Introduction to Leadership by
A practical, applied introduction to the art of leadership Offering a straightforward introduction to the basic principles of leadership, Peter G. NorthouseÆs Introduction to Leadership: Concepts and Practice focuses on providing readers with practical strategies for becoming better leaders. An applied text by the author of the SAGE best-seller Leadership: Theory and Practice, Fourth Edition, this new text provides the much needed ôhow-toö component of leading for students in leadership courses. Three interactive components in every chapterùself-assessment questionnaires, observational exercises, and reflection and action worksheetsùget readers actively involved in applying leadership concepts to their own lives. Grounded in leadership theory, yet accessible and reader-friendly, this book covers a fundamental aspect of leadership in each chapter and illustrates its application in real leadership situations. A final chapter discusses the key topic of ethics in leadership. Key Features Looks at one quality of leadership per chapter, making it easier for readers to understand and apply material to their own lives Uses examples and case studies to illustrate each fundamental aspect of leadership (creating a vision, listening to out-group members, and overcoming obstacles, for example) Encourages readers to complete a Self-Assessment Questionnaire before reading each chapter to explore their own leadership styles and preferences Guides readers in examining behaviors of leaders from their own lives through each chapterÆs Observational Exercise Includes Reflection and Action Worksheets that encourage readers to reflect upon their own leadership styles and identify an action plan for improving their leadership skills Instructor Resources on CD, including PowerPoint slides, a test bank, writing assignments, and chapter reviews, are available to qualified instructors by contacting SAGE Customer Care at 1-800-818-SAGE (7243) between 6 a.m. and 5 p.m. PST. Introduction to Leadership: Concepts and Practice is intended as a primary text for leadership courses in departments of business, communication, education, public administration, or other departments. It can also be used in student activities, continuing education, corporate training, executive development, in-service training, and government or military training programs.ôAn outstanding introductory text for new leaders! Northouse combines self-knowledge with essential competencies that every effective leader should possess.ö ùBarry L. Boyd, Texas A&BAD:amp;M University ôFor four editions and more than a decade, its concise, intelligent, insightful introduction to the study of leadership has made ôNorthouseö [Leadership: Theory and Practice, Fourth Edition, SAGE, ©2007] the go-to text for students and teachers. With this book, Peter Northouse has done the same for the practice of leadership.ö ùRichard A. Couto, Antioch University, Senior Scholar, Burns Academy, Reflections on Leadership (ed.) ôI have followed Peter Northouse′s work for years. He has written another excellent book, this time a perfect introductory book for the new student of leadership.ö ùCarl Larson, University of Denver
Leadership by
Ideal for instructors who take a practical, skill-building approach to teaching leadership, this text balances theory with real-world applications. DuBrin, a highly respected author and consultant, incorporates current research on leadership and real-world business events from academic journals and popular periodicals. Leadership profiles focus on successful men and women to whom students can easily relate, such as lower-level, small business, and not-for-profit leaders. In the Fifth Edition, skill-building activities such as leadership self-assessment quizzes, role-play exercises, and discussion questions have been retained. Key updates include new opening vignettes and end-of-chapter cases; one additional Skill-Building Exercise per chapter; and an enhanced Online Study Center (student web site) with new Knowledge Bank sections, featuring research and theory not covered in the text.
Corporate Communication by
Used by nearly 25,000 students in over 50 countries, this book incorporates current thinking and developments on corporate communication from both the academic and practitioner worlds. Combining a comprehensive theoretical foundation with numerous practical guidelines, insights will assist managers (or soon to be managers) in their day-to-day work and in their strategic and tactical communication decisions. With cases and examples from across the globe including Apple, BMW, Uber, L'Oréal and Starbucks, this Fifth Edition is updated to include more material on social media, employee communication, leadership communication, and anti-corporate activism. The Fifth Edition of Corporate Communication is supported by a Companion Website and includes full text SAGE journal articles, web links for each chapter, author-selected videos relevant to the key themes and hot topics, case study notes, PowerPoint slides, and more! Suitable for students at advanced undergraduate and postgraduate levels on business management, marketing, corporate communication, public relations, or business communications programs, as well as practitioners in the field. Available with Perusall--an eBook that makes it easier to prepare for class Perusall is an award-winning eBook platform featuring social annotation tools that allow students and instructors to collaboratively mark up and discuss their SAGE textbook. Backed by research and supported by technological innovations developed at Harvard University, this process of learning through collaborative annotation keeps your students engaged and makes teaching easier and more effective. Learn more.
Business Essentials by
For Introduction to Business courses. Focus on the practical skills and important developments in business The recent events in domestic and global economies are presenting unprecedented challenges, excitement, and disappointments for business--and a need for a change in Introduction to Business courses and texts. Business Essentials captures the widespread significance of these developments and presents their implications on businesses today. The Eleventh Edition includes new real-world examples and research findings, helping students to see how entrepreneurs are putting into practice the concepts that they are learning, and making this text the most current and relevant one available on the market today. Also Available with MyBizLab ® This title is available with MyBizLab--an online homework, tutorial, and assessment program designed to work with this text to engage students and improve results. Within its structured environment, students practice what they learn, test their understanding, and pursue a personalized study plan that helps them better absorb course material and understand difficult concepts. NOTE: You are purchasing a standalone product; MyBizLab does not come packaged with this content. If you would like to purchase both the physical text and MyBizLab search for: 0134473639 / 9780134473635 Business Essentials Plus MyBizLab with Pearson eText -- Access Card Package Package consists of: 0134271122 / 9780134129969 Business Essentials 0134150031 / 9780134150031 MyBizLab with Pearson eText -- Access Card -- for Business Essentials
Case Studies in Organizational Behavior and Theory for Health Care by
This compendium of 35 case studies examines managerial and organizational behavior concepts put to practice in everyday, real-world healthcare settings. Through these cases, students will gain skills, confidence, and a clear understanding of the application of theory. This is one of the few collections that offers case studies specific to the theories of organizational behavior, within the healthcare setting.
Public Media Management for the Twenty-First Century by
This book analyzes the challenges facing public service media management in the face of ongoing technological developments and changing audience behaviors. It connects models, strategies, concepts, and managerial theories with emerging approaches to public media practices through an examination of media services (e.g. blogs, social networks, search engines, content aggregators) and the online performance of traditional public media organizations. Contributors identify the most relevant and useful approaches, those likely to encourage creativity, interaction, and the development of innovative content and services, and discuss how such innovation can underpin the continuation or expansion of public service media in the changing mediascape.
Organizational Behavior by
Organisational Behavior by Fred Luthans was one of the first mainstream organisational behavior texts on the market and continues the tradition of being the most current and up-to-date researched text today. Well-known author Fred Luthans is the 5th most prolific Publisher in Academy of Management Journals and a senior research scientist with the Gallup Organization, who continues to do research in the organisational behavior area. The Twelfth Edition of Organisational Behavior is ideal for instructors who take a research-based and conceptual approach to their OB course.
Management by
MANAGEMENT, 12th Edition takes a practical, student-oriented approach toward teaching management with an emphasis on current topics, including issues of diversity, ethics, and technology. The student-friendly content features references to pop culture and cites current publications of interest to students. In addition to providing the management framework and introducing students to contemporary management topics, the text provides experiential activities to get students thinking and acting like real-life managers. A robust network of supplements helps students to understand the hands-on, real-world application of chapter concepts.
Knowledge Management by
This primary text serves as a complete introduction to the subject of Knowledge Management, and incorporates technical as well as social aspects, concepts and principles as well as practical examples, and traditional KM approaches as well as emerging topics such as social networks, Web 2.0, and open innovation. The focus of the book is on how KM impacts organizations and individuals, and steps that should be taken to maximize benefits, including directions for how to select, develop, and evaluate KM systems. Unlike other books in the field, Knowledge Management: Systems and Processes enhances the conventional exposition of KM with an in-depth discussion of the technologies used to facilitate the management of knowledge in large and small organizations. It features numerous case studies and vignettes describing practical applications of KM initiatives at leading firms and government organizations, including details such as system architecture. Written by two recognized researchers in the field, the book makes extensive use of the latest developments and examples from KM. An online instructor's manual with PowerPoint materials, solutions to end-of-chapter exercises, and test questions is available to adopters.
Leadership : Learning, Teaching, and Practice by
The purpose of this book is to examine the tensions, gaps, and intersections between the practices of leadership in educational systems, school leadership preparation programs, and the often different worlds of academia and k12 schools. Voices from both academia and k12 schools are used to illustrate the tensions that cluster around capacity, politics, and the everyday practice of inspiring, engaging, and preparing school leaders. Advance Praise for Leadership: Learning, Teaching, and Practice This is a book about experience. This is a book that draws from the knowledge—both personal and professional-- that professors and practitioners shared on their journeys through academia and the day-to-day of K-12 administration. The book is framed around the trinity of teaching, learning, and practice.
Leadership by
Since we think university students are the cream of the crop, it is important to ask whether or not they thrive well. To what extent can university students in Hong Kong develop in a holistic manner? How should we nurture university students to become the leaders and talents of tomorrow? Leadership and intrapersonal development are inherent requirements for university students in Hong Kong, transposing as 3-credit courses that each student must complete in order to graduate. To meet this requirement, a subject entitled Tomorrows Leaders was developed and piloted twice during the 2010-2012 academic years, which was offered to over 2,100 students annually. The design of the subject, curriculum materials, reflection of the teachers and evaluation findings in connection with this subject are presented in this book.
Leadership by
Taking in an amazing range of nationalities - British, Arabic, Chinese, Indian, Greek, Italian, American, Korean - in Leadership: It's in Your DNA Rhea Duttagupta examines how her interviewees became leaders, what worked for them, mistakes they've learned from and risks they've taken. From boardroom politics to the challenges faced by the first female commissioner of Asian police tasked with transforming the world's one of the most corrupt prisons, the stories are diverse, inspirational and instructional.This book provides readers with a framework of ten ingredients distilled from Rhea's extensive experience and research. She argues that these ingredients are innate within us and that if we recognise their importance and enhance them within ourselves, they'll help us maximise our achievements and our leadership qualities.
Leadership by
Effective leadership is key to the future of information services and professional practice, as demands on leaders within the sector are greater than ever before. Leadership skills are required at all levels of the profession, from the top, through to professional staff called upon to lead a team or to take a supervisory role. To meet these challenges, individuals must develop their leadership capacity. This book invites information professionals across the sector and at different stages in their career to reflect on and engage with the development of their leadership role and contribution. Using theoretical concepts and models, coupled with practical tools, this book encourages readers to think about their own leadership and the leadership provided by others around them as the basis for continuing improvement in management and professional practice. No other book offers such a comprehensive and topical perspective on leadership in the context of the information services and the wider information industry. Contents include: challenges in leadership knowing yourself as a leader leadership in context promoting change, innovation and creativity leading people setting direction and strategy leadership development influential leadership. A range of features, including learning objectives, chapter summaries, review questions, case cameos and recommendations for further reading, encourages and facilitates engagement and reflection. Readership: This book is a must-have for information professionals and aspiring leaders seeking to understand leadership and to develop their own leadership practice, as well as the leadership potential in others. It is also a valuable professional education text.
Leadership by
Success in project management requires the project manager to operate at many levels and deal with a myriad of internal and external stakeholders. Leadership in the project management requires the vision, ability and courage to guide individuals and teams to rewarding experiences. Project Managers often expect to achieve a great deal, but need to realise they can achieve little without the efforts of others. This book focuses on the complexity and issues of leadership in project management. The book provides: * assist project managers in their understanding of what leadership is and how leadership influences the outcome of project success * demonstrate how empowerment can be used to achieve results and positive project outcomes * demonstrate how to engage and influence others to achieve project goals * define the theoretical and practical boundaries of decision making within the context of multiple stakeholder projects * provide an insight into what it takes to build high performance project teams * provide a communication taxonomy for managing multiple stakeholders and demonstrates how conflict should be managed * Achieve your project management goals by providing clear leadership * Build and develop an effective project team * Demonstrates how to engage and influence stakeholders and team members to achieve project goals
Understanding Leadership by
In Understanding Leadership thought-leaders cover the following themes: Leadership as strategic organisational capability and intervention by Theo H Veldsman and Andrew J Johnson The Leadership Landscape as a meta-framework by Theo H Veldsman Appreciative leadership by Freddie Crous Neuroscience in leadership by Ingra du Buisson-Narsai and Dan Radecki Action science by Andrew J Johnson Psychobiographical profiling by Roelf van Niekerk, Mark Perry and Paul FouchE Kegan's competing commitments by Ian Lawson Arbinger's changing mindset by Cobus Pienaar and Jim Ferrell Leadership psychodynamics by Pieter Koortzen Re-authoring leadership narratives by ChenE Swart Action learning by Rosetta Pillay and Gerrit Walters The future of leadership by Andrew J Johnson and Theo H Veldsman Understanding Leadership also features inspirational leadership stories from: Bridgette Gasa Good leaders unite people Johan van Zyl Get to know yourself early on in your career Dave Macready Leadership built on vision, belief and passion Gill Marcus What matters is the greater good Monhla Hlahla Moving effectively through the stages of leadership impact GT Ferreira, Laurie Dippenaar and Paul Harris Leader excellence asks for a distinct, shared leadership philosophy
Virtual Leadership by
The future of work is virtual, with dispersed teams, telecommuting, remote working and virtual meetings becoming the norm in many sectors and industries around the world. At its best, virtual working can be productive and creative, tapping into the best people wherever they are and bringing skills and experience together efficiently and at low cost. But it can also lead to isolated and disengaged workers, ineffective communication, and uncoordinated and even counter-productive activity. Virtual Leadership discusses how leading a virtual team in our fast-paced world requires a new set of skills and a facilitative leadership approach. Virtual Leadership provides practical strategies, tools and solutions for the key issues involved in managing at a distance. How can I provide leadership, motivation and vision through virtual channels? How do I make virtual meetings effective, engaging and productive, and ensure actions are followed through? How do I create engaged and cohesive teams across distance, cultures and languages? How do I stop virtual team members silently checking out, distracted by local challenges and offline issues? With diverse case studies and examples, this is the essential guide to making a difference as a leader of virtual work.
Encyclopedia of Leadership by
`The enormous demands on leadership in today′s world-the rise of militant followings; the struggle of long-suppressed people to rise to leadership positions; the heightened demand for moral, principled leadership - all these dynamic forces contribute to making this encyclopedia timely - and timeless′ - James MacGregor Burns, Williams College, author of Leadership and winner of the Pulitzer Prize and National Book Award `This authoritative reference source, edited by Pulitzer prize-winning presidential biographer Burns and written by some 400 scholars from 17 countries, comprehensively covers a burgeoning new field of academic study-leadership. Its scope is amazingly broad, reflecting the interdisciplinary applications of the subject. The 373 alphabetically arranged entries are accompanied by 150 photos and other illustrations, with 300 sidebars drawn from a variety of sources. Approximately one third of the entries provide biographical information about men and women who have made significant contributions to the field. Other categories include case studies, leadership studies, followership, women and gender, personal characteristics of model leaders, leadership styles, and leadership theories. The appendixes following the main body of the work include a six-page select bibliography of books related to leadership, a directory of 250 leadership programs with accompanying mission statements, key foreign policy and war speeches of U.S. presidents, and excerpts from sacred texts illuminating "the role of leaders and leadership concepts." Bottom Line: Because of its breadth, ease of navigation, high level of scholarship, clear writing and practical format, this model encyclopedia should help establish leadership as a normative field of study. Highly recommended′ - The Library Journal From the earliest times people have been entranced by stories about leaders - about Greek city state rulers, Roman consuls, Chinese emperors, religious potentates, military conquerors, and politicians. Perhaps more importantly, leadership is a challenge and an opportunity facing millions of people in their professional and personal lives. The Encyclopedia of Leadership brings together for the first time everything that is known and truly matters about leadership as part of the human experience. Developed by the award-winning editorial team at Berkshire Publishing Group, the Encyclopedia includes hundreds of articles, written by 400 leading scholars and experts from 17 countries, exploring leadership theories and leadership practice. Over a third of the work - some 500,000 words - is devoted to biographical essays and to case studies focused on leaders (and their followers). Articles and sidebars show leadership in action-in corporations and state houses, schools, churches, small businesses, and nonprofit organizations. Questions the Encyclopedia of Leadership answer: - What is a leader? - What is a great leader? - How does someone become a leader? - What are the types of leadership? - How can leadership theories help us understand contemporary situations? - How can I be a good (and maybe great) leader? The Encyclopedia of Leadership is an unprecedented learning resource. Scholars, students, professionals, and active citizens will turn to the Encyclopedia for guidance on the theory and practice of leadership, for the stories of great leaders, and for the tools and knowledge they need to lead in the 21st century. Key Features: - Four volumes - 400 substantive articles, ranging in length from 1000-6000 words - 200 photographs and other illustrations - 250 sidebars drawn from public records, newspaper accounts, memoirs, and ethnography Article categories: - Biographies - Case studies - Followers and followership - Gender issues - Leadership in different disciplines - Leadership in different domains - Leadership styles - Personality characteristics - Situational factors - Theories and concepts The Encyclopedia of Leadership is an vital tool for librarians with collections in business, management, history, politics, communication, psychology, and a host of other disciplines. Students and teachers in courses ranging from history to psychology, anthropology, and law will also find this an invaluable reference. Editorial Board Laurien Alexandre, Antioch University Bruce Avolio, University of Nebraska, Lincoln Martin Chemers, University of California, Santa Cruz Kisuk Cho, Ewha Womans University Joanne Ciulla, University of Richmond David Collinson, Lancaster University Yiannis Gabriel, Imperial College, London Zachary Green, Alexander Institute and University of Maryland Keith Grint, Oxford University Michael Hogg, University of Queensland Jerry Hunt, Texas Tech University Barbara Kellerman, Harvard University Jean Lipman-Blumen, Claremont Graduate University Larraine Matusak, LarCon Associates Ronald Riggio, Claremont McKenna College J rgen Weibler, Fernuniversitat Hagen Contributors Include Warren Bennis (Management) John Chandler (Higher Education) Cynthia Cherrey (International Leadership Association) Bob Edgerton (Mau Mau Rebellion) Gene Gallagher (Religion) Betty Glad (Camp David Accords and Tyrannical Leadership) Louis Gould (Woodrow Wilson and Lyndon Johnson) Allen Guttmann (Modern Olympics Movement and Women′s Movement) Ronald Heifetz (Adaptive Work) Dale Irvin (Ann Lee) David Malone (Billy Graham) Martin Marty (Martin Luther) Kenneth Ruscio (Trust) Robert Solomon (Friedrich Nietzsche) Robert Sternberg (Intelligence and Tacit Knowledge) Fay Vincent (Sports Industry) Gary Yukl (Influence Tactics and Group Performance)
Encyclopedia of Educational Leadership and Administration by
SAGE Reference is proud to announce this major new collection in the fields of educational leadership and administration. The Encyclopedia of Educational Leadership and Administration presents the most recent theories, research, terms, concepts, ideas and histories on educational leadership and school administration as it is taught on PGCE courses and practiced in schools and colleges today. With over 600 entries, written by more than 200 professors, graduate students, practitioners and association officials, the two-volumes of this Encyclopedia represent the most comprehensive knowledge base of educational leadership and school administration that has, as yet, been compiled. Key features: - represents a `knowledge dynamic′ of the field by presenting ideas and perspectives that are in the minds, hearts, and aspirations of those practicing in the profession; - includes a wide range of topics covering teaching and learning, curriculum, psychology and motivation, budgeting and finance, law, statistics, research, personnel management, planning, supervision, and much more; - contains over 75 biographical sketches of people whose ideas, aspirations, and lives have contributed much to the profession; - animates reader′s thinking and defines possibilities by presenting terms, ideas, concepts, research, and theories that are circulating in the field. The Encyclopedia of Educational Leadership and Administration is a must-have reference for all academic libraries.
The Thought Leadership Manual : How to Grab Your Clients’ Attention with Powerful Ideas by
The Thought Leadership Manual is the essential guide for dramatically growing your business by becoming a recognised expert in your field. The ability to create insights that grab the attention of clients and the media has become one of the most important marketing challenges for businesses selling high-value services. Yet ‘thought leadership'barely features in marketing courses, and there is even less advice available on how to create the all-important stream of great ideas (which is the toughest part!). The Thought Leadership Manual fills this gap, providing a process and toolkit that enables newcomers and the experienced alike to create and launch successful campaigns.
Armstrong's Handbook of Management and Leadership for HR by
To make an effective contribution, HR specialists have to be good at management, leadership and developing both themselves and others. They also need to be aware of the management and business considerations that affect their work. Armstrong's Handbook of Management and Leadership for HR provides guidance on the processes of management and leadership with particular reference to what HR managers and aspiring managers need to know and do to make a difference. Written by renowned human resources expert and bestselling author Michael Armstrong, Armstrong's Handbook of Management and Leadership for HR covers in one volume the 'Leading, Managing and Developing People' and 'Developing Skills for Business Leadership' Chartered Institute of Personnel and Development (CIPD) modules. It includes numerous practical features such as case studies, practitioner interviews, exercises and clear learning objectives to aid learning. This is the essential book for HR students and professionals looking to broaden their skills and understanding relating to management and leadership. Online supporting resources include lecture slides, an instructor's manual, a student's manual and a literature review.
Being An Agile Leader-Manager : Practical Skills to Handle People Challenges in Today’s World of Work by
Managing other people at work is a challenge for every manager… you're not alone! Are you a practical person but need step-by-step tools to manage others? Want to handle other people's expectations more e ffectively?Succeed with tricky conversations Facing resistance to new solutions, new processes or even simple ideas? Want to improve the performance of others? In each chapter, Catherine takes you through a di fferent topic: with exercises, stories and tips to dip into and expand your management skills. If you are a new manager there are practical and useful ways to help you be more e ffective. If you are an experienced manager there are new processes to learn and fresh strategies to explore. Either way, this book will help you be more agile and deal more e ffectively with others, be they your employees, your boss, your clients, JV partners or colleagues.
How to Manage People by
From Michael Armstrong, HR expert and best-selling author, comes this new edition of the business staple, How to Manage People. Providing valuable insight into the functions and skills required to be an effective manager, this is your one-stop guide to people management. From how to manage teams to successful recruitment, it will help you get the best from your staff through motivation, reward and leadership. With three brand new chapters on managing virtual teams, enhancing employee engagement and managing conflict, it is full of easily applicable advice as well as practical tools and checklists. Essential reading for anyone who wants to get the best from their teams, How to Manage People distills the essence of good management into one handy book. The creating success series of books... With over one million copies sold, the hugely popular Creating Success series covers a wide variety of topics and is written by an expert team of internationally best-selling authors and business experts. This indispensable business skills collection is packed with new features, practical content and inspiring guidance for readers across all stages of their careers.
