The science of pathology seeks to identify accurately the etiology of a disease and its development in the human body, which in turn leads to other studies focused on the diagnosis, treatment, and prevention of the disease. A pathologist may be a medical doctor or hold a doctoral degree in a related field such as cell biology or microbiology. He or she may be employed in one of several different types of work, such as research, clinical, surgical, and forensic pathology....more
Rubin's Pathology by
The highly acclaimed foundation textbook Rubin's Pathology: Clinicopathologic Foundations of Medicine, now in its Sixth Edition, provides medical students with a lucid discussion of basic disease processes and their effects on cells, organs, and people. The streamlined coverage includes only what medical students need to know and provides clinical application of the chapter concepts. Icons signal discussions of pathogenesis, pathology, epidemiology, etiological factors, and clinical features. Rubin's Pathology is liberally illustrated with full-color graphic illustrations, gross pathology photos, and micrographs. The Sixth Edition is completely updated with expanded and revised content. A suite of exciting online tools for students includes a fully searchable e-text with all images, 140 interactive case studies, 1500 audio review questions, summary podcast lectures, and a selection of mobile flash cards for iPhone, iPod, and BlackBerry from the new Rubin's Pathology Mobile Flash Cards. Resources for faculty include a 600 question test generator and chapter outlines and objectives.
Histology and Cell Biology by
Histology and Cell Biology: An Introduction to Pathology uses a wealth of vivid, full-color images to help you master histology and cell biology. Dr. Abraham L. Kierszenbaum presents an integrated approach that correlates normal histology with cellular and molecular biology, pathology, and clinical medicine throughout the text. A unique pictorial approach-through illustrative diagrams, photomicrographs, and pathology photographs-paired with bolded words, key clinical terms in red, and clinical boxes and "Essential Concepts" boxes that summarize important facts give you everything you need to prepare for your course exams as well as the USMLE Step 1. Access the fully searchable text online at studentconsult.com, along with USMLE-style multiple-choice review questions, and online only references. Easily find and cross-reference information through a detailed table of contents that highlights clinical examples in red. Review material quickly using pedagogical features, such as Essential Concept boxes, bolded words, and key clinical terms marked in red, that emphasize key details and reinforce your learning. Integrate cell biology and histology with pathology thanks to vivid descriptive illustrations that compare micrographs with diagrams and pathological images. Apply the latest developments in pathology through updated text and new illustrations that emphasize appropriate correlations. Expand your understanding of clinical applications with additional clinical case boxes that focus on applying cell and molecular biology to clinical conditions. Effectively review concepts and reinforce your learning using new Concept Map flow charts that provide a framework to illustrate the integration of cell-tissue-structure-function within a clinical-pathology context. Build a stronger base of clinical knowledge through the integration of cell biology, histology, and pathology
Pathology and Therapeutics for Pharmacists by
This is the textbook for undergraduate pharmacists which takes an integrated approach to the pathophysiological and pharmacotherapeutic principles underlying the treatment of disease. This new edition of "Pathology and Therapeutics for Pharmacists" has been completely revised and updated to reflect advances in therapeutic practice and in the understanding of many disease states. Taking an integrated approach to the pathophysiological and pharmacotherapeutic principles underlying the treatment of disease, it is based on many years' experience of teaching one of the pioneering undergraduate clinical pharmacy courses in the UK. "Pathology and Therapeutics for Pharmacists" is an essential textbook for undergraduate pharmacists and should be of considerable interest to practising pharmacists and other healthcare professionals. Changes to the third edition include: a new chapter on haematological disease; incorporation of evidence based national and international therapeutic guidelines; the addition of thyroid disease in the endocrine chapter; a thoroughly revised chapter on pathological processes; and, re-ordered chapters to reflect British National Formulary sequence.
Principle and Practice of Human Pathology
Spring, 2003
This Open MIT full course provides a comprehensive overview of human pathology with emphasis on mechanisms of disease and modern diagnostic technologies. Topics include: general mechanisms of disease (inflammation, infection, immune injury, host response to foreign materials, transplantation, genetic disorders and neoplasia); pathology of lipids, enzymes, and molecular transporters; pathology of major organ systems; and review of diagnostic tools from invasive surgical pathology to non-invasive techniques such as optical spectroscopy, functional imaging, and molecular markers of disease. The objectives of this subject are achieved by a set of integrated lectures and laboratories, as well as a student-driven term project leading to a formal presentation on a medical, socioeconomic, or technological issue in human pathology.
Eye pathology: an atlas and text by
Master the eye pathology you need to know for the OKAP exam, residency, and beyond! Here's a perfect introduction to basic eye pathology that can easily be read and mastered during an ophthalmic pathology rotation. It provides effective, efficient preparation for OKAP examinations or Board certification in ophthalmology, and will also serve as a concise clinical reference in practice. Richly illustrated and masterfully written, this best-selling ophthalmology resource equips you to understand eye pathology
Orthopaedic Pathology by
Ideal for orthopaedic, pathology, and radiology residents and practitioners, the updated third edition of Orthopaedic Pathology is a comprehensive, practical guide to diagnosing musculoskeletal disorders, offering details on the pathologic and radiologic characteristics of all bone and joint diseases. Highlighted by more than 1,700 high-quality illustrations, it focuses on helping you reach an accurate diagnosis for virtually any orthopaedic disorder you're likely to encounter, including cysts, arthritis, synovial lesions, fibrous lesions, metastatic cancer, metabolic bone disease such as osteoporosis and Paget's disease, fractures, osteomyelitis, tumors and tumor-like lesions and developmental bone disorders. A separate section on soft-tissue pathology discusses meniscal injuries, bursa, ligaments, and tendons.
Liver Pathology by
Liver Pathology covers the key entities and diagnoses that pathologists see in daily practice, focusing on the salient H&E histopathology of each entity with concise descriptions of clinical features, differential diagnosis, and references for further study. It provides the opportunity for correlation with clinical data and radiologic and laboratory findings that are essential to correct diagnosis of non-neoplastic disease and correlation with morphologic and immunohistochemical features in the case of neoplastic liver disease. The book presents information in a bulleted format with H&E illustrations to match histopathologic criteria, and summarizes helpful ancillary tests such as appropriate immunohistochemical panels. It provides a synopsis of all common liver entities and covers non-neoplastic conditions, including description of infectious processes, autoimmune and metabolic disorders, neonatal and pediatric conditions, drug-induced liver injury and liver allograft pathology. Coverage of neoplastic disease includes a selection of the most commonly seen malignancies including metastatic carcinoma. The book serves as a handy summary and quick reference guide for pathology residents and a iportable refresher coursei or MOC review tool for the more experienced pathologist. The Demos Surgical Pathology Guides series presents in summary and visual form the basic knowledge base that every practicing pathologist needs each working day. Series volumes cover the major specialty areas of surgical pathology, and coverage emphasizes the key entities and diagnoses that pathologists will see in practice, and that they must know whether in training or practice. The emphasis is on the basic morphology with newer techniques represented where they are frequently used. The series provides a handy summary and quick reference that any pathology resident or fellow will find useful. Experienced practitioners will find the series valuable as a portable refresher course or review tool. Key Features of Liver Pathology: Covers the key entities and diagnoses of liver pathology seen in daily practice Provides concise, bullet-point format for quick reference and easy review Contains over 200 high-quality color images to match histopathologic criteria Includes key references directing reader to recent literature and greater depth of information Summarizes helpful ancillary tests
Prostate Pathology by
Prostate Pathology concentrates on the salient H&E histopathology of each entity discussed with brief descriptors of the clinical features, differential diagnosis, and relevant literature references for each entity. The book features a bulleted format with H&E illustrations to match histopathologic criteria. Helpful ancillary tests, in particular, appropriate immunohistochemical panels are also summarized. Prostate Pathology provides a synopsis of all common prostate entities and covers non-neoplastic conditions, including description of normal structures, premalignant conditions and prostate carcinoma, and mesenchymal, hemotopoietic and secondary tumors. The book provides a handy summary and quick reference guide for pathology residents and will serve as a "portable refresher course" or MOC review tool for the more experienced pathologist. Prostate Pathology features: High-yield diagnostic summary and review in surgical pathology for residents, fellows, practicing surgical pathologists preparing for recertification Well illustrated with over 200 high quality color images Concise, bullet-point format for quick reference and easy review Key references included directing reader to recent literature and further detail
Breast Pathology by
Based on actual cases drawn from the extensive breast pathology consultation practice at Vanderbilt University Medical Center, Breast Pathology covers the full classification of breast tumors and focuses on especially challenging differential diagnoses or unusual and problematic morphologic presentations. Using a pattern-based approach, each case is presented as a difficult diagnostic choice with two or even three possible diagnoses for the pathologist. For each case there is a description illustrating an expert's diagnosis and analysis, along with commentary providing additional context on the evaluation of such specimens. The book places special emphasis on avoiding diagnostic pitfalls. Each case discussion is supported with several high quality color photomicrographs that facilitate an extensive visual history and learning experience. Brief references to the literature are also included. The book presents a foreword by David L. Page, MD, Professor of Pathology, Vanderbilt University Medical Center. Key Features of Breast Pathology Provides a pattern-based approach to solving difficult diagnostic challenges Offers expert guidance to complex diagnoses of breast specimens Emphasizes difficult diagnoses and how to avoid diagnostic pitfalls Based on actual cases drawn from breast pathology consultation practice at Vanderbilt University Medical Center Includes over 400 high quality color photomicrographs
Pulmonary Pathology by
Intended for busy practitioners, Pulmonary Pathology is a pithy, pocket-sized guide to all of the key pulmonology entities and diagnoses that pulmonologists see in daily practice. It addresses non-neoplastic conditions including Infections, Granulomatous Diseases, Acute Lung Injury, Idiopathic Interstitial Pneumonias, Vasculitis, Histiocytoses, Lung Pathology in Systemic Diseases, Transplant-Related Lung Pathology, and Miscellaneous Non-Neoplastic Conditions. Neoplasia entities include Benign Epithelial Neoplasia, Pre-Invasive Neoplasia, Squamous Cell Carcinoma, Adenocarcinoma, Neuroendocrine Neoplasia, Other Epithelial Neoplasia, Mesenchymal Neoplasia, Lymphoproliferative Disorders, Pleural Tumors, Metastatic Tumors, and Tumor-Like Conditions. The book features a bulleted format replete with illustrations for quick information retrieval. It will be a handy summary and quick reference for pulmonary pathology residents and will serve as a portable refresher course for more experienced pathologists. The Demos Surgical Pathology Guides series presents in summary and visual form the basic knowledge base that every practicing pathologist needs each working day. Series volumes cover the major specialty areas of surgical pathology, and coverage emphasizes the key entities and diagnoses that pathologists will see in practice, and that they must know whether in training or practice. The emphasis is on the basic morphology with newer techniques represented where they are frequently used. The series provides a handy summary and quick reference that any pathology resident or fellow will find useful. Experienced practitioners will find the series valuable as a portable refresher course or review tool.
Pathology by
General pathology is a broad and complex scientific field which seeks to understand the mechanisms of injury to cells and tissues, as well as the body's means of responding to and repairing injury. Areas of study include cellular adaptation to injury, necrosis, inflammation, wound healing, and neoplasia. The foundation of pathology is the application of this knowledge to diagnose diseases in humans and animals. In this book, the authors present topical research in the study of pathology, including challenging the authority of the autopsy in coronial investigations; pathological examination of influenza virus-associated and auto-immune encephalitis/encephalopathy in children; histopathological investigation in forensic autopsies; psychopathology of suicide in Bali and the pathology of fatty acid oxidation disorders on sudden unexpected death in infancy.
Practical Breast Pathology by
Acclaim for the first edition: Succinct, well organized, and easy-to-followof the highest qualityrecommended. -- Radiology Excellent histologic illustrations and concise textprovides a firm foundation in fundamental concepts.-- American Journal of Roentgenology Remarkablesplendid illustrations provide large views of the lesionsgood reference for any clinician interested in breast pathology. -- Surgical and Radiologic Anatomy Focused on a modern, interdisciplinary approach to diagnosing and managing diseases of the breast, this concise book builds on the high standard set in the previous edition. It provides a complete foundation in the basic principles, radiologic appearance and underlying pathology of breast disease, without overwhelming non-pathologist members of the team with excessive detail. For effective communication at every level, Practical Breast Pathology, Second Editionprovides the clear information, case examples and superb illustrations that make it an ideal clinical problem solver. Special features of the second edition: High-quality examples of modern multimodality radiology (digital mammography, ultrasound and magnetic resonance imaging) correlated with large-format 2D and 3D histologic slides New findings on such clinically important topics as the lobar nature of breast carcinoma, multifocality, diffuse carcinomas and extent of disease, concept of the sick lobe and more Introduction of the molecular classification of invasive breast cancer Discussion of prognostic and predictive factors in breast carcinoma, such as hormone receptors and HER2 status Updates on preoperative diagnosis, including intact biopsy and radiologic assessment of the extent and distribution of lesions Enriched with new information and stunning illustrations in every chapter, Practical Breast Pathology, Second Edition is a key link in the exchange between pathologists, radiologists, oncologists and breast surgeons, as well as residents and trainees. It provides an essential framework for understanding the mammographic-pathologic correlation, leading to increased cooperation among clinical team members and significantly improved outcomes for patients.
Head and Neck Pathology by
Head and Neck Pathology concentrates on the salient H&E histopathology of each entity discussed with brief descriptors of the clinical features, differential diagnosis, and relevant literature references for each entity. The book features a bulleted format with H&E illustrations to match histopathologic criteria. Helpful ancillary tests, in particular, appropriate immunohistochemical panels are also summarized. Head and Neck Pathology provides a synopsis of all common head and neck entities as well as selected less common entities. Head and Neck Pathology covers non-neoplastic, benign and malignant neoplasms found in the oral cavity, oropharynx, sinonasal tract, hypopharynx and larynx, salivary glands, gnathic bones, ears, and the soft tissues. The book provides a handy summary and quick reference guide for pathology residents and will serve as a Iportable refresher courseO or MOC review tool for the more experienced pathologist Features Presents the key entities and diagnoses that pathologists will see in practice Emphasis is on basic morphology with newer techniques represented where they are frequently used Includes Iexpert tipsO from experienced diagnosticians Highly illustrated throughout About the Demos Surgical Pathology Series The Demos Surgical Pathology Guides series presents in summary and visual form the basic knowledge base that every practicing pathologist needs every working day. Series volumes will cover the major specialty areas of surgical pathology, and coverage emphasizes the key entities and diagnoses that pathologists will see in practice, and that they must know whether in training or practice. The emphasis will be on the basic morphology with newer techniques represented where they are frequently used. An additional feature will be "expert tips" from experienced diagnosticians. The series will provide a handy summary and quick reference that any pathology resident or fellow will find useful.
Atlas of Anatomic Pathology with Imaging by
Atlas of Anatomic Pathology with Imaging - A Correlative Diagnostic Companion is a valuable teaching tool for medical students and residents in several specialities such as pathology, radiology, internal medicine, surgery and neurologic sciences. Its need is all the more urgent given the severe shortcuts in the teaching of anatomic pathology following the decrease in the number of autopsies performed. Many of the images shown in the atlas would not be available without performing autopsies and therefore this atlas is an essential for all those in the field. Atlas of Anatomic Pathology with Imaging - A Correlative Diagnostic Companion is the first to combine gross anatomic pictures of diseases with diagnostic imaging. This unique collection of material consisting of over 2000 illustrations complied by experts from around the world is a valuable diagnostic resource for all medical professionals.
Atlas of Soft Tissue and Bone Pathology by
This is an abundantly illustrated resource for diagnosis of bone and soft tissue lesions-a particular challenge due to their rarity and complexity. In addition to carefully selected histologic photographs, this unique atlas enhances standard visual information with illustrations of imaging findings, cytology, and molecular and cytogenetic information. This vivid pictorial survey is arranged in a pattern-oriented approach based on the actual working method used in daily practice. The authors are expert educators in surgical and cytopathology and experienced diagnosticians in the complexities of soft tissue and bone pathology. This richly illustrated and concise reference will be a practical and indispensible tool for general pathologists and pathologists in training, who are required to diagnose bone and soft tissue pathologies. It is also an excellent resource for physicians seeking a quick survey of sarcoma.
Liver Pathology by
Liver Pathology: An Atlas and Concise Guide will provide pathologists, heptologists, gastroenterologists, residents and fellows in their respective fields with an up-to-date guide to the differential diagnoses, interpretation and diagnoses of liver specimens. Liver Pathology: An Atlas and Concise Guide contains over 600 high-quality color images demonstrating the histopathologic and immunohistichemical findings supported by concise text listing the all essential information about liver diseases including definition, patient demographics, clinical signs and symptoms, laboratory findings, pathologic features (histology, immunohistochemistry, molecular studies), differential diagnosis and key references. Liver Pathology: An Atlas and Concise Guide provides the "fundamentals" of liver pathology-in a straightforward, problem-oriented presentation of key points and typical differentials based on what you are likely to see.
Haschek and Rousseaux's Handbook of Toxicologic Pathology by
Haschek and Rousseaux's Handbook of Toxicologic Pathology is a key reference on the integration of structure and functional changes in tissues associated with the response to pharmaceuticals, chemicals and biologics. The 3e has been expanded by a full volume, and covers aspects of safety assessment not discussed in the 2e. Completely revised with many new chapters, it remains the most authoritative reference on toxicologic pathology for scientists and researchers studying and making decisions on drugs, biologics, medical devices and other chemicals, including agrochemicals and environmental contaminants. New topics include safety assessment, the drug life cycle, risk assessment, communication and management, carcinogenicity assessment, pharmacology and pharmacokinetics, biomarkers in toxicologic pathology, quality assurance, peer review, agrochemicals, nanotechnology, food and toxicologic pathology, the environment and toxicologic pathology and more.
Atlas of Genitourinary Pathology by
A single source of information about pathologic lesions of the adrenal, the urinary tract, and the male genital system, minimizing the need to consult numerous texts of limited scope, this book contains gross photos and photomicrographs of virtually every pathologic entity, and variants of those entities. The book is lavishly illustrated with images accompanied by text that explains the visual images, highlighting key diagnostic features and providing brief but helpful discussions of the differential diagnosis. This book is designed for practicing pathologists and pathologists in training as well as urologists, GU radiologists, GU radiation oncologists, and GU medical oncologists.
The Pharmacopoeia of the United States of America by
The Pharmacopoeia of the United States of America. This book, "The Pharmacopoeia of the United States of America," by J. B. Lippincott, is a replication of a book originally published before 1876. It has been restored by human beings, page by page, so that you may enjoy it in a form as close to the original as possible.
British Pharmacopoeia 2015 [complete Edition - Print + USB + Online Access] by
The British Pharmacopoeia (BP) 2015 marks the 150th Anniversary of setting quality standards for medicines and medicinal products in the UK. To celebrate this sesquicentenary year, each copy of the BP 2015 includes a complimentary, commemorative digital facsimile of the BP 1864 - the first edition (on USB stick). This edition also sees the introduction of a USB download format which replaces the CD-ROM. Updated annually, the BP is the official, authoritative collection of standards for UK medicinal substances for human and veterinary use. The BP 2015 includes almost 3,500 monographs. All monographs and requirements of the European Pharmacopoeia are also reproduced in the BP, making it an essential reference for students, lecturers and researchers
Infectious Disease and Parasites by
This book covers the complete field of the pathology of infectious disease and parasites- from Acquired Immunodeficiency Disease to Zygomycosis. The alphabetically arranged entries, each of which provides a detailed description of a specific pathological disease pattern, allow readers to quickly and easily find the information they need.