Foye's Principles of Medicinal Chemistry by
Foye's Principles of Medicinal Chemistry now in its Seventh Edition, features updated chapters plus new material that meets the needs of today's medicinal chemistry courses. This latest edition offers an unparalleled presentation of drug discovery and pharmacodynamic agents, integrating principles of medicinal chemistry with pharmacology, pharmacokinetics, and clinical pharmacy.
The Practice of Medicinal Chemistry by
The Practice of Medicinal Chemistry, Fourth Edition provides a practical and comprehensive overview of the daily issues facing pharmaceutical researchers and chemists. In addition to its thorough treatment of basic medicinal chemistry principles, this updated edition has been revised to provide new and expanded coverage of the latest technologies and approaches in drug discovery. With topics like high content screening, scoring, docking, binding free energy calculations, polypharmacology, QSAR, chemical collections and databases, and much more, this book is the go-to reference for all academic and pharmaceutical researchers who need a complete understanding of medicinal chemistry and its application to drug discovery and development.
An Introduction to Medicinal Chemistry by
An Introduction to Medicinal Chemistry presents the field in an engaging style that is very accessible to students. Medicinal chemistry is a fast-moving field whose continuous new developments have far-reaching implications for world health. As such, this text presents a complete course in medicinal chemistry, from first principles of drug action, to design and development, to specific drugs from HIV inhibitors to painkillers.The book builds on the history of drug development, but does not assume much background knowledge. The focus is on building upon the understandings of the molecular function of drugs, and from there, taking a broad overview of the topical issues and most frequently used techniques.An Introduction to Medicinal Chemistry remains a leading text for the growing number of medicinal chemistry courses internationally, especially as modules in medical chemistry become a more popular option on chemistry courses. With enhanced attention to the pedagogical details such as key pointsand boxes, as well as having specific case studies highlighted in distinct sections, Patrick's new edition enables a full understanding of the subject and a clear idea of where the field is heading.Online Resource CentreThe Online Resource Centre features:For registered adoptors of the book:DT Answers to end-of-chapter questionsDT Figures from the bookDT Power Point slidesDT Test Bank questionsFor students:DT Hyperlinked bibliographyDT Six-monthly updates to textDT 3D Rotatable structures
The Practice of Medicinal Chemistry by
The Practice of Medicinal Chemistry, Fourth Edition provides a practical and comprehensive overview of the daily issues facing pharmaceutical researchers and chemists. In addition to its thorough treatment of basic medicinal chemistry principles, this updated edition has been revised to provide new and expanded coverage of the latest technologies and approaches in drug discovery. With topics like high content screening, scoring, docking, binding free energy calculations, polypharmacology, QSAR, chemical collections and databases, and much more, this book is the go-to reference for all academic and pharmaceutical researchers who need a complete understanding of medicinal chemistry and its application to drug discovery and development.
Medicinal Chemistry, Drug Discovery and Development by
Now in its seventh edition, Burger's Medicinal Chemistry, Drug Discovery and Development provides an established, recognized, authoritative and comprehensive source on medicinal chemistry and drug discovery and development. This flagship reference for medicinal chemists and pharmaceutical professions has been thoroughly updated and expanded across 8 volumes to incorporate the entire process of drug development (preclinical testing, clinical trials, etc.) alongside the traditional strengths in medicinal chemistry and drug discovery.
Essentials of Foye's Principles of Medicinal Chemistry by
Written in response to reader requests for a short, "to the point" text that clearly summarizes the most important chemical elements of therapeutically relevant drug classes, Essentials of Foye's Principles of Medicinal Chemistry is a concise, quick-reference source of reliable information in the field. Derived from the highly regarded Foye's Principles of Medicinal Chemistry , this focused text provides an essential understanding of drug action and demonstrates its practical application to today's pharmacy practice. Highlights the "take home" chemical points of every chapter in the parent text, and uses an easy-to-read, bulleted format to convey essential concepts. Covers mechanism of action (MOA), structure-activity relationships (SAR), physicochemical and pharmacokinetic properties, metabolism, and clinical applications in all chapters. Uses numerous figures and tables to illustrate key concepts and make reference quick and easy. Summarizes additional information such as adverse effects, drug-drug or drug-food interactions, chemical points of interest, and unique aspects of clinical use in side boxes or Chemical Note side bars. Concludes each chapter with a section emphasizing the clinical relevance of chapter content, as well as review questions for self-assessment. Written by the same international team of renowned researchers and academicians as Foye's Principles of Medicinal Chemistry Now with the print edition, enjoy the bundled interactive eBook edition, which can be downloaded to your tablet and smartphone or accessed online and includes features like: Complete content with enhanced navigation Powerful search tools and smart navigation cross-links that pull results from content in the book, your notes, and even the web Cross-linked pages, references, and more for easy navigation Highlighting tool for easier reference of key content throughout the text Ability to take and share notes with friends and colleagues Quick reference tabbing to save your favorite content for future use
Organic Medicinal and Pharmaceutical Chemistry by
For over half a century, Wilson and Gisvold's Textbook of Organic Medicinal and Pharmaceutical Chemistry has served the discipline of medicinal chemistry for both graduate and undergraduate pharmacy and chemistry students as well as practicing pharmacists. Fully updated for the Twelfth Edition, the book begins with the fundamental principles of chemistry, biochemistry, and biology that underlie the discipline of medicinal chemistry. These principles are then applied to understanding the properties, mode of action, therapeutic applications, and limitations of various pharmaceutical agents. The subject matter is organized by pharmaceutical and therapeutic classes, providing a bridge between the basic sciences and clinical practice. The text contains many tables for quick reference to names, formulations, dosages, and applications. This edition includes chapter review questions and cases. A companion website provides online updates of medicinal chemistry structures and an image bank for faculty.
Merlot II Chemistry Community Portal
From California Institute of Technology, this site provides access to 3,817 Chemistry e-resources.
eMolecules
eMolecules empowers researchers to explore uncharted chemical and biological spaces and deliver more efficient drug-discovery programs.
ChemWeb.com provides access to the information chemists need to enhance their research, product development, self-development, education, and/or their businesses in Chemistry and related disciplines
ChemSpider
ChemSpider is a free chemical structure database providing fast text and structure search access to over 67 million structures from hundreds of data sources.
New Developments in Medicinal Chemistry by
Medicinal or pharmaceutical chemistry is a scientific discipline at the intersection of chemistry and pharmacology involved with designing, synthesizing and developing pharmaceutical drugs. Medicinal chemistry involves the identification, synthesis and development of new chemical entities suitable for therapeutic use. It also includes the study of existing drugs, their biological properties, and their quantitative structure-activity relationships (QSAR). Pharmaceutical chemistry is focused on quality aspects of medicines and aims to assure fitness for the purpose of medicinal products. Medicinal chemistry is a highly interdisciplinary science combining organic chemistry with biochemistry, computational chemistry, pharmacology, pharmacognosy, molecular biology, statistics, and physical chemistry. This new book presents leading research from around the world in this frontal field.
Recent Advances in Medicinal Chemistry by
"Recent Advances in Medicinal Chemistry is a book series focused on leading-edge research on developments in rational drug design, synthetic chemistry, bioorganic chemistry, high-throughput screening, combinatorial chemistry, drug targets, and natural prod"
Medicinal Chemistry Approaches to Personalized Medicine by
Edited by two renowned medicinal chemists who have pioneered the development of personalized therapies in their respective fields, this authoritative analysis of what is already possible is the first of its kind, and the only one to focus on drug development issues. Numerous case studies from the first generation of "personalized drugs" are presented, highlighting the challenges and opportunities for pharmaceutical development. While the majority of these examples are taken from the field of cancer treatment, other key emerging areas, such as neurosciences and inflammation, are also covered. With its careful balance of current and future approaches, this handbook is a prime knowledge source for every drug developer, and one that will remain up to date for some time to come. From the content: * Discovery of Predictive Biomarkers for Anticancer Drugs * Discovery and Development of Vemurafenib * Targeting Basal-Cell Carcinoma * G-Quadruplexes as Therapeutic Targets in Cancer * From Human Genetics to Drug Candidates: An Industrial Perspective on LRRK2 Inhibition as a Treatment for Parkinson's Disease * Therapeutic Potential of Kinases in Asthma * DNA Damage Repair Pathways and Synthetic Lethality * Medicinal Chemistry in the Context of the Human Genome and many more
New Synthetic Technologies in Medicinal Chemistry by
The modern synthetic chemist applies all the tools available to identify the drug-like molecules with the best chances of becoming novel drugs. This book will act as a primer for graduates and postgraduates interested in a career in drug discovery. It covers both synthetic technologies currently impacting medicinal chemistry and emerging areas. The chapters focus on topics including: parallel medicinal chemistry; solid supported reagents; microwave assisted chemistry; flow synthesis, and high throughput reaction screening.
Encyclopedias are a great resource for gathering background information. They act as good starting points and are more authoritative than Wikipedia.
The Handbook of Medicinal Chemistry by
Drug discovery is a constantly developing and expanding area of research. Developed to provide a comprehensive guide, the Handbook of Medicinal Chemistry covers the past, present and future of the entire drug development process. Highlighting the recent successes and failures in drug discovery, the book helps readers to understand the factors governing modern drug discovery from the initial concept through to a marketed medicine. With chapters covering a wide range of topics from drug discovery processes and optimization, development of synthetic routes, pharmaceutical properties and computational biology, the handbook aims to enable medicinal chemists to apply their academic understanding to every aspect of drug discovery. Each chapter includes expert advice to not only provide a rigorous understanding of the principles being discussed, but to provide useful hints and tips gained from within the pharmaceutical industry. This expertise, combined with project case studies, highlighting and discussing all areas of successful projects, make this an essential handbook for all those involved in pharmaceutical development.
The Merck Index: an encyclopedia of chemicals, drugs, and biologicals by
The Merck Index is the definitive reference work for scientists and professionals looking for authoritative information on chemicals, drugs and biologicals. It has been the leading source of information on chemical compounds for generations of scientists and professionals, selling over one million copies since its publication in 1889. The Merck Index contains over 10,000 monographs with information relating to compounds of significance in research, commerce and environmental impact. The 15th edition, available from Royal Society of Chemistry publishing for the first time, is fully revised and updated and contains over 500 new monographs. Over 35% of the existing entries have been updated since the last edition, molecular weights have been recalculated with the latest IUPAC standards and there are revised periodic table and atomic weight tables. The Merck Index is an essential reference for all scholarly and professional chemists, biochemists, pharmacists and toxicologists and of interest to students, teachers, academic libraries, academic researchers, information professionals, solicitors, journalists and government agencies. *The name THE MERCK INDEX is owned by Merck Sharp & Dohme Corp., a subsidiary of Merck & Co., Inc., Whitehouse Station, N.J., U.S.A., and is licensed to The Royal Society of Chemistry for use in the U.S.A. and Canada. oxicologists and of interest to students, teachers, academic libraries, academic researchers, information professionals, solicitors, journalists and government agencies. *The name THE MERCK INDEX is owned by Merck Sharp & Dohme Corp., a subsidiary of Merck & Co., Inc., Whitehouse Station, N.J., U.S.A., and is licensed to The Royal Society of Chemistry for use in the U.S.A. and Canada.
2007 USP Dictionary of USAN and International Drug Names by 
