Microbiology by
This #1 selling non-majors microbiology textbook is praised for its straightforward presentation of complex topics, careful balance of concepts and applications, and proven art that teaches. In its Eleventh Edition, Tortora, Funke, and Case's Microbiology: An Introduction helps you make the connection between microbiology and human health. This edition continues to incorporate the latest in microbiology research and includes more features designed to engage you and promote critical thinking. With the complex and extensive information presented in introductory microbiology courses, demonstrating the connections between processes you can't see with your naked eye and diseases you will encounter in future careers can be challenging. Microbiology: An Introduction guides you through the process of disease diagnosis, aided by the practical application of the new Clinical Cases that are integrated through every textbook chapter. This package contains: Microbiology: An Introduction, Eleventh Edition
Medical Microbiology by
Medical microbiology concerns the nature, distribution and activities of microbes and how they impact on health and wellbeing, most particularly as agents of infection. Infections remain a major global cause of mortality and in most hospitals around one in ten of those admitted will suffer from an infection acquired during their stay. The evolution of microbes presents a massive challenge to modern medicine and public health. The constant changes in viruses such as influenza, HIV, tuberculosis, malaria and SARS demand vigilance and insight into the underlying process. Building on the huge success of previous editions, Medical Microbiology 18/e will inform and inspire a new generation of readers. Now fully revised and updated, initial sections cover the basic biology of microbes, infection and immunity and are followed by a systematic review of infective agents, their associated diseases and their control. A final integrating section addresses the essential principles of diagnosis, treatment and management. An unrivalled collection of international contributors continues to ensure the relevance of the book worldwide and complementary access to the complete online version on Student Consult further enhances the learning experience. Medical Microbiology is explicitly geared to clinical practice and is an ideal textbook for medical and biomedical students and specialist trainees. It will also prove invaluable to medical laboratory scientists and all other busy professionals who require a clear, current and most trusted guide to this fascinating field.
Pharmaceutical microbiology by 
Mims' Medical Microbiology by
Mims' Microbiology makes it easy for you to learn the microbiology and basic immunology concepts you need to know for your courses and USMLE. Using a clinically relevant, systems-based approach, this popular medical textbook accessibly explains the microbiology of the agents that cause diseases and the diseases that affect individual organ systems. With lavish illustrations and straightforward, accessible explanations, Mims' Microbiology makes this complex subject simple to understand and remember. Learn about infections in the context of major body systems and understand why these are environments in which microbes can establish themselves, flourish, and give rise to pathologic changes.
Textbook of Diagnostic Microbiology by
Learn to develop the problem-solving skills necessary for success in the clinical setting! The Textbook of Diagnostic Microbiology, 6th Edition uses a reader-friendly "building-block" approach to the essentials of diagnostic microbiology. This updated edition has new content on viruses like Zika, an expanded molecular chapter, and the latest information on prevention, treatment modalities, and CDC guidelines. Updated photos offer clear examples of automated lab instruments, while case studies, review questions, and learning objectives present information in an easy-to-understand, accessible manner for students at every level. A building-block approach encourages you to use previously learned information to sharpen critical-thinking and problem-solving skills. Full-color design, with many full-color photomicrographs, prepares you for the reality of diagnostic microbiology. A case study at the beginning of each chapter provides you with the opportunity to form your own questions and answers through discussion points. Hands-on procedures describe exactly what takes place in the micro lab, making content more practical and relevant. Agents of bioterrorism chapter furnishes you with the most current information about this hot topic. Issues to Consider boxesencourages you to analyze important points. Case Checks throughout each chapter tie content to case studies for improved understanding. Bolded key terms at the beginning of each chapter equip you with a list of the most important and relevant terms in each chapter. Learning objectives at the beginning of each chapter supply you with a measurable outcome to achieve by completing the material. Review questions for each learning objective help you think critically about the information in each chapter, enhancing your comprehension and retention of material. Learning assessment questions at the conclusion of each chapter allow you to evaluate how well you have mastered the material. Points to Remember sections at the end of each chapter identify key concepts in a quick-reference, bulleted format. An editable and printable lab manual provides you with additional opportunities to learn course content using real-life scenarios with questions to reinforce concepts. Glossary of key terms at the end of the book supplies you with a quick reference for looking up definitions. NEW! Content about Zika and other viruses supplies students with the latest information on prevention, treatment modalities, and CDC guidelines. NEW! Expanded Molecular Diagnostics chapter analyzes and explains new and evolving techniques. NEW! Updated photos helps familiarize you with the equipment you'll use in the lab. NEW! Reorganized and refocused Mycology chapter helps you better understand the toxicity of fungi. NEW! Updated content throughout addresses the latest information in diagnostic microbiology.
Microbiology by
As with the successful first edition, the new edition of Microbiology: A Clinical Approachis written specifically for pre-nursing and allied health students. It is clinically-relevant throughout and uses the theme of infection as its foundation. Microbiologyis student-friendly: its text, figures, and electronic resources have been carefully designed to help students understand difficult concepts and keep them interested in the material. The Second Edition includes a robust instructor ancillary package that allows professors to easily incorporate the book's unique approach into their lectures. In addition to the many free resources for students--including the E-Tutor, Bug Parade, Flashcards, and MicroMovies--the new edition is supported by Garland Science Learning System. The Garland Science Learning System is a homework platform designed to evaluate and improve student performance and allows instructors to select assignments on specific topics and review the performance of the entire class, as well as individual students, via the instructor dashboard. Students receive immediate feedback on their mastery of the topics, and will be better prepared for lectures and classroom discussions. The user-friendly system provides a convenient way to engage students while assessing progress. Performance data can be used to tailor classroom discussion, activities, and lectures to address students' needs precisely and efficiently. For more information and sample material, visit http://garlandscience.rocketmix.com/.
Laboratory Applications in Microbiology by
Laboratory Applications in Microbiology: A Case Study Approach is designed to use real life case studies as the basis for exercises in the laboratory. This is the only microbiology lab manual focusing on this means of instruction, an approach particularly applicable to the microbiology laboratory. The author has carefully organized the exercises so that students develop a solid intellectual base beginning with a particular technique, moving through the case study, and finally applying new knowledge to unique situations beyond the case study.
Essential Microbiology by
Essential Microbiology 2nd Edition is a fully revised comprehensive introductory text aimed at students taking a first course in the subject. It provides an ideal entry into the world of microorganisms, considering all aspects of their biology (structure, metabolism, genetics), and illustrates the remarkable diversity of microbial life by devoting a chapter to each of the main taxonomic groupings. The second part of the book introduces the reader to aspects of applied microbiology, exploring the involvement of microorganisms in areas as diverse as food and drink production, genetic engineering, global recycling systems and infectious disease. Essential Microbiology explains the key points of each topic but avoids overburdening the student with unnecessary detail. Now in full colour it makes extensive use of clear line diagrams to clarify sometimes difficult concepts or mechanisms. A companion web site includes further material including MCQs, enabling the student to assess their understanding of the main concepts that have been covered. This edition has been fully revised and updated to reflect the developments that have occurred in recent years and includes a completely new section devoted to medical microbiology. Students of any life science degree course will find this a concise and valuable introduction to microbiology.
Microbiology and Immunology by
This book is a concise review of the medically important aspects of microbiology and immunology. It covers both the basic and clinical aspects. Microorganisms have proved to be much more important to mankind than what could be thought of them earlier. During past few years application of microorganisms to human life have enhanced tremendously.
Introductory Microbiology by
Although microbes were first observed over three hundred years ago, the field of microbiology can be said to be in its infancy relative to older biological disciplines such as zoology and botany. Microbiology could be defined as the study of microorganisms, which are unicellular or cell-cluster micro-scopic organisms. Whilst there are undoubtedly some who fear all microbes due to the association of some microbes with many human illnesses, many microbes are also responsible for many beneficial processes such as plants.
Microbiology and Immunology by
This book is a concise review of the medically important aspects of microbiology and immunology. It covers both the basic and clinical aspects.
Pharmaceutical Microbiology by
About the Book: The textbook on Pharmaceutical Microbiology has been adequately developed and expanded according to the AICTE- Approved Syllabus-2000 meant for the Pharmacy Degree Programme across all the Indian Universities, and others abroad offering similar curricula. Specific attention has been duly paid to the presentation of each chapter that essentially includes: brief introduction, theoretical aspects, classification, neat and vivid diagrammatic illustrations of figures-graphics-equipments, lucid explanations, supportive classical examples, and profusely supplemented with explanatoryfoot notes-references in addition to further reading bibliography. The text content runs over ten chapters that may prove to be of paramount interest and enormous readability not only confined to the B.Pharm., students but also to various M.Sc., academic curricula in such disciplines as: Food Microbiology, Environmental Science, Microbiology etc. Key Features Include Concise and exhaustive presentation of scientific informations from several sources. A wealth of theoretical information that opens newer possibilities. Detailed classification of various microbial aspects. Pharmaceutical assays and methodologies. Comprehensive index includes significant terminologies. Well documented statement of facts. Contents: Introduction and Scope Structure and Function: Bacterial Cells Characterization, Classification and Taxonomy of Microbes Identification of Microorganisms Nutrition, Cultivation and Isolation: Bacteria- Actinomycetes-Fungi-Viruses Microbial Genetics and Variations Microbial Control by Physical and Chemical Methods Sterility Testing: Pharmaceutical Products Immune Systems Microbiological (Microbial) Assays: Antibiotics - Vitamins - Amino Acids.
Essential Microbiology by
Essential Microbiology 2nd Edition is a fully revised comprehensive introductory text aimed at students taking a first course in the subject. It provides an ideal entry into the world of microorganisms, considering all aspects of their biology (structure, metabolism, genetics), and illustrates the remarkable diversity of microbial life by devoting a chapter to each of the main taxonomic groupings. The second part of the book introduces the reader to aspects of applied microbiology, exploring the involvement of microorganisms in areas as diverse as food and drink production, genetic engineering, global recycling systems and infectious disease. Essential Microbiology explains the key points of each topic but avoids overburdening the student with unnecessary detail. Now in full colour it makes extensive use of clear line diagrams to clarify sometimes difficult concepts or mechanisms. A companion web site includes further material including MCQs, enabling the student to assess their understanding of the main concepts that have been covered. This edition has been fully revised and updated to reflect the developments that have occurred in recent years and includes a completely new section devoted to medical microbiology. Students of any life science degree course will find this a concise and valuable introduction to microbiology.
Text Book of Microbiology: Immunology and Medical Microbiology by 
Principles of Microbiology by
Principles of Microbiology is an ambitious title for a book because it suggests broad coverage of microorganisms. It is written for introductory microbiology because having an emphasis on biology and human diseases. It is geared toward students in health, allied health science and medical laboratory technology. It will also be an assets to students studying food science, agriculture, environmental science, and health administration. In addition, it provides a firm foundation for advanced programs in the biological sciences, medicine, dentistry, and other health profession.
Manual of Clinical Microbiology by
The 11th edition of the Manual of Clinical Microbiology continues to set the standard for state-of-the-science laboratory practices as the most authoritative reference in the field of clinical microbiology. This new edition presents the numerous microbial taxonomic changes and newer more powerful diagnostic approaches that have been developed since publication of the 10th edition. A collaborative team of editors and authors from around the world, all experienced practitioners, researchers, or public health experts, revised the Manual to include the latest applications of genomics and proteomics, producing an authoritative work of two volumes filled with current findings regarding infectious agents, leading-edge diagnostic methods, laboratory practices, and safety guidelines.
Manual of Clinical Microbiology by
The 11th edition of the Manual of Clinical Microbiology continues to set the standard for state-of-the-science laboratory practices as the most authoritative reference in the field of clinical microbiology. This new edition presents the numerous microbial taxonomic changes and newer more powerful diagnostic approaches that have been developed since publication of the 10th edition. A collaborative team of editors and authors from around the world, all experienced practitioners, researchers, or public health experts, revised the Manual to include the latest applications of genomics and proteomics, producing an authoritative work of two volumes filled with current findings regarding infectious agents, leading-edge diagnostic methods, laboratory practices, and safety guidelines.
Annual Review of Microbiology by
This volume in the series collects cutting edge work in the field. Some chapter topics include signaling in the arbuscular mycorrhizal symbiosis, the interplay between DNA replication and recombination in prokaryotes, diversity and evolution of protein translocation, and yeast evolution and comparative genomics. Other subjects explored are genome t
Benson's Microbiological Applications by
The classic resource for undergraduate microbiology laboratory courses just keeps getting better. The 78 self-contained, clearly illustrated exercises and full-color format makes Microbiological Applications: Laboratory Manual in General Microbiology, the ideal lab manual. Appropriate for either a majors or non-majors lab course, this manual assumes no prior organic chemistry course has been taken.
Dictionary of Microbiology and Molecular Biology by
This Third, Revised Edition of a unique, encyclopedic reference work covers the whole field of pure and applied microbiology and microbial molecular biology in one volume. The Dictionary of Microbiology and Molecular Biology, Third Edition, Revised: Reflects the latest developments in the field Features over 18,000 entries from concise definitions of termsto review-length articles Provides extensive cross-referencing between topics Includes numerous references from scientific journals and other relevant sources With its wide-ranging description of different areas of microbiology.
British Pharmacopoeia 2015 by
The Pharmacopoeia of the United States of America by
Available from Galileo Open Learning Materials
Boundless Microbiology available from Lumen Learning
Microbiology and Mycology available from the African Virtual University