Introduction to Digital Communications by
Introduction to Digital Communications explores the basic principles in the analysis and design of digital communication systems, including design objectives, constraints and trade-offs. After portraying the big picture and laying the background material, this book lucidly progresses to a comprehensive and detailed discussion of all critical elements and key functions in digital communications.
Digital Ethnography by
Lecturers, request your electronic inspection copy This sharp, innovative book champions the rising significance of ethnographic research on the use of digital resources around the world. It contextualises digital and pre-digital ethnographic research and demonstrates how the methodological, practical and theoretical dimensions are increasingly intertwined. Digital ethnography is central to our understanding of the social world; it can shape methodology and methods, and provides the technological tools needed to research society. The authoritative team of authors clearly set out how to research localities, objects and events as well as providing insights into exploring individuals' or communities' lived experiences, practices and relationships. The book: Defines a series of central concepts in this new branch of social and cultural research Challenges existing conceptual and analytical categories Showcases new and innovative methods Theorises the digital world in new ways Encourages us to rethink pre-digital practices, media and environments This is the ideal introduction for anyone intending to conduct ethnographic research in today's digital society.
Radio's New Wave by
Radio's New Wave explores the evolution of audio media and sound scholarship in the digital age. Extending and updating the focus of their widely acclaimed 2001 book The Radio Reader, Hilmes and Loviglio gather together innovative work by both established and rising scholars to explore the ways that radio has transformed in the digital environment. Contributors explore what sound looks like on screens, how digital listening moves us, new forms of sonic expression, radio's convergence with mobile media, and the creative activities of old and new audiences. Even radio's history has been altered by research made possible by digital and global convergence. Together, these twelve concise chapters chart the dissolution of radio's boundaries and its expansion to include a wide-ranging universe of sound, visuals, tactile interfaces, and cultural roles, as radio rides the digital wave into its second century.
Communication Systems by
This exciting revision of Communication Systems, a classic text in the communications field, presents an introduction to electrical communication systems, including analysis methods, design principles, and hardware considerations. The fifth edition has been updated to reflect current technology covering both analog and digital communication in this ever-evolving field. Conceptual/descriptive/thought questions have been added throughout the book as well as MATLAB® questions and lecture Powerpoint files on the website. The text covers both analog and digital communications. It features worked examples and exercises for students to solve within chapters, helping them to master new concepts as they are introduced.
Mobile Wireless Communications by
Wireless communication has become a ubiquitous part of modern life, from global cellular telephone systems to local and even personal-area networks. This 2004 book provides a tutorial introduction to digital mobile wireless networks, illustrating theoretical underpinnings with a wide range of real-world examples. The book begins with a review of propagation phenomena, and goes on to examine channel allocation, modulation techniques, multiple access schemes, and coding techniques. GSM and IS-95 systems are reviewed and 2.5G and 3G packet-switched systems are discussed in detail. Performance analysis and accessing and scheduling techniques are covered, and the book closes with a chapter on wireless LANs and personal-area networks. Many worked examples and homework exercises are provided and a solutions manual is available for instructors. The book is an ideal text for electrical engineering and computer science students taking courses in wireless communications. It will also be an invaluable reference for practising engineers.
Digital Communications by
The clear, easy-to-understand introduction to digital communications Completely updated coverage of today's most critical technologies Step-by-step implementation coverage Trellis-coded modulation, fading channels, Reed-Solomon codes, encryption, and more Exclusive coverage of maximizing performance with advanced "turbo codes" "This is a remarkably comprehensive treatment of the field, covering in considerable detail modulation, coding (both source and channel), encryption, multiple access and spread spectrum. It can serve both as an excellent introduction for the graduate student with some background in probability theory or as a valuable reference for the practicing ommunication system engineer. For both communities, the treatment is clear and well presented." - Andrew Viterbi, The Viterbi Group Master every key digital communications technology, concept, and technique. Digital Communications, Second Edition is a thoroughly revised and updated edition of the field's classic, best-selling introduction. With remarkable clarity, Dr. Bernard Sklar introduces every digital communication technology at the heart of today's wireless and Internet revolutions, providing a unified structure and context for understanding them -- all without sacrificing mathematical precision. Sklar begins by introducing the fundamentals of signals, spectra, formatting, and baseband transmission. Next, he presents practical coverage of virtually every contemporary modulation, coding, and signal processing technique, with numeric examples and step-by-step implementation guidance. Coverage includes: Signals and processing steps: from information source through transmitter, channel, receiver, and information sink Key tradeoffs: signal-to-noise ratios, probability of error, and bandwidth expenditure Trellis-coded modulation and Reed-Solomon codes: what's behind the math Synchronization and spread spectrum solutions Fading channels: causes, effects, and techniques for withstanding fading The first complete how-to guide to turbo codes: squeezing maximum performance out of digital connections Implementing encryption with PGP, the de facto industry standard Whether you're building wireless systems, xDSL, fiber or coax-based services, satellite networks, or Internet infrastructure, Sklar presents the theory and the practical implementation details you need. With nearly 500 illustrations and 300 problems and exercises, there's never been a faster way to master advanced digital communications. CD-ROM INCLUDED The CD-ROM contains a complete educational version of Elanix' SystemView DSP design software, as well as detailed notes for getting started, a comprehensive DSP tutorial, and over 50 additional communications exercises.
Digital Communications Systems by
This text incorporates all the major topics related to digital communications into a single volume. It examines, in some detail, the three mediums utilized in digital transmission-line-of-sight, satellite and optical fibers.
Digital Communications by
Digital Communications: Design for the Real World introduces readers to the fundamentals of digital communications through an applications-driven approach. Devised specifically to serve as a first stage text for undergraduate students, this textbook + CD package relates theory to real-world products and emphasizes the design choices facing professional communications engineers, thereby bringing this exciting subject vividly to life. Students encountering communications topics for the first time, practising engineers and managers will all appreciate the stimulating and motivational treatment of the subject.
Software-Defined Radio Experimentation Using Simulink by
By prototyping and evaluating actual digital communication systems capable of performing over-the-air wireless data transmission and reception, this volume helps readers attain a first-hand understanding of critical design trade-offs and issues. It helps professionals gain a sense of the actual real-world operational behavior of these systems.
Ancient Rhetorics and Digital Networks by
An examination of two seemingly incongruous areas of study: classical models of argumentation and modern modes of digital communication What can ancient rhetorical theory possibly tell us about the role of new digital media technologies in contemporary public culture? Some central issues we currently deal with--making sense of information abundance, persuading others in our social network, navigating new media ecologies, and shaping broader cultural currents--also pressed upon the ancients. Ancient Rhetorics and Digital Networks makes this connection explicit, reexamining key figures, texts, concepts, and sensibilities from ancient rhetoric in light of the glow of digital networks, or, ordered conversely, surveying the angles and tangles of digital networks from viewpoints afforded by ancient rhetoric. By providing an orientation grounded in ancient rhetorics, this collection simultaneously historicizes contemporary developments and reenergizes ancient rhetorical vocabularies. Contributors engage with a variety of digital phenomena including remix, big data, identity and anonymity, memes and virals, visual images, decorum, and networking. Taken together, the essays in Ancient Rhetorics and Digital Networks help us to understand and navigate some of the fundamental communicative issues we deal with today. Contributors Scott Haden Church / Nathan Crick / Rosa A. Eberly / Christopher J. Gilbert / E. Johanna Hartelius / Ekaterina V. Haskins / Gaines S. Hubbell / Jeremy David Johnson / Michele Kennerly / Arabella Lyon / Mari Lee Mifsud / Carolyn R. Miller / Damien Smith Pfister / Scott R. Stroud
Digital Communication over Fading Channels by
The four short years since Digital Communication over FadingChannels became an instant classic have seen a virtual explosion ofsignificant new work on the subject, both by the authors and bynumerous researchers around the world. Foremost among these is agreat deal of progress in the area of transmit diversity andspace-time coding and the associated multiple input-multiple output(MIMO) channel. This new edition gathers these and other results,previously scattered throughout numerous publications, into asingle convenient and informative volume. Like its predecessor, this Second Edition discusses in detailcoherent and noncoherent communication systems as well as a largevariety of fading channel models typical of communication linksfound in the real world. Coverage includes single- and multichannelreception and, in the case of the latter, a large variety ofdiversity types. The moment generating function (MGF)-basedapproach for performance analysis, introduced by the authors in thefirst edition and referred to in literally hundreds ofpublications, still represents the backbone of the book'spresentation. Important features of this new edition include: * An all-new, comprehensive chapter on transmit diversity,space-time coding, and the MIMO channel, focusing on performanceevaluation * Coverage of new and improved diversity schemes * Performance analyses of previously known schemes in new anddifferent fading scenarios * A new chapter on the outage probability of cellular mobile radiosystems * A new chapter on the capacity of fading channels * And much more Digital Communication over Fading Channels, Second Edition is anindispensable resource for graduate students, researchersinvestigating these systems, and practicing engineers responsiblefor evaluating their performance.
Religion and Film by
Religion and cinema share a capacity for world making, ritualizing, mythologizing, and creating sacred time and space. Through cinematography, mise-en-scène, editing, and other production activities, film takes the world "out there" and refashions it. Religion achieves similar ends by setting apart particular objects and periods of time, telling stories, and gathering people together for communal actions and concentrated focus. The result of both cinema and religious practice is a re-created world: a world of fantasy, a world of ideology, a world we long to live in, or a world we wish to avoid at all costs. Religion and Film introduces readers to both religious studies and film studies by focusing on the formal similarities between cinema and religious practices and on the ways they each re-create the world. Explorations of film show how the cinematic experience relies on similar aesthetic devices on which religious rituals have long relied: sight, sound, the taste of food, the body, and communal experience. Meanwhile, a deeper understanding of the aesthetic nature of religious rituals can alter our understanding of film production. Utilizing terminology and theoretical insights from the study of religion as well as the study of film, Religion and Film shows that by paying attention to the ways films are constructed, we can shed new light on the ways religious myths and rituals are constructed and vice versa. This thoroughly revised and expanded new edition is designed to appeal to the needs of courses in religion as well as film departments. In addition to two new chapters, this edition has been restructured into three distinct sections that offer students and instructors theories and methods for thinking about cinema in ways that more fully connect film studies with religious studies.
Digital Diversities by
Digital Diversities is a groundbreaking interdisciplinary study of the social, social-psychological, philosophical and political ramifications of the 'digital turn' in human affairs. Focusing, in particular, on connections between the saturation of everyday life by digital communication technologies and 21st century global mobility, it offers fresh and original accounts of the interface between online communication practices and the negotiation of increasingly complex social experience. It provides critical studies of, among other things, the consequences of the widespread shift to remote rather than embodied relationships, the day-to-day management of intercultural encounters in unprecedentedly diverse social settings, new and emerging forms of political expression and cultural diplomacy, and the relationship between posthuman ideology and the 'googleisation of everything'. As such, Digital Diversities is a collection that makes a timely and thought-provoking contribution to the expanding field of studies of the abrupt, and still poorly understood, transformation of everyday life in the early 21st century by the gadgets and communication platforms of the digital global hive.
Analogue and Digital Communication Techniques by
The rapid expansion of digital communications, particularly in the fields of TV and mobile telephones does not overide the need for a clear understanding of analogue frequencies. Moreover, analogue technology will play an important role in communications well into the 21st century. Covering the principles behind analogue and digital communication systems, this book takes a less mathematical approach than is often found at this level. It begins with basic principles such as information systems, data compression and error detection before moving on to more advanced topics such as Pulse Code Modulation systems and digital microwave systems. Data protocols are also given so that the reader can gain a good understanding of more complex communication systems. 'Analogue and Digital Communication Techniques' has been designed for students studying HND electronic communication courses but will also be useful to junior undergraduates on similar courses. Some knowledge of basic elctronics is assumed.
Writing and Editing for Digital Media by
Writing and Editing for Digital Mediateaches students how to write effectively for digital spaces--whether writing for an app, crafting a story for a website, blogging, or using social media to expand the conversation. The lessons and exercises in each chapter help students build a solid understanding of the ways that digital communication has introduced opportunities for dynamic storytelling and multi-directional communication. With this accessible guide and accompanying website, students learn not only to create content, but also to become careful, creative managers of that content. Updated with contemporary examples and pedagogy, including examples from the 2016 presidential election, and an expanded look at using social media, the third edition broadens its scope, helping digital writers and editors in all fields, including public relations, marketing, and social media management. Based on Brian Carroll's extensive experience teaching a course of the same name, this revised and updated edition pays particular attention to opportunities presented by the growth of social media and mobile media. Chapters aim to: Assist digital communicators in understanding the socially networked, increasingly mobile, always-on, geomapped, personalized media ecosystems; Teach communicators to approach storytelling from a multimedia, multi-modal, interactive perspective; Provide the basic skill sets of the digital writer and editor, skill sets that transfer across all media and most communication and media industries, and to do so in specifically journalistic and public relations contexts; Help communicators to put their audiences first by focusing attention on user experience, user behavior, and engagement with their user bases; Teach best practices in the areas of social media strategy, management, and use.
The Semiotics of Emoji by
Emoji have gone from being virtually unknown to being a central topic in internet communication. What is behind the rise and rise of these winky faces, clinking glasses and smiling poos? Given the sheer variety of verbal communication on the internet and English's still-controversial role as lingua mundi for the web, these icons have emerged as a compensatory universal language. The Semiotics of Emoji looks at what is officially the world's fastest-growing form of communication. Emoji, the colourful symbols and glyphs that represent everything from frowning disapproval to red-faced shame, are fast becoming embedded into digital communication. Controlled by a centralized body and regulated across the web, emoji seems to be a language- but is it? The rapid adoption of emoji in such a short span of time makes it a rich study in exploring the functions of language. Professor Marcel Danesi, an internationally-known expert in semiotics, branding and communication, answers the pertinent questions. Are emoji making us dumber? Can they ultimately replace language? Will people grow up emoji literate as well as digitally native? Can there be such a thing as a Universal Visual Language? Read this book for the answers.
Software-Defined Radio for Engineers by
Based on the popular Artech House classic, Digital Communication Systems Engineering with Software-Defined Radio, this book provides a practical approach to quickly learning the software-defined radio (SDR) concepts needed for work in the field. This up-to-date volume guides readers on how to quickly prototype wireless designs using SDR for real-world testing and experimentation. This book explores advanced wireless communication techniques such as OFDM, LTE, WLA, and hardware targeting. Readers will gain an understanding of the core concepts behind wireless hardware, such as the radio frequency front-end, analog-to-digital and digital-to-analog converters, as well as various processing technologies.Moreover, this volume includes chapters on timing estimation, matched filtering, frame synchronization message decoding, and source coding. The orthogonal frequency division multiplexing is explained and details about HDL code generation and deployment are provided. The book concludes with coverage of the WLAN toolbox with OFDM beacon reception and the LTE toolbox with downlink reception. Multiple case studies are provided throughout the book. Both MATLAB and Simulink source code are included to assist readers with their projects in the field.
Digilect by
The high degree of internet penetration and its social (and linguistic) effects evidently influence how people, and especially the highly susceptible younger generations, use language. The primary aim of the book is not only to identify the characteristic features of the digital language variety (this has already been done by several works) but to examine how digital communication affects the language of other mediums of communication: orality, handwritten texts, digitally created but not digitally perceived, that is printed texts, including in particular advertisements (which quickly respond to linguistic change). Naturally, the book presents the characteristics of the digital language variety (and coins the term digilect) but only to give a framework to the impact analysis. It is important to document changes in progress and thus direct attention to potential outcomes. The current linguistic change is different from previous ones primarily in its speed and form of spreading, and it not only brings innovative grammatical forms and writing/spelling solutions but may also have far-reaching cultural and educational consequences in the long run.