LibGuides: Psychology: Web Resources

Key Websites for Studying Psychology

British Psychological Society is the representative body for psychologists and psychology in the UK. The site contains information on psychology as a profession and as an academic subject.
Scholarly Psychology Resources on the Web contains links to sites which offer scholarly information on numerous subtopic within the field of psychology.
Social Psychology Network Contains more than 5,000 links to psychology-related resources.
About.com - Psychology
PsychScholar
MentalHelp.net
Personality project is a collection of web pages devoted to the academic study of personality. It is meant to guide the interested student, researcher or serious layperson to recent developments in the field of personality research.
The British Journal of Psychiatry
Online Readings in Psychology and Culture - International Association for Cross-Cultural Psychology
Royal College of Psychiatrists
Spectrum

FastStats: Mental Health - Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
Quick access to statistics on mental health topics. Click on the FastStats homepage button for statistics on other topics of public health importance. Links lead to publications that include the statistics presented, to sources of more data, and to related web pages.
CDC Mental Health Stats
Information on access to mental health and mental illness (MH/MI) surveillance data sources is provided on various MH/MI topics. Data sources include the Behavioral Risk Factor Surveillance System (BRFSS).
SAMHSA - Office of Applied Studies Data
Primary source of U.S. data on the prevalence, treatment, and consequences of substance abuse. OAS is the national source of information on the location, organization, and capacity of providers which offer services to prevent and treat substance abuse, and the cost, quality, and effectiveness of the services of these providers.
World Health Organization (WHO) - Mental Health
Publications from the WHO and information on mental health programs around the world.

Psychology Textbook from Openstax is designed to meet scope and sequence requirements for the single-semester introduction to psychology course. The book offers a comprehensive treatment of core concepts, grounded in both classic studies and current and emerging research.
National Institute of Mental Health (NIMH) offers brochures and fact sheets on mental health disorders and related topics for patients and their families, health professionals, and the public and are available in English and Spanish. Printed materials can be ordered free of charge.
PsychOpen publishes a wide range of open access psychology journals covering a variety of psychological topics. All journals conduct strict peer review and adhere to the highest scientific standards.
Advances in Cognitive Psychology Journal
DOAJ is an open database with wide variety of subject areas

For more OER Resources (including multidisciplinary and textbooks), see the Open Educational Resources LibGuide

Child Maltreatment Prevention - Center for Disease Control and Prevention - Reports, information, and statistics on all types of abuse and neglect of a child under the age of 18 by a parent, caregiver, or another person in a custodial role (e.g., clergy, coach, teacher).
UNICEF Data: Monitoring the Situation of Children and Women - The most up-to-date data and analysis on the situation of women and children around the world.
National Data Archive on Child Abuse and Neglect (NDACAN) - Data archive on child welfare and maltreatment from Cornell University. It promotes scholarly exchange among researchers, including the exchange of datasets and operation of an online discussion list.
Children's Defense Fund (CDF) - Reports, charts, studies, etc. on child poverty, health, education.
Office of Juvenile Justice and Delinquency Prevention - Statistical Briefing Book
Enables users to access online information via OJJDP's website to learn more about juvenile crime and victimization and about youth involved in the juvenile justice system.

Personality Theories and Theorists
This is an electronic textbook ("e-text") created by Dr. C. George Boeree (Professor Emeritus, Psychology Department of Shippensburg University) for the students in his classes. Includes biographies and summaries of the theory for everyone from Alfred Adler to Carl Rogers to Donald Snygg.
Classics in the History of Psychology - Topic Index
Makes the full texts of a large number of historically significant public domain documents from the scholarly literature of psychology. This index arranges them by time period and field (e.g. Gestalt Theory, Developmental Theory).
B.F. Skinner Foundation
Psychology Theories
"Psychology as the Behaviorist Views it" by John B. Watson.
"Existential Theory of Carl Rogers"
"Evolutionary Psychology - a primer"
Interbehavioral Psychology - Jacob Robert Kantor
C. G. Jung Page
Jean Piaget Society