Understanding Human Development by
This text approaches the subject of human sexuality from a psychological perspective. It features information from a variety of disciplines, such as biology, women's studies, sociology, anthropology and health education. The text offers extensive coverage of research and theoretical findings, but its informal tone makes it suitable for students at all academic levels.
Human Sexuality, 2000-2001 by
This annually updated reader is a compilation of articles from magazines, newspapers and journals, relating to human sexuality issues.
Human Sexuality by
This fifth edition offers an introduction to human sexuality. The text highlights biological, developmental, psychosocial, health and cultural aspects of human sexuality. This edition has been revised to include a new full-colour format, a new chapter on improving sexual relationships, updated coverage on the latest birth control methods (Norplant, the female condom, and Depo-Provera), recent statistics on the pill, up-to-date research on vascectomies, and the latest developments and discoveries in HIV/AIDS research. In addition many chapters have been reorganized to provide more logical and thorough discussion of topics.
Human Sexuality by
Human Sexuality: The Basics presents the core information underlying the vast subject of human sexuality in a concise, no-frills manner that is easy for students to read and comprehend. Not only is this text half the cost and size of other human sexuality texts on the market, it is unique in that it has a chapter on the genetics and inheritance of sexual anatomy, sexual development, and sexual abnormalities. Emphasis on the biological basis of sexuality provides students with a structure to understand the important aspects of sexuality presented in other chapters. This approach also provides the basis for encouraging tolerance, acceptance, and understanding of different sexual preferences and behaviors. Critical thinking questions at the end of each chapter along with learning objectives, summaries, and definitions of terms, facilitate learning by students. The goal of this text is to provide students with the knowledge, skills, and confidence to enable them to understand and to express their sexuality in healthy and enjoyable ways at all stages of life.
Fundamentals of Human Sexuality by 
Human Sexuality by
This non-judgmental introduction to human sexuality features integration of ethnic, cultural, gender, and sexual orientation differences and similarities. The text maintains a psychosocial approach, but provides a balanced treatment of the biological, psychological, sociological, anthropological, and historical aspects of human sexuality.
Sex Matters for College Students by
Using a convenient question/answer format, this brief, easy-to-read, affordable paperback is designed specifically for today's young adults to answer basic sexual questions in a friendly, nonthreatening, age-appropriate way. Featuring questions that come from young adults themselves, it helps readers wade through the barrage of information/misinformation overload they encounter everyday as they struggle to become aware of and understand their sexual feelings and responses, to accept these feelings in themselves, and to enhance their lives. Sexual Organs. Sexual Health. Body Image. Birth Control. Pregnancy Testing. Abortion. Sexual Thoughts and Behaviors. Sexual Self-Pleasuring. Orgasm. Virginity. First Experience with Sexual Intercourse. Sexual Decision-Making. Loving Relationships. Sexual Communication. Dating Dilemmas. Long Distance Dating. Relationship in Crisis/Breaking Up. Sex Under the Influence: Alcohol and Other Drugs. Sexual Function And Dysfunction. Sexually Transmitted Disease. Smart Sex. Gender/Sex Role. Sexual Orientation. Gender Identity. Sexual Assault. Sexual Abuse. Sexual Harassment. For young adults and those who work with them.
The Future of Post-Human Sexuality by
What precisely resides in sexuality which warrants the popular discourse on sexuality as part of our world freedom, or something as an inspiring source for our own creation of new forms of relationships or new forms of love never before possible in human history? This popular treatment of sexual freedom has become so politically correct, in this day and age of ours, that it fast degenerates into a seductive ideology which has impoverished our understanding of sexuality by blinding us from its dark sides. Contrary to this intoxicating conventional wisdom, the dark sides of this seductive ideology have yet to be systematically understood and that its very creative freedom is neither possible nor desirable to the extent that its advocates would like us to believe. Of course, this is not to suggest that sexuality should not be about freedom nor creativity, or that the literature in sexual studies (and other related fields like gender studies, queer studies, and cultural studies, for example) should be ignored because of their scholarly nonsense. Needless to say, neither of these two extreme views is reasonable either. Instead, the purpose of this book is to provide an alternative (better) way to understand the nature of sexuality, in special relation to the sexual body and spirit, in conjunction with the mind-while learning from different approaches in the literature but without favoring any one of them (nor integrating them, since they are not necessarily compatible with each other). This seminal project, if successful, will fundamentally change the way that we think about the nature of sexuality, from the combined perspectives of the mind, nature, society, and culture, with enormous implications for the human future and what I originally called its post-human fate.
The Evolutionary Biology of Human Female Sexuality by
Research conducted over the last fifteen years has placed in question many of the traditional conclusions about the evolution of human female sexuality. Women have not lost estrus, as earlier researchers thought, but it is simply concealed, resulting in two functionally distinct sexualitieswith markedly different ends in each phase. At the fertile phase of the cycle, women prefer male traits that may mark superior genetic quality, and at infertile phases, they prefer men willing to invest resources in a mate. Thus, women's peri-ovulatory sexuality functions to obtain a sire ofsuperior genetic quality, and is homologous with estrus in other vertebrates. This model sheds light on male human sexuality as well: men perceive and respond to women's estrus, including by increased mate guarding. Men's response is limited, compared to other vertebrate males, implyingcoevolutionary history of selection on females to conceal estrus from men and selection on men to detect it. Research indicates that women's concealed estrus is an adaptation to copulate conditionally with men other than the pair-bond partner.Women's sexual ornaments-the estrogen-facilitatedfeatures of face and body-are honest signals of individual quality pertaining to future reproductive value.
The Psychology of Human Sexuality by
The Psychology of Human Sexuality offers a comprehensive overview of human sexual behavior from a biopsychosocial perspective. The text highlights psychological research and theory on human sexuality whilst also considering the biological, evolutionary, social, and cultural factors that influence our sex lives. Features comprehensive coverage of topics including gender and sexual orientation,nbsp; relationships, sexual behaviors, sexual difficulties and solutions, prostitution, and pornography Offers more in-depth treatment of relationships than comparable texts, with separate chapters dealing with attraction and relationship processes Written from a sex-positive perspective, and is inclusive and respectful of a diverse audience Includes numerous activities to facilitate a dynamic and interactive classroom environment
Sexuality and Human Rights by
Finally--a comparative overview of sexuality and human rights issues and law! Human rights issues exist globally, particularly when they have to do with sexuality. Sexuality and Human Rights: A Global Overview focuses on the controversial issues of human sexuality and the legal challenges that LGBT individuals face. Internationally recognized legal experts thoroughly discuss the status of important human rights laws pertaining to sexuality from around the world. Reviewing the progression from historical foundations and shifting public opinions through the most recent landmark legal cases, this is an essential resource on the present state of human rights laws and sexuality. This unique, up-to-date examination of the legal issues involving LGBT individuals' rights around the world reviews the latest rulings, such as the adoption of minors by homosexual or bisexual parents, the legal acceptance of marriage between same-sex couples, whether the gender-reassigned can be legally considered their true gender identity, and much, much more. Sexuality and Human Rights: A Global Overview illustrates the journey our worldwide legal systems have traveled, and the path stretching before them, until the destination of equality and acceptance in sexuality may finally be reached. Well-referenced, comprehensive, and yet accessible to the general reader, this book provides a crucial, provocative look at just what basic sexual human rights means in today's laws. Some of the topics of Sexuality and Human Rights: A Global Overview include: perspectives and objectives to challenge discrimination sexuality and international human rights law sexuality and human rights in Australian law transsexuals issues in European human rights law sexual orientation and gender identity legal issues in North America the present state of sexuality and human rights in European law the Asian legal perspective on sexuality acan be legally considered their true gender identity, and much, much more. Sexuality and Human Rights: A Global Overview illustrates the journey our worldwide legal systems have traveled, and the path stretching before them, until the destination of equality and acceptance in sexuality may finally be reached. Well-referenced, comprehensive, and yet accessible to the general reader, this book provides a crucial, provocative look at just what basic sexual human rights means in today's laws. Some of the topics of Sexuality and Human Rights: A Global Overview include: perspectives and objectives to challenge discrimination sexuality and international human rights law sexuality and human rights in Australian law transsexuals issues in European human rights law sexual orientation and gender identity legal issues in North America the present state of sexuality and human rights in European law the Asian legal perspective on sexuality ate of sexuality and human rights in European law the Asian legal perspective on sexuality and human rights laws pertaining to sexual identity issues Sexuality and Human Rights: A Global Overview is a vital reference source for law educators, law students, gay rights activists, and law reformers.
Sexuality by
What shapes our sexuality? Is it a product of our genes, or of society, culture, and politics? How have concepts of sexuality and sexual norms changed over time? How have feminist theories, religion, and HIV/AIDS affected our attitudes to sex? Focusing on the social, political, and psychological aspects of sexuality, this Very Short Introduction examines these questions and many more, exploring what shapes our sexuality, and how our attitudes to sex have in turn shaped the wider world.
The Classification of Sex by
Alfred C. Kinsey's revolutionary studies of human sexual behavior are world-renowned. His meticulous methods of data collection, from comprehensive entomological assemblies to personal sex history interviews, raised the bar for empirical evidence to an entirely new level. In The Classification of Sex, Donna J. Drucker presents an original analysis of Kinsey's scientific career in order to uncover the roots of his research methods. She describes how his enduring interest as an entomologist and biologist in the compilation and organization of mass data sets structured each of his classification projects. As Drucker shows, Kinsey's lifelong mission was to find scientific truth in numbers and through observation--and to record without prejudice in the spirit of a true taxonomist. Kinsey's doctoral work included extensive research of the gall wasp, where he gathered and recorded variations in over six million specimens. His classification and reclassification of Cynips led to the speciation of the genus that remains today. During his graduate training, Kinsey developed a strong interest in evolution and the links between entomological and human behavior studies. In 1920, he joined Indiana University as a professor in zoology, and soon published an introductory text on biology, followed by a coauthored field guide to edible wild plants. In 1938, Kinsey began teaching a noncredit course on marriage, where he openly discussed sexual behavior and espoused equal opportunity for orgasmic satisfaction in marital relationships. Soon after, he began gathering case histories of sexual behavior. As a pioneer in the nascent field of sexology, Kinsey saw that the key to its cogency was grounded in observation combined with the collection and classification of mass data. To support the institutionalization of his work, he cofounded the Institute for Sex Research at Indiana University in 1947. He and his staff eventually conducted over eighteen thousand personal interviews about sexual behavior, and in 1948 he published Sexual Behavior in the Human Male, to be followed in 1953 by Sexual Behavior in the Human Female. As Drucker's study shows, Kinsey's scientific rigor and his early use of data recording methods and observational studies were unparalleled in his field. Those practices shaped his entire career and produced a wellspring of new information, whether he was studying gall wasp wings, writing biology textbooks, tracing patterns of evolution, or developing a universal theory of human sexuality.
Tools for Teaching Comprehensive Human Sexuality Education by
A hands-on resource filled with interactive activities to engage students' thinking and skill development This book contains ready-to-use lesson plans referencing both the National Sexuality Education Standards and the National Health Education Standards, and is arranged into chapters by the seven topic areas outlined in the National Sexuality Education Standards. These include: anatomy and physiology, puberty and adolescent development, identity, pregnancy and reproduction, sexually transmitted infections, healthy relationships, and personal safety. These dynamic "pick and choose" lessons and activities have been field-tested in classrooms and workshops by the authors, who are recognized experts in this area. Many of the lessons contain an opening activity to immediately engage students, followed by student-centered learning experiences such as case studies, simulations, real-life scenarios, self-assessments, journals, and individual and group projects/presentations. Features lessons that incorporate the essential knowledge and skills to empower students to make healthy decisions related to their sexual health Includes performance indicators detailed what students should know and be able to do by the end of grades eight and twelve Offers supplementary web resources and assessment projects, as well as "Home-School Connection" assignments to support family communication about sexuality
The Evolution of Human Sexuality by
Author Donald Symonds examines the differences between men and women in sexual behavior and attitudes, concluding that these differences are innate and that it is impossible to achieve identical sexualities in males and females. A central theme of this book is that, with respect to sexuality, there is a female human nature and a male human nature, and these natures are extraordinarily different, though the differences are to some extent masked by the compromises heterosexual relationships entail and by moral injunctions. Men and women differ in their sexual natures because throughout the immensely long hunting and gathering phase of human evolutionary history the sexual desires and dispositions that were adaptive for either sex were for the other tickets to reproductive oblivion. This book is organized as follows: Chapter One introduces basic evolutionary concepts, and Chapter Two considers the special difficulties in applying these concepts to human beings. Since evolutionary analyses of human sexuality traditionally emphasize changes that occurred in the female - the capacity for orgasm and the loss of estrus - Chapters Three and Four respectively deal with these matters. The basic components of sexual selection - intrasexual competition and sexual choice - are taken up in Chapters Five and Six. Chapter Seven, about the desire for sexual variety, emphasizes male sexuality, and Chapter Eight integrates much of the earlier material in arguing that among all peoples sexual intercourse is understood to be a service or favor that females render to males. In Chapter Nine, the hypothesis that male sexuality and female sexuality differ by nature is tested with two independent kinds of evidence. Chapter Ten recapitulates the book's major themes.
Handbook on Sexuality by
Sexuality can be defined as a process of integrating emotional, somatic, and intellectual and social aspects in ways that enhance one's own self. It incorporates intimacy, romance, sensuality, eroticism and relationships, and is an important contributing factor to an individual's quality of life and sense of well-being. In this book, the authors explore perspectives, issues and the role in society of sexuality. Topics discussed in this compilation include the functional measurement to cognitive mechanisms underlying attitudes toward sexuality and intellectual disability; the impact of rheumatic disease on sexual function; adolescent sexual behaviour; queer sexuality and online pedagogy; sexual upbringing and sexual satisfaction; and sexuality and ageing within correctional facilities.
The Transgender Handbook: A Guide for Transgender People, Their Families and Professionals by 
The Handbook of Sexuality in Close Relationships by
Although sexuality is an integral part of close romantic relationships, research linking these two constructs has been less systematic than other areas pertaining to close relationships. To date, researchers in communication, sociology, family studies, psychology, and psychiatry, have made significant advances in both of these fields. The editors' goal is to integrate this research into one volume. They bring together major scholars from the diversity of fields working on close relationship topics to examine past contributions and new directions in sexuality. The emphasis is on theoretical integration and stimulation, methodological rigor, and critical analysis. This volume explores: *early sexual experiences and their impact on late life sexuality; *how life's stresses impact sexuality and satisfaction with closeness; *the affect of postpartum depression on sexuality; and *the relationship between control, power, anger, as well as revenge and sexual processes in couples. The Handbook of Sexuality in Close Relationshipsis intended for students and researchers in the disciplines of social, clinical, developmental, and health psychology; family studies; counseling; and interpersonal, family, and health communication. An excellent reference in advanced courses in close relationships taught in psychology, communications, sociology, anthropology, and family studies, the material in Part V will also appeal to clinical psychologists, health professionals, and policymakers.s. The Handbook of Sexuality in Close Relationshipsis intended for students and researchers in the disciplines of social, clinical, developmental, and health psychology; family studies; counseling; and interpersonal, family, and health communication. An excellent reference in advanced courses in close relationships taught in psychology, communications, sociology, anthropology, and family studies, the material in Part V will also appeal to clinical psychologists, health professionals, and policymakers.