Managing Front Office Operations by
"Front Office Manager" is a 10-hour, interactive, online program that provides an overview of the organization and management of the front office. It outlines the interactions between the front office and other hotel departments that are required to create a positive guest experience. Users will love the self-paced, discovery-driven approach that puts them in control as they determine the order in which they explore each area of the hotel and click on highlighted objects to learn about each facet of front office operations. Embedded videos help to facilitate the learning process. The content of this virtual-reality styled program is based on chapter material found in the AHLEI textbook, "Managing Front Office Operations 9/e" by Michael Kasavana and Richard Brooks. The online component has 10 modules and covers over 80 topics. Student users will have six-month access to the online program. "Front Office Manager" can be packaged with the "Managing Front Office Operations 9/e "text. It can also be purchased independently of the textbook.
Hotel Operations Management by
Describing in great depth and detail all areas of hotel administration, this accurate book provides an up-to-date and comprehensive examination of the responsibilities of a hotel general manager. It shares with readers the procedures effective managers use to ensure their hotel¿s-and their own-ultimate success. KEY TOPICS This unique approach addresses all of the operating departments of a full-service hotel-Human Resources, Controller, The Front Office, Housekeeping, Food and Beverage, Safety and Property Security, Sales and Marketing, Facility Engineering and Maintenance-from the viewpoint of the General Manager. It also explores franchise agreements and management contracts, purchasing a hotel, and career opportunities. For current and future hotel general managers, and hotel department heads-i.e., executive housekeepers, directors of sales, controllers, and front office managers.
Hotel Management and Operations by
This newly updated edition is a compilation of readings, divided into nine sections, each examining a specific hotel department or activity. Each topic is examined through a variety of viewpoints on the duties, responsibilities, problems, and opportunities encountered there. Multidimensional case studies, taking a practical approach, challenge readers to identify the central issues involved in complex management problems, understand the structure and resources of the department in question, and find solutions that may help in managing other hotel resources and departments.
Hotel Asset Management by 
Hotel Front Office Management by
The updated guide to running a successful hotel front office Hotel Front Office Management uses a human resources approach to cover the unique management and operational challenges in the front offices of today's hotels and lodging facilities. This Fourth Edition continues its emphasis on applying theory and management strategies, as well as providing updated material on technology's role in the modernized front office. Material is logically presented in the order of operations, beginning with an overview of lodging and then progressing through a tour of the today's front office, a review of the guest cycle, and an analysis of guest services. This Fourth Edition includes new sections on hotel risk management, security, and housekeeping management. Useful features of this new edition include: A new chapter on executive housekeeping and the relationship between the housekeeping department and the front office Commentaries from hotel front office managers, general managers, and other department managers Articles on the international hotel workforce "Opening dilemmas" and their solutions are included in each chapter Additional case studies for applying theory and developing problem-solving strategies Hotel Front Office Management, Fourth Edition is an invaluable book for those interested in learning more about a hotel's front office.
Hotel Front Office by
Hotel Front Office is a comprehensive textbook specially designed to meet the needs of undergraduate degree/diploma students of hotel management and hospitality courses. It explores the core concepts of front office operations and management and uses numerous examples, photographs, flowcharts,formats, and illustrations to explain them.Divided into three parts, the first part on The Hospitality Industry gives an introduction to the hospitality industry and then acquaints the readers with the classification and organization of hotels. The second part on Front Office Operations explains front office organization, internal andexternal communication and room tariff. The guest cycle, which includes the stages of pre-arrival (reservation), arrival (registration), stay (guest services), and departure (check out and settlements), is explained in detail. This section also includes chapters on front office accounting, nightauditing, safety and security of guests, and computer applications in front office. The final section on Front Office Management imparts an understanding of the key managerial concepts like yield management and forecasting to help generate optimum revenue; evaluation of hotel performance; andpreparation of budgets. Contemporary issues like human resource management, environment management, and total quality management are also explored in this section.Students of hospitality studies will find this book useful for its coverage of the key concepts of front office operations and management explained through industry-related examples, flowcharts, tables, formats, and photographs. With its practice-oriented approach, the book would also be useful tofront office professionals.
Planning and Control for Food and Beverage Operations by 
Check-In Check-Out by
Check-In, Check-Outprovides complete coverageof the hotel's front office and all of the support positions that make it work. Organized to reflect how a guest moves through the hotel (reservations, arrival, billing, departure, etc.) this edition provides a broad view of lodging management and covers unique topics such as corporate housing, destination elevators, and trade advertising contracts. Key industry changes are addressed throughout such as hotel technology, the greening of the industry, security issues and automation. Over 200 exhibits illustrate chapter content and help to create a work that both students and professional hoteliers seek out.
A Survival Guide for Hotel and Motel Professionals by
In the fast-growing hospitality professions where staff turnover is high and competition for customer loyalty is fierce, students and professionals alike need quick access to helpful information. A Survival Guide for Hotel and Motel Professionals is a lively, easy-to-read book that is full of anecdotes and useful information for the busy student or professional. With tips from hospitality professionals on everything from organization to stress management to front of the house and back of the house challenges, this is one book busy students and professionals won't want to be without.
Essentials of Food Science by
The fourth edition of this classic text continues to use a multidisciplinary approach to expose the non-major food science student to the physical and chemical composition of foods. Additionally, food preparation and processing, food safety, food chemistry, and food technology applications are discussed in this single source of information. The book begins with an Introduction to Food Components, Quality and Water. Next, it addresses Carbohydrates in Food, Starches, Pectins and Gums. Grains: Cereals, Flour, Rice and Pasta, and Vegetables and Fruits follow. Proteins in Food, Meat, Poultry, Fish, and Dry Beans; Eggs and Egg Products, Milk and Milk Products as well as Fats and Oil Products, Food Emulsions and Foams are covered. Next, Sugar, Sweeteners, and Confections and a chapter on Baked Products Batters and Dough is presented. A new section entitled Aspects of Food Processing covers information on Food Preservation, Food Additives, and Food Packaging. Food Safety and Government Regulation of the Food Supply and Labeling are also discussed in this text. As appropriate, each chapter discusses the nutritive value and safety issues of the highlighted commodity. The USDA My Plate is utilized throughout the chapters. A Conclusion, Glossary and further References as well as Bibliography are included in each chapter. Appendices at the end of the book include a variety of current topics such as Biotechnology, Functional Foods, Nutraceuticals, Phytochemicals, Medical Foods, USDA Choosemyplate.gov, Food Label Health Claims, Research Chefs Association certification, Human Nutrigenomics and New Product Development.
Front Desk Management 2 by
Trainings SME Hotel Sector Yield and Revenue Management Systems CRM Electronic Presence International Hotel Chains 21st Century Inn System
Latest Trends in Hotel Industry by
Trends and Classifications Participating Countries Applicability of Classification Hospitality Marketing Marketing Research Process Marketing Analysis Recruitment Strategy Workload Analysis Castellion Method
Front Desk Management by
Front Office Management Front Office Components Customer Care Customer Relationship Hotel Manager and Guest Service Hotel Reservation Internet Reservation Module Demonstration Hospitality Software
Hotel Accounting by
Popular Hotel Accounting Systems Financial Accounting Hospitality Suppliers, Law Firms, Funding & Marketing Professional and Consulting Services Hotel, Lodging and Services Management
Hotel Management and Operations by
This Fourth Edition helps readers develop the wide-ranging knowledge and analytical skills they need to succeed in today's burgeoning and dynamic hotel industry. This comprehensive volume encourages critical thinking by providing different points of view through contributions from sixty leading industry professionals and academics. Within a coherent theoretical structure, this updated edition enables readers to formulate their own ideas and solutions.
Textile and Laundry In Hotel Industry by
Hotel Laundry Operations Essential Tips for Laundry Management Responsibilities of Laundry Manager Cleaning and Stain Removal Table Cloths and Napkins Use of Carpets and Pads Carpet Installation Carpet Maintenance Uses and Cleaning of Rugs Selection and Maintenance of Curtains Maintenance of Bedding
Class Acts by
In this lively study, Rachel Sherman goes behind the scenes in two urban luxury hotels to give a nuanced picture of the workers who care for and cater to wealthy guests by providing seemingly unlimited personal attention. Drawing on in-depth interviews and extended ethnographic research in a range of hotel jobs, including concierge, bellperson, and housekeeper, Sherman gives an insightful analysis of what exactly luxury service consists of, how managers organize its production, and how workers and guests negotiate the inequality between them. She finds that workers employ a variety of practices to assert a powerful sense of self, including playing games, comparing themselves to other workers and guests, and forming meaningful and reciprocal relations with guests. Through their contact with hotel staff, guests learn how to behave in the luxury environment and come to see themselves as deserving of luxury consumption. These practices, Sherman argues, help make class inequality seem normal, something to be taken for granted. Throughout, Class Acts sheds new light on the complex relationship between class and service work, an increasingly relevant topic in light of the growing economic inequality in the United States that underlies luxury consumption.
Brand Management for International Hotels by
Introduction to Hotel Business Brand Management Brand Loyalty Hospitality Trend Window Guest Management Enterprises Restaurant Association (IH&RA)
International Encyclopedia of Hospitality Management by
Covers relevant issues in the field of hospitality management from both a sectoral level including lodging, restaurants, clubs, time-share, and conventions, as well as a functional one including accounting and finance, marketing, human resources, information technology, and facilities management.
Encyclopaedia of hotel and hospitality and management by 