Epidemiology 101 by
Epidemiology 101, Second Edition Includes Navigate 2 Advantage Access
Modern Epidemiology by
The thoroughly revised and updated Third Edition of the acclaimed Modern Epidemiology reflects both the conceptual development of this evolving science and the increasingly focal role that epidemiology plays in dealing with public health and medical problems. Coauthored by three leading epidemiologists, with contributions from sixteen experts in a variety of epidemiologic sub-disciplines, this new edition is by far the most comprehensive and cohesive text on the principles and methods of epidemiologic research. The book covers a broad range of concepts and methods, including epidemiologic measures of occurrence and effect, study designs, validity, precision, statistical interference, and causal diagrams. Topics in data analysis range from Bayesian analysis, sensitivity analysis, and bias analysis, with an extensive overview of modern regression methods including logistic and survival regression, splines, hierarchical (multilevel) regression, propsensity scores and other scoring methods, and g-estimation. Special-topics chapters cover disease surveillance, ecologic studies, social epidemiology, infectious disease epidemiology, genetic and molecular epidemiology, nutritional epidemiology, environmental epidemiology, reproductive epidemiology, clinical epidemiology, and meta-analysis.
Clinical Epidemiology by
Now in its Fifth Edition, Clinical Epidemiology: The Essentials is a comprehensive, concise, and clinically oriented introduction to the subject of epidemiology. Written by expert educators, this text introduces students to the principles of evidence-based medicine that will help them develop and apply methods of clinical observation in order to form accurate conclusions. The Fifth Edition includes more complete coverage of systematic reviews and knowledge management, as well as other key topics such as abnormality, diagnosis, frequency and risk, prognosis, treatment, prevention, chance, studying cases and cause.
An Introduction to Mathematical Epidemiology by
The book is a comprehensive, self-contained introduction to the mathematical modeling and analysis of infectious diseases. It includes model building, fitting to data, local and global analysis techniques. Various types of deterministic dynamical models are considered: ordinary differential equation models, delay-differential equation models, difference equation models, age-structured PDE models and diffusion models. It includes various techniques for the computation of the basic reproduction number as well as approaches to the epidemiological interpretation of the reproduction number. MATLAB code is included to facilitate the data fitting and the simulation with age-structured models.
Methods in Social Epidemiology by
A thorough, practical reference on the social patterns behind health outcomes Methods in Social Epidemiology provides students and professionals with a comprehensive reference for studying the social distribution and social determinants of health. Covering the theory, models, and methods used to measure and analyze these phenomena, this book serves as both an introduction to the field and a practical manual for data collection and analysis. This new second edition has been updated to reflect the field's tremendous growth in recent years, including advancements in statistical modeling and study designs. New chapters delve into genetic methods, structural cofounding, selection bias, network methods, and more, including new discussion on qualitative data collection with disadvantaged populations. Social epidemiology studies the way society's innumerable social interactions, both past and present, yields different exposures and health outcomes between individuals within populations. This book provides a thorough, detailed overview of the field, with expert guidance toward the real-world methods that fuel the latest advances. Identify, measure, and track health patterns in the population Discover how poverty, race, and socioeconomic factors become risk factors for disease Learn qualitative data collection techniques and methods of statistical analysis Examine up-to-date models, theory, and frameworks in the social epidemiology sphere As the field continues to evolve, researchers continue to identify new disease-specific risk factors and learn more about how the social system promotes and maintains well-known exposure disparities. New technology in data science and genomics allows for more rigorous investigation and analysis, while the general thinking in the field has become more targeted and attentive to causal inference and core assumptions behind effect identification. It's an exciting time to be a part of the field, and Methods in Social Epidemiology provides a solid reference for any student, researcher, or faculty in public health.
A Quick Guide to Cancer Epidemiology by
A Quick Guide to Cancer Epidemiologynbsp;is an idealnbsp;addition to Springer Briefs in Cancer Research. The Briefnbsp;provides core concepts in cancer epidemiology and also givesnbsp;a snapshot of the epidemiology of seventeen human cancers.nbsp;The Briefnbsp;aims to provide-with quantitative focus-estimates of the global burdennbsp;of neoplasms, of recent and likely future trends, distribution,nbsp;causes and strategiesnbsp;for prevention for major groups of cancers. Finally, the Brief will give an overview of severals factors that cause cancer including dietary factors, tobacco smoking, obesity and alcohol consumption.
Epidemiology by
What is epidemiology? What are the causes of a new disease? How can pandemics be prevented?Epidemiology is the study of the changing patterns of disease and its main aim is to improve the health of populations. It's a vital field, central to the health of society, to the identification of causes of disease, and to their management and prevention.Epidemiology has had an impact on many areas of medicine; from discovering the relationship between tobacco smoking and lung cancer, to the origin and spread of new epidemics. However, it is often poorly understood, largely due to misrepresentations in the media.In this Very Short Introduction Rodolfo Saracci dispels some of the myths surrounding the study of epidemiology. He provides a general explanation of the principles behind clinical trials, and explains the nature of basic statistics concerning disease. He also looks at the ethical and politicalissues related to obtaining and using information concerning patients, and trials involving placebos.
Clinical Epidemiology by
Now in its Fifth Edition, Clinical Epidemiology: The Essentials is a comprehensive, concise, and clinically oriented introduction to the subject of epidemiology. Written by expert educators, this text introduces students to the principles of evidence-based medicine that will help them develop and apply methods of clinical observation in order to form accurate conclusions. The Fifth Edition includes more complete coverage of systematic reviews and knowledge management, as well as other key topics such as abnormality, diagnosis, frequency and risk, prognosis, treatment, prevention, chance, studying cases and cause.
Introduction to Epidemiology by
"Well structured, to the point and well documented with great exercises. This is a remarkable book on basic epidemiology, based on many years of experience and designed primarily for self-learning students. It will also appeal to all those wanting a quick and well structured introduction to epidemiology, with a wealth of classical and more recent examples." Professor Christian Lengeler (MSc, PhD), Head of Unit, Swiss Tropical and Public Health Institute, Basel, Switzerland This popular book introduces the principles, methods and application of epidemiology for improving health and survival. The book assists readers in applying basic epidemiological methods to measure health outcomes, identifying risk factors for a negative outcome, and evaluating health interventions and health services. The book also helps to distinguish between strong and poor epidemiological evidence; an ability that is fundamental to promoting evidence-based health care. This new edition has been carefully developed and includes: A writing style and structure that helps the flow of learning A broad range of examples and activities covering a range of contemporary health issues including obesity, mental health and cervical cancer Additional focus on developing countries Updated and additional exercises for self-testing A new chapter on study design A new section on the application of epidemiology for monitoring and evaluation of health programmes Introduction to Epidemiology is an ideal self-directed learning resource for students studying epidemiology and all those who work in health-related areas, including health economists, health policy analysts, and health services managers. Series Editors: Rosalind Plowman and Nicki Thorogood.
Teaching Epidemiology by
Teaching Epidemiology requires skill and knowledge, combined with a clear teaching strategy and good pedagogic skills. The general advice is simple: if you are not an expert on a topic, try to enrich your background knowledge before you start teaching. Teaching Epidemiology third edition helpsyou to do this, and by providing the world-expert teacher's advice on how best to structure teaching gives a unique insight in to what has worked in their hands. The book will help you plan your own tailored teaching programme.The book is a guide to new teachers in the field at two levels; those teaching basic courses for undergraduates, and those teaching more advanced courses for students at postgraduate level. Each chapter provides key concepts and a list of key references. Subject specific methodology and diseasespecific issues (from cancer to genetic epidemiology) are dealt with in details. There is also a focused chapter on the principles and practice of computer-assisted learning.
Managerial Epidemiology by
This book provides a comprehensive introduction to epidemiology and explains how to use epidemiological concepts and tools to improve decisions about the management of health services. Throughout the book, basic principles are presented and then expanded upon with healthcare management applications and case studies. This edition features a new approach. Rather than separating epidemiology principles from application, it blends theory and application in each chapter. This edition features: * New chapters on infectious disease epidemiology, morbidity, mortality, descriptive epidemiology, and cost-effectiveness analysis * Summary application chapters that focus on cardiovascular disease, HIV, and dementia * More than 40 in-depth case studies of varying levels of difficulty, along with questions and detailed answers * Contributions from experts in the field provides different points of view
Applied Epidemiology by
Focusing on areas of public health practice in which the systematic application of epidemiologic methods can have a large and positive impact, this text applies traditional epidemiologic methods for determining disease etiology to the "real-life" applications of public health and healthservices research. Brownson and Petitti--true to their belief that epidemiology is the diagnostic discipline of public health--provide a much-needed book that bridges the gap between theoretical epidemiology and public health practice. Their uniquely comprehensive coverage includes a number oftopics not traditionally addressed by other epidemiology texts. Twelve chapters offer a thorough, in-depth analysis of the important issues, methods, problems, and limitations within applied epidemiology. Following an introduction, three overview chapters detail study design and interpretation,outbreak and cluster investigations, and public health surveillance. The remaining chapters highlight key issues and provide practical recommendations on eight contemporary topics, such as community intervention trials, outcomes research, risk assessment, screening, and cost-benefit analysis. Theeditors--both very well-known researchers in the field--have compiled reviews with direct relevance to or a strong basis in epidemiology. All chapters have been authored by recognized authorities in the field of epidemiology and public health. Case studies of actual programs at the end of eachchapter illustrate major points and provide a foundation for more detailed discussions.Applied Epidemiology is intended for practitioners in epidemiology, and students in epidemiology and related disciplines that rely heavily on epidemiologic methods and reasoning. It will be a practical and informative tool in academic institutions, federal agencies with significant educationalmissions, state and local public health agencies, and health care organizations.
Handbook of Epidemiology by
This 5-volume reference covers the entire field of epidemiology, from statistical methods and study design, to specialized areas such as molecular epidemiology, and applications in clinical medicine and health services research. This updated edition of the Handbook of Epidemiology adds20 new chapters on: History of Epidemiological Methods and Concepts, Cluster Randomized Trials, Internet-Based Epidemiology, Misclassification, Sensitivity Analysis and Bias Analysis, Emergency and Disaster Health Surveillance, Statistical Inference, Data Management in Epidemiology, Bayesian Methods in Epidemiology, Generalized Estimating Equations, Directed Acyclic Graphs, Life Course Epidemiology, Physical Activity Epidemiology, Radiation Epidemiology, Epidemiology of Obesity, Epidemiology of Respiratory Allergies and Asthma, Epidemiology of Dental Diseases, Epidemiology of Digestive Diseases, Epidemiology of Psychiatric Disorders, Epidemiology of Diabetes. All other chapters are extensively revised from the 1st edition. This is a reference for epidemiological researchers and graduate students in public health. "
Encyclopedia of Epidemiology by
The Encyclopedia of Epidemiology presents state-of-the-art information from the field of epidemiology in a less technical and accessible style and format. With more than 600 entries, no single reference provides as comprehensive a resource in as focused and appropriate manner. The entries cover every major facet of epidemiology, from risk ratios to case-control studies to mediating and moderating variables, and much more. Relevant topics from related fields such as biostatistics and health economics are also included.
A Dictionary of Epidemiology by
This sixth edition of A Dictionary of Epidemiology -- the most updated since its inception - reflects the profound substantive and methodological changes that have come to characterize epidemiology and its associated disciplines. Sponsored by the International Epidemiological Association, thisbook remains the essential reference for anyone studying or working in epidemiology, biostatistics, public health, medicine, or the growing number health sciences in which epidemiologic competency is now required.More than just a dictionary, this text is an essential guidebook to the state of the science. It offers the most current, authoritative definitions of terms central to biomedical and public health literature - everything from confounding and incidence rate to epigenetic inheritance and Number Neededto Treat. As epidemiology continues to change and grow, A Dictionary of Epidemiology will remain its book of record.