Financial Markets and Institutions by
Gain a clear understanding of why financial markets exist, how financial institutions serve these markets, and what services those institutions offer with the proven conceptual framework and clear presentation in Madura's best-selling FINANCIAL MARKETS AND INSTITUTIONS 11E. The text weaves timely examples and practical applications throughout as it emphasizes the securities traded by and the scope of participation of financial institutions within each market. Readers focus on the management, performance, and regulatory aspects of financial institutions and explore the functions of the Federal Reserve System, the major debt and equity security markets, and the derivative security market. This text emphasizes current financial reform with updates throughout that provide a thorough understanding of today's most recent financial changes, developments and trends.
Financial Markets and Institutions by
Today, many financial institutions offer all types of financial services, such as banking, mutual funds, securities services, and insurance services. Although financial institutions overlap in the services they offer, the services that can be offered are distinctly different. The discussion of financial services in FINANCIAL MARKETS & INSTITUTIONS, 8e is organized by this type of service. Each type of financial market is described, focusing on the securities that are trade in that market and the participation by financial institutions. Pedagogical features, such as chapter summaries, learning objectives, and internet exercises, give you the tools you need to comprehend financial markets and institutions.
Intermediate Financial Management by
Now you can trust the only book specifically written for address concepts from intermediate or advanced corporate finance with Brigham/Daves' INTERMEDIATE FINANCIAL MANAGEMENT, 11E. This comprehensive book written by renowned finance authors Gene Brigham and Phillip Daves presents a unique, balanced coverage of the conceptual theories and practical skills that lead to stronger financial decisions.The book reinforces coverage from earlier corporate finance learning, while providing new advanced material to challenge even the most prolific learners. Coverage of core issues and of developing trends that are reshaping finance today are clearly discussed throughout the book's reader-friendly approach that is filled with timely real business examples, integrated cases, and Excel® spreadsheet models. A comprehensive support package includes Thomson ONE-Business School Edition, the same financial online database Wall Street professionals trust every day as well as optional solutions Aplia for Finance, today's leading online homework management system, and the CengageNOW online learning system with personalized learning path and support.
Financial Modeling by
A substantially revised edition of a bestselling text combining explanation and implementation using Excel; for classroom use or as a reference for finance practitioners. Financial Modeling is now the standard text for explaining the implementation of financial models in Excel. This long-awaited fourth edition maintains the "cookbook" features and Excel dependence that have made the previous editions so popular. As in previous editions, basic and advanced models in the areas of corporate finance, portfolio management, options, and bonds are explained with detailed Excel spreadsheets. Sections on technical aspects of Excel and on the use of Visual Basic for Applications (VBA) round out the book to make Financial Modeling a complete guide for the financial modeler. The new edition of Financial Modeling includes a number of innovations. A new section explains the principles of Monte Carlo methods and their application to portfolio management and exotic option valuation. A new chapter discusses term structure modeling, with special emphasis on the Nelson-Siegel model. The discussion of corporate valuation using pro forma models has been rounded out with the introduction of a new, simple model for corporate valuation based on accounting data and a minimal number of valuation parameters. New print copies of this book include a card affixed to the inside back cover with a unique access code. Access codes are required to download Excel worksheets and solutions to end-of-chapter exercises. If you have a used copy of this book, you may purchase a digitally-delivered access code separately via the Supplemental Material link on this page. If you purchased an e-book, you may obtain a unique access code by emailing digitalproducts-cs@mit.edu or calling 617-253-2889 or 800-207-8354 (toll-free in the U.S. and Canada). Praise for earlier editions "Financial Modeling belongs on the desk of every finance professional. Its no-nonsense, hands-on approach makes it an indispensable tool." --Hal R. Varian, Dean, School of Information Management and Systems, University of California, Berkeley " Financial Modeling is highly recommended to readers who are interested in an introduction to basic, traditional approaches to financial modeling and analysis, as well as to those who want to learn more about applying spreadsheet software to financial analysis." --Edward Weiss, Journal of Computational Intelligence in Finance "Benninga has a clear writing style and uses numerous illustrations, which make this book one of the best texts on using Excel for finance that I've seen." --Ed McCarthy, Ticker Magazine
Corporate Finance by
Corporate Finance, by Ross, Westerfield, and Jaffe emphasizes the modern fundamentals of the theory of finance, while providing contemporary examples to make the theory come to life. The authors aim to present corporate finance as the working of a small number of integrated and powerful intuitions, rather than a collection of unrelated topics. They develop the central concepts of modern finance: arbitrage, net present value, efficient markets, agency theory, options, and the trade-off between risk and return, and use them to explain corporate finance with a balance of theory and application. The well-respected author team is known for their clear, accessible presentation of material that makes this text an excellent teaching tool. The ninth edition has been fully updated to reflect the recent financial crisis and is now accompanied by Connect, an exciting new homework management system.
Public Finance and Public Policy by
Jonathan Gruber's market-leading Public Finance and Public Policy was the first textbook to truly reflect the way public policy is created, implemented, and researched. Like no other text available, it integrated real-world empirical work and coverage of transfer programs and social insurance into the traditional topics of public finance. By augmenting the traditional approach of public finance texts with a true integration of theory, application, and evidence, Public Finance and Public Policy engages students like no other public finance text. Thoroughly updated, this timely new edition gives students the basic tools they need to understand the driving issues of public policy today, including healthcare, education, global climate change, entitlements, and more.
Principles of money, banking & financial markets by 
Intermediate financial management by 
Financial Management by
Written for and praised by students just like you, FINANCIAL MANAGEMENT: THEORY AND PRACTICE gives you relevant, practical, and easy-to-understand information covering all of the financial management topics you need to succeed in this course. Underlying theory is presented first in an accessible style and then followed by the practical application.
Intermediate Financial Management by
The only book written specifically for Intermediate or Advanced Corporate Finance courses, Brigham/Daves' INTERMEDIATE FINANCIAL MANAGEMENT, 12E couples in-depth discussions of core issues with current coverage of the topics that are reshaping finance today. This comprehensive, student-friendly text from trusted finance authors Gene Brigham and Phillip Daves provides a unique balance of theory and practical applications to help you understand the financial problems facing businesses--and the best solutions. The authors use corporate valuation as a unifying theme to emphasize the theoretic groundwork for value maximization and the practical skills to analyze business decisions. Real-world business examples, integrated Mini-Cases, end-of-chapter problems, and Excel spreadsheet models illustrate how financial theory in practice leads to stronger financial decisions.
Corporate Finance by
Don't panic! The Essential Revision ... in a Hurry series provides you with outlines of the key topics you'll need to know to successfully pass your exams. Corporate Finance covers key topics in this area with a step-by-step introduction to the most commonly examined principles. Throughout the book, there are tests and practice examples that ensure that you have a clear understanding of the material and are able to put the theory you have learned into practice. The book is split into three main sections: Investments Risk and risk management Long-term financing Each section is broken down into short, manageable chunks that clearly explore core areas within the sections as well as show how they fit into the bigger picture. Written primarily for undergraduates and postgraduates on their first courses in Corporate Finance, the book will also be of use to those taking professional exams or as a refresher for students taking higher level courses that include an element of corporate finance.
AISE Analysis of Investments & Management of Portfolios 10e by 
Finance : Auditing and Financial Systems and Taxation by 
Finance by
Created by the experienced author team of Frank Fabozzi and PamelaPeterson Drake, Finance examines the essential elements ofthis discipline and makes them accessible to a wide array ofreaders-from seasoned veterans looking for a review to newcomersneeding to get their footing in finance. Divided into four comprehensive parts, this reliable resourceopens with a detailed discussion of the basic tools of investingand financing decision-making?financial mathematics andfinancial analysis. After this informative introduction, you'llquickly become familiar with the three primary areas offinance?capital markets (Part II), financial management (PartIII), and investment/asset management (Part IV)?-and discover howthese different areas are interconnected. Finance is a well-rounded guide to this dynamic field.The straightforward insights found here will put you in a betterposition to understand what the principles of modern finance areand how they can be used to make the right decisions when managingrisk and return in today's complex financial environment.
International Financial Management by
Prepare for success in international finance with this best-selling book's effective presentation of in-depth theory and practical applications. INTERNATIONAL FINANCIAL MANAGEMENT 12E builds on the fundamental principles of corporate finance to provide the timely information and contemporary insights needed to prosper in today's global business environment. This book discusses a wide range of managerial topics using a strong corporate perspective and highlights financial reform and its impact on the international finance today. An emphasis on the most recent financial industry trends further prepares readers to understand and effectively manage within the dynamic field of international finance.
Finance Terminology by
A bank for the "language of money" you need to know. Our author, expert and professor targeted the most important vocabulary for this critical subject in 6 laminated pages covering over 300 terms. Easy to access at a moments notice for reviewing core concepts before exams, as a professional resource, or for general knowledge of an area that affects business as well as personal lives every day. Suggested uses: * Students/Teachers - reference for any business and finance student * Personal - great crib sheet for personal investments, money managing, financial markets and government * Professionals - whether an entrepreneur or a CPA, keep a reference to the language of money by your side * Businesses - purchase as a give-away that will help you educate your clients, making for more productive discussions and relationships
Financial Planning Competency Handbook by
The official CFP guide for career excellence CFP Board Financial Planning Competency Handbook is the essential reference for those at any stage of CFP certification and a one-stop resource for practitioners looking to better serve their clients. This fully updated second edition includes brand new content on connections diagrams, new case studies, and new instructional videos, and a completely new section devoted to the interdisciplinary nature of financial planning. You'll gain insights from diverse fields like psychology, behavioral finance, communication, and marriage and family therapy to help you better connect with and guide your clients, alongside the detailed financial knowledge you need to perform to the highest expectations as a financial planner. The only official CFP Board handbook on the market, this book contains over ninety chapters that are essential for practitioners, students, and faculty. Whether a practitioner, student, or faculty member, this guide is the invaluable reference you need at your fingertips. Comprehensive, clear, and detailed, this handbook forms the foundation of the smart financial planner's library. Each jurisdiction has its own laws and regulations surrounding financial planning, but the information in this book represents the core body of knowledge the profession demands no matter where you practice. CFP Board Financial Planning Competency Handbook guides you from student to practitioner and far beyond, with the information you need when you need it.
Encyclopedia of Finance by
This is a major new reference work covering all aspects of finance. Coverage includes finance (financial management, security analysis, portfolio management, financial markets and instruments, insurance, real estate, options and futures, international finance) and statistical applications in finance (applications in portfolio analysis, option pricing models and financial research). The project is designed to attract both an academic and professional market. It also has an international approach to ensure its maximum appeal. The Editors' wish is that the readers will find the encyclopedia to be an invaluable resource.
Microfinance Handbook by
Microfinance is not simply banking; it is a development tool. It has been estimated that there are 500 million economically active poor people in the world operating microenterprises and small businesses. Most of them do not have access to adequate financial services. The purpose of this Handbook is to bring together in a single source guiding principles and tools that will promote sustainable microfinance and create viable institutions. The Handbook takes a global perspective, drawing on lessons learned from the experiences of microfinance practitioners, donors, and others throughout the world.This volume covers extensively matters pertaining to the regulatory and policy framework and the essential components of institutional capacity building, such as product design, performance measuring and monitoring, and management of microfinance institutions.The handbook has three parts. 'Issues in Microfinance Provision' - Part I, takes a macroeconomic perspective toward general microfinance issues and is primarily nontechnical. 'Designing and Monitoring Financial Products and Services' - Part II, narrows its focus to the provision of financial intermediation, taking a more technical approach and moving progressively toward more specific (or micro) issues. 'Measuring Performance and Managing Viability' - Part III, is the most technical part of the handbook, focusing primarily on assessing the viability of microfinance institutions.
The Complete CFO Handbook by
This must-have reference covers all of the major areas of costaccounting and analysis including product costing, relevant costs,cost-volume analysis, performance evaluation, transfer pricing, andcapital budgeting. Includes methods of reorganizing, classifying, allocating,aggregating, and reporting actual costs and comparing them withstandard costs. Equips experienced cost accountants with a reference tool andstudents with a thorough textbook. Provides numerous examples, succinct language, chapter review,glossary, and appendices. Includes an abundance of exercises, many of which are based onexam questions from the CPA and CMA exams.
Financial Statements by
Essential coverage of financial statement preparation and the reading of those statements including examples and various forms of business, whether governmental, nonprofit or even personal. For students of business in or out of school, this precise targeted coverage ensures easy access to the tool that is the backbone of any successful business. Topics covered include: Financial Statement Preparation Balance Sheet Statement of Cash Flows Methods for Operating Cash Flows Comprehensive Income Statement of Retained Earnings Statement of Changes in Equity Accompany Notes to Financial Statements Corporate Annual Reports & SEC Reporting Nonprofit Financial Statements Governmental Financial Statements Personal Financial Statements
Handbook of Key Global Financial Markets, Institutions, and Infrastructure by
Understanding twenty-first century global financial integration requires a two-part background. The Handbook of Key Global Financial Markets, Institutions, and Infrastructure begins its description of how we created a financially-intergrated world by first examining the history of financial globalization, from Roman practices and Ottoman finance to Chinese standards, the beginnings of corporate practices, and the advent of efforts to safeguard financial stability. It then describes the architecture itself by analyzing its parts, such as markets, institutions, and infrastructure. The contributions of sovereign funds, auditing regulation, loan markets, property rights, compensation practices, Islamic finance, and others to the global architecture are closely examined. For those seeking substantial, authoritative descriptions and summaries, this volume will replace books, journals, and other information sources with a single, easy-to-use reference work.
Encyclopedia of Finance Research by
This book presents and discusses current research in the study of finance. Topics discussed include the role of foreign monetary authorities in the global economic crisis; volatility models; leader market indexes; the future of capital asset pricing models; corporate joint ventures; the relationship between business definition and corporate growth; accounting harmonisation and financial pricing models; management accounting reforms and accounting, cyclicality and financial stability.
Managing Finance : Your Guide to Getting It Right by 
The New Microfinance Handbook by
The New Microfinance Handbook takes a market systems approach to financial inclusion, oriented by client needs. Framing the book with the client as the central element recognizes the emerging awareness that financial needs of the poor are many and are provided by multiple market players beyond the scope of any single institutional form. The book explores the fundamentals of this expanded view through examining client needs (demand), products and providers (supply), and the support systems required to increase financial access to the poor with a focus on operational support, rules and regulations, infrastructure and delivery channels, information, and funding. The objective of the New Microfinance Handbook is to provide a strategic guide to help assess the financial service needs of the poor and to determine how a diversified financial sector can address these needs. The New Microfinance Handbook takes a different approach from the original Microfinance Handbook. Rather than write from the "institutional" perspective (supply driven), this time we consider first and foremost the clients and their needs (demand side) and how the market can better meet their needs. The result is a book which is less of a "how-to" guide but rather a description of financial markets and how they work, or do not work, in serving the needs of the poor--and what is needed to improve the market. The book aims to facilitate access to and usage of financial products and services that genuinely meet the many needs of the poor through various sustainable financial service providers.
The World Bank Annual Reports by 
