Human Resource Management by
This classic, readable book does the best job at covering the current issues within HRM, and provides a complete, comprehensive review of essential personnel management concepts and techniques. Considering the intensely competitive nature of business today, this book focuses on practical applications that all managers can use to deal with their HR-related responsibilities, while being able to defend their plans and contributions in measurable terms. A five-part format begins with an introduction, and then covers recruitment and placement, training and development, compensation, and labor relations and employee security. For all human resource personnel and managers.
Human Resource Management, Global Edition by
For courses in Human Resources Management. Human Resource Management provides students in human resource management courses and practicing managers with a full and practical review of essential HR concepts and techniques, with a particular focus on using human resource practices to improve performance, productivity, and profitability at work. This best-selling HRM text is designed with authoritative and current information on Human Resource Management that ALL managers can use in business. New topics can be found throughout the Fourteenth Edition, along with new features and video cases. MyManagementLab for Human Resources Management is a total learning package. MyManagementLab is an online homework, tutorial, and assessment program that truly engages students in learning. It helps students better prepare for class, quizzes, and exams-resulting in better performance in the course-and provides educators a dynamic set of tools for gauging individual and class progress.
Human Resource Management by
Ivancevich's Human Resource Management, 11e takes a managerial orientation; that is it takes the position that HRM is relevant to managers in every unit, project, or team. Managers are constantly faced with HRM issues, problems, and decision-making and the text's primary goal is to show how each manager must be a human resource problem solver and diagnostician. This book pays attention to the application of HRM approaches in 'real' organizational settings and situations. Realism, understanding, and critical thinking were important in the revision. Students and faculty alike have identified readability and relevance as key strengths of the text. It provides a book that stimulates ideas and keeps all users up-to-date on HRM thinking and practice.
Human resource management by 
Strategic Human Resource Management by
What makes good HR strategy and how do you develop it? These are questions commonly asked by HR professionals and are just two of the fundamental issues tackled by the authors in this comprehensive and innovative new textbook.Written in a clear and accessible style specifically for students, Strategic Human Resource Management is the perfect stand-alone text for undergraduate and postgraduate students studying modules in Strategic HRM. Drawing from the latest academic research and topical insights from the industry, itaims to build upon basic knowledge of the subject to provide students with a clear guide to the theory and practice of managing people strategically.The text adopts a user-friendly structure and is broken down into four key concepts to help students increase their understanding of SHRM theory and its prospective applications. Part One looks at the concept of SHRM and the relevance of environmental factors; Part Two then proceeds to examinetheories of SHRM and the link between performance, the role of the HR department and HR strategy; Part Three of the book considers the overarching themes within SHRM such as employee engagement, corporate social responsibility, change management and knowledge management before identifying new formsof SHRM and key future trends in the fourth and final section of the book.Packed with case studies and useful pedagogical features such as end-of-chapter review questions, key concepts and critical reflection boxes, this textbook offers an engaging and insightful approach to all areas of Strategic Human Resource Management.
Human resource management by 
The Ideological Evolution of Human Resource Management by
This bookis a pioneering work that maps out the ideological evolution of HRM researchand practices, with a particular focus on our contemporary era of multinationalcorporations. It explores the ideological evolution of Human ResourceManagement (HRM) from the 1950s to the present day and maps out the developmentof HRM research and practices from a Critical Theory perspective. Its findingsopen up avenues for metatheoretical development within the HRM research fieldand provide employees under modern capitalism with emancipatory awareness. Both thetheoretical framework and the empirical findings of this study will be ofinterest to HRM researchers as well as management researchers of all epistemologicalbackgrounds, particularly those working within Critical Management Studies. Thiswork will also appeal to teachers and students, and it could serve as a textbookfor a number of postgraduate level courses, including Organization Theory,Critical Management Studies, Human Resource Management, Business History,Sociology of Management, and Critical Theory.
Human Resource Management by
The book examines ethics and employment issues in contemporary Human Resource Management (HRM). Written by an international team of academics from universities in the UK, the US, Australia and New Zealand, it examines the problems and opportunities facing employers and employees. The booksubdivides into three sections: Part I assesses the context of HRM; Part II analyses contemporary debates, continuity and change in HRM, and Part III proposes likely developments for the future seeking to identify a more proactive HRM approach towards ethical issues arising in employment.Distinctive features include:-Comprehensive analysis of continuity and change in employment and HRM-In-depth assessment of the ethical contribution and potential of HRM-Timely evaluation of the ethical achievements to-date of HRM in: individualized employment relations, HRM partnerships, HRM and employee performance, and strategic HRM-Detailed recommendations for HR managers and general managers encouraging more ethically aware practice-Guidance on ethical approaches to leadership, knowledge management and collective employment relations-Analysis of alternative futures for HRM as a profession and advice on how to create more rigorous and independent professional practice-A vision of a more innovative, cooperative and ethically sensitive set of HRM practices-Clear proposals for HRM on how to attain more ethical conduct
Human Resource Management on the Pacific Rim by
"Human Resource Management on the Pacific Rim concentrates on the development of current HRM practices and attitudes from a macro HR perspective, and includes current descriptive materials not only on Japan, South Korea, Taiwan, Hong Kong, and the U.S. but also on Canada, the People's Republic of China, Thailand, Singapore, Australia, and New Zealand."--BOOK JACKET.Title Summary field provided by Blackwell North America, Inc. All Rights Reserved
Strategic Human Resource Management by
Human Resource Management (HRM) could very well be the key contributor to organization profitability and competitive advantage in the 21st century. That claim is a startling reality with a growing body of supporting evidence that affirms its truth. In a world where less than 15% of all employees acknowledge that they are positively engaged at work, the opportunity to capture and inspire the minds and hearts of tomorrows work force is immense. Thus, there are multiple reasons for this book about the strategic contribution of HRM in the third millennium economy. The bad news is that the history of HRM has been disappointing, Human Resource Professionals (HRPs) have been largely unprepared, and organization leaders have been focused on technology and innovation rather than the people who create value for their companies. The good news is that there is a growing number of outstanding companies and enlightened leaders who have recognized that people are the key to better customer service, greater innovation, improved productivity, and higher profits. This book serves four significantly different types of readers. First, and most importantly, this book offers insights for top management teams who are served by the HRPs and provides a template to hold those professionals accountable. Each of the chapters of this book provides strategic insights into the purpose and function of HRM systems in supporting the top management team and its organization mission. Second, this book provides clear guidelines for HRPs in helping them to realize their key roles and the accountability expected from them. Third, this book is a useful foundation for students seeking to understand how HRM systems function. Fourth, the book provides scholars and academics with fundamental principles upon which to build as they explore the practical world of business. The consistent theme of this book is that HRM matters and HRPs can make a significant strategic difference in contributing to an organizations success! The modern organization of the 21st century has already begun to change and those changes must be effective if organizations are to successfully compete in a world that has become increasingly global and complex in its focus. However, HRM and the role of HRPs have not always been fully appreciated, and top management teams can exponentially improve the effectiveness of their organizations by rethinking HRMs strategic roles. This book offers a wealth of information about the contribution that HRM can make to help organizations improve their economic and financial prospects. This book explains how and why organizations can benefit from treating their employees as valued assets and by honoring duties owed to those employees by helping them to fulfill their ultimate potential. As organizations honor those responsibilities to their employees, they also serve their own best interests and the interests of a society that desperately needs to effectively utilize its available resources to solve its current and future problems.
Fundamentals of Human Resources Management is a comprehensive and up-to-date guide to virtually every aspect of human resources management from understanding the basic HR functions to using the internet for recruiting to selecting the latest HRIS. ...More
Encyclopedia of Victimology and Crime Prevention by
For a free 30-day online trial to this title, visit www.sagepub.com/freetrial In many ways, the two fields of victimology and crime prevention have developed along parallel yet separate paths, and the literature on both has been scattered across disciplines as varied as sociology, law and criminology, public health and medicine, political science and public policy, economics, psychology and human services, and others. The Encyclopedia of Victimology and Crime Prevention brings together in one authoritative resource the dispersed information and knowledge on both victimology and crime prevention. With nearly 375 entries, this two-volume set moves victimology and crime prevention one step further into recognized scholarly fields whose research informs practice and whose practice informs research. Key Features Provides users with the most authoritative and comprehensive coverage available on victimology and crime prevention Presents victimology and crime prevention as their own separate, justifiable disciplines rather than subfields within more established disciplines Discusses the status of victims within the criminal justice system, as well as topics of deterring and preventing victimization in the first place and responding to victims' needs Offers "anchor essays" written by leading scholars in their respective fields to provide starting points for investigating the more salient victimology and crime prevention topics Key Themes Business Prevention Actions Civil Justice System Correlates of Victimization Courts: Alternative Remedies Courts: Law and Justice Crime Prevention
Armstrong's Handbook of Strategic Human Resource Management by
Strategic human resource management has been taken up by academics, consultants and practitioners alike. However, the integration of human resource strategy with overall business strategy is often easier in theory than in practice. Armstrong's Handbook of Strategic Human Resource Management provides a bridge between theory and practice, serving as a guide both to formulating human resource strategies and to implementing them. This completely revised sixth edition examines HRM and SHRM as well as organizational and functional strategies from a practical standpoint. It includes brand new chapters on developing and delivering HR strategy, implementing individual performance strategies, creating and executing a corporate social responsibility strategy as well as a new discussion of international HRM strategies. Full of case studies, checklists and practical examples, Armstrong's Handbook of Strategic Human Resource Management is an indispensable resource for all those who are involved in putting complex strategy into practice to effect positive and productive change. Online supporting resources include lecture slides, an instructor's manual and a student's manual complete with a bibliography and glossary.
A Handbook of Human Resource Management Practice by
A fully updated and revised tenth edition of this classic, best selling textbook. It remains the primary text for all students studying HRM - both undergraduate and postgraduate, as well as for students of the Chartered Institute of Personnel and Development (CIPD) diploma. The Handbook also continues to be an essential reference source for all managers concerned with personnel and HRM issues. This new edition of A Handbook of Human Resource Management Practice contains a number of significant additions and revisions including substantial revisions to seventeen chapters and new chapters on: Human Capital Management, the Role of the Front Line Manager; HR Strategies; Developing and Implementing HR Strategies and Learning and Development. The new edition also contains updated material based on recent developments in HRM policy and practice and a wide range of surveys and research projects conducted by professional associations and research bodies.
The Handbook of Human Resource Management Education by
The Handbook of Human Resource Management Education provides an aid to discussion of the curriculum necessary to educate Human Resource Management students so that they are successful in their future careers and aid their organizations and society in developing, maintaining, and innovating effective and efficient human resource management practices. This book is helpful to practicing Human Resource Management professionals in assessing their strengths and weaknesses and devising action plans to turn weaknesses into strengths.The handbook seeks answers from a wide variety of scholars and experts in the HR field to the provocative questions:Is there really an HR field as previously defined? Is HR dead or just sleeping?What can be done to change the negative views of HR education and HR practice held by many critics of the discipline in business and academia.
Armstrong's Handbook of Human Resource Management Practice by
Armstrong's Handbook of Human Resource Management Practice is the bestselling, definitive text for all HRM students and professionals. Providing a complete resource for understanding and implementing HR in relation to the needs of the business as a whole, it contains in-depth coverage of all the key areas essential to the HR function such as employment law, employee relations, learning and development, performance and reward. Accessible and to the point as ever, this fully updated 14th edition includes emerging theory and practice, embracing the most current thinking on engagement, talent management and leadership development. With updated case studies and references to academic journals, professional magazines and recent research and surveys, it also includes coverage of new approaches to topics such as job evaluation and pay structures. Armstrong's Handbook of Human Resource Management Practice is aligned with the Chartered Institute of Personnel and Development (CIPD) professional map and standards, with the sections meeting CIPD learning outcomes now even clearer than before. Comprehensive online support material for instructors, students and HR managers are included. Resources for students and professionals include multiple choice questions, flash cards, case studies, further reading and a glossary of HRM terms. The lecturers' manual contains session notes, discussion questions, a literature review and a complete set of lecture slides.
 The HR Answer Book addresses 200 questions that every employer needs to deal with, from recruiting and hiring to discipline and termination, compensation and benefits to training and employee relations..More |
