Research Methods in the Social Sciences by
`This book provides an excellent balance between theory and practical application in social research. The book works well to develop students′ understanding of particular methods of inquiry, embedding them within "real world" settings. I enviSAGE that it will help students to understand the nuances of particular approaches, the complimentarity of certain methods, and the areas of conflict/contention within social research in a way that overcomes the sometimes abstract nature of these discussions′ - Dr Jon Tan, School of Education and Professional Training, Leeds Metropolitan University `This book unlocks all of the important areas of social science research in an easily digestible and stimulating style. Both students and supervisors in a range of disciplines will find this an excellent resource′ - Fazal Rizvi, Professor in Educational Policy Studies at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign Rather than being written by one or two `generalists′, this innovative book is written by a large number of active researchers about their specialisms in methods/methodologies. The book introduces all the key qualitative and quantitative research methodologies and methods and seeks to draw readers into a community of researchers engaged in reflection on the research process. Included are narrative accounts of carrying out a research study that explore the way in which the research design and methods are shaped by the methodology, discussing problematic issues, and reflecting on the way in which knowledge and understanding develop. Aimed at researchers and postgraduate students, it will also be invaluable for students at masters level. Click on the companion website logo above to access additional resources and links to accompany each chapter in the book. `Research Methods in the Social Sciences is a valuable pedagogical tool. It is organized as a dialogue between theory and key concepts, and practice - stories from the field allowing novices and scholars alike to see how critical interpretive research is actually conducted′ - Norman K Denzin, University of Illinois
Research in Practice by
This book incorporates new trends in research methodology, it also provides a comprehensive coverage of the full range of established research approaches and techniques.
Foundations of Mixed Methods Research by
Mixed methodology has become an increasingly popular way of both researching and teaching methodology across the social sciences, and students across these fields are expected to be proficient in both quantitative and qualitative techniques. This text begins with an introduction to and overview of the development of mixed methodology, and then takes students through all aspects of working with mixed methods from research design and data collection through to analysis and conclusions.
Handbook of Research Methods by
Designed for researchers, managers, and administrators who make research-based decisions, as well as students of the social sciences and business. The entire research process, from variables to final report, is covered step by step.
The SAGE Handbook of Social Media Research Methods by
The SAGE Handbook of Social Media Research Methods offers a step-by-step guide to overcoming the challenges inherent in research projects that deal with "big and broad data," from the formulation of research questions through to the interpretation of findings. This handbook includes chapters on specific social media platforms such as Twitter, Sina Weibo, and Instagram, as well as a series of critical chapters. The holistic approach is organized into the following sections: Conceptualizing & Designing Social Media Research Collection & Storage Qualitative Approaches to Social Media Data Quantitative Approaches to Social Media Data Diverse Approaches to Social Media Data Analytical Tools Social Media Platforms The SAGE Handbook of Social Media Research Methods is the single most comprehensive resource for any scholar or graduate student embarking on a social media project.
Internet Research Methods by
The internet is a compelling tool for research, enabling efficient, cost-effective data collection and facilitating access to large samples and new populations. This book presents a state-of-the-art guide to the internet as a tool for conducting research in the social and behavioural sciences using qualitative, quantitative and mixed methods approaches. New to this edition: Fully re-written to reflect the emergence of Web 2.0 technologies Expanded coverage of web surveys for data collection Unobtrusive methods to harvest data from online archives and documents New practical tools and resources, where to find them, and how to keep up-to-date with new developments as they emerge New chapter on research ethics and discussion of ethical practicalities throughout Guiding the reader through the theoretical, ethical and practical issues of using the internet in research, this is an essential resource for researchers wishing to assess how the latest techniques, tools and methods in internet-mediated research may support and expand research in their own field.
The College Writer by
Combining streamlined instruction in the writing process with outstanding accessibility, THE COLLEGE WRITER is a fully updated four-in-one book-with a rhetoric, a reader, a research guide, and a handbook-for users at any skill level. Throughout the book, numerous student and professional writing samples highlight important features of academic writing-from voice to documentation-and offer models for users' own papers. The fifth edition features a greater focus on writing across the curriculum, further supported within the research chapters by additional coverage of report writing, primary research, and avoiding plagiarism.
Propensity Score Analysis by
Fully updated to reflect the most recent changes in the field, the Second Edition of Propensity Score Analysis provides an accessible, systematic review of the origins, history, and statistical foundations of propensity score analysis, illustrating how it can be used for solving evaluation and causal-inference problems. With a strong focus on practical applications, the authors explore various strategies for employing PSA, discuss the use of PSA with alternative types of data, and delineate the limitations of PSA under a variety of constraints. Unlike existing textbooks on program evaluation and causal inference, this book delves into statistical concepts, formulas, and models within the context of a robust and engaging focus on application.
The Handbook of Emergent Technologies in Social Research by
New technologies are breaking the boundaries of how social researchers practice their craft, and it has become clear these changes are dramatically altering research design from the way data is collected to what is considered data. Bringing together all the emerging social science researchtechnologies in one place, The Handbook of Emergent Technologies in Social Research offers comprehensive and up-to-date thinking on emerging technologies and addresses their impact on research methods, and in turn how new technologies lead to new research questions and areas of inquiry.The Handbook is organized into five sections, covering internet technologies, emergent data-collection methods, audio/visual, mobile, and geospatial technologies, and technology's impact on studying social life in natural settings, all after taking a look at emergent technologies from a broad,social-research context. Many of the twenty-nine chapters provide a commentary on and summary of specific technologies, like global surveys on the internet, mobile phones, data mining, and remote sensing, with a central focus on the most effective ways to use them. Others discuss the ethical andmoral implications, especially issues of privacy and confidentiality, and collaborations across disciplines and outside the academy. The Handbook of Emergent Technologies in Social Research is indispensable for any social researcher looking to incorporate emerging technologies into their methods andpractice.
Constructing Research Questions by
All researchers want to produce interesting and influential theories. A key step in all theory development is formulating innovative research questions that will result in interesting and significant research. Traditional textbooks on research methods tend to ignore, or gloss over, actual ways of constructing research questions. In this text, Alvesson and Sandberg develop a problematization methodology for identifying and challenging the assumptions underlying existing theories and for generating research questions that can lead to more interesting and influential theories, using examples from across the social sciences. Established methods of generating research questions in the social sciences tend to focus on ′gap-spotting′, which means that existing literature remains largely unchallenged. The authors show the dangers of conventional approaches, providing detailed ideas for how one can work through such problems and formulate novel research questions that challenge existing theories and produce more imaginative empirical studies. Constructing Research Questions is essential reading for any researcher looking to formulate research questions that are interesting and novel.
Data Collection by
This innovative book for students and researchers alike gives an indispensable introduction to key issues and practical methods needed for data collection.It uses clear definitions, relevant interdisciplinary examples from around the world and up-to-date suggestions for further reading to demonstrate how to gather and use qualitative, quantitative, and mixed data sets. The book is divided into seven distinct parts, encouraging researchers to combine methods of data collection:Data Collection: An Introduction to Research PracticesCollecting Qualitative Data Observation and Informed MethodsExperimental and Systematic Data CollectionSurvey Methods for Data CollectionThe Case-Study Method of Data CollectionConcluding Suggestions for Data-Collection ConceptsA stimulating, practical guide which can be read as individual concepts from the methods toolkit, or as a whole, this text is an important resource for students and research professionals.
Adventures in Social Research by
*This edition comes already bundled with the student version of SPSS software. For the version without SPSS student software, please order ISBN: 9781412940832.* Adventures in Social Research with SPSS Student Version: Data Analysis Using SPSS 14.0 and 15.0 for Windows, Sixth Edition guides readers step-by-step through the process of data analysis using the latest version of SPSS and the most up to date version of the General Social Survey. In this thoroughly revised edition, authors Earl Babbie, Fred Halley, and Jeanne Zaino stress active and collaborative learning as students engage in a series of practical investigative exercises. New to the Sixth Edition: Presents the latest version of SPSS for Windows: Readers are introduced to computerized data analysis using the latest version of SPSS for Windows (14.0 & 15.0). Gives access to the latest version of the GSS: In the text and lab exercises, readers are given a chance to work with data from the most recent General Social Survey (GSS 2004). Provides a shorter, more condensed version than the Fifth Edition: The latest edition has been restructured to make the material more user-friendly for students, including a separate chapter on recoding and a more straightforward discussion of composite measures. Accompanied by High Quality Ancillaries! An accompanying CD-ROM contains data sets, Designing Your Own Survey, and comprehensive appendices that include questionnaires, research reports, proposals, survey tips, commands, readings, and much more. Intended Audience: Designed for both introductory and advanced research methods or statistics courses in Sociology, Political Science, Social Work, Criminal Justice, and Public Health departments, this is an ideal computer skills and data analysis textbook for any discipline that uses survey methods.
Research Methods for Business and Social Science Students by
Research Methods for Business and Social Science Students aims to present a clear discussion of the research methods employed in various disciplines related to our daily life problems. The theoretical basis of research methods is explained clearly and succinctly. Collecting data is a key part of the book and this includes both qualitative and quantitative methods of data collection, along with the advantages and disadvantages of each method. The book also describes in clear terms how students can analyse data, interpret results and link these to the literature review and hence their own contribution. It sets out a range of fundamental ideas in research methods, such as deductivism and inductivism, and explains why methodology is not the same as method. In this second edition every chapter has been re-written to be more readable and also to include more examples. The authors have also added a real student research proposal and a multiple-choice test with answers for the readers to test their own understanding of the ideas in the book. The book has been designed to illustrate research tools in a clear and accessible manner through chapters on such topics as formulating research, research design, data analysis and writing up the research results.
Research Methods for Graduate Business and Social Science Students by
Research Methods for Graduate Business and Social Science Students is a fundamental and easy guide to studying research methods. In addition to the general concepts relating to research methods, broad research issues and theoretical concepts critical to research are discussed. The book is written in a highly reader-friendly manner and contains plenty of examples and helpful practical exercises at the end of each chapter to reinforce and enjoy learning. Divided into 16 chapters, the authors aim to clearly and concisely explain the basics of quantitative and qualitative analysis and research to students, including: - Research ethics - Formulation and process of research - Literature analysis and critical reading - How to plan and implement a research project - Data collection, survey research and data management - Practical research techniques - Elementary and advanced statistical analyses - Assessment, reliability and validity of research work - Guidelines on research writing and structures of dissertation
 The textbook covers the major key elements that are essential in research methods for social science. However, both the breadth and depth of information might be too elementary for Ph.D. and graduate students. With the use of additional reading...More |
Researching Beneath the Surface : Psycho-Social Research Methods in Practice This book offers an overview of the rapidly expanding field of Psycho-Social research. Drawing on aspects of discourse psychology, continental philosophy and anthropological and neuro-scientific understandings...More |
Transforming Research Methods in the Social Sciences: Case Studies from South Africa Social science researchers in the global South, and in South Africa particularly, utilise research methods in innovative ways in order to respond to contexts characterised by diversity, racial and political tensions, ...More |
Advances in Research Methods for Information Systems Research by
Advances in social science research methodologies and data analytic methods are changing the way research in information systems is conducted. New developments in statistical software technologies for data mining (DM) such as regression splines or decision tree induction can be used to assist researchers in systematic post-positivist theory testing and development. Established management science techniques like data envelopment analysis (DEA), and value focused thinking (VFT) can be used in combination with traditional statistical analysis and data mining techniques to more effectively explore behavioral questions in information systems research. As adoption and use of these research methods expand, there is growing need for a resource book to assist doctoral students and advanced researchers in understanding their potential to contribute to a broad range of research problems. Advances in Research Methods for Information Systems Research: Data Mining, Data Envelopment Analysis, Value Focused Thinking focuses on bridging and unifying these three different methodologies in order to bring them together in a unified volume for the information systems community. This book serves as a resource that provides overviews on each method, as well as applications on how they can be employed to address IS research problems. Its goal is to help researchers in their continuous efforts to set the pace for having an appropriate interplay between behavioral research and design science.
Emerging Methods in Family Research by
The family can be a model of loving support, a crucible of pathology, or some blend of the two. Across disciplines, it is also the basic unit for studying human relationships, patterns of behavior, and influence on individuals and society. As family structures evolve and challenge previous societal norms, new means are required for understanding their dynamics, and for improving family interventions and policies. Emerging Methods in Family Research details innovative approaches designed to keep researchers apace with the diversity and complexities of today's families. This versatile idea-book offers meaningful new ways to represent multiple forms of diversity in family structure and process, cutting-edge updates to family systems models and measurement methods, and guidance on the research process, from designing projects to analyzing findings. These chapters provide not only new frameworks for basic research on families, but also prime examples of their practical use in intervention and policy studies. Contributors also consider the similarities and differences between the study of individuals and the study of family relationships and systems. Included in the coverage: Use of nonlinear dynamic models to study families as coordinated symbiotic systems. Use of network models for understanding change and diversity in the formal structure of American families. Representing trends and moment-to-moment variability in dyadic and family processes using state-space modeling techniques. Why qualitative and ethnographic methods are essential for understanding family life. Methods in multi-site trials of family-based interventions. Implementing the Multiphase Optimization Strategy (MOST) to analyze the effects of family interventions. Researchers in human development, family studies, clinical and developmental psychology, social psychology, sociology, anthropology, and social welfare as well as public policy researchers will welcome Emerging Methods in Family Research as a resource to inspire novel approaches to studying families.
Using Statistics in Social Research by
This book covers applied statistics for the social sciences with upper-level undergraduate students in mind. The chapters are based on lecture notes from an introductory statistics course the author has taught for a number of years. The book integrates statistics into the research process, with early chapters covering basic philosophical issues underpinning the process of scientific research. These include the concepts of deductive reasoning and the falsifiability of hypotheses, the development of a research question and hypotheses, and the process of data collection and measurement. Probability theory is then covered extensively with a focus on its role in laying the foundation for statistical reasoning and inference. After illustrating the Central Limit Theorem, later chapters address the key, basic statistical methods used in social science research, including various z and t tests and confidence intervals, nonparametric chi square tests, one-way analysis of variance, correlation, simple regression, and multiple regression, with a discussion of the key issues involved in thinking about causal processes. Concepts and topics are illustrated using both real and simulated data. The penultimate chapter presents rules and suggestions for the successful presentation of statistics in tabular and graphic formats, and the final chapter offers suggestions for subsequent reading and study.
The Sage Encyclopedia of Action Research by
Action research is a term used to describe a family of related approaches that integrate theory and action with a goal of addressing important organizational, community, and social issues together with those who experience them. It focuses on the creation of areas for collaborative learning and the design, enactment and evaluation of liberating actions through combining action and research, reflection and action in an ongoing cycle of cogenerative knowledge. While the roots of these methodologies go back to the 1940s, there has been a dramatic increase in research output and adoption in university curricula over the past decade. This is now an area of high popularity among academics and researchers from various fields - especially business and organization studies, education, health care, nursing, development studies, and social and community work. This encyclopedia brings together the many strands of action research and addresses the interplay between these disciplines by presenting a state-of-the-art overview and comprehensive breakdown of the key tenets and methods of action research as well as detailing the work of key theorists and contributors to action research.
The SAGE Handbook of Criminological Research Methods by
Conducting research into crime and criminal justice carries its own unique challenges. The SAGE Handbook of Criminological Research Methods focuses on the application of "methods," broadly understood, to address the core substantive questions that currently motivate contemporary criminological research. It maps a canon of methods that are more elaborated than in most other fields of social science, and the intellectual terrain of research problems with which criminologists are routinely confronted. Drawing on exemplary studies, chapters in each section will illustrate the techniques (qualitative and quantitative) that are commonly applied in empirical studies, as well as the logic of criminological enquiry - the ways in which the specific nature of research questions dictate the kinds of data and analytic strategies required to effectively answer these questions. Organized into five sections, each of which is prefaced by an editorial introduction, the Handbook covers: - Crime and Criminals. Crime's Contexts: Networks, Cultures and Communities. Perceptual Dimensions of Crime. Criminal Justice Systems: Organizations and Institutions. Preventing Crime and Improving JusticeEdited by leaders in the field of criminological research, and containing contributions by internationally renowned experts, The SAGE Handbook of Criminological Research Methods is comprehensive, forward-thinking and broad in its enquiry. Written for graduates, researchers and academics in criminology, criminal justice, policing, law, and sociology, this exciting, much-needed addition to the criminological library is set to become a definitive resource for research.
The Handbook of Emergent Technologies in Social Research by
New technologies are breaking the boundaries of how social researchers practice their craft, and it has become clear these changes are dramatically altering research design from the way data is collected to what is considered data. Bringing together all the emerging social science researchtechnologies in one place, The Handbook of Emergent Technologies in Social Research offers comprehensive and up-to-date thinking on emerging technologies and addresses their impact on research methods, and in turn how new technologies lead to new research questions and areas of inquiry. The Handbook is organized into five sections, covering internet technologies, emergent data-collection methods, audio/visual, mobile, and geospatial technologies, and technology's impact on studying social life in natural settings, all after taking a look at emergent technologies from a broad,social-research context. Many of the twenty-nine chapters provide a commentary on and summary of specific technologies, like global surveys on the internet, mobile phones, data mining, and remote sensing, with a central focus on the most effective ways to use them. Others discuss the ethical andmoral implications, especially issues of privacy and confidentiality, and collaborations across disciplines and outside the academy. The Handbook of Emergent Technologies in Social Research is indispensable for any social researcher looking to incorporate emerging technologies into their methods andpractice.
Handbook of Research Methods by
Designed for researchers, managers, and administrators who make research-based decisions, as well as students of the social sciences and business. The entire research process, from variables to final report, is covered step by step.
Social Research by
This is a well established title in the competitive field of research methods. It brings together issues, perspectives, methods and processes in social research, developing a balanced and comprehensive text on the field. Due to its clear and accessible nature it has wide appeal for both undergraduates and postgraduates across a range of disciplines, but predominantly in the social sciences.
Visual Methods in Social Research by
There has been an explosion of interest in visual culture - coming largely from work in sociology, anthropology and cultural studies and while there are a number of practical and technical manuals available for film, photographic and other visual media, there is a dearth of writing that combines both the practical and the technical. This book redresses this with a balanced approach that is written primarily for students in the social sciences who wish to use visual materials in the course of empirical, qualitative field research. It should also be of interest to experienced researchers who wish to expand their methodological approaches. Visual methods provides empirical approaches to both image creation and image analysis, drawing on a wide range of examples: from research conducted on Egyptian television soap opera, to the sale of ethnographic photographs in London auction houses, to pornographic images on the Web. New technologies are also included, with image digitization and computer-based multimedia extensively covered. There are sections on using film and photographic archives, and useful practical advice on publishing and presenting the results of visual research. Marcus Banks stresses the material nature of visual media, as objects that are entangled in social relations and argues for a humanistic, engaged and reflexive approach to social research. This book will be an indispensable guide for the use and study of social images.
The SAGE Handbook of Social Science Methodology by
"This timely collection maps developments and explores new territories to meet the challenges and bring about possibilities for social science inquiries." -CHOICEThis is a jewel among methods handbooks, bringing together a formidable collection of international contributors to comment on every aspect of the various central issues, complications, and controversies in the core methodological traditions. It is designed to meet the needs of those disciplinary and nondisciplinary problem-oriented social inquirers for a comprehensive overview of the methodological literature. The text is divided into 7 sections: Overviews of methodological approaches in the social sciences Cases, comparisons, and theory Quantification and experiment Rationality, complexity and collectivity Interpretation, critique and postmodernity Discourse construction Engagement Edited by two leading figures in the field, The SAGE Handbook of Social Science Methodology is a landmark work in the field of research methods. More than just a 'cookbook' that teaches readers how to master techniques, it will give social scientists in all disciplines an appreciation for the full range of methodological debates today, from the quantitative to the qualitative, giving them deeper and sharpen insights into their own research questions. It will generate debate, solutions, and a series of questions for researchers to exploit and develop in their research and teaching.
Research in Practice by
This book incorporates new trends in research methodology, it also provides a comprehensive coverage of the full range of established research approaches and techniques.
|
Qualitative Research: The Toolkit of Theories in the Social Sciences This is a unique and groundbreaking collection of questions and answers coming from higher education institutions on diverse fields and across a wide spectrum of countries and cultures. It creates routes for further innovation, collaboration amidst the Sciences (both Natural and Social), the Humanities, and the private and public sectors of society. The chapters speak across socio cultural concerns...More |