LibGuides: Epidemiology: e-Resources

Epidemiology e-Journals

Emerging Infectious Diseases, an open access, peer reviewed journal published monthly by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, promotes the recognition of new and reemerging infectious diseases around the world and improves the understanding of factors involved in disease emergence, prevention, and elimination.

The American Journal of Epidemiology is the oldest and one of the premier epidemiologic journals devoted to the publication of empirical research findings, opinion pieces, and methodological developments in the field of epidemiologic research. It is a peer-reviewed journal aimed at both fellow epidemiologists and those who use epidemiologic data, including public health workers and clinicians.

Clinical Infectious Diseases (CID) is a leading journal in the field of infectious disease with a broad international readership. The Journal publishes articles on a variety of subjects of interest to practitioners and researchers. Topics range from clinical descriptions of infections, public health, microbiology, and immunology to the prevention of infection, the evaluation of current and novel treatments, and the promotion of optimal practices for diagnosis and treatment.

Epidemiology and Infection is a fully open access journal publishing original reports and reviews on all aspects of infection in humans and animals. Particular emphasis is given to the epidemiology, prevention and control of infectious diseases. The field covered is broad and includes the zoonoses, tropical infections, food hygiene, vaccine studies, statistics and the clinical, social and public-health aspects of infectious disease.

The International Journal of Epidemiology is an essential requirement for anyone who needs to keep up to date with epidemiological advances and new developments throughout the world. It encourages communication among those engaged in the research, teaching, and application of epidemiology of both communicable and non-communicable disease, including research into health services and medical care.

PLOS ONE is an inclusive journal community working together to advance science for the benefit of society, now and in the future. The research published is multidisciplinary and, often, interdisciplinary, in over two hundred subject areas across science, engineering, medicine, etc.

PNAS is one of the world's most-cited and comprehensive multidisciplinary scientific journals, publishes cutting-edge research, science news, Commentaries, Perspectives, Colloquium Papers, Reviews, and actions of the NAS.

BMC Public Health is an open access, peer-reviewed journal that considers articles on the epidemiology of disease and the understanding of all aspects of public health. The journal has a special focus on the social determinants of health, the environmental, behavioral, and occupational correlates of health and disease, and the impact of health policies, practices and interventions on the community.

Key Databases

Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window A journal database that hosts Business, Economics, Finance, chemistry, earth and environment science, education, engineering, humanities, and social science
Henry Stewart Biomedical & Life Sciences Talks This link opens in a new window
Oxford journals This link opens in a new window Hosts a wide range of the world's most highly-cited and prestigious titles in the fields of medicine, life sciences, mathematics & physical sciences, law, humanities, and the social sciences.
Cambridge Journals This link opens in a new window Hosts over 300 peer-reviewed journals, including journals from a variety of subject areas
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window A collection of six databases that contain different types of high-quality, systematic reviews to inform healthcare decision-making
Springer eBooks This link opens in a new window A collection of e-books on Business and economics, Computer science, professional and applied
Research4Life This link opens in a new window For log in details, email: askalibrarian@usiu.ac.ke
Elsevier (Science Direct) This link opens in a new window
ProQuest eBook Central This link opens in a new window Online digital library providing access to over 70,000 scholarly e-books from academic, trade, and professional publishers. They cover a wide range of subject areas
Nature This link opens in a new window
World Bank databases This link opens in a new window This database hosts global data in various development topics

Freely Available Online Information from Government Agencies and Organizations

Centers for Disease Control - The CDC is the United States' health protection agency, providing reliable information on topics in health and medicine.

MedlinePlus - Website from the NIH providing health information on diseases, conditions, and wellness for health professionals and consumers.

National Library of Medicine - The world's largest biomedical library, created by the National Institutes of Health in Bethesda, Maryland.

National Institutes of Health - The NIH provides information on medicine, grants and funding, health news, and other health-related issues.

National Cancer Institute SEER - The NCI'S Surveillance, Epidemiology, and End Results program provides information on cancer statistics.

Hardin MD - This website provides links to medical pictures.

Merck Manual - This free site provides information about a wide range of health topics to practitioners and the public.

RxList - Source for prescription drug information. Includes an A-Z list of drugs, as well as a visual pill identifier

NCBI Bookshelf - Free online access to books and manuscripts in health and life sciences.