Microeconomics by
McConnell, Brue, and Flynn' s Economics: Principles, Problems, and Policies is the #1 Principles of Economics textbook in the world. It continues to be innovative while teaching students in a clear, unbiased way. The 19th Edition builds upon the tradition of leadership by sticking to 3 main goals: Help the beginning student master the principles essential for understanding the economizing problem, specific economic issues, and the policy alternatives; help the student understand and apply the economic perspective and reason accurately and objectively about economic matters; and promote a lasting student interest in economics and the economy. Connect is the only integrated learning system that empowers students by continuously adapting to deliver precisely what they need, when they need it, and how they need it, so that your class time is more engaging and effective.
Economics by
Building on the success of previous editions, Economics, Twelfth Edition, has been thoroughly updated and revised. Rigorous yet also accessible to beginners, it provides comprehensive coverage of both introductory macroeconomics and microeconomics. The authors balance in-depth explanations of key theoretical concepts with a wide range of real-world examples drawn from around the globe. They incorporate numerous pedagogical features including highlighted definitions of economic terms, short revision questions, and updated end-of-chapter questions. New to this Edition: * Incorporates full coverage of the 2008 banking crisis and recession, featuring revised sections on banking, the financial system, and fiscal policy * Integrates a broad range of international applied examples, including the cost of climate change, celebrity earnings, and global imbalances in the economy * Includes more end-of-chapter questions An updated and expanded Companion Website contains resources for students and instructors: For students: * Self-test questions * Interactive chapters * Web links * Flashcard glossary * Author's blog For instructors: * Figures from the text * Instructor's Manual * Animated PowerPoint-based slides * Test bank
Principles of Microeconomics by
In writing this textbook, Mankiw has tried to put himself in the position of someone seeing economics for the first time. The author's conversational writing style presents the politics and science of economic theories to tomorrow's decision-makers.
Macroeconomics by
McConnell/Brue/Flynn has long set the standard for providing high-quality content to instructors and students all over the world. It has remained the most widely used principles of economics product as a result of persistent innovation. The 19th edition brought adaptive technology to the market for the first time with LearnSmart, a resource that ensures that every minute a student spends studying is the most efficient and productive time possible. Feedback from users in combination with the analysis of student performance data from the 19th edition's digital products significantly informed the revision of the 20th edition, resulting in a product expertly tailored to the needs of today's students. With the 20th edition, students and instructors will benefit from a new offering that expands upon the dynamic and superadaptive capabilities of LearnSmart: SmartBook, the first and only adaptive eBook. McConnell/Brue/Flynn's tradition of innovation continues with the 20th edition, providing market-leading content and digital mastery to benefit today's learners. Connect is the only integrated learning system that empowers students by continuously adapting to deliver precisely what they need, when they need it, and how they need it, so that your class time is more engaging and effective.
Microeconomics by
McConnell, Brue, and Flynn' s Economics: Principles, Problems, and Policies is the #1 Principles of Economics textbook in the world. It continues to be innovative while teaching students in a clear, unbiased way. The 19th Edition builds upon the tradition of leadership by sticking to 3 main goals: Help the beginning student master the principles essential for understanding the economizing problem, specific economic issues, and the policy alternatives; help the student understand and apply the economic perspective and reason accurately and objectively about economic matters; and promote a lasting student interest in economics and the economy. Connect is the only integrated learning system that empowers students by continuously adapting to deliver precisely what they need, when they need it, and how they need it, so that your class time is more engaging and effective.
Economics : principles, problems, and policies by
OVERVIEW McConnell, Brue, and Flynn's Economics: Principles, Problems, and Policies is the #1 Principles of Economics textbook in the world. It continues to be innovative while teaching students in a clear, unbiased way. The 19th Edition builds upon the tradition of leadership by sticking to 3 main goals: Help the beginning student master the principles essential for understanding the economizing problem, specific economic issues, and the policy alternatives; help the student understand and apply the economic perspective and reason accurately and objectively about economic matters; and promote a lasting student interest in economics and the economy. GLOBAL EDITION Reorganized chapters to move international economics topics closer to the front of the book, including adding a web chapter into the physical textbook. New feature box and in-text examples that reflect a more global mix of countries, companies, and personalities. Globally-focused data throughout the text and figures to illustrate topics such as the uses of money, oil production in OPEC nations, and global interest rates. Updated discussion of exchange rates to focus on the euro and euro-area countries.Revised end-of-chapter material highlighting Asian, African, Central American, and European examples.
Economics of the Public Sector by
What should be the role of government in society? How should it design its programs? How should tax systems be designed to promote both efficiency and fairness? Nobel Laureate Joseph Stiglitz and new co-author Jay Rosengard use their first-hand policy-advising experience to address these key issues of public-sector economics in this modern and accessible Fourth Edition.
Managerial Economics by
By illustrating how effective managers apply economic theory and techniques to solve real-world problems, MANAGERIAL ECONOMICS 13E helps future business leaders learn to think analytically and make better decisions. As always, the seasoned author team balances a solid foundation of traditional microeconomic theory with extensive exploration of the latest analytical tools in managerial economics, such as game-theoretic tactics, information economics, and organizational architecture.This new edition is concise, comprehensive, and current with cutting-edge coverage of important management topics relevant to today's students, including an exciting focus on "green" business and environmentally friendly practices and products. Available with InfoTrac® Student Collections http://gocengage.com/infotrac.
Behavioral Economics by
This book distills knowledge gained through a long academic career. For the past few years, the authors work has focused primarily on behavioral economics. While he had learned much during his doctorate and international exposure, he learned even more after working with Nova Science Publishers. Through this experience, a new perspective has emerged that describes interests regarding the very fundamentals of behavioral economics. A desire to share these epiphanies motivated the production of this book. As the world moves further into a more globalized and digital age, generating vast content of different types of subject matter, there will be a greater need to access the respective aspects encompassing behavioral economics. It is the authors passion to not only find out, but to develop tools to break down barriers of accessibility for future generations. This book represents the culmination of years of work, and writing it has been a challenging yet satisfying experience. The author also would like to express his gratitude to the people who supported him in this endeavor.
Development Economics by
This innovative textbook focuses upon economic policy in the context of developing countries. The aim is to show how economic theory can be applied to the real and urgent challenges facing the developing world. To achieve its unique policy focus the text includes seventeen country case studies (in the form of assigned questions) as well as comprehensive theoretical coverage. The topics covered by the book are those most relevant to the developing world such as how to accelerate economic growth, ways in which foreign savings can be used to promote development, and the choice of policies to successfully stabilize inflationary and debt-burdened economies. The country case studies featured are those most closely illustrative of the theory. Solutions for nine of the cases are provided in the text; solutions for the other eight are made available to instructors. Development Economics: A Policy Analysis Approach is ideal for undergraduate and introductory graduate courses. It provides a hands-on guide to making and assessing economic policy decisions in the developing world.
Economics by
Economics has the capacity to offer us deep insights into some of the most formidable problems of life, and offer solutions to them too. Combining a global approach with examples from everyday life, Partha Dasgupta describes the lives of two children who live very different lives in differentparts of the world: in the Mid-West USA and in Ethiopia. He compares the obstacles facing them, and the processes that shape their lives, their families, and their futures. He shows how economics uncovers these processes, finds explanations for them, and how it forms policies and solutions.Along the way, Dasgupta provides an intelligent and accessible introduction to key economic factors and concepts such as individual choices, national policies, efficiency, equity, development, sustainability, dynamic equilibrium, property rights, markets, and public goods.
Economics by
This book provides a fresh introduction to real economics. Highlighting the complex and changing nature of economic activity, this wide-ranging text employs a pragmatic mix of old and new methods to examine the role of values and theoretical beliefs in economic life and in economists' understanding of it.It attends to the problems which have come with high productivity, rapidly changing technology and skills, changing proportions of earning and non-earning years in most people's lives, and a faltering revolution in childhood and parenting which has brought stress and over-work for many women.It addresses such issues as rising poverty, inequality, insecurity and the slow progress of environmental reform. In focusing on such abuses of affluence the text draws on institutional, Keynesian, green and feminist theories, while emphasising all approaches to understanding economic life.
Managerial Economics by
Each year, thousands of businesses file for bankruptcy protection because managers fail to efficiently organize the company's operations, misread market trends, pay inadequate attention to product quality, or misinterpret the activities and intentions of rival companies. Perhaps they fail to formulate optimal advertising or financing strategies, procure raw materials and components at least cost, or provide adequate incentives to motivate workers to put forth their best efforts. Managerial economics is the application of economic principles to topics of concern to managers. This textbook develops a framework for predicting managerial responses to changes in the business environment. It combines the various business disciplines with quantitative methods to identify optimal solutions to more efficiently achieve a firm's organizational objectives. The topics discussed in this textbook are readily accessible to students with a background in the principles of microeconomics and business mathematics. The selection and organizations of topics makes the textbook appropriate for use in a wide range of curricula by students with different backgrounds.
Economic Growth by
How does economic growth work? Beginning with the history of leading countries over the past 2000 years, 'Economic Growth' finds which countries have achieved sustained growth and how they did it. The effects of growth are examined on a human scale. The benefits of growth are enormous in terms of life, health, education, leisure and opportunity, while the downsides can be managed by appropriate policies. 'Economic Growth' develops a new theory of growth. This new theory is based on careful analysis of actual growth; it covers the causes and mechanisms as well as the results of growth. This new theory extends conventional theory by operating at the industry level and by placing demand considerations at the forefront of growth. Demand growth - based on product innovation, marketing, credit and the consumer society - drives the economy forward while supply growth - based on investment and process innovation - sustains the growth in spending and incomes. Growth is not automatic but, in the right conditions, demand and supply expansion work together to generate sustained growth. 'Economic Growth' offers a new view of growth, unique in its combination of historical depth, intellectual clarity and practical relevance. Its original insights will interest academic and professional economists, while its comprehensive treatment and lucid explanations make it an excellent guidebook for anyone interested in economic growth.
21st Century Economics by
Interest in economics is at an all-time high. Among the challenges facing the nation is an economy with rapidly rising unemployment, failures of major businesses and industries, and continued dependence on oil with its wildly fluctuating price. Economists have dealt with such questions for generations, but they have taken on new meaning and significance.Tackling these questions and encompassing analysis of traditional economic theory and topics as well as those that economists have only more recently addressed, 21st Century Economics: A Reference Handbook is a must-have reference resource.Key FeaturesProvides highly readable summaries of theory and models in key areas of micro and macroeconomics, helpful for students trying to get a "big picture" sense of the fieldIncludes introductions to relevant theory as well as empirical evidence, useful for readers interested in learning about economic analysis of an issue as well for students embarking on research projectsFeatures chapters focused on cutting-edge topics with appeal for economists seeking to learn about extensions of analysis into new areas as well as new approaches Presents models in graphical format and summarizes empirical evidence in ways that do not require much background in statistics or econometrics, so as to maximize accessibility to students
Nonsense by
This book describes how nonsense in our daily living are dilemmas beyond our handling, which thereby makes us realise our nonsense is our access to the Beyond as deep Nonsense. Our description of daily dilemmas beyond us makes us sense them as our secret Open Sesame to the Beyond quite beyond us to suffuse and support us. Nothing is more enthralling and essential to our existence than this thrilling odyssey into the Beyond-Nonsense as our Matrix of living. We unpack this compact complex in this stimulating volume.
Handbook on Africa by
The authors of this handbook provide new research on the challenges and issues of the 21st century in Africa. Some of the topics discussed include the African Development Bank; the PEACE model; environmental developments; waste management; diseases and public health challenges; and education.
Encyclopedia of Economics Research by
This book presents and discusses current research in the field of economics. Topics discussed include labor market imperfections and endogenous business cycles; invariance in economic dynamics; interest rates in stochastic production economies; a cost of capital analysis of gains from securitisation; modeling and forecasting income tax revenue; equity markets and economic development; links between monetary policy, inflation, output and unemployment in the Euro zone; expansion of mean-variance analysis in emerging equity markets and security markets in emerging economies.
Encyclopedia of Consumption and Waste by
Archaeologists and anthropologists have long studied artifacts of refuse from the distant past as a portal into ancient civilizations, but examining what we throw away today tells a story in real time and becomes an important and useful tool for academic study. Trash is studied by behavioral scientists who use data compiled from the exploration of dumpsters to better understand our modern society and culture. Why does the average American household send 470 pounds of uneaten food to the garbage can on an annual basis? How do different societies around the world cope with their garbage in these troubled environmental times? How does our trash give insight into our attitudes about gender, class, religion, and art? The Encyclopedia of Consumption and Waste explores the topic across multiple disciplines within the social sciences and ranges further to include business, consumerism, environmentalism, and marketing to comprise an outstanding reference for academic and public libraries.
Handbook of Development Economics by
For this Handbook authors known to have different views regarding the nature of development economics have been selected. The Handbook is organised around the implications of different sets of assumptions and their associated research programs. It is divided into three volumes, each with three parts which focus on the broad processes of development. Volume 1 of the Handbook begins by discussing the concept of development, its historical antecedents, and alternative approaches to the study of development, broadly construed. The second part is devoted to the structural transformation of economies. The role that human resources play in economic development is the focus of the last section of this volume. For more detailed information on the Handbooks in Economics series, please see our home page on http://www.elsevier.nl/locate/hes
