Counseling : a comprehensive profession by
This book encompasses all that counseling is todayaddressing the history of counseling and the theory behind its practice; exploring the multicultural, ethical, legal environments in which counselors operate; and, examining the variety of skills today's counselors are expected to exhibit. Up-to-date references to contemporary theorists, trends, and challenges in the field ensures readers learn the current best practices and the most recently-adopted theoriesprepares them to practice in today's settings, with the most recent tools and information. Incorporation of multicultural and gender issues throughout the material broadens the scope of the book. Six chapters are dedicated to specific populations with whom counselors work and professional arenas in which they practice. Includes American Counseling Association and NBCC Ethical Guidelines for the practice of internet counseling. Emphasis on the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual (DSM-IV-TR) categories prepares future counselors for the nitty-gritty of diagnosisaddresses the stringent requirements of documentation demanded by third party payers. A key resource for counseling certification.
Counseling Children by
Unparalleled in its translation of theory into practice, COUNSELING CHILDREN covers the most practical and up-to-date methods for developing effective approaches to counseling children. The authors provide a comprehensive yet easy-to-read text that includes useful strategies and case studies from actual counseling sessions to present a realistic look at the field. COUNSELING CHILDREN presents a development approach to counseling that considers age and stage differences in counseling children, adolescents, and adults.
Integration in Counselling and Psychotherapy by
`Any counsellor or psychotherapist interested in understanding and reassuring their integrative framework would benefit from reading this book. It deals with some complex areas in a way that makes it an enjoyable and stimulating read for practitioners and trainees at any level′ - Counselling and Psychotherapy Journal Supported by research findings, many practitioners see great advantage in integrating various approaches into their work rather than following one `pure′ form of counselling or psychotherapy. Integration in Counselling & Psychotherapy has been written as a guide for trainees and professionals interested in the philosophy, process and practice of integration. Part One provides an account of how integration has developed, outlines the generic elements of counselling and psychotherapy, and looks at how to integrate. In Part Two the authors set out their own multidimensional integrative framework, and demonstrate its use in clinical practice and in Part Three they describe a further five frameworks for readers to compare and contrast. The intention is not for practitioners to adhere to the frameworks presented here but to create and develop their own personal ways of integrating according to their theoretical background, level of experience and personal style.
Counseling Widowers by
Working with widowers can be one of the most challenging parts of a therapist's career. Despite the need for better research and professional guidance, therapists have often been left alone to confront a group struggling with high rates of suicide, mortality, physical health problems, and depression. Counseling Widowers builds from the latest developments in grief research and men's studies to bridge the gap between counseling practice and the needs of bereaved men. In these pages, therapists will find tools for adjusting their clinical strategies to work more effectively with these men. Through a more empathic understanding of widowers, therapists can help them build from their strengths as they face the loss of their partner.　
Counseling Psychology by
Written by two eminent leaders in counselling psychology, this text covers the history of the field, as well as its major concepts, theories, interventions and research. The book discusses ethics, training, careers and practice in counselling psychology, embracing the scientist-practitioner model.
Correctional Counseling and Rehabilitation
In exploring the criminalization of corporations, this book uses the landmark "Ford Pinto case" as a centerpiece for exploring corporate violence and the long effort to bring such harm within the reach of the criminal law. Corporations that illegally endanger human life now must negotiate the surveillance of government regulators and risk civil suits from injured parties seeking financial compensation. They also may be charged with criminal offenses and their officials sent to prison.
Counseling and Psychotherapy by
This book will help students break the field of counseling into manageable pieces that can more easily be studied, critiqued, and eventually simulated into the student's understanding. The book provides a brief overview of the counseling profession and in-depth information on 10 major theoretical orientations. The author's writing style and presentation of the theories provide students with the foundations for understanding the field of counseling in an accessible manner.
The Counseling Process by
This concise introduction to the counseling process elaborates a three-stage model of counseling, including disclosure, exploration, and action planning, and describes the counselor skills, attitudes, and knowledge essential to therapeutic change. The text assumes an integrated theoretical position, introducing ideas from a variety of theoretical perspectives and explaining how each might contribute to the counselor's work. Full chapters cover: working with children, working with older adults, crisis intervention, gender and multicultural factors, and professional ethics. The Fifth Edition offers a greater focus on skills, incorporates new case studies, and incorporates material on brief therapy.
Psychology of Counseling by
This book deals increasingly with a significant challenge related to the development of virtuous circularity between scientifically based methodological frameworks and perspectives of interventions and innovation both on theoretical and applicative levels. The present volume is characterised by a review of current theoretical perspectives, research and intervention in the field of psychology of counselling according to an international point of view. This volume outlines potentialities and applications of psychology of counselling in different contexts and in wide-ranging international optics, such as prevention, a multicultural or colour-blind approach, application of emotional intelligence in counselling, family context, adaptive counselling, clinical, therapeutic, educational context, mediation, mortgage, taking into account individual well-being and life satisfaction. On the one hand this volume offers an overview of major theoretical perspectives for an in-depth reflection on psychology of counselling, and on the other hand could open new horizons of the discipline and new opportunities for intervention, implementing specific training for counsellors to develop effective skills, especially relying on scientific recent research and intervention outcomes. This work aims to further contribute to the study of the psychology of counselling as a discipline in constant evolution, able to identify new needs and challenges and answer effectively with innovative interventions and relation to social, economic and cultural changes of contemporary society.
Counseling Ethics : Philosophical and Professional Foundations by
How can philosophy guide our understanding of and approach to counseling ethics and techniques? Moving beyond the standard review of ethical issues and basic problem solving, this highly engaging new text for counseling professionals features innovative, experiential activities and case studies that promote in-depth thinking about the ethical, moral, and legal issues often confronted by counseling professionals. The book is designed to help counselors develop an appreciation for and confidence in their preferred set of philosophical ethics and become ethically autonomous professionals. To this end, it examines a full range of philosophical approaches to ethics, such as the well-known concepts of ethics codes and laws, as well as the less familiar ideas of existential phenomenology, care ethics, and virtues. Featuring contributions from leading counselor educators and practitioners representing a wide range of expertise in counseling specialties and ethical practice, this text presents ethical practice from a positive, proactive point of view rather than from a reactive or fear-based stance. It provides a solid foundation in ethical decision making, critical thinking, and best practices that will enable counseling professionals to navigate the maze of ethical codes and standards of care, while confidently practicing in a consistently ethical manner. The accompanying Instructor's Manual offers step-by-step guidance on how to facilitate classroom activities and case study discussions, as well as a sample syllabus and a selection of quiz and essay questions to enhance students' understanding of each chapter. The text is congruent with relevant ethical codes and CACREP curriculum standards. Key Features: Provides activity-based learning regarding all the ethical standards and legal issues counselors will face Promotes in-depth critical thinking and a proactive, postitive approach to ethical and moral dilemmas Includes examples across all counseling settings and specialties Offers students multiple case examples that make ethical issues realistic and engaging Features Instructor's Manual offering sample syllabus and resources for course activities
Trauma Counseling : Theories and Interventions by
" This book is] heavy in weight and heavy in substance...It may be that you will not read this book from cover to cover, but it is likely that you will jump in and out, and often."--Illness, Crisis, and Loss " Lisa Lopez Levers's] work delivers an important contribution to enable beginning professionals to be familiarised with the basics of trauma and to provide specialists with her hidden gems of insight. Her decision to cover trauma, in its broadest sense, allows her textbook to provide innovative insights into real-world concepts such as: hate, racism, oppression and evil, in respect to trauma."--Intervention Trauma Counseling is a comprehensive, multidisciplinary guide to the theory and treatment of survivors of a broad spectrum of traumatic events, including interpersonal violence, hate crimes, school violence, community violence, natural disasters, and war and terrorism. It is written by a Fulbright scholar who is internationally recognized for her work with traumatized populations in Rwanda, several southern African countries, Russia, and the United States. It also includes the contributions of researchers from the United States, Australia, Africa, and Europe. The book discusses evidence-based trauma assessment and intervention techniques and integrates the latest findings from neuropsychology and psychopharmacology. It focuses on issues of loss and grief, survivorship and disability, genocide, natural disasters, the impact of war on civilians and veterans, and the distinct effects of trauma in early childhood, childhood, and adolescence. Also addressed are ethical perspectives and methods of self-care for counselors who work with this population. The text will be of value to graduate counseling students and professional counselors as well as social workers, psychologists, psychiatric nurses, and other human service providers, who will be able to attend to trauma survivors with a depth of knowledge and confidence. The contents of Trauma Counseling not only fulfill but exceed the requirements of The Council of Accreditation and Counseling and Related Educational Program (CACREP) standards.Key Features: Addresses the theory and treatment of trauma survivors of interpersonal violence, hate crimes, school violence, community violence, natural disasters, and war and terrorismProvides a multidisciplinary approach to treatment that integrates findings from neuropsychology and psychopharmacology. Includes evidence-based counseling techniquesIlluminates the intersections of trauma, crisis, and disaster issues, exceeding related requirements of CACREP standards Examines ethical dimensions and the need for self-care among trauma counselorsEmphasizes the relevance of clinical supervision in trauma careOffers topic-relevant resources at the end of each chapter
Developing Person-Centred Counselling by
`This is a useful book for those who use person-centred counselling in their practice, or who are training to become person-centred counsellors' - Counselling and Psychotherapy, the Journal of the British Association for Counselling and Psychotherapy Developing Person-Centred Counselling, Second Edition is designed to help counsellors improve their skills within the person-centred approach. Written by Dave Mearns, leading person-centred expert and bestselling author, the Second Edition has been fully revised and updated taking account of developments in person-centred practice. With new chapters on growth and transference, the book covers the subjects which are central to person-centred training: }} the core conditions }} therapeutic alliance }} development of the counsellor }} therapeutic process }} the person-centred approach in relation to psychopathology. Supported by case material and examples from practice, each part of the book presents the counsellor with practical, and often challenging ideas, which encourage him/her to think carefully about his/her practice and how to improve it. Developing Person-Centred Counselling, Second Edition is a highly practical and inspiring resource for trainees and practitioners alike.
Solution-Focused Stress Counselling by
`A strength of the book is that the solution-focused therapy process was clearly identified in a step-by-step procedure, with many examples of specific dialogues and strategies that would be appropriate with a client. Overall the book presented a coverage of the theoretical and application components of solution-focused counselling that would be valuable reference for health psychologist or allied-health professionals working in a stress-counselling role' - Journal of Family Studies Solution-focused therapy is of growing interest to a wide range of professional not only because of the tight time limits within which so many have to work; counsellors are increasingly open to using a variety of approaches based on what is most helpful to their clients in their particular contexts. This book aims to help practitioners to extend their therapeutic repertoire of interventions by explaining clearly how solution-focused skills can help clients. Written for a wide range of professionals - psychologists, counsellors, social workers, probation officers, and mental health workers - this solution-focussed therapy manual looks at organizational and work-related stress, and on developing solutions for groups.
Counselling in a Multicultural Society by
`The book aptly describes, explores and hits the core of very complex issues around race, racism, culture, difference, dual identity, stereotypes, immigration and alienation... It is also very thought-provoking, raising questions about one's own ability to work more flexibly in the consulting room with clients of different backgrounds.... It is excellent for a directory of resources, useful for training purposes and an enabling "role model" for good practice in counselling in a multicultural society. I enjoyed it.... It should be a required handbook on the shelf of every caring professional working within a multicultural environment or setting' - Transformations, The PCSR Journal This book examines the many complex issues surrounding counselling and therapy in a multicultural society. It aims to sensitize readers to the cultural and racial setting in which counselling occurs, and to raise awareness of the specific counselling needs of those from differing backgrounds. The book explores the impact of culture on identity, and of cultural differences on interaction. It looks at how one might take a client's cultural context into consideration, or deal with racism, and provides a sophisticated account of the salient value systems of Western and non-Western cultures. Contributors also challenge the suitability of a client-centred approach for clients from non-Western backgrounds, and explore the possibilities for transcultural, culture-centred and multimodal models of counselling in the West.
Stress Counselling : A Rational Emotive Behaviour Approach by
`The text is clear and easy to follow with vivid sessional excerpts that illustrate the theoretical dialogue' - International Review of Psychiatry `The publication proves to contain much instructive and practice-oriented material' - Nursing Standard Stress Counselling is a comprehensive study of the theory and practice of the Rational Emotive Behaviour approach applied to stress counselling and psychotherapy. Albert Ellis pioneered Rational Emotive Behaviour Therapy (REBT), which has since been adopted internationally. This approach enables the clients to embark on a course of effective counselling which has a clear beginning and end. This book discusses techniques and solutions to common problems and also provides guidance on conducting group work. Its comprehensive coverage includes additional material on techniques such as skills training, relaxation methods, hypnosis and biofeedback.
Online Counseling : A Handbook for Mental Health Professionals by
Online Counseling gives practical insight into how professionals can translate and extend their practice to the electronic online medium. The volume provides an overview of current research on the use and effectiveness of counseling online and data on the idiosyncrasies of online behavior and communication. The practical aspects of and skill sets required for counseling online are discussed at length, as are technological, ethical, legal and multicultural issues, treatment strategies, and testing and assessment. Foreword by Morgan Sammons and Patrick DeLeon, past president of the American Psychological Association The first comprehensive textbook designed to give clinicians and mental health students everything they need to understand and start providing mental health services via the Internet Each chapter includes study questions and key terms, making it ideal for use in graduate or continuing education settings Includes clear and comprehensive chapters on research and technology related to online counseling Contributors include past, present, and elected presidents of the International Society for Mental Health Online (ISMHO), the Inernet's leading resource for professionals interested in online counseling and other methods of delivering mental health services via the Internet
Handbook of Counselling and Psychotherapy by
`I would be happy to recommend the text to students, and to those who wanted to gain a good brief overview of much that is known about counselling and psychotherapy today′ - Behavioural & Cognitive Psychotherapy `Well-organized, fully inclusive and skillfully edited, it is going to be impossible not to buy this Handbook. Basically it has something on everything which people might ask about the counselling and psychotherapy profession′ - Dave Mearns, University of Strathclyde `This remarkable book is more than an elegant presentation of contemporary counselling and psychotherapeutic theory. It is packed full of practical skills and hints - all written by highly experienced practitioners - and presented in an accessible and jargon-free format. No idea is left unturned. This is a practical handbook in every sense of the word and essential reading for trainees and practitioners alike′ - Robert Bor, London Guildhall University This Handbook is a major textbook for students on professional training courses. The most comprehensive text of its kind, the Handbook of Counselling and Psychotherapy provides an introduction to all essential aspects of theory and practice in the form of succinct and accessible contributions from those at the forefront of counselling and psychotherapy.
The ACA Encyclopedia of Counseling by
This premiere counseling reference book is ideal for students, educators, supervisors, researchers, and practitioners seeking to quickly update or refresh their knowledge of the most important topics in counseling. More than 400 entries span the 2009 CACREP core areas used in counselor preparation, continuing education, and accreditation of counseling degree programs, making this a perfect text for introductory counseling classes or for use as a study guide when preparing for the National Counselor Exam. This encyclopedia makes counseling come alive through its user-friendly writing style; instructive examples that connect readers to practice, teaching, supervision, and research; and its helpful cross-referencing of entries, boldfaced important terminology, and suggested resources for further study. *Requests for digital versions from ACA can be found on www.wiley.com. *To purchase print copies, please visit the ACA website *Reproduction requests for material from books published by ACA should be directed to permissions@counseling.org
ProQuest eBook Central
Online digital library providing access to scholarly e-books covering a wide range of subject areas.
Note: You need to have VPN installed and enabled for Off-campus access to above links.
Directory of Open Access Books - The primary aim of DOAB is to increase discoverability of Open Access books.
Open Text Book Library - Textbooks that have been funded, published, and licensed to be freely used, adapted, and distributed. These books have been reviewed by faculty from a variety of colleges and universities to assess their quality.