LibGuides: Counseling: e-Resources

Core Journals in Counseling

Journal of Counseling & Development is the flagship journal of the American Counseling Association. The journals publishes practice, theory, and research articles across 18 different specialty areas and work settings.

Counselling Psychology Quarterly is an international interdisciplinary journal presenting empirical research articles, research-based systematic reviews, and exceptionally research-informed conceptual papers, which are relevant to counselling psychology as a scientific discipline and profession.

View Table of Contents for Journal of Multicultural Counseling and Development volume 48 issue 3

Journal of Multicultural Counseling and Development (JMCD) is concerned with research, theory, and program applications pertinent to multicultural and ethnic minority interests in all areas of counseling and human development.

View Table of Contents for Counseling and Values volume 65 issue 1

Counseling and Values promotes theory, research, and practice on the intersection of religion, spirituality, and ethics in the counseling process, with a particular emphasis on the competent and ethical integration of religion and spirituality into counseling.

Professional School Counseling, the flagship journal of the American

School Counselor Association, is a rigorous peer-reviewed journal that publishes high-quality manuscripts and explores techniques, materials and ideas to assist school counselors and related practitioners at all levels in their professional development.

Key Counseling Databases

PsycArticles This link opens in a new window
Predominantly a Psychology database from the American Psychological Association (APA)
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
A journal database that hosts Business, Economics, Finance, chemistry, earth and environment science, education, engineering, humanities, and social science
Taylor & Francis eBooks This link opens in a new window
Contains over 1000 e-books on a wide range of subject specializations.
Taylor & Francis Journals This link opens in a new window
Hosts over 1,600 titles scholarly journals. The content spans all areas of Humanities, Social Sciences, Science and Technology.
Sage Journals This link opens in a new window
SAGE journals include more than 700 titles spanning the Humanities, Social Sciences, and Science, Technology, and Medicine.
Sage Research Videos This link opens in a new window
Sage Reseach methods & 2020 cases This link opens in a new window
Cambridge Journals This link opens in a new window
Hosts over 300 peer-reviewed journals, including journals from a variety of subject areas
Henry Stewart Biomedical & Life Sciences Talks This link opens in a new window
Oxford journals This link opens in a new window
Hosts a wide range of the world's most highly-cited and prestigious titles in the fields of medicine, life sciences, mathematics & physical sciences, law, humanities, and the social sciences.
Elsevier (Science Direct) This link opens in a new window
EBSCO Discovery Service - USIU Africa This link opens in a new window

Additional Article Indexes and Databases

Google Scholar
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations. Google Scholar helps you identify the most relevant research across the world of scholarly research.

MEDLINE (PubMed)
Provides access to over 16 million citations from MEDLINE and other life science journals for biomedical articles back to the 1950s. Includes links to many sites providing full-text articles and other related resources.