An Introduction to Clinical Pharmaceutics by
This unique textbook considers the role of basic pharmaceutics in determining or modifying clinical outcomes and in explaining the behaviour of medicines in the body, including adverse reactions due to formulations and excipients. An Introduction to Clinical Pharmaceutics covers recent developments such as personalised therapies and nanotechnology. All of the principles underpinning clinical pharmaceutics are supported using relevant examples from recent literature and clinical case studies, including issues of: formulation and excipients; surface tension; rheology; solubility; crystallisation and precipitation; aggregation; absorption. Examples and implications of each phenomenon are discussed with a reminder of the underlying pharmaceutics. This book is aimed at undergraduate pharmacy students, those on taught Masters courses of clinical and hospital pharmacy, and new practitioners who require an updating on the relevance of the subject that is virtually unique to pharmacy.
Modern Pharmaceutics by
With over 100 illustrations, Volume 1 addresses the core disciplines of pharmaceutics (absorption, PK, excipients, tablet dosage forms, and packaging), and explores the challenges and paradigms of pharmaceutics.
Pharmaceutics by
This "FASTtrack" book systematically reviews important concepts and facts relating to the delivery and targeting of drugs. Relevant examples of delivery systems are given throughout the book with a focus on delivery systems that have actually reached clinical reality.
Aulton's Pharmaceutics by
Pharmaceutics is one of the most diverse subject areas in pharmaceutical science and an understanding of it is vital for all pharmacists and scientists involved in converting drugs to medicines that can be safely delivered to a patient. The editorial and author team deliver a tour de force of accessibility, coverage and currency in this new edition of a world-class textbook. Relevant chemistry covered throughout Reflects current and future use of biotechnology products throughout Covers ongoing changes in our understanding of biopharmaceutics, certain areas of drug delivery and the significance of the solid state Includes the science of formulation and drug delivery Designed and written for newcomers to the design of dosage forms Key points boxes throughout Summaries at the end of each chapter Fully updated throughout, with particular focus on delivery of biopharmaceuticals, nanotechnology and nanomedicines, parenteral and ocular drug delivery mechanisms. Now comes with online access on StudentConsult.
Aulton's Pharmaceutics by
Pharmaceutics is one of the most diverse subject areas in all of pharmaceutical science. In brief, it is concerned with the scientific and technological aspects of the design and manufacture of dosage forms or medicines. An understanding of pharmaceutics is therefore vital for all pharmacists and those pharmaceutical scientists who are involved with converting a drug or a potential drug into a medicine that can be delivered safely, effectively and conveniently to the patient. Now in its fourth edition, this best-selling textbook in pharmaceutics has been brought completely up to date to reflect the rapid advances in delivery methodologies by eye and injection, advances in drug formulations and delivery methods for special groups (such as children and the elderly), nanomedicine, and pharmacognosy. At the same time the editors have striven to maintain the accessibility of the text for students of pharmacy, preserving the balance between being a suitably pitched introductory text and a clear reflection of the state of the art. provides a logical, comprehensive account of drug design and manufacture includes the science of formulation and drug delivery designed and written for newcomers to the design of dosage forms New to this edition New editor: Kevin Taylor, Professor of Clinical Pharmaceutics, School of Pharmacy, University of London. Twenty-two new contributors. Six new chapters covering parenteral and ocular delivery; design and administration of medicines for the children and elderly; the latest in plant medicines; nanotechnology and nanomedicines, and the delivery of biopharmaceuticals. Thoroughly revised and updated throughout.
Physiological Pharmaceutics by
In recent years, the emphasis in drug development has been the design of new delivery systems rather than new drugs. It is the aim of innovative pharmaceutical scientists to design the new dosage forms to overcome the body's barrier mechanisms which have specifically evolved to exclude foreign material. This book provides an integrated approach to the study of drug formulation in the body with the emphasis on the formulation variables rather than the drugs. The link between physiology and pharmaceutics is presented to give an essential background of biological principles for the pharmacy student, pharmaceutical formulator and healthcare professional. Complex mathematical aspects of physical chemistry have been avoided to facilitate understanding, enabling the reader to concentrate on how the biological environment affects the performance of the drugs and dosage forms. As the majority of drugs are administered via the oral route a large proportion of the book is devoted to the gastrointestinal tract and the variation in the capacity for drug absorption which occurs along its length. Transdermal, ocular, pulmonary and nasal drug delivery are discussed in detail. New chapters in the book include 'Vaginal drug delivery', the 'Blood brain barrier' and 'Parenteral drug delivery'.
Pharmaceutical Process Design and Management by
A quality product or service is the successful and profitable outcome of organising resources, as judged by the final customer. Every business unit needs processes in order to do this effectively; and all processes must be documented so that achievements can be measured and future improvements planned and implemented. Pharmaceutical Process Design and Management takes a step-wise approach to process management. It presents the various elements comprising a process (man, machine, materials, method and environment); it looks at quality control and quality assurance, tools for quality improvements and ways of structuring a process into discrete, fully accountable elements; it proposes that for processes to run successfully, all operators must be the initial problem-solvers; finally, it illustrates how, with the right tools, every problem can be broken down into solvable elements. Learn how to deploy a science and risk-based approach to pharmaceutical manufacturing, by taking a fundamental approach to process design and management and, as a consequence, keep your customers satisfied and your profits healthy.
Pharmaceutical Industry by
As the scope of available drug therapies expands, spending on prescription drugs has become the fastest-growing category of total spending on health care in the United States. Recently, that growth has slowed and that slowdown reflects changes in both the supply and demand for prescription drugs. This book examines the innovation, development and complexity issues present in the pharmaceutical industry.
Pharmaceutical Economics and Policy by
The pharmaceutical industry is praised as a world leader in high technology innovation and the creator of products that increase both longevity and quality of life for people throughout the world. At the same time, the industry is also criticized for its marketing and pricing practices and forits apparent anticompetitive responses to generic competition. Even its research and development priorities are criticized as being too closely driven by the goal of maximizing shareholder value, rather than the health of the public. Unfortunately, many of the critics of the industry fail tounderstand the complexities of the industry and its role in the nations healthcare system. This book uses the tools of economic analysis to explore the conflicting priorities and aims of the pharmaceutical industry, from both an American and worldwide perspective.This is the second edition of a uniquely comprehensive and balanced discussion of pharmaceutical policy issues. All the chapters of the former edition have been fully re-written and extensively updated.In addition, the book includes six new chapters on emerging topics such as the broadened role of FDA regulations and the increasing diversity of the industry. An entire chapter is devoted to the biotechnology industry and one to alternative medicines, often called "nutraceuticals." Another newchapter discusses segments of the industry that specialize in particular activities including generic drugs and drug delivery systems. The recent controversial expansion of Medicare to cover outpatient drugs is discussed in depth. The introduction is also updated to address the volatile pace ofpharmaceutical innovation and how the pharmaceutical industry has responded to the emergence of managed care.
Pharmaceutical Innovation by
Congress has exhibited a strong and ongoing interest in facilitating the development of new, innovative pharmaceuticals for the marketplace while reducing the cost of drugs to consumers. Policies pertaining to funding for research and development (R&D), intellectual property protection, and co-operative ventures have played an important role in the economic success of the pharmaceutical sector. Industry-specific legislation, also work to encourage innovation in the pharmaceutical sector while facilitating the entry of lower cost generic competition. While many factors contribute to innovation in the brand pharmaceutical industry and its ability to bring new and inventive products to the marketplace, this sector is facing significant issues associated with loss of revenue for additional R&D due to patent expirations and generic competition. This book examines the challenges associated with striking the proper balance between lower cost drugs and maintaining an innovative domestic pharmaceutical sector.
Handbook of Pharmaceutical Excipients by
The Handbook of Pharmaceutical Excipients is internationally recognised as the authoritative source of information on pharmaceutical excipients giving a comprehensive guide to uses, properties and safety. The handbook collects together essential data on the physical properties of excipients as well as providing information on their safe use and potential toxicity. All 380 monographs are also thoroughly cross-referenced and indexed to allow their identification by chemical, non-proprietary or trade names. Monographs benefit from a standardized, easy-to-use template and include: * pharmacopoeial information from the UK, Europe, Japan and the United States where relevant; * non-proprietary names and synonyms; * chemical name, CAS Registry number, empirical formula, molecular weight; * functional category, applications and incompatibilities; * material description and typical properties; * safety, stability, storage and handling information; * method of manufacture; * related substances; * primary references; * editorial comments; * author details and revision date.
Handbook of Pharmaceutical Biotechnology by
A practical overview of a full rangeof approaches todiscovering, selecting, and producing biotechnology-deriveddrugs The Handbook of Pharmaceutical Biotechnology helpspharmaceutical scientists develop biotech drugs through acomprehensive framework that spans the process from discovery,development, and manufacturing through validation and registration.With chapters written by leading practitioners in their specialtyareas, this reference: Provides an overview of biotechnology used in the drugdevelopment process Covers extensive applications, plus regulations and validationmethods Features fifty chapters covering all the major approaches tothe challenge of identifying, producing, and formulating newbiologically derived therapeutics With its unparalleled breadth of topics and approaches, thishandbook is a core reference for pharmaceutical scientists,including development researchers, toxicologists, biochemists,molecular biologists, cell biologists, immunologists, andformulation chemists. It is also a great resource for qualityassurance/assessment/control managers, biotechnology technicians,and others in the biotech industry.
Workbook and Lab Manual for Mosby's Pharmacy Technician by
This easy-to-use, chapter-by-chapter companion to Mosby's Pharmacy Technician: Principles and Practice, 5th Edition helps you reinforce and master your understanding of key skills and concepts. Each chapter of this combination workbook and lab manual contains a wide variety of review questions, exercises, and experiential lab activities to help reinforce key concepts, encourage students to reflect critically, and relate to practice for success on the job. Combined with the core textbook, this learning package takes you from day one through graduation and certification! Comprehensive coverage designed to align with the ASHP curriculum and Pharmacy Technician certification exam blueprints Reinforce Key Concepts sections for review and practice Reflect Critically sections with realistic scenarios to encourage content assimilation and application Relate to Practice sections with laboratory exercises to provide hands-on practice to promote multi-dimensional skills mastery Competency checklists for all procedures to track your progress with textbook procedures. NEW! Chapters on drug classifications and pharmacy operations management NEW! Expansion of aseptic technique and sterile compounding NEW! Additional emphasis on soft skills threaded throughout the pharmacy practice unit NEW! Additional competency checklists to correlate with procedures throughout pharmacy practice chapters
Manual for Pharmacy Technicians by
The trusted training resource for pharmacy technicians at all levels. The role of pharmacy technicians is rapidly expanding, and demand for well-trained technicians has never been higher! Technicians are assuming more responsibilities and are taking on greater leadership roles. Quality training material is increasingly important for new technicians entering the field, and current technicians looking to advance. Look no further than the new 4th edition of the best-selling Manual for Pharmacy Technicians to master the practical skills and gain the foundational knowledge all technicians need to be successful. NEW chapters cover the latest essentials: Specialty Pharmacy Practice Communication and Teamwork Billing and Reimbursement Durable and Nondurable Medical Equipment, Devices, and Supplies NEW features include: Full color design, photos and illustrations enhance learning Rx for Success boxes share tips to help techs excel on the job Technology Topics highlight the latest in automation technical areas Safety First features provide critical advice for enhancing safety reducing errors Bolded key terms defined in chapter-level glossaries Streamlined contents divide book into 4 simple parts: introduction to pharmacy practice, foundation knowledge and skills, practice basics, and business applications Expanded self-assessment questions and calculations content Alone or with the new edition of the Pharmacy Technician Certification Review and Practice Exam, the Manual for Pharmacy Technicians, 4th Edition offers pharmacy technicians the most relevant, authoritative, easy-to-use guide in the field. Want more exercises and practice? Look for the NEW Workbook for the Manual for Pharmacy Technicians.
Encyclopedia of Pharmaceutical Technology by
The Encyclopedia of Pharmaceutical Technology presents authoritative and contemporary articles on all aspects of drug development, dosage forms, manufacturing, and regulation-enabling the specialist and novice alike to keep abreast of developments in this rapidly evolving and highly competitive field. A dependable reference tool and a solid investment for years to come-maintaining currency through its supplements [Volume 18/Supplement 1: Published November, 1998] The Encyclopedia contains interdisciplinary contributions in a wide array of subjects, including Drugs decomposition metabolism pharmaceutical incompatibilities pharmacokinetics physicochemical properties preformulation stability Drug Delivery Systems and Devices-Development and Manufacture analysis and controls bioavailability use of computerization formulation and processing alternatives national and international registration packaging patents process validation scale-up safety and efficacy stability standards Post-Production and Practical Considerations governmental/industrial/professional organizations legal aspects national and international agencies patent life of drugs patient compliance ...and much, much more!