LibGuides: Human Physiology: e-Resources

e-Journals

PLOS ONE PLOS ONE is an inclusive journal community working together to advance science for the benefit of society, now and in the future. Founded with the aim of accelerating the pace of scientific advancement and demonstrating its value, we believe all rigorous science needs to be published and discoverable, widely disseminated and freely accessible to all.opinion pieces
Nature Nature is a weekly international journal publishing the finest peer-reviewed research in all fields of science and technology on the basis of its originality, importance, interdisciplinary interest, timeliness, accessibility, elegance and surprising conclusions. Nature also provides rapid, authoritative, insightful and arresting news and interpretation of topical and coming trends affecting science, scientists and the wider public.
European Journal of Neuroscience EJN is the journal of FENS and supports the international neuroscientific community by publishing original high quality research articles and reviews in all fields of neuroscience. In addition, to engage with issues that are of interest to the science community, we also publish Editorials, Meetings Reports and Neuro-Opinions on topics that are of current interest in the fields of neuroscience research and training in science.
Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences of the United States of America by United States National Academy of Sciences Impact factor: 9.504 (2017) Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences of the United States of America is a peer-reviewed multidisciplinary scientific journal. It is the official journal of the National Academy of Sciences, published since 1915, and publishes original research, scientific reviews, commentaries, and letters
Journal of Physiology by The Physiological Society The Journal of Physiology publishes original Research Papers in all areas of physiology and pathophysiology illustrating new physiological principles or mechanisms. Papers on work at the molecular level, cell membrane, single cells, tissues or organs and on systems physiology are all encouraged. We are particularly keen to publish papers that have a clinical or translational focus, to help further our understanding of the role physiology plays in health and disease.
Journal of Neurophysiology by American Physiological Society The Journal of Neurophysiology is a monthly peer-reviewed scientific journal established in 1938. It is published by the American Physiological Society with Bill J. Yates as its editor-in-chief
Frontiers in Physiology Frontiers in Physiology is a leading journal in its field, publishing rigorously peer-reviewed research on the physiology of living systems, from the subcellular and molecular domains to the intact organism, and its interaction with the environment.

Journal Impact Factor

Journal impactor factor is and indication of the quality of a journal. The higher the journal 'impact factor', the more important the journal. You can search for a journal's impact factor uon Google using the journal name and impact factor as keywords.

Some journal impact measures are based on the number of citing documents, and some tools also 'weight' these citations; new impact measures are emerging all the time. The best known journal measure is currently the Journal Impact Factor, generated by the Journal Citation Reports.

Note: An impact metric can only be generated if the journal is indexed by the database.

Key Databases

Some key Heath Sciences databases and Anatomy databases are listed below:

Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
A collection of six databases that contain different types of high-quality, systematic reviews to inform healthcare decision-making
EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window
This database hosts other key databases that cover business, education, social science, humanities, medicine, clinical pharmacology, newspaper source
Nature Publishing Group Journals This link opens in a new window
Royal Society of Chemistry This link opens in a new window
Scientific publisher of biology, biophysics, chemical science, materials, medicinal drug discovery and physics
Mary Ann Liebert Online This link opens in a new window
Biotechnology, biomedical research, clinical medicine, surgery, engineering and technology, and policy, law & economics, public health.
Elsevier (Science Direct) This link opens in a new window
Henry Stewart Biomedical & Life Sciences Talks This link opens in a new window

Human Physiology: e-Resources

Online Human Physiology Resources

e-Journals

Journal Impact Factor

Key Databases