LibGuides: Chemical dependency: e-Resources

Key e-Journals

View Table of Contents for Alcoholism & Drug Abuse Weekly volume 32 issue 18

Alcoholism & drug abuse weekly is a premier weekly publication that delivers the latest news and research on substance abuse and recovery.

View Articles published in Drug and Alcohol Dependence

Drug and Alcohol Dependence is an international journal devoted to publishing original research, scholarly reviews, commentaries, and policy analyses in the area of drug, alcohol and tobacco use and dependence.

View Articles published in Addictive Behaviors Reports

Addictive Behavior Reports (Elsevier) - An open-access and peer reviewed online-only journal offering an interdisciplinary forum for the publication of research in addictive behaviors.

International Journal of Alcohol and Drug Research (IJADR) - Peer-reviewed research that furthers understanding of substance use and substance-related problems from an international perspective.

Heroin Addiction and Related Clinical Problems - Official Journal of EUROPAD for research on the development of effective opiate addiction treatment.

Substance Abuse: Research and Treatment - International peer reviewed journal which considers manuscripts on all areas of human substance abuse research and treatment.

Harm Reduction Journal - Research articles focused on reducing adverse medical, public health, social consequences associated with both psychoactive drugs and drug policies.

Web Resources on Chemical Dependency and Drug Abuse

Principles of Drug Addiction Treatment: A Research-Based Guide (Third Edition) by National Institute on Drug Abuse by National Institute on Drug Abuse (NIDA)
40 Drugs and Drug Abuse Research Paper Topics: When Medicine Meets Criminology
Addicta: The Turkish Journal on Addictions - The official peer-reviewed, international journal of the Turkish Green Crescent Society.
Addiction - Peer-reviewed research reports on pharmalogical and behavioural addictions from many different disciplines.Official journal of the Society for the Study of Addiction since 1884. .
Alcohol Research: Current Reviews - Published by the NIH National Institute on Alcohol Abuse & Alcoholism
Alcohol Research: Current Reviews Archives - Covers period from 1994-1999.
Addiction Science & Clinical Practice - Alcohol, tobacco, or other drug use and addictive behaviours across a spectrum of clinical settings.
Adicciones (Spanish Language) - Alcohol, tobacco, other substances published by Socidrogalcohol (a Spanish member of Eurocare) Separate access to articles available in English.
Health and Addiction (Salud y Drogas ) - Treatment, prevention, social rehabilitation;published by Spain's Addiction Research Institute at Miguel Hernández University.
Nordic Studies on Alcohol and Drugs - Sociological focus; policy, epidemiological studies, quantitative/ qualitative approaches. Articles in English.
Substance Abuse Treatment, Prevention, and Policy - All aspects of research on substance abuse.
Tobacco Control - Essential reading for everyone with an interest in tobacco control, including public health professionals, researchers, policy makers and educators.
Tobacco Induced Diseases - All aspects of tobacco induced diseases and their prevention; biological effects of tobacco smoke, active components, global distribution of tobacco diseases.

Key Databases

PsycArticles This link opens in a new window
Predominantly a Psychology database from the American Psychological Association (APA)
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
A journal database that hosts Business, Economics, Finance, chemistry, earth and environment science, education, engineering, humanities, and social science
Taylor & Francis eBooks This link opens in a new window
Contains over 1000 e-books on a wide range of subject specializations.
Taylor & Francis Journals This link opens in a new window
Hosts over 1,600 titles scholarly journals. The content spans all areas of Humanities, Social Sciences, Science and Technology.
Sage Journals This link opens in a new window
SAGE journals include more than 700 titles spanning the Humanities, Social Sciences, and Science, Technology, and Medicine.
Sage Reseach methods & 2020 cases This link opens in a new window
Sage Research Videos This link opens in a new window
Springer eBooks This link opens in a new window
A collection of e-books on Business and economics, Computer science, professional and applied
Cambridge Journals This link opens in a new window
Hosts over 300 peer-reviewed journals, including journals from a variety of subject areas
Henry Stewart Biomedical & Life Sciences Talks This link opens in a new window
Oxford journals This link opens in a new window
Hosts a wide range of the world's most highly-cited and prestigious titles in the fields of medicine, life sciences, mathematics & physical sciences, law, humanities, and the social sciences.
Elsevier (Science Direct) This link opens in a new window

Additional Article Indexes and Databases

Google Scholar
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations. Google Scholar helps you identify the most relevant research across the world of scholarly research.

MEDLINE (PubMed)
Provides access to over 16 million citations from MEDLINE and other life science journals for biomedical articles back to the 1950s. Includes links to many sites providing full-text articles and other related resources.