Atkins' Physical chemistry by 
Physical Chemistry by
Explains core topics with a focus on basic principles, applications, and modern research. Excessive math formalism is avoided to keep students focused on the most important concepts and to provide clarity. Applications woven throughout each chapter demonstrate to students how chemical theories are used to solve real-world chemical problems.
Experiments in Physical Chemistry by
This best-selling comprehensive laboratory textbook includes experiments with background theoretical information, safety recommendations, and computer applications. Updated chapters are provided regarding the use of spreadsheets and other scientific software as well as regarding electronics and computer interfacing of experiments using Visual Basic and LabVIEW. Supplementary instructor information regarding necessary supplies, equipment, and procedures is provided in an integrated manner in the text.
Elements of Physical Chemistry by
With its emphasis on physical principles, careful exposition of essential mathematics, and helpful pedagogy, Elements of Physical Chemistry is the ideal text for the one-semester physical chemistry course. The new edition offers even more student and instructor support, now in a beautiful full-color presentation.
Thermodynamics : an interactive approach by 
Applied Physical Pharmacy by
Publisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. A UNIQUE PRACTICE-ORIENTED INTRODUCTION TO PHYSICAL PHARMACY Applied Physical Pharmacy explores the fundamental physicochemical properties and processes important for understanding how drugs are transformed into usable and stable drug products that release their drug upon administration, and for understanding the different processes that the released drug may encounter on its way to its pharmacological target prior to being eliminated by the body. Applied Physical Pharmacy begins with a review of key biopharmaceutics concepts of drug liberation, absorption, distribution, metabolism, and excretion. These concepts, which describe the fate of the drug in the body, set the framework for subsequent chapters that describe physicochemical properties and processes such as states ofmatter, solutions, ionization, dissolution and partitioning, mass transport, complexation, and protein binding. Concepts in these chapters are important for not only understanding a drug's fate in the body, but also for providing a scientific basis for rational drug formulation and usage. Other physical pharmacy topics important to drugformulation are discussed in the chapters that follow, which describe dispersed systems, rheology, and interfacial phenomena. The book concludes with an overview of the principles of kinetics that are essential to understanding the rates at which many of the processes discussed in previous chapters occur. To facilitate learning, chapters are enhanced by Learning Objectives, Key Points, Problems, and Clinical Questions. To make the book as relevant to real-world practice as possible, this edition includes an increased number of clinical examples and applications.
Organic Reaction Mechanism by
In-depth discussion of the subject.Basic concept dealt adequately with using appropriate examples.Thoroughly revised with new sections.Inclusion of recent bibliography.ABOUT THE BOOK:This long awaited fourth edition continues with its current and outstanding methodologies for the elucidation of reaction mechanisms and their understading. This book has constantly tried to assist the students in learning reaction mechanisms considering a broad coverage of important aspects of mechanistic techniques. It has been extensively used as a text for the last thirty years by both graduate and postgraduate level students. In addition, research workers have also enormously benefited because of the in-depth discussion of the subject and inclusion of recent bibliography.The book consists of 14 chapters and is written in a reader friendly language. The contents of the new edition provide a concrete and compact description of the subject. New end-of-chapter problems have been appended. This book will hopefully continue to inspire its readers in focussing on the mechanistic approach to chemistry.
Physical Chemistry for the Life Sciences by
With its flexible organization, Physical Chemistry for the Life Sciences is the perfect fit for today's life science students, allowing the instructors to present material from either a biochemistry or physical chemistry perspective, depending on the goals of their course.
Physicochemical Principles of Pharmacy by
Physical chemistry is the basis of pharmaceutical formulation and processing and is fundamental to understanding the complexities of drug delivery and absorption. Physicochemical Principles of Pharmacy goes beyond the introductory aspects of physical pharmacy to show how basic physicochemical principles are essential to an understanding of every aspect of drug action, from the design of dosage forms to the sites of action in the body. Chapters are organised logically, with visual representations to aid the understanding of difficult concepts. The fifth edition of this well-established textbook has been thoroughly revised. Changes include: a new chapter on pharmaceutical nanotechnology; key learning points; more worked examples of clinical calculations; and clearer distinction between the basic text and more complex theory to facilitate ease of use. Written by experienced academics, it is essential reading for undergraduate and postgraduate students in pharmacy and pharmaceutical sciences.
| Merlot II Chemistry Community Portal - From California Institute of Technology, this site provides access to 3,817 Chemistry e-resources. |
| eMolecules - empowers researchers to explore uncharted chemical and biological spaces and deliver more efficient drug-discovery programs. |
|
ChemWeb - ChemWeb.com provides access to the information chemists need to enhance their research, product development, self-development, education, and/or their businesses in Chemistry and related disciplines |
| ChemSpider is a free chemical structure database providing fast text and structure search access to over 67 million structures from hundreds of data sources. |
| American Chemical Society (ACS) - ACS's mission is to advance the broader chemistry enterprise and its practitioners for the benefit of Earth and its people.It's vision is to improve people’s lives through the transforming power of chemistry |
| Chem Tool Box - contains numerous scientific data that is very useful in a laboratory. More precisely, it acts as an ideal partner of chemists (organic chemistry, analytical chemistry or polymer chemistry), biologists and biochemists. |
| ChemlDplus is a chemical dictionary and structure database from the National Library of Medicine. ChemIDplus is constantly updated, and includes substance records for 389,810 substances from over 70 resources, including NLM databases, international chemical substance inventories, and other web databases from the EPA, NIH, WHO, National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST) and other organizations. |
| Interactive Periodic Table - The Royal Society of Chemistry's interactive periodic table features history, alchemy, podcasts, videos, and data trends across the periodic table. |
Physical Chemistry by
About the Book: This is a comprehensive book of Physical Chemistry especially written for B.Sc. II year and B.Sc. III year students of Indian universities based on the model syllabus prepared by UGC, New Delhi. The book is written in a simple language and gives a comprehensive detail of the subject with latest developments. There are 11 Chapters in the book. The book is equally useful to students and teachers. Some special Chapters like Surface Chemistry-Adsorption and Surface Topography, Molecular Spectroscopy and Diffraction Techniques have also been included in this book. Contents: Thermodynamics-I Thermodynamics-II Solutions Phase Equilibria, Phase Diagrams and Distribution Law Chemical Equilibrium Photochemistry Electrochemistry-I Electrochemistry-II Molecular Spectroscopy Surface Chemistry-Adsorption and Surface Topography Diffraction Techniques
Mathematics for Physical Chemistry by
Mathematics for Physical Chemistry is the ideal supplementary text for practicing chemists and students who want to sharpen their mathematics skills while enrolled in general through physical chemistry courses. This book specifically emphasizes the use of mathematics in the context of physical chemistry, as opposed to being simply a mathematics text. This 4e includes new exercises in each chapter that provide practice in a technique immediately after discussion or example and encourage self-study. The early chapters are constructed around a sequence of mathematical topics, with a gradual progression into more advanced material. A final chapter discusses mathematical topics needed in the analysis of experimental data. Numerous examples and problems interspersed throughout the presentations Each extensive chapter contains a preview and objectives Includes topics not found in similar books, such as a review of general algebra and an introduction to group theory Provides chemistry-specific instruction without the distraction of abstract concepts or theoretical issues in pure mathematics
Physical Chemistry by
Much of chemistry is motivated by asking 'How'? How do I make a primary alcohol? React a Grignard reagent with formaldehyde. Physical chemistry is motivated by asking 'Why'? The Grignard reagent and formaldehyde follow a molecular dance known as a reaction mechanism in which stronger bonds are made at the expense of weaker bonds. If you are interested in asking 'why' and not just 'how', then you need to understand physical chemistry. Physical Chemistry: How Chemistry Works takes a fresh approach to teaching in physical chemistry. This modern textbook is designed to excite and engage undergraduate chemistry students and prepare them for how they will employ physical chemistry in real life. The student-friendly approach and practical, contemporary examples facilitate an understanding of the physical chemical aspects of any system, allowing students of inorganic chemistry, organic chemistry, analytical chemistry and biochemistry to be fluent in the essentials of physical chemistry in order to understand synthesis, intermolecular interactions and materials properties. For students who are deeply interested in the subject of physical chemistry, the textbook facilitates further study by connecting them to the frontiers of research. Provides students with the physical and mathematical machinery to understand the physical chemical aspects of any system. Integrates regular examples drawn from the literature, from contemporary issues and research, to engage students with relevant and illustrative details. Important topics are introduced and returned to in later chapters: key concepts are reinforced and discussed in more depth as students acquire more tools. Chapters begin with a preview of important concepts and conclude with a summary of important equations. Each chapter includes worked examples and exercises: discussion questions, simple equation manipulation questions, and problem-solving exercises. Accompanied by supplementary online material: worked examples for students and a solutions manual for instructors. Written by an experienced instructor, researcher and author in physical chemistry, with a voice and perspective that is pedagogical and engaging.
Equilibrium Thermodynamics by
This textbook provides an exposition of equilibrium thermodynamics and its applications to several areas of physics with particular attention to phase transitions and critical phenomena. The applications include several areas of condensed matter physics and include also a chapter on thermochemistry. Phase transitions and critical phenomena are treated according to the modern development of the field, based on the ideas of universality and on the Widom scaling theory. For each topic, a mean-field or Landau theory is presented to describe qualitatively the phase transitions. These theories include the van der Waals theory of the liquid-vapor transition, the Hildebrand-Heitler theory of regular mixtures, the Griffiths-Landau theory for multicritical points in multicomponent systems, the Bragg-Williams theory of order-disorder in alloys, the Weiss theory of ferromagnetism, the Néel theory of antiferromagnetism, the Devonshire theory for ferroelectrics and Landau-de Gennes theory of liquid crystals. This textbook is intended for students in physics and chemistry and provides a unique combination of thorough theoretical explanation and presentation of applications in both areas. Chapter summaries, highlighted essentials and problems with solutions enable a self sustained approach and deepen the knowledge.
Elementary Physical Chemistry by
This book is designed for a one-semester course, for undergraduates, not necessarily chemistry majors, who need to know something about physical chemistry. The emphasis is not on mathematical rigor, but subtleties and conceptual difficulties are not hidden. It covers the essential topics in physical chemistry, including the state of matter, thermodynamics, chemical kinetics, phase and chemical equilibria, introduction to quantum theory, and molecular spectroscopy.
Methods in Physical Chemistry by
Thanks to the progress made in instruments and techniques, the methods in physical chemistry have developed rapidly over the past few decades, making them increasingly valuable for scientists of many disciplines. These two must-have volumes meet the needs of the scientific community for a thorough overview of all the important methods currently used. As such, this work bridges the gap between standard textbooks and review articles, covering a large number of methods, as well as the motivation behind their use. A uniform approach is adopted throughout both volumes, while the critical comparison of the advantages and disadvantages of each method makes this a valuable reference for physical chemists and other scientists working with these techniques.
Encyclopedias are a great resource for gathering background information. They act as good starting points and are more authoritative than Wikipedia.
The Merck Index: an encyclopedia of chemicals, drugs, and biologicals by
The Merck Index is the definitive reference work for scientists and professionals looking for authoritative information on chemicals, drugs and biologicals. It has been the leading source of information on chemical compounds for generations of scientists and professionals, selling over one million copies since its publication in 1889. The Merck Index contains over 10,000 monographs with information relating to compounds of significance in research, commerce and environmental impact. The 15th edition, available from Royal Society of Chemistry publishing for the first time, is fully revised and updated and contains over 500 new monographs. Over 35% of the existing entries have been updated since the last edition, molecular weights have been recalculated with the latest IUPAC standards and there are revised periodic table and atomic weight tables. The Merck Index is an essential reference for all scholarly and professional chemists, biochemists, pharmacists and toxicologists and of interest to students, teachers, academic libraries, academic researchers, information professionals, solicitors, journalists and government agencies. *The name THE MERCK INDEX is owned by Merck Sharp & Dohme Corp., a subsidiary of Merck & Co., Inc., Whitehouse Station, N.J., U.S.A., and is licensed to The Royal Society of Chemistry for use in the U.S.A. and Canada. oxicologists and of interest to students, teachers, academic libraries, academic researchers, information professionals, solicitors, journalists and government agencies. *The name THE MERCK INDEX is owned by Merck Sharp & Dohme Corp., a subsidiary of Merck & Co., Inc., Whitehouse Station, N.J., U.S.A., and is licensed to The Royal Society of Chemistry for use in the U.S.A. and Canada.
2007 USP Dictionary of USAN and International Drug Names by 
British Pharmacopoeia 2015 by
The Pharmacopoeia of the United States of America by
General Chemistry by
GENERAL CHEMISTRY is better than ever with this eleventh edition. It includes essential updates--such as modern artwork, higher integration with OWLv2, revised end-of-chapter questions, added Capstone Problems, narrative revisions, and more--to help you succeed in your chemistry course.