LibGuides: Public Health: e-Resources

Public Health e-Journals

Published since 1878, Public Health Reports is the official journal of the Office of the U.S. Surgeon General and the U.S. Public Health Service. It is published bimonthly, plus supplement issues, through an official agreement with the Association of Schools and Programs of Public Health. The journal is peer-reviewed and publishes original research, reviews, and commentaries related to public health practice and methodology, public health law, and teaching at schools and programs of public health.

The American Journal of Epidemiology is the oldest and one of the premier epidemiologic journals devoted to the publication of empirical research findings, opinion pieces, and methodological developments in the field of epidemiologic research. It is a peer-reviewed journal aimed at both fellow epidemiologists and those who use epidemiologic data, including public health workers and clinicians.

Clinical Infectious Diseases (CID) is a leading journal in the field of infectious disease with a broad international readership. The Journal publishes articles on a variety of subjects of interest to practitioners and researchers. Topics range from clinical descriptions of infections, public health, microbiology, and immunology to the prevention of infection, the evaluation of current and novel treatments, and the promotion of optimal practices for diagnosis and treatment.

American Journal of Public Health is dedicated to the publication of original work in research, research methods, and program evaluation in the field of public health. The mission of the journal is to advance public health research, policy, practice, and education.

undefined International Journal of Environmental Research and Public Health is an interdisciplinary peer-reviewed open access journal published semi-monthly online by MDPI. It covers Environmental Sciences and Engineering, Public Health, Environmental Health, Occupational Hygiene, Health Economic and Global Health Research, etc.

PLOS ONE is an inclusive journal community working together to advance science for the benefit of society, now and in the future. The research published is multidisciplinary and, often, interdisciplinary, in over two hundred subject areas across science, engineering, medicine, etc.

PNAS is one of the world's most-cited and comprehensive multidisciplinary scientific journals, publishes cutting-edge research, science news, Commentaries, Perspectives, Colloquium Papers, Reviews, and actions of the NAS.

BMC Public Health is an open access, peer-reviewed journal that considers articles on the epidemiology of disease and the understanding of all aspects of public health. The journal has a special focus on the social determinants of health, the environmental, behavioral, and occupational correlates of health and disease, and the impact of health policies, practices and interventions on the community.

Key Databases

Wiley Online Library A journal database that hosts Business, Economics, Finance, chemistry, earth and environment science, education, engineering, humanities, and social science
Henry Stewart Biomedical & Life Sciences Talks Henry Stewart Biomedical Talks (HSTalks) is an online collection of expert-led video lectures on topics like genetics, neuroscience, cancer research, and drug discovery. It offers high-quality, on-demand content with slides and transcripts for researchers, educators, and students.
Oxford journals Hosts a wide range of the world's most highly-cited and prestigious titles in the fields of medicine, life sciences, mathematics & physical sciences, law, humanities, and the social sciences.
Cambridge Journals Hosts over 300 peer-reviewed journals, including journals from a variety of subject areas
Cochrane Library Provides high-quality, systematic reviews to inform healthcare decision-making through evidence-based research.
Springer eBooks A collection of e-books on Business and economics, Computer science, professional and applied
Research4Life Grants free or low-cost access to academic resources for developing countries.
ProQuest eBook Central Online digital library providing access to over 70,000 scholarly e-books from academic, trade, and professional publishers. They cover a wide range of subject areas
Nature Nature Publishing contains scientific publications and research tools provided by Nature Portfolio, a leading publisher of high-impact journals in the fields of science, technology, and medicine. It is part of Springer Nature and is known for its flagship journal, Nature, along with a range of specialized journals.
World Bank eLibrary The World Bank eLibrary offers research and reports on global development, economic policy, and social impact studies. The platform provides access to books, working papers, and datasets.

Freely Available Online Information from Government Agencies and Organizations

Centers for Disease Control - The CDC is the United States' health protection agency, providing reliable information on topics in health and medicine.

MedlinePlus - Website from the NIH providing health information on diseases, conditions, and wellness for health professionals and consumers.

National Library of Medicine - The world's largest biomedical library, created by the National Institutes of Health in Bethesda, Maryland.

National Institutes of Health - The NIH provides information on medicine, grants and funding, health news, and other health-related issues.

National Cancer Institute SEER - The NCI'S Surveillance, Epidemiology, and End Results program provides information on cancer statistics.

Hardin MD - This website provides links to medical pictures.

Merck Manual - This free site provides information about a wide range of health topics to practitioners and the public.

RxList - Source for prescription drug information. Includes an A-Z list of drugs, as well as a visual pill identifier

NCBI Bookshelf - Free online access to books and manuscripts in health and life sciences.