an abundance of textbooks, specialized monographs, and academic handbooks, this is the first encyclopedic reference work in this area, covering the breadth of theory and research on health communication, as well as their practical application.Features: Nearly 600 original articles are organized A-to-Z within a three-volume set to provide comprehensive coverage of this exciting field, including such topics as theories and research traditions; evaluation and assessment; cultural complexities; high risk and special populations; message design and campaigns; provider/patient interaction issues; media issues; and more. All articles were specifically commissioned for this work, signed and authored by key figures in the field, and conclude with cross reference links and suggestions for further reading. Appendices include a Resource Guide with annotated lists of classic books and articles, journals, associations, and web sites; a Glossary of specialized terms; and a Chronology offering an overview and history of the field. A thematic Reader's Guide groups related articles by broad topic areas as one handy search feature on the e-Reference platform, which also includes a comprehensive index of search terms. This A-to-Z three-volume reference is available in both print and online formats and is a must-have for libraries and researchers who seek comprehensive coverage of the theory, research, and applications of health communication.Key Themes: Community Health Issues End-of-Life Issues Evaluation of Health Intervention, Health Education, Health Communication Everyday and Family Health Communication Issues Health Campaigns Health Communication, International and Diversity Issues Health Information History of Health Communication Media Content Organizational Issues and Health Policy Provider-Patient Interaction Public Health Communication Specific Health Issues/Providers Technology Theories, Ethics, Philosophy, and Overriding Methodological Issues
Encyclopedia of Public Health
by
The Encyclopedic Reference of Public Health presents the most important definitions, principles and general perspectives of public health, written by experts of the different fields. The work includes more than 2,500 alphabetical entries. Entries comprise review-style articles, detailed essays and short definitions. Numerous figures and tables enhance understanding of this little-understood topic. Solidly structured and inclusive, this two-volume reference is an invaluable tool for clinical scientists and practitioners in academia, health care and industry, as well as students, teachers and interested laypersons.
Public Health in History
by
"This clear and informative volume, packed with rich sources and illustrations, will be a must for students and scholars embarking on a study of public health. Covering a range of geographical areas and a wide array of topics, it also succeeds in being challenging and thought-provoking, urging its readers to engage with the ways in which historical research can shape our understanding of current health issues.
Handbook for Public Health Social Work
by
Public health social work is an interdisciplinary, epidemiologically oriented approach to improving human health and well-being. About one quarter of all social workers in the United States currently work in medical or public health settings, a number that is expected to increase significantly in coming years. This handbook, written and edited by respected leaders of the Social Work Section of the American Public Health Association (APHA), describes the rapidly expanding roles of public health social workers as these two disciplines continue to join forces.
Issues in Public Health
by
What is public health and why is it important? By looking at the foundations of public health, its historical evolution, the themes that underpin public health and the increasing importance of globalization, this book provides thorough answers to these important questions. Written by experts in the field, the book discusses the core issues of modern public health, such as tackling vested interests head on, empowering people so they can make healthy decisions, and recognising the political nature of the issues. The new edition has been updated to identify good modern public health practice, evolving from evidence. New features include: Two new chapters on the expanding role of public health, covering the issues of sustainability and climate change, human rights, genetics and armed conflict Expanded UK and international examples Examination of the impact of globalization on higher and lower income countries Exploration of the tension between the population approach and the personal behaviour change model of health promotion A variety of activities to help understanding and learning of the topics Issues in Public Health is an ideal introductory text for higher education students studying public health in depth. Series Editors: Rosalind Plowman and Nicki Thorogood.
Leading Public Health
by
James Begun and Jan Malcolm combine the wisdom of an academic and a practitioner to provide a comprehensive, accessible guide to impactful public health leadership. It is timely because now more than ever the stakes and oppotunities are high. A must-read for any aspiring Public Health leader."
Rural Public Health
by
This call to action for healthcare providers is a comprehensive review of issues in rural healthcare, including both obstacles and ways to begin to overcome them. It is easy to read... This enjoyable book encourages healthcare providers working or considering working in rural healthcare with clear direction."
The Future Public Health
by
"This excellent book could not be more timely. It must now be apparent to almost everyone that we cannot go on as we have done in the past ... The authors set out a vision of a future in which we have rebalanced our relationship with the world around us. They give us a sense of purpose and reason for hope that, together, we might be able to attain it."
Public Health
by
Published in 2008, the first volume of Public Health focused on issues from the dawn of western civilization through the Progressive era. Volume 2 defines the public health challenges of the twentieth century--this important reference covers not only how the discipline addressed the problems of disease, but how it responded to economic, environmental, occupational, and social factors that impacted public health on a global scale. Major illnesses such as cancer, HIV, and tuberculosis are addressed, along with lifestyle concerns, such as tobacco and nutrition. Chapters also explore maternal-child and women's health, dental public health, health economics and ethics, and the role of philanthropy. Each chapter begins with an in-depth introduction, followed by three original articles that illustrate the problem. The volume is enhanced with a detailed chronology of public health events, as well as appendices that contain many of the original documents that ushered public health into the new millennium.
Public Health
by
Public health is the science and art of preventing disease, prolonging life and promoting health through the organised efforts and informed choices of society, organizations (public and private), communities and individuals. The mission of public health is the fulfillment of society's interest in assuring the conditions which make people healthy. In the twentieth century, one of the improvements in public health has been an increased life expectancy in the developed world. However, we have also seen other achievements in the provision of vaccinations, motor-vehicle safety, safer workplaces, control of infectious diseases, decline in deaths from coronary heart disease and stroke, safer and healthier foods, healthier mothers and babies, and family planning and fluoridation of drinking water. There has been some positive trends in recent years in developed countries, such as less smoking, more physical activity and better vaccination status. Still, drinking, obesity, violent crime and lack of health insurance are some challenging areas in public health. We need to apply what we have learned and know now in order to reduce health inequality in our nations in the future. We also need to use advanced technology to improve health and address new health issues as they emerge over time; it is imperative that people are ready to intervene and minimize adverse effects of new diseases at all times.
1. Public Health Textbook - is an online resource which covers all the public health skills and competencies.
2. Public Health Ethics: Global Cases, Practice, and Context - is an open textbook introducing public health ethics poses two special challenges. First, it is a relatively new field that combines public health and practical ethics.