Counselling for Grief and Bereavement by
Praise for the First Edition: "The book provides an absorbing and challenging journey through the possible process involved in bereavement work, and encourages one to think broadly about how one can approach a bereaved person... this was a book I enjoyed reading very much, and which I found both theoretically sound and practically helpful." - Bereavement Care (Cruse)- In Counselling for Grief and Bereavement, Second Edition Geraldine Humphrey and David Zimpfer take readers step-by-step through the skills needed to facilitate the process of grief, initiate healing, and promote a sense of growth. Providing a firm theoretical base, the authors discuss the concepts and categories of attachment, loss, and grief. Carefully chosen case examples are included throughout and specific attention is paid to ethics and to the possible need for referral. This Second Edition has been thoroughly updated and includes: Updated strategies for professionals working with children and adolescents, including those who are grieving, and those who are receiving palliative care as patients Additional theories and concepts that encourage the professional to approach working with the bereaved from sound conceptual bases and positive attitudes that foster growth and empowerment A more positive approach that does not deny the necessity of the experience of pain of griefCounselling for Grief and Bereavement, Second Edition provides practical assessment and intervention strategies for counseling, mental health, medical and educational professionals and trainees.
Developmental Psychology by
Offers a theory-driven approach to understanding human development from two perspectives - the psychoanalytic and the cognitive. This book presents thoughts on the South African context and the impact it has on development. It is suitable for undergraduates, postgraduates and health professionals.
Forensic Mental Health Assessment of Children and Adolescents by
Most professional forensic literature addresses the assessment of adults yet neglects the necessary differences that arise when working with minors. Forensic Mental Health Assessment of Children presents the reader with essential knowledge and practical suggestions regarding the forensicassessment of minors involved in a variety of legal applications. Methods of evaluation are described by leading experts regarding topics frequently encountered and of great importance to the courts including:-Physical and sexual child abuse-Domestic violence-Child custody in divorce proceedings-Risk assesment for violence-Potential for rehabilitation in juvenile court cases-Special education-Childhood development and trauma as mitigating circumstances in death penalty casesIn addition to reviewing a broad spectrum of topics, methods of evaluation, and the application of specific tests, chapters also address forensic assessment matters such as ethical issues, professional liability, and cultural considerations. This comprehensive resource will be indispensable tomental health practitioners and legal professionals, and of great interest to researchers and students.
Introduction to Psychology by
There is simply no other textbook as effective in getting students excited about and involved with psychology as Plotnik's exceptional text. Using his hallmark "multimedia on the printed page" approach, Rod Plotnik makes the concepts of psychology come to life! Plotnik's book is far more than just a good read and a compelling presentation-it is also a book written by a teacher committed to helping students master the content of psychology. From the side-by-side visual summaries to the concept reviews, Plotnik's text is designed throughout for student mastery. Professors report that all the important content is covered in the Plotnik book-in a way that "hooks" students and gets them to read on. And Plotnik's commitment to teaching extends into the ancillaries that accompany the text. The activities in the Instructor's Manual are exciting, original, and offer truly innovative ways to get students involved in the concepts of the course. In many of today's psychology classrooms, the printed pages is just the beginning! In this exciting new Fifth Edition, Plotnik includes "Links to Learning" at the end of every module that launch students into whole new worlds of interactive learning and exploration. Plotnik also references interactive activities on a variety of CD-ROMs that students can purchase bundled with their textbook, as well as appropriate sections in the Study Guide.
Psychology by
This introduction to psychology promotes critical thinking and an appreciation of psychology as a science by exploring the research that defines the discipline.
Psychology by
"For the first time we have a British textbook that can really address our needs. I would, and shall, recommend this text to anyone teaching a first-year introductory psychology course in the UK" THES, December 2005 Psychology, published in association with the British Psychological Society, is the definitive introductory textbook for students new to the subject. Written by more than 20 leading psychologists from the UK and Australasia in association with our editorial team, it provides comprehensive and full colour coverage of all the major aspects of psychology taught in colleges and universities today. Starting with methodology and the biological bases of psychology, the text moves logically through the standard topics, from the nervous system, learning, motivation, emotion, sensory processes and perception to development, memory, language, thought, intelligence, personality, abnormal psychology and therapy. Two social psychology chapters then provide a natural springboard for its coverage of applied topics, which incorporate cutting edge chapters on health, organizational and forensic psychology. Psychological research is brought to life throughout by the inclusion of new snapshot case studies, and real-life contexts are regularly applied to the basic principles. Other features designed to help students and teachers include chapter maps, learning objectives, profiles of pioneering psychologists in each subfield, chapter summaries, expert opinions, revision questions, suggestions for further reading and a glossary. In addition, the textbook is supported by an interactive website containing a multiple choice testbank, essay questions, practice questions, electronic versions of chapters and lecture-by-lecture instructor support. Visit www.bpsblackwell.co.uk/hewstone for more information.
Psychology-Media and Research by
For Introductory Psychology courses. This text offers an exploration of classic and contemporary research on current and emerging topics in the field, and encourages students to recognize, first hand, how psychological concepts have meaning in their own daily lives.
An Introduction to the History of Psychology by
Dreams puzzled early man, Greek philosophers spun elaborate theories to explain human memory and perception, Descartes postulated that the brain was filled with "animal spirits," and psychology was officially deemed a "science" in the 19th century. In this Fifth Edition, B.R. Hergenhahn demonstrates that most of the concerns of contemporary psychologists are manifestations of themes that have been part of psychology for hundreds-or even thousands-of years. The book's numerous photographs and pedagogical devices, along with its biographical material on key figures in psychology, will engage you and facilitate your understanding of each chapter.
History and Systems of Psychology by
Traces psychology's historical foundations and deals with the major 20th-century systems of psychology. This fifth edition text includes a discussion outlining trends within the more contemporary, post-system, neo-functionalism period of psychology's development.
Educating Exceptional Children by
Authored by luminaries in the special education field, EDUCATING EXCEPTIONAL CHILDREN introduces readers to each of the thirteen disability categories, and discusses the needs of children who are gifted and talented. The fourteenth edition continues to focus on the strengths of previous editions, while also providing new material about such important hot topics as genetics, neurology, inclusion, assistive technology, and information processing. The book provides key, research-based teaching methods and strategies for children with various exceptionalities, and also offers analysis of ecological factors that influence the exceptional child in and out of the classroom. This edition also features a new chapter on children with ADD/ADHD, new diagnosis information from the DSM-5, coverage of CEC and Common Core State Standards, the most current teaching techniques for each category, and current coverage of the Response to Intervention Model.
Health Psychology by
Offering a balanced perspective, this text incorporates the latest research findings and statistics. It provides explanations of biological, psychological and social factors in health issues, reinforced with case studies.
Pathways to Psychology by
This briefer text enables students, especially those from nontraditional backgrounds, to capitalize on their own strengths in learning styles, whether they be analytical, creative, or practical. Through its diverse pedagogy, it also emphasizes different pathways to knowledge, so that students can understand what they learn from different points of view and different choices they make.
Military Psychology by
A useful book that deals with a number of psychological issues surfacing in military and paramilitary forces. Military Psychology: Concepts, Trends and Interventions offers various psychological theories that are not only significant in the context of soldiers but also help to strengthen the capability of military and paramilitary forces during combat and non-combat operations. Stressing on the psycho-social well-being of the soldiers, this book offers insights into military psychological issues, such as soldier selection, combating stress, instances of misconduct, psychological operations, optimism, resilience and hardiness training, gender bias, value-based leadership, familial well-being and the future warfare. The global case studies in the book offer lessons for India and other countries where military and para-military forces are engaged in dealing with both external and internal extremism.
Abnormal and Clinical Psychology by
"This book provided an invaluable orientation to the grounding theoretical principles of clinical health psychology, how this knowledge can be applied by psychologists in healthcare settings, particular assessment and intervention approaches and issues associated with working with patients in healthcare settings ... I would highly recommend this as a key text for clinical psychology trainees and postgraduates working or researching in medical settings across the lifespan, both as a general orientation tool and a resource to refer to with reference to specific presenting issues. Fleur-Michelle Coiffait, Doctoral student, University of Edinburgh, UK "The tone of this volume is well pitched; it is written in clear English yet without being over-simplified. New vocabulary is collated into 'key terms' boxes for easy reference at the end of the chapter - a useful device for the new student. Also proffered at chapter end are 'For Discussion' boxes, encouraging the reader to critically assess and compare the contents of the chapter, along with useful suggestions for further reading. With a good level of detail without swamping the reader, this volume is an excellent introduction to students of abnormal psychology." Hayley Burgess, Psychology Graduate Extensively updated, this popular textbook includes the latest research and therapeutic approaches, including third wave cognitive behavioural therapies, as well as developments in clinical practice. The book introduces and evaluates the conceptual models of mental health problems and their treatment, and provides valuable analyses of various disorders, such as schizophrenia and paedophilia. Each disorder is considered from a psychological, social and biological perspective and different intervention types are thoroughly investigated. The new edition also features NEW case formulations to illustrate discussion of clinical work NEW chapter on recent developments in cognitive behaviour therapy NEW Key Terms boxes at the end of chapters Updated Stop and Think boxes Further reading extended with web links Abnormal and Clinical Psychology 3rd edition is an indispensable guide for undergraduate students in psychology and health allied professions.
Particulars and Universals in Clinical and Developmental Psychology by
A volume in Perspectives on Human Development Series Editors: Dieter Ferring, Universite du Luxembourg, Jaan Valsiner, Universite du Luxembourg and Conchita D'Ambrosio, Universite du Luxembourg What sparks a psychologist's interest in a certain phenomenon? Is it a symptom, a syndrome, a treatment, the usual, the exceptional, the group, the individual? An epistemologist, for example, focuses on the group and delivers group results. The clinician has to focus on the patient, although the patient may be perceived as one of a group (e.g., all patients with the same disease). The patient usually focuses on the clinician, but can take other opinions into account; especially, when the clinician is not considered to be the only authority. These dynamics - observable in therapy as well as in research - are critically reflected in this book, not only highlighting differences, but also commonalities individuals share: They all filter information and concentrate on certain aspects according to their socialization. They all have different expectations and can, yet, all deal with the same objective. Communication and building relationships seem to be vital - this book aims to support this quest by moving from the universal to the particular.
Clinical Psychology : Psychopathology Through the Lifespan
Psychology of Denial by
In psychology, denial is a concept originating with the psychodynamic theories of Sigmund Freud. According to Freud, three mental dynamics, or motivating forces, influence human behaviour: the id, ego, and superego. These three forces all have different goals (id, pleasure; ego, reality; superego, morality) and continually strive for dominance, resulting in internal conflict. This conflict produces anxiety. The ego, which functions as a mediator between the two extremes of the id and the superego, attempts to reduce this anxiety by using defence mechanisms. Defence mechanisms are indirect ways of dealing or coping with anxiety, such as explaining problems away or blaming others for problems. Denial is one of many defence mechanisms. It entails ignoring or refusing to believe an unpleasant reality. Defense mechanisms protect one's psychological well-being in traumatic situations, or in any situation that produces anxiety or conflict. This book presents original research in this exciting and thought-provoking field.
Engendering Psychology by
Engendering Psychology's treatment of issues is based solidly on scientific evidence and presented in a balanced manner. The text combines a developmental and topical approach. Denmark, Rabinowitz, and Sechzer explore the concept of gender as a social construction across the lines of race, ethnicity, class, age, and sexual orientation, pulling from the exciting new scholarship that has emerged over the last few years. Thoughtful discussion questions emphasize critical thinking skills, as well as encourage students to open a dialogue with both their professors and their peers. This text will help readers understand the concept of gender as a social construct in contrast to the concept of sex, which denotes biological differences. Upon completing this text, readers will have a deeper understanding of women and the knowledge that "woman" is a diverse and multifaceted category.
Developmental Psychology by
This clear and authoritative text provides a trenchant critique of dichotomous thinking and goes on to describe and exemplify an alternative view of development, showing the power of ecological and dynamic systems perspectives. Thematic chapters identify the classic assumptions of the nature-nurture debate and present the reader with new ways of thinking about these issues. The book begins with material that may be familiar to students, then leads them into areas of thought which may be less familiar but which are important and significant aspects of current research and debate in the field. The author shows how an alternative, ecological systems perspective can be used to form more coherent critiques of major theorists like Skinner, Piaget, Vygotsky, and Gibson.
The Social Psychology of Disability by
This is the first book to systematically review, update, organize, and critique the literature on the social psychology of disability in 30 years. The book gives pride of place to classic as well as contemporary concepts from the social psychology of disability and rehabilitation psychologythat researchers and clinicians can use or adapt for their professional venues. The book's overarching message is an important one: The experience of most people with disabilities is not what nondisabled persons anticipate - contrary to the latter's beliefs and expectations, the former can lead fulland normal lives. Thus, The Social Psychology of Disability is designed to counter stereotypical or biased perspectives aimed at an often overlooked minority group.The primary audience for the book is rehabilitation researchers and clinicians in psychology and allied fields (e.g., social work, nursing). A secondary audience includes policy makers and graduate students in rehabilitation and clinical psychology, as well as interested undergraduates.
An Introduction to the History of Psychology by
Dreams puzzled early man, Greek philosophers spun elaborate theories to explain human memory and perception, Descartes postulated that the brain was filled with "animal spirits," and psychology was officially deemed a "science" in the 19th century. In this Seventh Edition of AN INTRODUCTION TO THE HISTORY OF PSYCHOLOGY, International Edition, authors Hergenhahn and Henley demonstrate that most of the concerns of contemporary psychologists are manifestations of themes that have been part of psychology for hundreds--or even thousands--of years. The book's numerous photographs and pedagogical devices, along with its biographical material on key figures in psychology, engage readers and facilitate their understanding of each chapter.
Educating Exceptional Children by
Authored by luminaries in the special education field, EDUCATING EXCEPTIONAL CHILDREN introduces readers to each of the thirteen disability categories, and discusses the needs of children who are gifted and talented. The fourteenth edition continues to focus on the strengths of previous editions, while also providing new material about such important hot topics as genetics, neurology, inclusion, assistive technology, and information processing. The book provides key, research-based teaching methods and strategies for children with various exceptionalities, and also offers analysis of ecological factors that influence the exceptional child in and out of the classroom. This edition also features a new chapter on children with ADD/ADHD, new diagnosis information from the DSM-5, coverage of CEC and Common Core State Standards, the most current teaching techniques for each category, and current coverage of the Response to Intervention Model.
.
Access more Psychology subscription eBooks (over 240,196) from the Library's collection, here.
Note: You need to have VPN installed and enabled for Off-campus access.
Concise Encyclopedia of Psychology by
The new paperback edition--now even more concise and user-friendly! Critical Praise for the Second Edition of Concise Encyclopedia of Psychology "Intended for general readers [and] professionals, this source is easy to use, very informative, and authoritative....Highly recommended."--Choice "Concise Encyclopedia of Psychology is an impressive achievement.... [It] covers an incredible breadth of subjects in a clear, authoritative manner suitable for all levels from high school students to practicing psychologists, both academic and clinical."--American Reference Books Annual "[The] contributing authors [include] some of the most influential scholars and practitioners in the field....[The] text reads fast as well as informatively, serving as a ready reference to a wide array of subjects....[It is] a resource to be savored over and over again as the need arises....a reference text without equal."--Child and Family Behavior Therapy. "Authoritative, clear, and concisely written."--Doody's Health Sciences Book Review
Encyclopedia of Abnormal Psychology (Online) by
This online book presents current research in the field of abnormal psychology. Topics discussed include self-harm in adolescence and young adulthood; depression and a parenting intervention; a hermeneutic approach to culture and psychotherapy; psychotic symptoms in children and adolescents; treatment approaches to aggressive behavior in schizophrenia; fetal origins of antisocial personality disorder; neurobiology of borderline personality disorder; patterns of interpersonal behaviors and borderline personality characteristics; the psychology of body image and borderline personality and sexual impulsivity.
The Handbook of Adult Clinical Psychology by
The Handbook of Adult Clinical Psychologyprovides a reliable source of guidance on the full range of issues associated with conducting evidence based practice in adult mental health. Topics covered include: general frameworks for practice: classification and epidemiology; CBT, psychodynamic, systemic and bio-medical models; general assessment procedures mood problems: depression, bipolar disorder and managing suicide risk anxiety problems: generalized anxiety disorder, panic disorder, obsessive compulsive disorder, PTSD and social phobia physical health problems: somatoform disorders, chronic pain, adjustment to cancer, eating disorders and substance abuse other psychological difficulties: schizophrenia, borderline personality disorder, psychological problems in older adults, anger management and depersonalization disorder. Each chapter includes useful skill building exercises, summaries of the issues covered, suggested further reading lists for both psychologists and patients, and case material. This practical Handbookwill prove invaluable to clinical psychologists in training, helping them to build the necessary skills to complete a clinical placement in the field of adult mental health. The Handbook of Adult Clinical Psychologyis one of a set of three handbooks published by Routledge, which includes The Handbook of Child and Adolescent Clinical Psychology(by Alan Carr) and The Handbook of Intellectual Disability and Clinical Psychology Practice(Edited by Alan Carr, Gary O'Reilly, Patricia Noonan Walsh and John McEvoy).
Handbook of Clinical Child Psychology by
Covers normal and abnormal development, assessment and diagnosis, psychopathology (in three sections encompassing infancy, childhood and adolescence) and intervention strategies. A final section examines special topics. Serves as a reference and graduate text on the full range of children's psychological problems. Includes relevant research on each of the topics covered as well as a bibliography and guidelines for practice. Particularly useful for board certification review.
Handbook of Clinical Health Psychology by
This comprehensive volume explores the role of behaviour and psychology in the development, progression, and treatment of a wide range of medical disorders, discussing in detail the health psychology application to each of the 17 ICD9 chapters of diagnostic classification. Health psychology researchers offer an applied clinical perspective in describing the prevalence, prevention, primary, secondary and tertiary treatment, and future directions for research of prevalent disorders, including infectious diseases, endocrine, metabolic, nutritional, and immune disorders, congenital abnormalities, among others. This practical sourcebook should be a useful reference for health psychologists and medical professionals and is the first of three volumes that are both comprehensive and specific as they relate to the entire field of health psychology. Topics discussed in the second and third volumes include theories, models, and philosophical underpinnings on which the field of health psychology is based as well as specific health and behavior issues facing any scientist or clinician. Although this set could be used as an encyclopedia, a manual, and a comprehensive text, it is intended to encompass a newly developing, rapidly expanding, scientifically validating, and clinically recognized area concerned with human health and healthcare delivery.
Handbook of Counselling Psychology by
`This book, without question, must be read by students and practitioners, alike. It is readable, insightful, authoritative, it accurately reflects the development and current status of the profession and is a much welcomed resource′ - British Psychological Society Counselling Psychology Review `The authors successfully integrate psychological knowledge of life-span development, counselling practice, the helping relationship, the enhancement of psychological well-being and the insights of scientist practitioners in order to clarify the distinctive contribution which counselling psychologists have to offer to the field of counselling and psychotherapy. It is an essential resource for practitioners′ - Helen Cowie, University of Surrey Roehampton Institute The first account of its kind, this major handbook provides definitive and comprehensive coverage of contemporary counselling psychology. The authors include many of Britain′s leading counselling psychologists who provide a thorough, detailed and authoritative examination of all the key areas and concerns in the field: theories and practices; methodology; contexts of practice; psychological interventions; and social, professional and ethical issues. Particular emphasis is placed on research and its implications for practice, and careful thought is given to the problems associated with gender, race, disability, social class and sexual orientation faced by today′s helping professionals.
The Handbook of Counselling Psychology by
The new Fourth Edition provides the most comprehensive guide to the field of counselling psychology, exploring a range of theories and philosophical underpinnings, practice approaches and contexts, and professional issues. Thoroughly updated to reflect current issues and debates, this is the ultimate companion for your journey through counselling psychology training and into the workplace. Special attention has been paid to the topic of research, both as a theme throughout the book and through four new chapters, covering the use, carry out, and publication of research at different stages of training and practice. The Handbook of Counselling Psychology is the essential textbook for students and practitioners in the field of counselling psychology and allied health professions, at all stages of their career and across a range of settings, both in the UK and internationally.
The Handbook of School Psychology by
The Fourth Edition of The Handbook of School Psychology continues the tradition of providing a unique and comprehensive outlet for disseminating the collective wisdom and insight of outstanding scholars working in the field of school psychology. This edition brings together the field's latest developments in research and practice, highlighting domains in which there has emerged both growing consensus and vibrant cross currents of thought and analysis. Featuring chapters with new foci, authors, and content, this edition showcases the trajectory of the field and is intended to lead students forward into an increasingly challenging and rewarding future.
The Oxford Handbook of Positive Psychology by
The Oxford Handbook of Positive Psychology, Second Edition is the seminal reference in the burgeoning field of positive psychology, which, in recent years, has transcended academia to capture the imagination of the general public. The handbook provides a roadmap for the psychology needed bythe majority of the population--those who don't need treatment, but want to achieve the lives to which they aspire. The 65 chapters summarize all of the relevant literature in the field, and each of the international slate of contributors is essentially defining a lifetime of research. The content'sbreadth and depth provide an unparalleled cross-disciplinary look at positive psychology from diverse fields and all branches of psychology, including social, clinical, personality, counseling, school, and developmental psychology. Topics include not only happiness - which has been perhapsmisrepresented in the popular media as the entirety of the field - but also hope, strengths, positive emotions, life longings, creativity, emotional creativity, courage, and more, plus guidelines for applying what has worked for people across time and cultures.